Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

D826 / C27 Road, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park Namibia
Traveller (545)
Desert Quiver Camp Chalet
Room & Suite (205)
Pool & Beach (65)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 6 campsites in Sossusvlei
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Desert Quiver Camp uniquely combines modern self-catering accommodation with comfort and style. Conveniently located a mere 5km from the entrance gate to Sossusvlei, the inspiring scenery characterised by granite outcrops, spectacular views and roaming wildlife will captivate your senses. The 24 uniquely designed self-catering accommodation units have spacious bedrooms, en-suite bathrooms, shaded patio areas and private parking. Each twin-bedded room features a fold-out sleeper couch to accommodate 2 small children (under 12) free of charge when sharing with 2 full paying adults. The patio is equipped with a barbeque facility, a fitted kitchenette with under counter fridge, 2 plate hob and a wooden bench for seating. Utility boxes with most utensils needed are available at reception and fresh food supplies can be ordered daily. Facilities at the main building include a fully stocked bar with a big screen television, a sparkling swimming pool and 2 communal boma-areas.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Public wifi
Pool
Pool / beach towels
Bar / lounge
BBQ facilities
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Poolside bar
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Clothes rack
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Walk-in shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

D826 / C27 Road, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park Namibia
398Reviews9Q+A50Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 254
  • 111
  • 26
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
tunabWHK wrote a review Apr 2021
Windhoek, Namibia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff were friendly and professional. Made us feel welcome and we felt comfortable to approach them for assistance, advise, etc.
The pool/bar area is great!. Wifi. Drinks at the bar are ice-cold. The pool was refreshing. The view is amazing, especially at sunset.
The rooms were clean and comfy. Appreciated the AC in the heat. Dig the outdoor kitchen and fridge. Plus the braai area. We felt there could have been more shade in the front kitchen area. We threw up a blanket to create more shade.
Convenient that we could rent a kitchen kit with cooking utensils, cutlery, dishwashing liquid + sponge, etc.
Location is perfect if you want to visit Sossusvlei, Deadvlei, Sesriem canyon, etc. Plus the little store at the Engen petrol station close by is well stocked.
I definitely recommend this place.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Taleni Africa, Owner at Desert Quiver Camp
Responded 19 Apr 2021
Dear Tuna, Thank you for the excellent recommendation and kind compliments to our staff! Delighted that you enjoyed our perfect location, the comfortable rooms, the self-catering facilities and equipment to rent, the refreshing pool as well as the amazing views at sunset! Looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Sossusvlei! Best wishes, The Desert Quiver Camp Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JRF wrote a review Jan 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Incredible rooms, perfect for couples. Braai packs have a great assortment of game steaks, pre-made salads etc. so cooking is not an issue (we’re also really reasonably priced). Outdoor kitchen and braai area is very pleasant to cook at and ours was sheltered from the wind. Rooms have a great view of the mountains and sunrise. The pool and bar area are very scenic. Staff is friendly and helpful. Overall it was one of our favourite places during our two week self-drive through Namibia, and worth the “upgrade” as a break from camping!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TaleniAfrica, Manager at Desert Quiver Camp
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Dear JRF, Thank you for the excellent rating and review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed our incredible rooms, the great views, the outdoor kitchen area, the fresh food on order service as well as the friendly service you received from our staff! Looking forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Sossusvlei! Best wishes, The Desert Quiver Camp Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jasminewml wrote a review Sept 2022
South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Whole camp and location is perfect! The kitchen is well equipped with the electric stove and the braai area. The room was very spacious. Is located in a large, well-cleared space and is very quiet. You can see some orxy walking nearby. The view of sunset and sunrise is breathtaking. And in the evening, we were amazed by the magnificent view of the stars, it's breathtaking. One of the best stargazing spot in the area!
Compared to the price of the room which is costly, they could have offered at least a simple breakfast, such as a hot drink and rusks.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful & located in a large, well-cleared space.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Taleni Africa, Owner at Desert Quiver Camp
Responded 18 Sept 2022
Dear Jasmine, Thank you for the great ratings and review! Very pleased that you enjoyed our perfect location, the spacious rooms, well equipped kitchenette for self-catering and the magnificent stargazing! We are a self-catering facility, hence not having a restaurant or kitchen on the premises - you are welcome to add breakfast at our nearby Sossusvlei Lodge should you not wish to self cater. Looking forward to welcome you back! Best wishes, The Desert Quiver Camp Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
worldtraipse wrote a review Mar 2023
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Awesome stay! We did the self catering option with delivery of Brai items to the room that was already in the fridge by the time we arrived. Ordered the oryx, garlic bread (huge loaf- can def serve 4-6 people so only grill what you need), and potatoes. Super convenient. Appreciated the hot water, a/c and wifi in the lounge area. The kitchen box is great but is missing a sponge to clean the dishes and one more dish rag to dry the dishes. Would recommend adding that to the box. Overall a great stay with friendly staff, close proximity to the lodge if you want the breakfast and dinner option and you can book activities at their adventure center. Do the Cessna flight- super worth it and they will try to find other folks to get on your flight so it’s not so expensive. Seeing where the dunes meet the ocean was a once in a lifetime experience.

And the difference between desert camp and quiver according to staff are the views and also that Desert Camp has a bigger pool area with more trees.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Taleni Africa, Owner at Desert Quiver Camp
Responded 26 Mar 2023
Dear World Traipse, Thank you for the superb rating and review! Delighted that you enjoyed our location, the fresh food on order service, the Cesna flight and the friendly service you received from our staff! We look forward to welcome you back! Best wishes, The Desert Quiver Camp Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mostert585 wrote a review Feb 2021
Pretoria, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Desert Quiver Camp in January 2021, after much rainfall in the south of Namibia.
Our room was beautifully and creatively appointed, and extremely clean. It was dust-free, which is a major achievement in the middle of the desert.
The room had an outdoor kitchenette, hidden behind a canvas wall that can be zipped open and close. We preferred to do our own braai on the very well-designed barbeque and braai. We asked for the crate with cutlery, crockery and utensils that is available. This really contained everything we needed.

The bathroom, dressing area and bedroom were really clean and beautifully designed. The bedding linen was extremely clean and comfortable.

The aircon in the room worked well and was very welcome given that we were there in mid-summer.

The pool and bar area was creatively designed, and had stunning views. Pool towels were provided. There is a good working WiFi network in the bar area.

This is the perfect place to stay when you visit Sesriem and Sossusvlei.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The rooms are all similar, spread over a vast area.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Taleni Africa, Owner at Desert Quiver Camp
Responded 08 Feb 2021
Dear Gerhard, Thank you for the fantastic rating and review of your stay! Delighted that you enjoyed the layout, cleanliness and comforts of our units, the equipped kitchenette and braai area as well as the pool and bar area! We look forward to welcome you back during your next Namibian visit! Best wishes, The Desert Quiver Camp Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
de-san wrote a review Jan 2020
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We choose this place because of the option of self catering. Stock up before you go here, because in town are only two small stores. Really nice rooms and though the kitchenette is small, it will do just fine to prepare some simple dishes. I do agree with some other guests reviews that a couple of relaxing chairs on the porch would be nice. Also the swimming pool may need some more launchers because it can get very busy. Staff is friendly and the location is great.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TaleniAfrica, Manager at Desert Quiver Camp
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Dear De-san, Thank you for the great rating and review. Glad you enjoyed our location, the nice rooms and the friendly service you received from our staff. We have an option where you can order fresh food from a list that will be delivered to your unit just before sunset, so no need to stock up on everything. Most of our guests use the barbeque to prepare their meals and the kitchenette just to prepare side dishes. We will look into your other comments. Looking forward to welcome you back! Best wishes, The Desert Quiver Camp Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Seanine v Rensburg wrote a review Aug 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We wanted to get away a bit just to clear our mind from all our anxiety and stress this past year has brought. Saw desert Quiver’s special that they are running and thought okay WOW let’s book this. Spoke to the booking agent ( whom we later found out sits in South Africa for some odd reason 😐🤷🏼‍♀️) She told us on mail it’s not necessary to book at all there wil be enough space for us at Desert Quiver. We drive all the way from Swakop arrive there at around 7 at night. The lady at reception says No there is no space at Desert Quiver and sends us to their other camp cause according to her it “looks the same”. We get to the other side and no it does not look like the pictures we saw as we had this idea in our head already. Just to check in took us about and hour and a half. We insisted to sleep at Desert Quiver ( then after insisting they miraculously have space for us again at Desert Quiver wow 🤦🏼‍♀️😐)as the booking agent specifically said there is space. Then this guy who helps us insists we pay upfront-this is after we wanted to book and pay online through the booking agent too but she advised us to pay everything on checkout. Now please keep in mind we had reached our swiping limit for the day ( filling up the car buying groceries for the trip etc) so after an hour and a half of a struggle just to get the keys for our camp I started to get really annoyed as we are tired and hungry. We arrived at the camp so late we could not even cook the food or make a braai. A beautiful evening wasted. Now guys this was a very bad experience for us service wise we were very unhappy. The place is beautiful but we will definitely not be returning. In these Corona times I feel you should cherish each guest but this was definitely not the case.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Taleni Africa, Owner at Desert Quiver Camp
Responded 18 Aug 2021
Dear Seanine, Thank you for the feedback. On the afternoon before arrival Mario contacted our reservations office stating that he is having problems with his card when making payment on our online booking platform and if we can make the booking and he will pay on arrival. Our policy is the same as most other accommodation establishments in Namibia that if full payment is not made prior to arrival, you are welcome to arrive as a walk-in guest to make a booking and payment onsite upon check in. We don’t allow payment on departure and this was never mentioned in the email conversation between Mario and our reservations consultant. We have 2 self-catering establishments with the exact same facilities, Desert Camp and Desert Quiver Camp and due to the impact of the pandemic on our industry we have to carefully manage occupation at both camps due to the fact that we are still forced to run on a low number of staff. Unknowing that your mind was set on Desert Quiver Camp our receptionist suggested Desert Camp on your arrival as we would ideally have an equal amount of guests at both establishments. When you returned and insisted you want to stay at Desert Quiver Camp our team made the booking immediately as we had other guests that were more flexible in regards to which camp they wish to reside in. Once again you experienced trouble with the card payment which is not of our doing. You were checked in by 19:18 within minutes from arrival with ample time to still enjoy a beautiful evening and braai should you have wished to. We do have a smooth online reservation system and successfully process the majority of our bookings this way – online bookings are confirmed instantly on the successful processing of the credit card provided. The fact that your credit card declined due to transaction limit reached was beyond our control and we tried our best to assist accordingly. We do cherish every guest in these difficult times and do apologize that you did not enjoy the experience and beauty of Desert Quiver Camp due to the check-in process. Best wishes, The Desert Quiver Camp Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KimShum wrote a review Jan 2024
New Delhi, India
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family of 5 spent 2 nights in 3 of these self-catering huts which are very simple, clean and well constructed. The kitchen set up is outside and we borrowed the kitchen kit so that we could cook for a few days to take a break from all the fancy lodge food that we had been eating. The ACs worked fine in the extreme heat of the summer and the pool was lovely in the afternoons. WiFi only works at the bar but you can hang out there all afternoon to have internet. Just 2-3 km from Sessriem and the entry gate to Sossussvlei but much more scenic spot to stay with the rock outcroppings.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Taleni Africa, Owner at Desert Quiver Camp
Responded 04 Jan 2024
Dear Kim Shum, Thanks so much for the excellent ratings and review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed our scenic location, the AC for the heat, refreshing pool, the bar area and our equipped self-catering facilities! Looking forward to welcome you and your family back during your next visit to Sossusvlei! Best wishes, The Desert Quiver Camp Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hans L wrote a review Feb 2024
Ludwigsburg, Germany
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A great place to stay with the park nearby. Staff is always friendly and helpful. However I do have suggestions to improve. Have multiple bins for recycling the trash instead of one big bin (at least near reception as in your other lodge). Install solar Panels so you become independent which would be very easy at that location and with aircon on 24/7 that is a must in my eyes. Else all good 👍
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Taleni Africa, Owner at Desert Quiver Camp
Responded 12 Feb 2024
Dear Hans, Thank you for the fantastic rating and feedback! Very pleased that you enjoyed our location and the friendly service you received from our staff! We already have a huge solar plant closer to Sossusvlei Lodge which we put back into the grid exceeding consumption of our properties in the area. Will look into your bin suggestion. Looking forward to welcome you back again! Best wishes, The Desert Quiver Camp Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
#TravelingWithPieter wrote a review Aug 2021
Antibes, France
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival we were greeted with a refreshment at the main lodge, and informed our chalet was already cleaned and available for an early check-in.

This gave us an extra afternoon to explore the National Park, a mere 5min drive from the lodge.

Fantastic bar & pool area to enjoy after climbing the Namib Dunes.

Pre order your braai packs with delivery daily before 18:00.

Overall a well run lodge after our disaster of a stay at a near by lodge!

Will highly recommend, book in advance like we did!

We will return with the Put Foot Rally next year.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Taleni Africa, Owner at Desert Quiver Camp
Responded 23 Aug 2021
Dear Pieter, Thanks so much for the superb rating and recommendation! Delighted that you enjoyed the early check-in, the fantastic bar and pool area as well as the fresh food on order service! Looking forward to see you again with the Rally next year! Best wishes, The Desert Quiver Camp Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
petfriendly_8 asked a question Mar 2018
Newark, New Jersey1,808 contribution86 helpful votes
Desert Quiver Camp , you can hear the car noise very loud, ...
Answer from Froggy2Denmark
Denmark1,851 contribution73 helpful votes
Sjorry, I'm a bit late answering. We were there in October last year. It was one of the most tranquil places we've ever been - it was fabulous! Traffic noise is certainly not an issue.
Answer from TaleniAfrica
Cape Town13 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear Noura, Thank you for the question. Yes, Desert Camp and Desert Quiver Camp is accessible by a normal car / Polo. You should just drive cautious on the gravel roads and keep you speed below 80kph. The road inside the park is tared up until the 4x2 parking, but from there you can take the shuttle to the Deadvlei parking area. Or you can book a guided tour at the Sossusvlei Lodge Adventure Centre. Best regards, The Taleni Africa Team
FlossPortElizabeth asked a question Mar 2017
Port Elizabeth173 contributions30 helpful votes
I would like to book at this desert camp but get no reply to my enquiry
Answer from TaleniAfrica
Cape Town13 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear Floss, Please advise where you enquired about a booking? Our reservations team do there utmost to answer all emails within 48 hours as they do receive quite a large volume of emails. You can also visit our website to do an online reservation or give us a call on the telephone number on the site. Best regards, The Taleni Africa Team
Answer from TaleniAfrica
Cape Town13 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear TNVol49, Thanks for the question. Being a self-catering establishment most of our guests do have a car with them or if they are traveling with a group they normally have a bus transporting them. For Fly-In guests we suggest that they stay at Sossusvlei Lodge as all our activities depart from there and our restaurant is situated there for meals - unless they want to order from our starter pack to cater for themselves. Unfortunately don't provide a shuttle service between the Lodge and Desert Quiver Camp. Could you please contact our reservations office so that we can take a look at your booking and provide you with suggestions? Thank you! Best wishes, The Taleni Africa Team
Lana G asked a question Oct 2016
Heidelberg, South Africa1 contribution
Does all the rooms have an aircon?
Answer from TaleniAfrica
Cape Town13 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear Lana, Yes we recently installed aircons in all our units at Desert Quiver Camp. Best Regards, The Taleni Africa Team
Dieter S wrote a tip Jul 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you have a car to go the main lodge if you want to use the buffet restaurant"
Read full review
juliet h wrote a tip Mar 2023
Marton cum Grafton, United Kingdom353 contributions199 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Order more food than you think you may need"
Read full review
Jasminewml wrote a tip Sept 2022
South Africa45 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are beautiful & located in a large, well-cleared space."
Read full review
ZA_world wrote a tip Sept 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa1,337 contribution96 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Order the braai supplies from the reception for an easy and inexpensive eat-in option"
Read full review
DudesAdrift wrote a tip Mar 2021
Dallas, Texas328 contributions87 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for room near pool, if you don't like to walk far."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sossusvlei area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,352 - R 2,747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NamibiaNamib-Naukluft ParkSossusvlei
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DESERT QUIVER CAMP - Campground Reviews & Price Comparison (Sossusvlei, Namibia)

Frequently Asked Questions about Desert Quiver Camp
Which popular attractions are close to Desert Quiver Camp?
Nearby attractions include Dune 45 (4.4 km), Sesriem Canyon (5.3 km), and Sesriem Canyon (5.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Desert Quiver Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Desert Quiver Camp?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Desert Quiver Camp?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, a poolside bar, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Desert Quiver Camp?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Desert Quiver Camp?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Desert Quiver Camp?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Does Desert Quiver Camp have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.