Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers

Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers

R102 Nature's Valley Road, Nature's Valley 6602 South Africa
Traveller (238)
Peaceful.
Dining (19)
Room & Suite (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hostel in Nature's Valley
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Wild Spirit Backpackers Lodge is a well-loved, laid-back and friendly family-run business situated on Khoinania farm in The Crags. Located right on the western tip of the Tsitsikamma National Park, it is literally in the heart of the Garden Route, between Plettenberg Bay and Storm's River. Close to Nature's Valley beach and lagoon this eco-friendly open-minded backpackers is surrounded by indigenous forests with blissful views over the valleys and mountains - the ultimate place to come and relax. Accommodation ranges from simple and lovely private en-suite family and double rooms, to ready-made Safari tents, bunk free dorms and simple off the grid camp sites for budget travellers looking for a quiet place to rest their souls. The beautifully sculpted Driftwood Boma and Tree-house deck are great places to soak up the sun and contemplate the peace of your surroundings whilst meeting new people, or cuddle up in the cosy Log cabin with the cats, dogs and a fire on rainy days. Everyday enjoy yummy nutritious dinners and breakfasts, lovingly prepared with fresh local ingredients. Alternative and sustainable energy designs, creative spaces and organic gardens are dotted around this magical 18-hectare farm. Activities on the farm include swimming in the rock pools of a private 80m Waterfall, or taking a short walk through the indigenous forest to visit the majestic Yellowwood tree. Alternatively, you can get your hands dirty in the gardens, learn a new craft from one of the many skilled staff members, or relax in a tree-house with horses grazing nearby. If you manage to tear yourself away from the beauty of the lodge then there are various animal sanctuaries nearby including elephants, big cats, birds and monkeys, as well as local horse-rides and a great farm stall to pick up some lunch. Nearby Nature's Valley is ideal for nature lovers with walks and hikes in all directions, and is one of the most pristine beaches on the Garden Route. The lagoon down there is also spectacular for swimming, kayaking, and bird-watching. Adrenaline and adventure activities such as the world's highest Bungy jump, Africanyon river adventures, and Tsitsikamma treetop canopy tours are nearby. The come home, relax with sun-downers on the deck, and spend an evening under the stars talking to interesting travellers around the fire whilst the team prepare a delicious home-made dinner with fresh produce from the organic gardens. See their website for more info on facilities, services and the wide range of activities in the area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
BBQ facilities
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
333Reviews5Q+A41Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 236
  • 57
  • 21
  • 14
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ana wrote a review Mar 2024
San Diego, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a large and bustling hostel, but well organized and with a kind and helpful staff. The location is a nature lover’s paradise with beautiful flowering trees, trails, a waterfall, and views of the mountains. It’s close to Nature’s Valley, a spectacular beach and lagoon with excellent hiking all around. The food here is good and everyone eats together at 7pm; there’s always a vegetarian option. The dorm has a nice deck for yoga and watching the sunrise but the bed was sagging in the middle and the shower a mere trickle, although hot. Wi-Fi frustrating at times. There’s a lovely farm stand nearby with delicious things to eat. The surroundings are really tranquil. I loved all the people I met here!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Hitch hike up and down from here to Nature’s Valley.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Felix wrote a review Apr 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you look for an awesome and magical, alternative experience on your trip through South Africa, hit up Wild Spirits. This magical place will warm your heart: There´s wonderful hand made dinner offers every day, optional breakfast, tree houses, fire places, music, dancing, yoga, events, horse riding, rental bikes, small and big hiking opportunities, animals, bright stars at night and much more. All of the staff members are super nice, the whole place has a family-like atmosphere. Thank you Wild Spirit crew for amazing days. I´ve seen many hostels on my way and this is definitely the best so far in South Africa! :)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Dorms have nice sunrise views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jenny Lawrence, Owner at Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers
Responded 26 Jul 2020
Hi Felix! Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and felt at home. We look forward to accommodating you again in the near future! Best wishes, Wild Spirit Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nikki Nicholson wrote a review Oct 2023
Knysna, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was such a amazing experience - getting away from busy city life and being part of nature. Personally I loved the vibe and authenticity of the backpackers. It was such a vibe from beginning to end. Even in cold and wet conditions, there were fires going and the staff was more than willing to help and accommodate. My favorite part was the walk to the waterfall.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richie wrote a review Apr 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and two friends stayed in a family room because it said a R780 per night. Obviously a room for 3 or 4. checking out they informed us that the room was only for 2 people and since we had 3 it is an extra R200. I told the lady no one told us that would be extra. Why would they make a 4 person FAMILY room and only allow two people . rip off. Next time I'll just tell them there's only 2 of us

We decided to have dinner with them thinking it was going to be a decent price. We had pop and a stew. Very good, very authentic and native, but they charge R120 per person. I've been in Africa long enough to know pop and ostrich are the cheapest things to eat. It was probably like R300 to make the whole dinner and they made food for like 20 people. huge profit. good for them. But pretty scummy of them.

Over all the place was a rip off. But it was a cool off the chart stay and total hippie vibe
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jenny Lawrence, Owner at Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers
Responded 20 Apr 2022
Hi Richie We are saddened and surprised to read the review you left here on the 19th of April, and that your experience at Wild Spirit was less than the absolutely joyous and amazing time most people speak about. We apologize that you were confused about our family room rates, as there definitely would have been cheaper alternative accommodation offered to you. We pride ourselves in our meals at Wild Spirit and always put love and effort into providing an array of sides to accompany the meal (even the South African experience of Potjie and Pap cooked over the open fire, that so many people enjoy). In conclusion we hope you return to Wild Spirit (as you hinted you would in your review), and we have the opportunity to facilitate a more positive experience so you can leave with the wonderful memories that so many speak of. Kindest regards, Rebeka & the Wild Spirit team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leah W wrote a review Dec 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wild Spirit is an amazingly beautiful place. With great food at a fair price. The volunteers/staff are so friendly and create the most wonderful welcoming vibe. The dorms have a beautiful view, with no bunk beds and the safari tents are a great way to get the “camping experience” with a bit more comfort.
Definitely recommend for anyone travelling solo because the volunteers go out of their way to make you part of the crew as well as for travelling with friends or family.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trek02184411293 wrote a review Jul 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the guests I had the privilege of connecting with, said to me while we were sitting around the fire one night, "Wild Spirit is a Spirit, and she is looking after us." It was so simple but it made so much sense. There is a feeling in the air of a safe energy. In the heart of Nature, Wild Spirit is a place where we can re-align fully with nature, and meet new amazing people who all have vibrant energy.

There is a constant flow of giving and receiving and there is nothing more exciting to me than to be a part of it. I am deeply grateful for this incredibly beautiful place. Living is easy. Ten minute drive from the most beautiful beach and lagoon with many hiking trails all around. One hundred percent recommend this place to anyone who wants to get lost and then found and lost again. A totally freeing experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chiara S wrote a review Jan 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for the festival of friends and for another extra two nights.
Thank you to the whole staff- you guys are amazing!!!
The whole property was looked after and always clean.
We had a really pleasant stay and a lot of fun !!😊
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lara wrote a review Dec 2023
Johannesburg South, South Africa
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We camped at Wild Spirit for 10 days and absolutely loved the place, the people, the spirit, the food and the whole vibe! What a special place! So grateful we found it and experienced it! Thank you Wild Spirit, we’ll definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BeMyTravelMuse wrote a review Nov 2018
Berlin, Germany
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The place is amazing. It has a treehouse, drum circle area, piano room, and a deck with a beautiful view. Nearby, there’s a dairy which produces nearly all of its own products (or sources locally), and serves a delicious and cheap breakfast.

Unfortunately, because I wanted to love everything about this place, I hate to say that the dorms left a bit to be desired. They felt too cramped and old. I’d go for a private room or the campgrounds instead next time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Go for a private room or just use the campgrounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WildSpiritLodge, Manager at Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers
Responded 16 Nov 2018
Hi BeMyTravelMuse, Thank you so much for such a lovely, detailed review. We are happy to know that you had a great time with us. We will look into your comment regarding our Dorms. We usually get very positive feedback because they are Bunk-free and spacious ( En-suite 8-Sleeper Dorms ) compared to what one would generally come across in other Backpackers. But we appreciate your comments nonetheless and we will look into giving them some attention. We wish you all the best! Kindest regards, Management and the Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
erdenkind wrote a review Jan 2017
London, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The lodge is beautifully set on the edges of Nature's Valley and offers spectacular views. Both the lodge itself and the outside area are beautfully decorated and you can see that someone did it with love - someone that really cares for that place. There is plenty of space for BBQs, camp fires, a romantic tree house and opportunities to go on shorter and longer walks in the area.

The place has a "hippie vibe" and you can join people drumming around the campfire most nights. We had someone play the didgeridoo for us which was great. The food we had on the first night was also really good and I loved the dogs and cats that live there as well.

So why only 3 points?

We were travelling in a group of 10, so our accommodation consisted of a house located a bit further away from the lodge, less than a 5min walk. Great at first, the house did not seem to be finished yet. When we arrived in the evening it was pitch black as the electricty had gone off, however not in the lodge but just in our house due to a cable problem near by. We were offered candles, so we could see at least the beds and were to put our luggage. The beds on the ground / main floor were nice and comfy, however the two mattresses under the roof were only reachable via a very steep and unstable ladder - very dangerous climbing up or down in the middle of the night. Besides the mattrasses were framed by a bunch of loose cables, which you don't want to have next to your head while sleeping. The place was not insulated either and it was freeeeeezing cold and no possibiliy to heat up the place a bit. There was one bathroom and another toilet hidden behind a blanket serving as a door. Doubt anyone felt too comfortable using that one, in the presence of people they just got to know on the trip.

According to the other reviews the rooms in the main lodge are great, so make sure you don't stay in the forest house, even though you're a slightly bigger group.

The overall reason why I'm giving 3 and not 4 points was the behaviour of one of the staff members towards one of the guests one night. One of the girls, who must have been a new guest asked one of the female employees if they provided lockers to put away the more expensive stuff. The staff member, having preached loudly about how we are entering a new state in the universe and that love is the core of everything (not criticizing - I like philosphical/spiritual conservations as much as she does, just what happened after didn't really reflect what she had been talking about), rudely told her off. "Why do you need to lock your stuff away? It's safe here, no one steals here". That poor girl didn't really know what to say and just mentioned that she would feel more comfortable locking her stuff away when she is going on a day trip. The next comment of the staff member was plain unbelievable. In a pretty provocative tone she said "why, because you think this is Africa and you think people steal?" Woooooow, man I thought I didn't hear right but unfortunately she said that.

It doesn't matter where you are in the world, you never know who else is in your dorm room, be it in London, Rome, Buenos Aires, Bangkok or, in this case, The Crags, South Africa and no one should be ashamed for wanting to lock away expensive items. Assuming that this girl wants to lock away her stuff because it is "Africa" and making her feel bad in front of everyone that was in the room that time is just plain disrespectful.

I just needed to get this off my chest. Generally I definitely would stay here again, however then in one of the rooms in the lodge. Don't be put off by this review, I had a good stay and I am sure you will too!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sandy Adams asked a question Feb 2022
Cape Town, South Africa5 contributions2 helpful votes
How do I get to wild spirit if I don't have a car?
Answer from cmx51
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany111 contributions70 helpful votes
You'll be fine as long as you don't cruise with 100 mph :D
Answer from Beryl1973
Melbourne, Australia6 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi Stephanie, Details are below. You can get there via the Baz Bus. Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers R102 Nature’s Valley Road, The Crags, Western Cape, South Africa Tel : 044 534 8888 Cell : 082 828 8008 Fax: 086 219 3627 wildspiritlodge co za or info @ wildspirit co za It is beautiful hostel and if you are planning any of the activities around there I'd suggest booking in advance i.e.. kayaking
Olivier B asked a question Dec 2018
Cape Town Central, South Africa1 contribution
Hello Have you a big room available for tomorow night (27) ? Or two room ( 2 adults- 3 kids) Olivier
Ana wrote a tip Mar 2024
San Diego, California6 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hitch hike up and down from here to Nature’s Valley."
Read full review
Irene K wrote a tip Apr 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Would do the safari camp option as this might be better matched cost/value"
Read full review
Felix wrote a tip Apr 2020
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dorms have nice sunrise views"
Read full review
Matthias R wrote a tip Apr 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dove: Excellent view !"
Read full review
Travel Young wrote a tip Jan 2019
Wild Coast, South Africa84 contributions124 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The dorms are great and dont have bunk beds."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nature's Valley area.
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeNature's Valley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WILD SPIRIT LODGE AND BACKPACKERS - Hostel Reviews (Nature's Valley, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers
Which popular attractions are close to Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers?
Nearby attractions include Lawnwood Snake Sanctuary (4.5 km), Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Centre (3.4 km), and Birds of Eden (3.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers?
Conveniently located restaurants include Peppermill Cafe, Bramon Boutique Wine Estate, and Natures Way Farm Stall.
Does Wild Spirit Lodge and Backpackers have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire