We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Onverwacht Cottages Accommodation

Save
Share
Boesmanskloof, McGregor 6708 South Africa
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (6)
Pool & Beach (3)

About

#7 of 9 in McGregor
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
An ideal getaway for nature lover's! Magnificent vista! Spectacular views to the R62 and into the depths of The Galg and the famous Boesmanskloofhiking Trail to Greyton! Abundant birdlife! Array of fynbos species! Variety rockpools and private trails to choose from. This is home away from home.Follow your hart and make time to breath, spend time with friends, went for a couple of walks, watch the stars at night, swim in the rivers, clean your mind or simply just get away from it all!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Pool
Pool with view
BBQ facilities
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Fireplace
Bath / shower
Room types
Mountain view
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Full view
Contact
Boesmanskloof, McGregor 6708 South Africa
Getting there
Cape Town Intl Airport104 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
10Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 6
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Naomi Marx wrote a review Oct 2021
Vereeniging, South Africa158 contributions4 helpful votes
This place is just too beautiful to put into words. We sadly only spent one night here but wish we could never leave. It is right in the mountains. Very rustic. If you want luxury this is not for you. But for the adventurous, the nature lover and people who like different...look no further. As my daughter said..its the closest to heaven we've ever been! We stayed in the train cottages. We did come with a normal car and found the road a bit rough but made it nonetheless. But do note the last stretch of road really is more for 4x4. But what a beautiful place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Don Packett wrote a review Dec 2020
Western Cape, South Africa421 contributions64 helpful votes
+1
It was a welcome sight seeing Onverwacht after we trekked along the mountain 17kms from Greyton. The view from the space was magical as the sun set over the mountains, the pool was spectacular and felt well-deserved after a long hike. We booked the original cottage but soon realised we’d enjoy another cottage (Waboom) more. A quick call to Bernard and we were changed with no fuss. Incredible service by the whole team. I’d recommend the hike from Greyton AND a stay at Onverwacht. Just magic.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
rebecca_lain wrote a review Mar 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa26 contributions
We stayed at the Bergtrein cottages whilst doing the Boesmanskloof trail from Greyton. The cottages were a welcome sight after a long days walk! Bernando was an excellent host, keeping in contact leading up to the weekend and even helped us stock up on wood/drinks/ice, luxuries on an overnight hike. The cottage was perfect for the trail; indoor fireplace, incredibly comfortable beds (and very clean! The bedding smelt amazing), fridge, microwave and gas cooker. We had a great mid-hike stay and were sad to leave the following morning. The views over the mountains are spectacular. Thanks so much Bernando!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We were in cottage number 6, this is on the far end with views looking down the valley.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Yvette W wrote a review Jan 2018
Cape Town, South Africa137 contributions35 helpful votes
6 friends stayed in Bergrosie 3. We were honestly quite disappointed...the cottage itself was very dusty and all the dishes needed washing before we could use them. Luckily we brought our own bedding, because the nedding provided was not very clean and had quite a bit of hair on the pillowcases. The views were truly lovely, but I don't think we would sacrifice the cleanliness of the cottage fkr the views. Really a pity.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from OnverwachtCottages, Owner at Onverwacht Cottages Accommodation
Responded 29 Jul 2019
Hi From my point of view I am really sorry that you are not used to the nature, mountains and rustic environment. During that period of time we didn’t provide any bedding. You were supposed to bring your own bedding. Included blanket, duvet, duvet cover, pillow, pillowcase, sheet and towel. The bedding on the beds was a bonus! So you didn’t pay for any linen or towels. I can only make excuse for the dishes. That is a subject I will discuss with my cleaning ladies. Regards Onverwacht Accommodation
Read more
C1239ZIruthm wrote a review Jun 2017
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We a group which did the Greyton McGregor hike, and the cottages are a welcome site at the end of the long walk. There is a lovely pool for the summertime, winter is perhaps a bit chilly. We stayed in cottage no 7, we were 8 people and it was very cramped as there is only one bathroom and limited space kitchen and beds wise. It was very cold so we lit the fire inside the cottage which smoked the whole house out, despite the different setting so we ended up opening all the windows anyway... those we could open and weren't rusted shut. brrrr. A lot of alien vegetation around the cottages which could perhaps be cleared to preserve the fynbos. but all in all a good stay :)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: choose one of the individual cottages and not the connected ones.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeMcGregor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Onverwacht Cottages Accommodation
What are some of the property amenities at Onverwacht Cottages Accommodation?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and barbeque facilities.
Which room amenities are available at Onverwacht Cottages Accommodation?
Top room amenities include a dining area, a fireplace, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Onverwacht Cottages Accommodation?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Onverwacht Cottages Accommodation?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Onverwacht Cottages Accommodation?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Onverwacht Cottages Accommodation?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.