The Royal Grand Hotel

The Royal Grand Hotel

View from the balcony in the rooms
Traveller (1166)
Room & Suite (250)
Hotel Restaurant at the Royal Boutique Hotel
Dining (111)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.0
#4 of 5 hotels in Kanoni
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Royal Grand Hotel offers a pleasant atmosphere and unique facilities to all its guests for any purpose they are traveling. The Royal Boutique Hotel has 136 luxurious rooms and suites, 1 restaurants, 1 bars and 1 cafeteria with a beautiful terrace overlooking the Mouse Island, the trademark of Corfu and the airport. Modern decor, impeccable service and personalized attention to detail ensure a comfortable stay in an elegant setting. A spacious pool and a children’s pool with seawater are waiting to cool you and the nearest sandy organized beach will be found just 300 meters away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Game room
Aerobics offsite
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Street parking
Public wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary welcome drink
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Billiards
Bowling offsite
Table tennis
Massage chair
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Greek

Location

Palaiopolis 110, Kanoni 49100 Greece
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 65 out of 100
65
I. Kapodistrias Airport
Ioannina Airport
78.7 km
See all flights
3.0
3.0 of 5 bubbles633 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Many travelers find The Royal Grand Hotel's all-inclusive package to be disappointing due to subpar food and unexpected dining expenses. The hotel's cleanliness receives mixed reviews; while some guests commend the pristine condition of rooms, others are frustrated with the less-than-spotless pool area and inconsistent housekeeping. The hotel's location is appreciated for its convenience to transport and scenic views, although some have reservations about the immediate environment. Amenities, particularly the pool, are frequently criticized for maintenance and cleanliness issues. While the atmosphere in communal spaces often lacks vibrancy, some guests note pleasing decorative touches. Room opinions vary, with complaints about upkeep and noise countered by compliments on the views and some instances of cleanliness. Service quality is inconsistent, with negative experiences including unhelpful staff and unresolved maintenance issues, despite some positive interactions. Noise levels are a point of contention, with guests divided between finding the sound of planes charming or bothersome.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Uninspiring
Rooms
Uncomfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Noise level
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
633Reviews77Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 189
  • 115
  • 119
  • 76
  • 135
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Tlismore wrote a review Sept 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Royal grand in August after a difficult year with Covid 19 we found the hotel room to be very clean and modern with a lovely view of the lake and of course the runway for the planes.
When the balcony door was closed it was fine you could barely hear the planes taking off and landing and they did not interfere with getting a good nights sleep.
The pool was cleaned daily and always lovely to take a dip in ,the pool bar girl was absolutely amazing she could not do enough for you and would bring drinks and snacks down which is not part of her job , she was always smiling and happy to chat about the area and point out the best places to visit.
The hotel itself was clean and staff wore masks whilst working , the bar was always stocked with whatever you wanted to drink and if they didn’t have it they would go and purchase it.
The restaurant staff were very polite and friendly and always welcomed us with a smile , due to Covid the all inclusive Buffett was table service , you pointed out what you wanted and drinks etc were brought to the table , the only disappointment was the food was always only just warm never hot ! The breakfast was lovely but the lunches and evening meals were a bit boring and sometimes a weird combination.
Just around from the hotel there is a bar called captain George’s where they serve great food and cocktails but be warned when the sun goes down the mosquitoes come out !
Just along from the bar there is a small supermarket with the best owner ! He loves to tell stories about the island and is a great source of information and you can buy your bus tickets there.
At the top of the road the view is amazing there a few restaurants there and you can eat and look out over the sea it was very beautiful.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a lovely couples or family break and it’s only 20 mins in the bus to Corfu town.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from George Metaxas, Ιδιοκτήτης at The Royal Grand Hotel
Responded 01 Oct 2020
Dear Mrs/Mr Tlismore, On behalf of the Royal Grand Hotel team we would like to express our gratefulness and appreciation for selecting our city hotel for your summer vacation in our beautiful island and simultaneously for dedicating some time in order to share your exceptional review with the rest of TripAdvisor viewers. At The Royal Grand Hotel we invest to our hospitality, as well as we believe that a smile and a kind behaviour can make your day! Therefore, we are all absolutely delighted with your special words concerning our dedicated and polite staff team! Regarding the lunch and dinner buffet that did not manage to please you, we would like to express our sadness and our regret. We strive daily to improve our buffets and lately, as your reviews refer, we have achieved that! Thank you once more for this great feedback! We would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in our city hotel in one of your future visits in Corfu island. Sincerely, Guest Relation Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ben H wrote a review Sept 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a week (bed and breakfast) our room was very modern and clean, with exceptional balcony views of the sunset over the runway. The pool area was nice and clean, and a quaint beach area is also located nearby. Breakfast was good, there were a lot of choice - to improve could have been warmer. Coffee was exceptional.

Staff were very helpful and someone was always nearby to assist or answer queries.

The runway is extremely close to this hotel, but the flight times finish at around 11pm and are not through the night or early morning. It is quite a spectacular sight and lots of people travel to this area of Corfu to experience it.

We often ventured out to the local restaurants, bars and cafes - Captain George’s is divine for food whilst the Skyview is a better place for drinks. A local bus the ‘2A’ allows you to venture into Corfu for a small price. (€1.10 from the mini market round the corner - one way) both the old and new town are incredible.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from George Metaxas, Ιδιοκτήτης at The Royal Grand Hotel
Responded 26 Sept 2020
Dear Mr Ben H, On behalf of The Royal Grand Hotel we would like to express our gratefulness for choosing our city hotel for your recent accommodation in our beautiful island and simultaneously for dedicating some time in order to write your constructive opinion about us! We are absolutely delighted when we read so amazing reviews, especially when the staff team has played a determinant role to please and satisfy you. For this reason, we are grateful that your stay here was exceptional and also enjoyable! Thank you once more for this exquisite review! We are honestly looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, Guest Relation Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Jaye wrote a review Oct 2020
Wakefield, United Kingdom
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose this place as a much needed beak due to the ongoing covid situation. First impressions were good and the room was clean and spacious. However the bathroom does have a smell of the drains and the showers could drain better as there’s lots of surplus water that goes all over the bathroom floor.
The beds are very comfy and you have a fridge, kettle and safe within the room. We didn’t choose to go All inclusive and that’s something I’m thankful for. The hotel bar offers Gin but no tonic and isn’t well stocked. The pool bar however does do Gin and tonics and the lady serving there is lovely and polite.
All the staff are very friendly and very polite.
Sadly the food is very poor. We only had breakfast there twice and due to the lack of choice and opted to dine out for the rest of the week. Asked for some brown toast and got white and when I asked for some butter I was told butter had finished for the day!! This was a good 45minutes before breakfast finished. I’ve travelled the world and never been told butter had finished for the day!!!
The pool area is very clean however the pool itself was freezing, plenty of lounges available and you can hire a beach towel for €5 deposit.
Overall the hotel is ok, it’s the staff that make it better.
This hotel is great for any plane spotters as your right next to the runway and great views of planes taking off/landing.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations RoyalGrandHotel, Owner at The Royal Grand Hotel
Responded 28 Oct 2023
Dear Guest, kalispera, Thank you for your comments and for your time to share your sincere review with regards to your stay at our hotel. We are at least happy that your accomodation was nice and relaxing but simultaneously saddened that you probably would not return here, as we are in the process of making a lot of changes for the upcoming season. This is the reason why we would love to welcome you back, so we do hope to give us one more chance at seeing you back! Wishing you all the best for a nice winter! Yours sincerely, Guest Relations Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah W wrote a review Jul 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My daughter and I stayed at the Royal grand for 5 nights towards the end of june on our first trip to Corfu.
The Hotel is split into 2 parts, the main hotel and a second block over the road. We were initially given room 509 over the road where the pool and pool bar are situated and in close proximity to the runway and planes taking off.
The room was basic with a terrace leading to a path which takes you to the pool and bar. The location of the room felt a little out of the way and secluded but this could suit some guests.
The pool is salt water so it does sting when it gets into your eyes but the area is ok. Cocktail’s, wine and beer are served from 10am till 6pm and at around 5pm a light snack will be provided.
There are not enough sun beds or umbrellas for all guests but we did manage to get a spot on 3 out of the 5 days. We stayed in room 509 for one night before asking to move because as an all inclusive guest It made more sense to be in the main part of the hotel where the meals are served.
The hotel was fully booked but the staff still managed to accommodate our request and moved us to room 307 on the third floor. This room was of a much better quality and more like the pictures we had seen before booking.
The food was better than expected lots of fresh salads with beef, chicken pork and fish with pasta and chips ect. Full English breakfast on offer every morning with pancakes and continental items, loads of fresh fruit and yoghurt. Food is a tricky one to review because everyone has very different tastes but both of us thought the food was very tasty. There was just one dish I didn’t like out of everything and if it wasn’t hot enough we used the microwave provided in the buffet area.
You can get to a pebble beach if you go through the bar situated next to the sushi restaurant and down some steps which is 5 mins walk from the hotel. There is little boat trip available from this area for 2.5 euros over to mouse island. The captain may even let you have a go at steering on the way back!
Accessibility could be a problem for some guests as there are many steps to navigate not only in and around the hotel but in the area in general.
The locals and staff are very friendly and can’t do enough for you at the Royal Grand hotel so thank you to you all for making us feel welcome.
We had a lovely stay in a great location.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Walk out of the hotel and turn left there are some bars one of which is part the royal grand so...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations RoyalGrandHotel, Owner at The Royal Grand Hotel
Responded 08 Nov 2022
Dear Mrs Sara, Thank you so much for choosing "The Royal Grand Hotel" for your summer holidays in Corfu and also for dedicating some valuable time in order to share your decent and sincere review. Our hotel strives to maintain and upgrade our guest's high standards, therefore all our staff members are delighted that you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay at all. Regarding the room change, our Reception employees are grateful that they managed to assist you better, providing to you a room more suitable to your needs. Thank you for your lovely comments concerning our food variety selection and taste! We are terribly sorry that our hotel is not the most suitable choice for people with mobility issues, this is the reason why we have informed in advance all our official sites about that, because we understand how substantial is for the guests to have the best vacation, related to their special needs. To conclude with, thank you once more! Of course, if you ever came back to Corfu, we would love to accommodate you again to "The Royal Grand Hotel"! With our warmest greetings, Guest Relations Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JoJo wrote a review May 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is a 5 minute drive from the airport and it is amazing watching the flights arriving and departing from your sunbed. The hotel is very clean and modern and the staff are so pleased to help and cannot do enough for you. There are pool towels available at the pool bar. You pay a €5 deposit per towel, which you get back when you return the towel. The all-inclusive drinks at the pool bar are mainly cocktails, soft drinks and water. The diet coke is from a syphon and makes Rola Cola taste good! In the restaurant and hotel bar you can also get wine. The food is very basic and not the best. For 3 days there was no butter available. Although we were AI, I struggled to find something to eat. The hotel is not suitable for people with mobility issues as there are a lot of steps down to the pool. The bathrooms are small but modern. The toilet doors in both the rooms and near the pool are frosted glass and have no locks on them!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations RoyalGrandHotel, Owner at The Royal Grand Hotel
Responded 14 Jun 2022
Dear Joanne, Thank you so much for giving us the channce to raed and know your sincere opinion about our hotel services and facilities. We are delighted that you enjoyed your vacation in Corfu so much! All our staff members feel pleased that they managed to add value to your stay! Regarding the steps in our hotel, let us clarify you that we do not advertise that our hotel is friendly to guests with mobility issues. Thank you once more, we do hope to accommodate you back in "The Royal Grand Hotel" in one of your future visits in Corfu. Sincerely, Guest Relation Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tia johnson wrote a review Jul 2021
Birmingham, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I visited Greece for my birthday and our anniversary. When we arrived at the hotel (3rd July 2021) we thought it was very much out of the way. There is hardly anything around. We checked in and got a tiny room in 1 of 2 annex buildings 403. I was very unhappy with how small the room was, definitely not for two people so I went to reception and had my room changed to 603 which was bigger but not decorated as nicely at all (not like the photos). With very uncomfortable holiday beds. The views from the room were fantastic and we could see the planes taking off and landing. The planes taking off are very very loud but you kind of become used to it. There are A LOT of planes landing and taking off everyday until around 12:00am, sometimes later. The rooms were cleaned everyday and towels provided. Staff are very lovely and helpful. The pool area always has sun beds (majority of umbrellas are broken) and is a massive sun trap. The pool is salt water and cleaned daily. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was awful, I would not recommend going all inclusive. The alcoholic drinks are hardly drinkable apart from the beer. There is a pool bar which serves food for 1hr which is dry sandwiches and chips on a small plate left on the side for everyone to eat. The sky view bar right next to the hotel is overpriced with inedible food and cocktails are full of ice (all chips are full of oregano and can not be taken off). The only place I’d recommend is Kanoni cafè which is right on the door step of the hotel with BEAUTIFUL views. The bus comes every 30minutes to Corfu town (€1.70). There are no Sandy beaches around you’ll have to get two buses and take a 20 minute walk and 30 minute bus ride. I wouldn’t stay in this hotel again but the views are exceptional.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the 400s. No smoke alarms in rooms. Do not visit sky view. Go to kanoni...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations RoyalGrandHotel, Ιδιοκτήτης at The Royal Grand Hotel
Responded 16 Jul 2021
Dear Mrs Shestcj, Thank you for the time that you disposed in order to share your sincere comments with the rest of TripAdvisor members. We accept all the reviews, especially when some of them have goal to improve our services, as we believe is the purpose of yours. However, regarding all the issues that you figured out in our city hotel, let us deeply apologize. Concerning the noise because of the airport runway, we mention in all of our pages the proximity of our hotel with the airpanes. Thank you once more for your honest words and we really hope to have one more chance at hosting you back at The Royal Grand Hotel. Sincerely, Guest Relation Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alisonkbean wrote a review Jul 2022
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just like Tired Traveller i too had seen the very negative reviews over the last few weeks and was getting very worried about our Trip . We are currently at the Royal Grand and felt i also had to write to redress the balance. i won’t repeat what tired traveller says but agree with every point.
We have a garden view room and with the doors closed cannot hear the planes at all.
Air conditioning is perfect, rooms are fairly compact but perfectly adequate. There is a fridge in the room. Yes the “wet room “ style bathroom is badly designed and when you shower there is a lot of leakage but i placed a towel on the floor at the corner of the shower screen and that stopped it. Towel then dried on the balcony in an hour voila !
Yes this is clearly a 3 * hotel but excellent value for money. Plenty of choices for breakfast , lunch and dinner, Wine and Beer on tap for every meal .
The pool does need more umbrellas and some are very much past their best before date but always managed to find a spot.
Area is fine several nearby cafes and restaurants if the food does become repetitive,
Walk down the path to the shore and take a boat to Mouse island. Only €2.50 return
Bus into town runs every 20 minutes, tickets from mini market behind hotel €1.10 each way .
Use the cold milk from the cooler display for cereals made mistake first day and had warm milk on my muesli. Chambermaid couldn’t be more helpful same with the receptionist but i do find if you treat people with respect you will get it returned.
With a little work and thought this hotel could be amazing but then it would be much more expensive so all in all excellent value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations RoyalGrandHotel, Owner at The Royal Grand Hotel
Responded 08 Nov 2022
Dear Mrs Alison, All of your lovely comments are greatly appreciated from all of us, thank you so much! "The Royal Grand Hotel" is continuously improving its services and facilities, therefore we would like to welcome you back, in order to offer you a prorortionate rewarding holiday experience. Sincerely, Guest Relations Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anthony wrote a review Sept 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at this hotel for a week all inclusive and couldn’t have asked for much more. The staff are fantastic and always there to recommend areas around Corfu and provide great service from the pool bar to the restaurant. The food is much better than I expected given the reviews I had previously seen (the only downside is perhaps the food could be hotter at dinner) but really that wasn’t much of an issue. The pool area was nice and relaxed and the drinks were good. Our room was cleaned each day and the views of the sunset each night is exceptional.

Perhaps some people may find it noisy being so close to the airport but overall this was a fantastic holiday and I would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from George Metaxas, Ιδιοκτήτης at The Royal Grand Hotel
Responded 27 Sept 2020
Dear Mr Anthony, First and foremost we would like to thank you for your sincere and honest comments regarding your stay at The Royal Grand Hotel Corfu. Your positive feedback gives us motivation and courage to continue! We certainly do our utmost to make your holiday as comfortable and pleasant as possible, so we are very pleased to read that you were satisfied with the hotel in general. Once again, allow us to express our appreciation for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our city hotel on your next holiday to Corfu. Sincerely Guest Relation Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Desmond B wrote a review Aug 2023
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
They should not be allowed to advertise wrong information. False photos of hotel and bedrooms especially
We bought a family all inclusive to the Royal grand hotel corfu and it's nothing short of fawltytowers of corfu
The pictures do not match advertising on holiday page from the hotel needs pulling down its falling apart.
Facilities are very basic and in a run down state
Swimming pool lacks beds that are not broke
Alot of safety issues around pool from slippery floors causing guests to slip and missing glass panels accident waiting to happen for small kids to end up in pool from a high height
Swimming pool water is very strong in chemicals with the sea water alot suffering with skin conditions and turn silver black. You will need to get cleaned properly
Pool bar someone fell through the floor last week as all wood is rotten around pool area.
Food
I wouldn't feed my dog the food here and all u get is st times to eat thats it but most people including our family have had to eat out all the time so extra money spend on food as I wasn't planning on spending eztra
Drinks are watered down in tiny plastic cups
No entertainment of a evening and only one restaurant to use or you can pay at there sister restaurant with 10%off which u wasn't told.
Games room everything broke
Do not bring kids here.
If you can change holiday do it now before u arrive
Last week tui stopped selling holidays here because of the amount of complaints and bought a coach collected all there customers moved to other available hotels free of charge and have stopped selling it but not love holidays just keep selling it and people going home early
Love Holiday do not help in the slightest and are the only company selling this holiday from hell.
They don't have a holiday rep here in corfu so everything is long winded.
Rooms are not sound proofed from airport noise as they state
TV do not work properly in rooms
Reception bar never opened and staff very rude and don't help
Last holiday we will book with these they will lose alot of business as I and many others will not use as it shows they don't care about the consumer

Date of experience: 29 July 2023

Edit
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Do not go here under any circumstances otherwise you are stuck as love Holiday will do nothing...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations RoyalGrandHotel, Owner at The Royal Grand Hotel
Responded 25 Oct 2023
Dear Mr. Edit, kalimera, Thank you for dedicating some time in order to share your sincere opinion about our hotel's facilities and services. Regardless of the fact of reading a positive or a negative review, we always encourage our guests to leave their feedback, because we know that only in this way can we be possibly improved. In retrospect, we already know that it is impossible to change your negative impression, we can only hope that you will consider returning back to us, probably next year, where we will show you our enhancements and improvements for which we are proud of. With our warmest regards, Guest Relations Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
patricia m wrote a review Sept 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 7 days. Overall we enjoyed our stay but there was a few things that could have been better. The hotel itself looks lovely and is very clean and the staff are friendly enough. The 2 cafe/restaurants near the hotel are fab, we had coffees and food at both, very nice views also. The pool area is just across the road, looks very nice and there is plenty of beds and room for sunbathing, the pool is sea water though which we found a bit odd.
The games room with the pool tables needs some work it doesn't look the best and both the pool tables were broken so we couldn't even play.

All inclusive: we ate breakfast everyday, it was nice but was very repetitive, same things everyday. We only had lunch once during our stay as its only served from 12.30 to 2pm and we were out and about most of the time. We had Dinner only 3 days as it was the same kinda stuff and we quickly got bored of it so we also went out for food. They need a bit more variety with the food choices. There's not much options for the drinks either, only 1 type of beer and the cocktails are very sweet, taste like sugary fruit juice and are served in plastic cups. The pool side snacks were quite disappointing as they were literally 2 plates of bread with ham and cheese and that was it.

Rooms: very nice rooms, beds are comfy. Air con is very good. Bathrooms are tiny though, and when you shower water goes all over the floor. The balconys are small enough but that didn't bother us, only thing is the fan on the balcony blows out hot air which is a bit unusual. It says you get coffee/tea making facilities in your room and we did not, we did have a little fridge which came in handy but it would have been nice to be able to make tea/coffee in the evenings.

Checking out day: This really annoyed us. Now keep in mind checkout time is 11am. So housekeeping knocked on our door and walked in around 8.30am while we were still asleep to see if we were gone. Then around 9am or so, same thing again knocked on our door and she said wake up now and we got annoyed and said you know checkout is at 11am like. We were literally going down for breakfast in a few mins. And then we came up from breakfast getting our stuff ready etc and she came knocking again at 10.30ish, we just told her we'd be out in a few mins, but I've never came across that in any hotel before, we were both like what the hell.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations RoyalGrandHotel, Owner at The Royal Grand Hotel
Responded 28 Nov 2022
Dear Ms. Patricia, We do thank you for sending us your feedback with regards to your recent stay at our hotel. Please note that we have read carefully all your points and rest assured that we will take all necessary actions towards solving them. Of course, regarding the sad incident with one of our cleaners that knocked your door and disturbed you, please allow us to deeply apologize. We have already taken important measurements in order to avoid these events. All in all, thank you! We honestly hope to give us one more opportunity at welcoming you back to our hotel! Have a safe winter! Yours sincerely, Guest Relations Department
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Corfu, Greece4 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear Visitor, Yes, of course.
Corfu, Greece4 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear Mrs. Ellie, kalimera, Thank you for contacting us. Further to your kind question, please note that there is no a standard price for the taxi, as it depends on some parameters, such as the traffic, the number of the passengers etc. However, we can advice our guests that an approximate price can be 20-25 euros. Always at your disposal, "The Royal Grand Hotel" team
Answer from Favours Trips
13 contributions
Hi, I won’t be able to give recommendation. My transport was a shuttle, it was included in the package holiday I brought. Yeah the airport is very close to the hotel
Michelle Evans wrote a tip 05 Jul
Heywood, United Kingdom4 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Double check everything the place is not as nice than on the pictures, travelling on the bus is cheap enough at 2 euro, I would class this place as a 3 star"
Read full review
Emily T wrote a tip 03 Jul
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Spend a little more and choose a different hotel as you'll end up spending that money anyway when you inevitably decide to eat out"
Read full review
Adam Gresham N wrote a tip 01 Jul
Bognor Regis, England3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It's very close to the airport, a short taxi ride if you don't book a transfer "
Read full review
Sharon M wrote a tip Jun 2024
6 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Queue for sunbeds earplugs for planes at night extra money for eating out"
Read full review
Jack C wrote a tip Jun 2024
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t bother. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kanoni area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,490 - R 2,154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GreeceIonian IslandsCorfuKanoni
NUMBER OF ROOMS
136
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ROYAL GRAND HOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Kanoni, Greece)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Royal Grand Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Royal Grand Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Vlacherna Monastery (0.2 km), Mouse Island (0.7 km), and Kanoni Causeway (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Royal Grand Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Royal Grand Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Royal Grand Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Royal Grand Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Royal Grand Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Captain George Family Tavern, Flisvos Seaside Experience , and Cafe Kanoni.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Royal Grand Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Royal Grand Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to The Royal Grand Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Corfu Museum of Asian Art (3.7 km), Achilleion Museum (3.5 km), and Agios Iasonas Kai Sosipatros (2.0 km).
All Kanoni HotelsKanoni Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KanoniHotels near The Royal Grand Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire