The White Giraffe

Traveller (39)
Patio River Cottage 1
Room & Suite (7)
Dining area with fire place River Cottage 1
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

2.5
#20 of 20 guest houses in Parys
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Service

See why so many travellers make The White Giraffe their guest house of choice when visiting Parys. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Rooms at The White Giraffe offer a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a seating area providing exceptional comfort and convenience.

Travellers looking to enjoy some ribs can head to O's restaurant or Oak Creek Spur Steak Ranch. Otherwise, you may want to check out a seafood restaurant such as De Vette Mossel Parys.

Plus, during your trip, don't forget to check out Bon-Af Berry Farm (1.2 mi), a popular attraction that is within walking distance of The White Giraffe.

At The White Giraffe, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Parys.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Room features
Seating area
Clothes rack
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English
10Reviews0Q+A0Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2
  • 0
  • 2
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Cathy R wrote a review May 2018
65 contributions28 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a tiny room separate from the main house with a “garden view”. It had a somewhat incomplete feel about it especially the bathroom. The bed is new and awesome and the host pleasant. When I mentioned an issue the host immediately tried to solve the problem which was great. The only place to sit was outside on plastic chairs in a kitchen area. It’s an adäquate space for a short stay for a short period and within budget. I confess to being a tad disappointed and not sorry to leave. I must stress though that the host tried to make our stay as pleasant as possible and if a good bed is your main consideration this is a good choice. I personally want more though, especially in a town bursting with available accommodation
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RedS012 wrote a review Nov 2017
Pretoria, South Africa20 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The unit we stayed in had two rooms with bathrooms. The unit has a beautiful view of the river and within walking distance to the main street in town. The place has a lot of potential but is in need of basic maintenance and a good cleaning. We found dirty underwear of previous people in the lounge and rat droppings on the fridge. I would not recommend this place to my friends or stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CoreneBloemfontein wrote a review Sept 2017
Bloemfontein380 contributions101 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a small cottage - two rooms with their own bathrooms and a loft (TV-room). The only positive was our view on a section of the Vaal River. The bathrooms are basic (no soap), the water pressure terrible. Kitchen cupboard is dirty. (If I compare our experience with that of other reviewers it seems as if we are writing about completely different places).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lorna E wrote a review May 2019
Cape Town, South Africa13 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Wouldn’t recommend this place ! Photos are misleading. In fact we refused to sleep there and left ! One bathrooms light was fused and had no toiletpaper or towels. Shower tiles dirty !!!! The other bathroom had one dirty white towel. Only one light at front of place worked, no lights in car park next to the house. Totally unsafe with low wall in front and sliding gate. Half bottle of water in a 5litre dirty water container. I didn’t bother to check the beds as the covers looked dirty and warn out. Glad we didn’t even try to sleep there !!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Look carefully before you book
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from thewhitegiraffe, Owner at The White Giraffe
Responded 22 Oct 2019
This person booked the wrong house. She thought she had booked our bungalow however when came to booking, booked river house instead. I know this because she described the photos of the house she expected to stay in. From arrival she was not happy, I did offer a 50% refund which was also not good enough for her. Please take the time to make sure you are booking exactly what you want un future. Bedding and towels were completely clean.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Azania B wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
thought this trip will just be a weekend to let loose my hair recently lost my dad and will be a time to reflect with the girls. A weekend where we will not be missing the hustle and bustle of Joburg but kind of just relaxation. Bear in mind I had a week-long runny tummy, inflammation in both legs, bladder infection and top it all migraine.
Arrived on Friday late our music was loud and we apologised profusely for that but the Owner’s demeaning attitude with a racist’s undertone Saturday was the silver bullet. His condescending words ‘’this is your last F*cking night you better F*cking behave’’ gave me the impression we are his property. His vulgar use of words every second word the ‘F-word’ that’s disrespects no professionalism. He left a bad taste in my mouth. He said the white old lady at the back was complaining, both neighbours on the side as well. When my sister inlaw spoke up he said she’s ‘’F*cking lying as he received a call at six and we were still playing noise’’ unfortunately me due to the runny tummy I went to bed at 5am everybody was sleeping I got up at 7 for water and went back to the attic just going through my phone so when he had his tantrum I was in the attic on the couch and heard all the above commotion. I saw his message to me at 08:15. He was there before I could go down, that time I felt very humiliated and beguiled.
I use Parys sometimes as a pit stop travelling from Joburg to Bloemfontein, Kroonstad, George and Port Elizabeth. So, I am not a stranger to Parys.
Complains:
-Spider in bed / -Bats in ceiling / -passing hobos was a disturbance / – no signage limit noise usage
Everything above understandable place mostly closed, next to the river (up keep once a week)
For me an Occupational Hazzard risk both the kitchen door and side door with chains was closed could not be open by us and was not even mentioned in any advertisement, in case of a fire in front of cottage there is no emergency exits.
Azania Barends
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucretia wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I would really not recommend any person to this place.The owner is so rude and the places looks very unneat,we really had an awful weekend the owner was swearig at us as if we were kids how can you handle people like this.The place security was also totally not up to standard,the walls are so low that every one that pass the cottage would beg for food i felt very unsafe and the neighbours totally didnt give us privacy.What a waste of money.There was a big chain on the doors with no keys to open it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thelma M wrote a review Feb 2022
18 contributions
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Photos were misleading. Owner very unaccomodating and rude. Our fault we didn't check properly, no refund or deposit back offered. Saw different pictures when booking. Bathrooms appauling, didn't even unpack. Low wall and clearly seems thieves have tried to enter since locks are the only thing that looked "newish". Key left in the concrete table outside for us to find. Concrete floors and walls cracked. Stove probably the source of covid outbreak since its so dirty, would rather try and bath in the river since I might contract some disease from the dirty bathrooms. Think sleeping in a pigsty would have felt cleaner, didn't check the beds, might have picked up lice. Our car could barely fit, no carport. Utterly disgusted that booking.com would have such low standards.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon Dolinski, Owner at The White Giraffe
Responded 04 Apr 2022
Indeed it was for fault sir that you booked the wrong unit, on arrival I'm sure your children were not happy the there was no pool etc. To say I was rude is not true but I will amend that now. You threw your toys out of your pram because YOU made a mistake with your booking, I'm not exactly sure what horrors your photos are supposed to represent either to be honest. It seems to me that the people likely to write reviews on this site are people like you. I would please ask anyone reading this rubbish to please go to Airbnb, Lekkeslaap or Booking,com to get a real and honest picture of this accommodation, you will see that 99% are good reviews.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jpm7701 wrote a review Dec 2016
74 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The house is huge. 4 rooms: 3 with double beds and 1 with two single beds.
3 bathrooms - 2 en-suite. Massive kitchen and huge garden.
I have nothing else to say, this place is beautiful! Bring your friends and family and enjoy!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lily850 wrote a review Dec 2016
Pretoria, South Africa8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The house is spacious and I got the feeling of my childhood growing up in a house like this. Big rooms and lounge area not to mention sparkling pool and the most amazing garden I have ever seen. Will definitely recommend this establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Red947 wrote a review Sept 2016
Port Elizabeth, South Africa135 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the garden room. The room was small but had everything in to make your stay comfortable. The bathroom only has a shower. Everything was very neat and clean and the room is suitable for one or two nights stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Lorna E wrote a tip May 2019
Cape Town, South Africa13 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look carefully before you book"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Parys area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,818 - R 1,818 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaFree StateParys
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WHITE GIRAFFE - Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Parys, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The White Giraffe
Which popular attractions are close to The White Giraffe?
Nearby attractions include Kiki’s Vintage Photo Studio (2.4 km), Pine's Emporium (2.4 km), and The Man Cave (1.8 km).
Which room amenities are available at The White Giraffe?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
What are some restaurants close to The White Giraffe?
Conveniently located restaurants include O's restaurant, Hoi Polloi, and Angelo's Pane Vino.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire