Africamps at Stanford Hills

Africamps at Stanford Hills

Weltevrede Farm, Stanford, Overstrand 7210 South Africa
Traveller (53)
Room & Suite (22)
Views from the Zesty Lemon
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 campsite in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
AfriCamps is all about glamping at the most beautiful working farms, estates and reserves in South Africa. At each of our locations, you can get closer to nature without compromising on the creature comforts of home. Enjoy everything from hiking to hammocking, from seclusion in nature to romantic escapes, from family getaways to merry chaos with friends. The AfriCamps glamping concept offers guests the freedom and flexibility of a self-drive holiday, the closeness to nature of a camping trip and the luxury and convenience of a beautiful self-catering unit. Ten self-catering boutique glamping tents are situated on the foothill of the Klein River Mountain range overlooking a dam and the Stanford Valley. This foodie delight is only a 15-minute drive from Hermanus and can be reached from Cape Town in two hours. Stanford Hills Estate is fast becoming one of the area’s most popular attractions. Aside from offering tastings and sales of their award-winning range of wines, there are a variety of other activities and attractions. The restaurant, The Tasting Room, is set above a dam with endless views over the Stanford Valley. The restaurant has a reputation for laid-back fun, with an emphasis on fresh and inventive food of an exceptionally high standard. Chef Bridget changes her chalkboard menu daily according to what is locally fresh and available, including from her own vegetable garden. The farm also produces Proteas and Pincushions, which are endemic to South Africa, so from August through November the farm is filled with these colourful blooms. The farm offers horse-riding, hiking, and even whale-watching by air in a small airplane that takes off from the farm’s private landing strip. You can also have a swim in a farm dam, try your hand at fishing, or simply lie in bed and listen to the birds. Each AfriCamps tent consists of a spacious open plan lounge area with a comfortable couch, a dining area with a solid wooden table and seating for five guests, a fully-equipped kitchen, two bedrooms that comfortably sleeps five guests and a bathroom complete with a hot shower, flushing toilet and washbasin. Five of 10 tents have a private outdoor wood-fired hot tub. Both bedrooms are furnished with a queen-size bed and have their own private entrance which allows maximum privacy. One of the bedrooms also contains a single bunk bed. Our tents are equipped with air-conditioning and an indoor fireplace. Enjoy a braai on our spacious wooden decks and take in the views from the comfortable deck loungers. Pull up the front covers and transform the tent into a large outdoor living area. Unwind and appreciate a festive family breakfast while taking in the serene natural beauty of the South African landscape. Our tents are equipped with Wi-Fi.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Restaurant
Canoeing
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Horseback riding
Fishing
BBQ facilities
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Fireplace
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Microwave
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Seating area
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Electric blanket
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Weltevrede Farm, Stanford, Overstrand 7210 South Africa
84Reviews1Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 47
  • 22
  • 10
  • 0
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Aeolus97 wrote a review Jan 2021
Somerset West, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my first glamping, really love it, kids enjoyed it a lot, asking to come every year.
However, Stranford can get very windy, so it will get very noisy on the windy nights, but without wind, super awesome and tranquil! Also bring your own water to drink, all tap water here are filtered but still yellowish ( I guess is mineral) so not drinkable, and the camp only provide you one 5l filtered water which also taste bad, so remember to bring your own water. Overall, I enjoyed every second of my stay, and will check out more of other Africamps sites.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AfriCamps Boutique Glamping, Marketing at Africamps at Stanford Hills
Responded 23 Feb 2021
Thank you for the review Darren. We are glad you enjoyed your first taste of glamping, and hope to see you at more of our camps soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judestim wrote a review Sept 2022
Cape Town Central, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the first time we've stayed in an Africamps set up and it was generally a lovely experience and i would most certainly recommend them. We chose a camp (Stanford Hills) where we could take our dogs and it was lovely having them with us, but one does need to keep an eye out for baboons etc. Lovely to have free reign to walk around the property and Stanford is only a 25 min walk away.

Unfortunately the wind blew strongly for over 24 hours and the tent rattled and shook all night, so I didn't enjoy a good nights sleep but my husband said he felt like he was back on a boat, and slept quite well!
The hot tub, that one pays extra for, unfortunately needs about 3 - 4 bags of wood to heat up, which you also need to pay for. In the summer one can always use the dam. We'll definitely be back, however, it was a lovely few days away.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AfriCamps Boutique Glamping, Marketing at Africamps at Stanford Hills
Responded 13 Sept 2022
We are so glad you enjoyed your time at the camp and that you brought along your doggos. Thank you for your valued feedback. We're sorry to hear about the windy conditions during your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle wrote a review Jul 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is definitely worth it...perfect for people who like the great outdoors with some of life's creature comfort's!
The glamping tent has everything you will need from aircon to electric blankets!
Africamps Stanford Hills has 10 glamping tents...5 of which have wood fired hot tubs. Tents 6-10 have the hot tubs.
The whole stay was lovely and we were there in stormy weather but the staff were so accomodating and friendly.
Keen to try more Africamps venues soon!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AfriCamps Boutique Glamping, Marketing at Africamps at Stanford Hills
Responded 06 Jul 2021
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and being in the outdoors! Awesome to hear that you want to visit more of our camps in the future - we look forward to it! Thanks for the review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Journey_Blogger wrote a review Jul 2021
Durban, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We really did enjoy the breakaway and the place has a lot of potential and it was the three night special that swayed us to go and stay. We originally booked a hot tub tent (on the special) and still the hot tub tent was a little more expensive than the one without the hot tub.

Upon arriving, our tent (with a hot tub) was positioned away from other tents, to the side of the property, with no view of the damn and quite secluded. On the website, the tents are advertised as being on the foothills overlooking the dam. This was not the case for us. Also, upon arriving and waiting to check in, we were told that because we have a hot tub we were going to need loads of wood (2 bags just to start it up each night). You were given 1 bag of wood free for your entire stay, the rest were R40 a bag. Oh and you were also only given 1 fire lighter free and kindling. The rest of your stay you have to buy these things. Again, information that was conveniently left out when booking.

When we arrived we did not want to stay in the hot tub tent without a view so we requested to move. They made a plan for this to happen and when speaking to the lady on the ground (Brenda) we were told that they could "make a plan" for a refund.

During our stay we also bought a braai pack and a breakfast based. The braai pack was tiny for what you pay and the breakfast basked was missing items which I requested and was told would be delivered but were not.

Upon leaving and having to pay our bill that we racked up (firewood etc.) we said to them that we would like a refund because we downgraded. We were told that Brenda was not there and that the booking was done separately with Africamps and that they were not affiliated and therefore could not help us with a refund.

It is a nice place, with a lot of potential but it seems as though money is their priority instead of guests and delivery a good service and experience. It is a pity as because I think were were young they were thinking we wouldn't care. Hope this review helps some people out to make a more informed choice when going here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Very quiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Colleen Chaplin wrote a review Aug 2020
Western Cape, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Attractive place situated in a lovely area but not for those who want peace and quiet. Also for the price I think they could have made sure it was fully stocked, things worked and it was clean - inside (microwave was filthy) and outside. We had to pick up rubbish outside as it was such an eyesore. Mostly disappointed in the lack of interest from the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AfriCamps Boutique Glamping, Marketing at Africamps at Stanford Hills
Responded 09 Sept 2020
Thank you for your honest feedback. We have been in touch with the camp about these elements that were overlooked and we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience. We are glad you found the spot beautiful. With only 5 tents in the camp, it is normally a very peaceful and quiet location. In our general rules we do ask guests to consider their fellow glampers and not to be noisy in the evenings. Music is not allowed. Our camps are for the enjoyment of all and we are sorry to hear the camp was not quiet during your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shaunbugler2020 wrote a review Sept 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is great, but note there are gravel roads. Water is brack, so you need to use your own clean water.

Our tent looked clean initially, but we found glass on floor, chocolate on floors inside and outside.

The beds are amazing, but the provided electric blankets can't all be used as you only get 1 plug point and no adapters so you must choose which to use.

Overall the tents are well equipped for self-catering, but this is camping and noise travels easy so we had 6am wakeups from other tents kids and dogs so don't plan on sleeping late.

If you get a hot tub, you won't be provided with wood to use it so bring plenty or buy before hand.

I think this is a great idea, it needs some quality of life tweaks, sufficient wood for cold nights and hot tub use and better cleaning, but overall not a bad place to stay
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AfriCamps Boutique Glamping, Marketing at Africamps at Stanford Hills
Responded 03 Jan 2022
We are glad to hear you liked the location and that the beds were comfortable. Thank you for your valued feedback. Because the water is not fit for consumption, we do offer water for drinking. Additional water can also be bought at reception. We are sorry to hear that the cleanliness of the tent was not to the AfriCamps standard and apologise for any inconvenience. As our tents are self-catering, guests must bring their own firewood or they can purchase it at reception. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FarAway25064561270 wrote a review Feb 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for three nights. Accommodation is good and the views outstanding. It was very windy while there and felt like the tent was going to take off. Definitely was not going to but be beware that it it common for winds and if you are not used to it may have difficulty sleeping. Crockery etc needed cleaning before use.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AfriCamps, Front Office Manager at Africamps at Stanford Hills
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately the wind can be quite unpredictable and unpleasant, we are glad you still enjoyed the accommodation. Thank you for letting us know about the state of the crockery. We value our high standards and will make sure to relay the message to the correct party. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you for another (less windy) AfriCamps experience!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Markus wrote a review Jan 2021
Cape Town, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We paid up front, which is often a red flag. Arrived for 2 nights at a scruffy open area with piles of cut vegetation (see photo) and toenail clippings on the kitchen floor. Unable to sleep a wink because of nesting pigeons clambering and fluttering between the tent and the flysheet. Too windy to braai. Salad blew away through lack of wind cover. Upon complaining, they were unable to offer alternative accommodation so we left early after only 1 night. They even refused to refund any money! Overall: Expensive and dreadful experience! Only bonus was they sold wine during the alcohol ban!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay at Home.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AfriCamps Boutique Glamping, Marketing at Africamps at Stanford Hills
Responded 23 Feb 2021
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your glamping experience, however we did offer to do what we could to make the stay more pleasant for you. It is a standard practice to require full payment up front. We completed the build of 3 new tents shortly before your stay, therefore the cut vegetation close to the tents, apologies for any inconvenience caused by this. Naturally it takes a while for vegetation to settle in after construction, we have also planted grass in front of the new tents in the meantime. With regards to the pigeons that were causing noise, immediately after informing our team on site, we offered to remove the nest in a professional manner so as not to harm the birds, but your response was to leave it there and not interfere with nature. We could not offer alternative accommodation as our units were fully booked. Unfortunately we cannot refund guests due to poor weather. Regardless, we value your feedback and wish you safe travels in future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aricofamily2016 wrote a review Mar 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at Africamps Stanford twice and both times we have been blown away by the location and service (literally and almost figuratively, with the Cape wind!). The tents are big, well set up and quite private even though you are next too other tents. The views over Stanford and the Cape Fold mountains are unparalleled, and it is a beautiful property to walk around and explore.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AfriCamps Boutique Glamping, Marketing at Africamps at Stanford Hills
Responded 27 Jun 2023
Hi Arico family! We are thrilled to hear that you had such a five-star experience, twice staying at AfriCamps at Stanford Hills. We can't wait to welcome you back for another memorable stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicky B wrote a review Jan 2023
Durban, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Africamps is a wonderful glamping concept. The tents are very well positioned and equipped. They have kettles, toasters, stove, microwave and a bar fridge. There is also a fire place inside the tent as well as a braai unit on the deck. The Stamford Africamps unfortunately don't all have hot tubs which is their "signature". I hope that this will be changed in the future.
The tents also have air-conditioning.
Unfortunately the geysers don't work during load shedding so you need to plan around this. If they were fully gas they would be fine.
We stayed for 7 nights which I feel is too long in a tent, I have previously stayed 3 nights in Africamps Pongola and that was ideal.
You feel all the elements in the tent such as the gusty wind which is next level disturbing, you feel as though you going to blow away it is really bad.
The servicing of the tents was a bit hap hazard, no specific details on how often they would service the unit and replenish essential items such as toilet paper and fresh towels. However on request this was done without hesitation.
They also don't give you more wood if you book for a longer stay, there should be a formula that covers different length stays.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AfriCamps Boutique Glamping, Marketing at Africamps at Stanford Hills
Responded 31 Jan 2023
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the AfriCamps experience and that our glamping tents are to your liking! Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay and for providing us with valued feedback. As you mentioned, the geysers do not work during loadshedding. We do our best to communicate the loadshedding schedule with guests so that they can plan accordingly and minimise disappointment. All our tents are self-catering and cleaning is only included for four-night stays or more (you should thus have received a complimentary clean during your seven-night stay). Extra cleaning and a fresh set of towels/bedding can be requested at an additional cost.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daine J asked a question Jun 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa60 contributions5 helpful votes
Good day, Kindly advise what kind of fish, other than bass, is in the dam? Has the construction been concluded?
J Oliver wrote a tip Mar 2024
Cape Town, South Africa11 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is absolutely no WiFi at the camps, despite the website saying there was. "
Read full review
Traveler28626932808 wrote a tip Jan 2024
5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A sim in the dam is a must, don’t bother with the pool, "
Read full review
Rob Vorster wrote a tip Oct 2023
Constantia, South Africa56 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your bass fishing gear as there are a couple of dams. If you prefer to horse ride, then you can do that too."
Read full review
Janine wrote a tip Oct 2023
Cape Town Central, South Africa12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make the most and explore the area around aswell"
Read full review
87sybils wrote a tip Oct 2021
Montagu56 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be prepared to walk, definitely book for breakfast basket, it's the best. The restaurant lady was absolutely delightful!!!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Stanford area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,652 - R 1,813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeOverberg DistrictOverstrandStanford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AFRICAMPS AT STANFORD HILLS - Campground Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Africamps at Stanford Hills
Which popular attractions are close to Africamps at Stanford Hills?
Nearby attractions include Hermanus Cliff Path (5.1 km), Hermanus Country Market (6.2 km), and Cape Whale Coast (5.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Africamps at Stanford Hills?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Africamps at Stanford Hills?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Africamps at Stanford Hills?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, barbeque facilities, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Africamps at Stanford Hills?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Africamps at Stanford Hills?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Hussar Grill Hermanus, Char'd Grill & Wine Bar, and The Wine Glass Hermanus.
Are pets allowed at Africamps at Stanford Hills?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire