Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Rooms are individual terraced chalet houses
Traveller (474)
Room & Suite (134)
Pool & Beach (38)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 3 lodges in Khorixas
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Built in the wattle and daub style under Mopane trees and connected by a labyrinth of paths, the main building and chalets of the lodge look like an African village. The walls are adorned by copies of the rock engravings at Twyfelfontein. Each of the 60 double room chalets (with air conditioning) sits in a vegetable and herb garden surrounded by a low wall. The gardens supply fresh ingredients for supper, which consists of a starter followed by a delicious buffet. There is a swimming pool for chilling out and a viewing point for relishing sunsets. The lodge at the gates of Damaraland is ideally suited for excursions to Twyfelfontein (130 km), the Petrified Forest (70 km) and the Vingerklip rock pillar (50 km).
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, German

Location

C39, Khorixas 9000 Namibia
768Reviews5Q+A44Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 296
  • 333
  • 97
  • 28
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Departure68609106374 wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great food, great workers especially the guys,(ladies are a bit cold or not very interested ) a very beautiful clean pool where we relaxed all day long with other visitors. The sundowner is breathtaking and snacks were served there, very food. Rooms are clean and very comfortable,, (but the aircon’s position is tricky,,) above everything else we had a great time at this facility, I would visit again to relax and enjoy good food and swim all day
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GondwanaCollection, Intern at Damara Mopane Lodge
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your honest review. We appreciate you bringing the service attitude of the staff to our attention and we will definitely discuss with the management to improve on that aspect. We are glad to hear that you had a memorable stay and really enjoyed the facilities. We hope you'll come back to visit us soon for a swim! Kind regards on behalf of Gondwana, Daniela
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
de-san wrote a review Jan 2020
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This a a large hotel what caters for tour groups and serves only buffet food in the evening. So if you like buffets this is the place to go. Rooms are nicely decorated and the hotel has a large swimming pool, they need it because this hotel can accommodate 120 people. Staff is friendly. I have seen better but it was ok for 1 night.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GondwanaCollection, Intern at Damara Mopane Lodge
Responded 30 Jan 2020
Dear de-san, Thank you for reverting back with your feedback. Our lodge caters to all guests who want to experience our beautiful country and we hope you enjoyed your visit. All the best of luck on your travels and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards on behalf of Gondwana, Daniela
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kyrano-Tracy wrote a review Jun 2022
Warminster, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Mopane Lodge is an amazing place surrounded by mile or open plains. The hotel rooms are all individual bungalows, each having a unique garden of flowers or vegetables.

There is a wonderful garden area surrounding the pool. The dining area is outside under cover and the night we were there was a very substantial buffet. Staff are all very friendly.

There is a sunset bar a short (uphill) walk from the front of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gondwana Collection Namibia, General Manager at Damara Mopane Lodge
Responded 07 Jul 2022
Dear Guest Thank you so much for your positive review and for taking the time to provide feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a positive experience with us at Gondwana Collection Namibia. We will convey your feedback to our team. Kind regards The Gondwana Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hector1905 wrote a review Sept 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Damara Mopane Lodge on our way to Etosha from Swakopmund. The rooms and amenities are nice enough, but the lodge offers absolutely zero as far as excursions to the surrounding attractions. The staff seem to be geared towards late afternoon arrival and early morning departure to such a degree that you feel terribly unwelcome if you have to be at the lodge after breakfast. Although they have a beautiful large pool, it is very uninviting as there are no umbrellas and no staff around offering any beverages etc. Sitting around after breakfast waiting for our transfer ( having been asked in no uncertain terms to settle our room bill at 9h30), we were not offered anything to drink once. The staff ( and manager included) seemed to really want to make every effort possible to ignore us. In summary, this lodge is nothing but a overnight stop-over and definitely NOT a destination in its own right.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gondwana Collection Namibia, General Manager at Damara Mopane Lodge
Responded 25 Oct 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for recent review. We regret that we did not deliver our usual standard of service. Our teams are committed to providing high-quality customer service and experiences to all of our guests. We hope to see you again in the near future. Yours sincerely, The Gondwana Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diggy wrote a review Aug 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stopped here in between the rock art and Etosha. It was such an oasis of color, art, lovely service and nature. There is a walking trail around the grounds, a sundowner bar and the rooms were well appointed and more in with 5 star than 3. Also after days of no hot water from some 4 star hotels in Swakopmund, it was a relief to have consistent hot water with great water pressure and a working air conditioner that actually cooled the room. The one suggestion I have is to have a warm main meal for vegetarians- I would make the same suggestion to all hotels in Namibia probably. They did have a vegetarian soup and large salad bar which was nice.

It was too cold to swim but the pool was large and inviting. I hope to come back again one day.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gondwana Collection Namibia, General Manager at Damara Mopane Lodge
Responded 09 Aug 2022
Dear Guest Thank you so much for your positive review and for taking the time to provide feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a positive experience with us at Gondwana Collection Namibia. We will convey your feedback to our team. Kind regards The Gondwana Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SteveU wrote a review Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 1 night here as part of a large group.
We had the best welcome and orientation we received in any of the 12 different hotels or lodges we stayed in during our travels thanks to the young bright intern whose name unfortunately escaped me.
We liked the quirky nature of the lodgings which had their own gardens where they grow their own foods some of with were presented for us as dinner.
I took advantage of the available walking trail for a well needed early morning run which was good fun, definitely different!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Watching the sunset with a drink in hand from the viewing platform is a must!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gondwana Collection Namibia, General Manager at Damara Mopane Lodge
Responded 25 Oct 2022
Dear Guest Thank you so much for your positive review and for taking the time to provide feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a positive experience with us at Gondwana Collection Namibia. We will convey your feedback to our team. Kind regards The Gondwana Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mensovw wrote a review Mar 2020
Den Dolder, The Netherlands
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Really bad experience! Made a reservation for a night. Because of the distance to travel I made a phonecall to make sure everything was ok. Unfortunately the lady on the phone told me they were overbooked and not able to accommodate us the next day. So we had to make a reservation in another hotel for that night. She told me someone would contact me for the refund.
The next day the hotel called me to ask at what time we would arrive (it was already 8pm). I explained the situation and told her we were in a hotel far from their place. She promised me that someone would call for the refund.
Unfortunately after a lot of e-mails and calls I haven't received any refund. 182$ lost!
Really disappointed by their customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GondwanaCollection, Community Coordinator at Damara Mopane Lodge
Responded 07 Apr 2020
Dear Mensovw, Thank you for approaching us on this matter. We are truly sorry to hear that you didn’t have a good experience with us. We always strive to provide our guests with the best customer service in all our departments. Could you please forward your booking information and previous communication regarding your refund with us pr@gondwana-collection.com. Our team will review and attend to your matter at the earliest convenience. We hope to hear from you soon. Kind regards on behalf of Gondwana Koney
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ajay G wrote a review Aug 2022
Atlanta, Georgia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Not too many options available in Damaraland. This property offers a convenient option for travelers between Etosha and Swakopmund. The units are individual cottages and are well furnished. Laundry services are very reasonable and included breakfast is decent. The rooms are priced higher relative to other parts of Namibia but that's also a function of a lack of available options in this area!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gondwana Collection Namibia, General Manager at Damara Mopane Lodge
Responded 25 Oct 2022
Dear Guest Thank you so much for your positive review and for taking the time to provide feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a positive experience with us at Gondwana Collection Namibia. We will convey your feedback to our team. Kind regards The Gondwana Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TokyoJimmy wrote a review Aug 2023
Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Damara Mopane Lodge is a very comfortable property to visit this fascinating area of Namibia. We received a very warm welcome at check in. Reception has a shop with a good range of products. The highlight of the hotel is the platform halfway up the hill behind the hotel where you can grab a drink and watch the spectacular sunsets. The restaurant provides good buffet dinners and breakfasts, many of the ingredients are grown outside the small chalets that act as rooms, both ecological and delicious. Our chalet was comfortable with a good-sized bathroom, including a good shower and sink with shelves, a large comfortable bed but was annoyingly two singles pushed into a double, ottomans and wardrobes for storage, but no TV or Wi-Fi which is only available in Reception. The signal is strong there though. The chalet also had a kettle and air-conditioning. The grounds and chalet gardens are pleasant to walk around, there is also a small outdoor pool. The only real annoyance I had about the Damara Mopane Lodge is that the restaurant staff insisted on sitting us with a tour group just because we were booked with the same tour company, so we had no time to spend on our own in the evening and had to socialise when we were tired. It was awkward and something the staff need to be more sensitive to. Check out was efficient and smooth.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jakkie574 wrote a review Jun 2021
Swakopmund, Namibia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a wonderful place with a unique concept!! Well done Gondwana! Will definitely promote it to anyone. We were welcomed with a cold drink, the staff were extremely friendly and accompanies us to our doorstep and telling us about the lodge on our way there. Rooms were clean and well maintained, bathroom well organized and lovely products available. A real pleasure.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernd Grahl, General Manager at Damara Mopane Lodge
Responded 13 Jun 2021
Thank you for the great review jakkie574! We hope to see you return in the future. Kind regards Geena Visagie
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grosbli asked a question Apr 2018
Tarawa Atoll, Republic of Kiribati3,492 contributions87 helpful votes
Hello. In July. Temperatures ok to enjoy the pool ?
Answer from Manwi72
Birkenfeld, Germany112 contributions60 helpful votes
July is Winter in Namibia. Temperatures are ok, but water in the pool is everytime very cold.
Grosbli asked a question Apr 2018
Tarawa Atoll, Republic of Kiribati3,492 contributions87 helpful votes
Hello. In July. Temperatures ok to enjoy the pool ?
Answer from GondwanaCollection
Windhoek, Namibia16 contributions2 helpful votes
Thank you very much for contacting us. Temperatures would normally be around - Maximum 20 °C & Minimum 6 °C. I would say that it is cooler during the day in winter compared to other parts of the country. Kind regards, Koney
Answer from GondwanaCollection
Windhoek, Namibia16 contributions2 helpful votes
Thank you very much for the question. The Himba village is about 116 km from the Damara Mopane Lodge, so this should be more or less then an hour drive. We wish you all the best in planning your trip!
SteveU wrote a tip Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom1,331 contribution115 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Watching the sunset with a drink in hand from the viewing platform is a must!"
Read full review
Viajar Viver & Voltar wrote a tip Aug 2022
Portugal26 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Drinkable/potable water"
Read full review
sourosircar wrote a tip Jun 2019
Sandhurst, United Kingdom985 contributions59 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"For less walk, ask for rooms close to swimming pool and reception"
Read full review
Sampie8 wrote a tip Feb 2019
Mossel Bay, South Africa65 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They all good but if you don't want to walk far take a room closer to the main building."
Read full review
kavii_says wrote a tip Nov 2018
Swakopmund, Namibia19 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"mountain deck the best to experience the damara land view."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Khorixas area.
PRICE RANGE
R 3,280 - R 3,604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NamibiaKunene RegionKhorixas
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DAMARA MOPANE LODGE - Now R 3 567 (Was R̶ ̶4̶ ̶3̶1̶7̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Khorixas, Namibia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Damara Mopane Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Damara Mopane Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Experience Darama Culture Museum (23.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Damara Mopane Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Damara Mopane Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Damara Mopane Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Damara Mopane Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Damara Mopane Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Damara Mopane Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Afrikaans.