Chobe River Camp

Chobe River Camp

Chobe River Camp (Gondwana) in Namibia
Traveller (303)
Room & Suite (87)
Dining (26)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 6 campsites in Katima Mulilo
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Gaze over the flood plains and enjoy luxurious solitude on the banks of the Chobe River. Assuring extraordinary experiences, we offer 20 luxury tented chalets. The lodge was inspired by the natural beauty of the landscape and all chalets have been constructed using indigenous Mopane timber and canvas. This offers not only a stunning sight, but an environmentally conscious design. Expect a unique and wondrous experience when visiting the Camp. This region is Namibia’s very own version of the Serengeti and offers a rare experience. With a bit of luck you can see large herds of elephants, buffalo and antelope. Activities may be seasonal, but will always amaze and intrigue our guests. Chobe River Camp is a wildlife and birder’s dream and is the ideal place to break away, just across the river from the world renowned Chobe Nature Reserve, home to one of the largest concentrations of elephant on the African continent. The Camp is also the ideal place for day trips to Victoria Falls, located only 150km away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Laundry service
Ironing service
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Room features
Housekeeping
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Katima Mulilo 9000 Namibia
Getting there
Mpacha Airport
65.5 km
See all flights
Kasane Airport
45.5 km
See all flights
271Reviews5Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 115
  • 96
  • 41
  • 9
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
egraap wrote a review Sept 2019
Bologna, Italy
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Chobe River Camp is not a luxurious lodge, but it has wonderful tented bungalows, an inviting lounge and reception area with a view of the Chobe River and the Chobe National Park in Botswana on the other side of the river. It is perfect to just sit there with your binoculars and view the animals in the distance. The staff is super friendly and even the check-out at the reception went smoothly. Chobe River Camp is the perfect location if you also want to do day trips to Victoria Waterfalls in Zimbabwe or Chobe National Park in Botswana as it is located close to the Namibia/Botswana Ngoma border post. The staff even went out of their way to organize a full breakfast buffet early at 6 AM in the morning when we had to leave early for our day trips ! Unfortunately it was very dry so the Chobe River had very little water and it was not possilbe to take a boat cruise, instead you can enjoy a guided canoe ride. Currently you see many cattle grazing in the river bed as food supply is scarce for them, but nonetheless, it is a great place to stay if you plan a trip to the Caprivi area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GondwanaCollection, Intern at Chobe River Camp
Responded 10 Sept 2019
Dear Egraap, Thank you for your kind review and for also staying at our camp! We are glad to hear that you had a memorable experience and that the service and check out procedures went smooth. We appreciate you sharing the insights with the rest of the travelers and it was our pleasure to make sure you were all fed and happy before your long trips! We wish you all the best and we look forward welcoming you back again! Best regards on behalf of Gondwana, Daniela
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
500ralfh wrote a review Jul 2018
Wolseley, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a lovely place, great hospitality and service. What a location!!!! The sounds at night are just amazing! The hot water needs to be attended to. Staff were fantastic! The halfday boat trip on the Chobe to see the wildlife is an absolute must!! The sunsets are just unbelievable, no words can discribe what we experienced at Chobe! Thanks you!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Chobe River Camp
Responded 25 Jul 2018
It was a pleasure hosting you and many thanks to you for being such an awesome guest. We really hope that we have inspired you to visit us again. Have a great time and best wishes with your travel plans. Kind regards, Koney
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zwergmanguste wrote a review Jul 2018
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had wonderful hours at Chobe River, great opportunity to see lots of wild animals.
Comfortable tents with a big balcony viewing to the river where you can listen to nocturnal voices of the animals living in the surrounding fields and the river.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Chobe River Camp
Responded 11 Jul 2018
Dear Zwergmanguste, We are happy to hear that your Chobe experience was worthwhile and exciting. We look forward to share more awesome moments with you in the days to come, Have a great time and see you again soon. Warm regards, Koney
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard L wrote a review May 2018
Windhoek, Namibia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This camp is conveniently located near the Ngoma border crossing from Namibia into Botswana. It provides a very nice location to sit and enjoy the Chobe River and all its flora and fauna. Despite very high water, the staff were un-phased as they assisted with shuttles, first to the lodge, and later to the chalets.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Chobe River Camp
Responded 29 May 2018
Dear valued guests, We are so happy to hear that your time with us was worthwhile regardless of the water levels. We really enjoyed catering to your needs and we hope to share more of such magical moments with you in the near future. Best wishes with your travel plans, Koney
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy J wrote a review Apr 2018
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 2 wonderful days with my son. Big thanks to very friendly and extremely helpful staff. Transfers by car and boat to airport and other lodge: Of course, no problem! Spectacular views from your own balcony! Excellent food and the boat trips on the flood plains just fantastic If you want to see true African wildlife, this is the place to go!
We definitely will be back with the other half of the family!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Chobe River Camp
Responded 23 Apr 2018
We are definitely waiting for you and your family. Thank you again for visiting us, We hope your next journey with us will be just as exciting and may your 2018 be filled with beautiful adventures. Best regards, Koney
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelaroundafrica wrote a review Feb 2018
Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We wanted peace and quiet with the opportunity to explore at our leisure. The Camp has been upgraded with some modern niceties (free wifi in the rooms, electricity in rooms, air-con type cooling in the rooms) yet it retains the rustic, authentic, quiet appeal.
Perfectly located to visit the Chobe Game Reserve and the Victoria Falls – and return to peace and quiet. A venture into neighbouring Zambia to visit near the source of the great Zambezi River checked that box too.
Rather than flood plains, this time we had rain – enough to submerge the roads completely – and a viewing drive through the torrential rain with the Camp Manager, in their 4x4, to escort a vehicle through the knee deep water, along the mud road, to tarred safety. A video and sight that we will not forget – the accomplished driving far removed from the TV off-road experts’ bluster.
Great food, friendly staff, comfortable digs and spectacular vistas. Each season brings a completely transformed setting.
Still on our list of great vacation escapes.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Chobe River Camp
Responded 05 Mar 2018
We appreciate your great words! We want to say many thanks again for making our property a destination of choice, we really enjoyed your time with us and we hope to have as much fun with you in the days to come. Best wishes with your travel plans, Kind regards, Koney
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JoiaNYC wrote a review Jul 2017
Taos, New Mexico
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Chobe Camp's four riverside campsites overlooking Botswana's famous park are beautiful. Just be careful when booking that you're actually getting a riverfront site.

Chobe Camp is part of the Gondwana group. July is a very busy time, so we booked a campsite online on the Gondwana website before driving here. The Gondwana website claims - falsely we discovered - that "guests can indulge in the privacy offered by our six campsites. Each campsite offers stunning views of the wild plains of the Chobe river and private ablutions facilities". This description is true of their FOUR riverfront sites. It is absolutely false about the site they initially gave us, site 6, which is normally used for big overlanding buses.

Site 6 is near the entrance road. The view is of the back of two tented chalets and of several trucks parked nearby. The ablution is not private - it's an ablution block, which nearby site 5 used as well.

After we asked for a riverfront spot or a refund for our second night, we were moved to site two by the river. Sites 1-4 are fabulous - private, well maintained, with incredible views.

Service is fabulous too. Abel, who works at Chobe Camp, did everything he could for us. He provided us with free firewood to lessen the blow of camping in site 6. He kindly informed us in the morning as soon as site 2 was available, and he checked in on us repeatedly. Much appreciated!

Site 6 is fine to use for "overflow" - to offer to people who show up late in the afternoon and have nowhere else to go. It is safe and clean. But it's certainly nothing special and not worth making a special journey to Chobe Camp for, as we did.

Hopefully, Gondwana's Chobe Camp decides to do the right thing and treat site 6 as an overflow spot, instead of continuing to make a false claim on their website, selling site 6 as if it's something special, and disappointing customers. If you'd like to book a campsite here, avoid the website and call Chobe Camp directly to reserve sites 1-4.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Chobe River Camp
Responded 16 Aug 2017
Dear valued guest, We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the difficulties we have caused during your stay with us; we really appreciate you sharing this review on this platform. This is not the hospitality standard we hope to be reflected with, the property management are hoping to make necessary enhancements were possible and hope to make your next Namibian adventure a great experience. Unfortunately, arrangements are not made with the property itself but rather through our head office. If you have anything more you would like to add or share please feel free to contact us. We are wishing you incredible days ahead. Kind regards, Koney
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WilfriedHahner wrote a review Jun 2017
Windhoek, Namibia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a great time we had! The food was awesome and the boat trips delivered countless animals (elephants, buffalo, zebra, lion and many more. Within 5 days we counted more than 100 bid species. The tented bungalow was very comfortable and we also enjoyed the pool area. We booked a day trip with #Caprivi Adventures to the Vic Falls and can only recommend this service. We shall definately return as soos as possibile. The staff is extremely friendly and efficient. Please keep it up and see you soon!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Chobe River Camp
Responded 13 Jun 2017
It was such a pleasure to host you! Many thanks for taking your time to share your story with us. We are delighted by your fantastic words and we will definitely ensure best efforts to keep up the good work. We believe that fellow travellers will make use of your feedback in order to make our property a destination of choice; we are looking forward to having you again! Warm regards, Koney
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
409anjas wrote a review May 2017
Windhoek, Namibia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We, a family of 4, stayed 3 days at Chobe River Camp. The camp lies opposite Chobe National Park, which makes it perfect for daytrips to the Chobe Park in Botswana and to Victoria Falls. The food was superb, the kitchen staff were getting training from a professional chef while we were there. The tents were getting an upgrade with electricity and were clean. While we enjoyed the time there, the workers stopped as not to disturb us. The beds were very comfortable. The car park is further away from the tents, therefore one can enjoy the view over the Chobe river from the veranda of the tent, without any noise from cars. We did a boat trip with Nelson, his eagle eyes even spotted Crocodiles, Hippos, Elephants, Giraffe and even Hyenas on the shore. The camp is busy being upgraded and from experience we know that this will soon be a top quality Lodge as all Gondwana Lodges are and we will definitely visit this Camp again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Chobe River Camp
Responded 13 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It really sounds like you had the time of your life! The housekeeping staff and camp management have reviewed your story and are inspired to maintain the exceptional quality of service delivery. We hope that potential clients will make perfect use of your detailed insight to make Namibia a destination of choice. Wishing you happy days in your future tours. Warm regards, Koney
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
701birgitd wrote a review Apr 2017
Omaruru, Namibia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Friendly staff and good facilities that need a bit of maintenance. The beds were very comfortable and the location of the camp is very scenic. There is excellent game viewing across the Chobe River on the Botswana side, like elephant, hippo, giraffe, etc, from the comofort of one's porch on the Namibian side. It was a very relaxing stay and we will certainly come again. As it has only been taken over by Gondwana from 1/3/17, we are sure that there will be a lot of changes. A few issues that should be addressed:
1. The cleanliness of the tents has to be improved.
2. Staff should be trained to not make so much noise (shouting and laughing) when walking past the tents of the guests on their way to work @ 06:00am.
3. A charging point in the tent for cellphones - currently they can only be charged at the office.
4. The selection of food that goes together at dinner can be improved and possibly a bigger variety of dishes.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Chobe River Camp
Responded 17 May 2017
Once again, Thank you so much for making our property your place of interest and for believing in us, we are stunned! Your suggestions have been acknowledged and have been shared with the lodge management to ensure necessary efforts were possible. We are hoping to make your next visit a near perfect experience. Best wishes in your future adventures. Kind regards, Koney
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from GondwanaCollection
Windhoek, Namibia16 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi, Thank you all very much for your contributions. Sure, you have to call the camp for directions and to pick you up. Chobe River Camp has a restaurant and does not have braai facilities. Kindly visit our website to check the phone number for the camp, It is unfortunate that TripAdvisor does not allow us to share contact information. Best wishes with your journey, Kind regards, Koney
Pieties asked a question Oct 2016
Is their aircon in rooms
Answer from J9lee
Minneapolis, Minnesota63 contributions12 helpful votes
No, there isn't.
Answer from Charmaine B
Katima Mulilo, Namibia
Hi there, the road from Camp Chobe to Vic Falls is 150 km, from the Botswana border post you drive 72 km, on the "corridor road" that is free of charge. from Kasane it is 5 km to Zimbabwe border. From Zim border to Victoria Falls is 60 km. Timing wise, It all depends on how busy the borders are, it can take 15 min, or 45 min. The corridor road speed limit is 80km ph and you may see allot of animals, this might also effect the timing. The average is around 2 hours, without hassels.
Answer from Liebwindhoek
Windhoek
Hello, sorry I am only answering now, no the tents do not have a power point, but you can charge all in the office in the main area.
The Sculllery B wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rather stay on the Botswana side of the river. Better animal sightings"
Read full review
234beatrice wrote a tip Sept 2022
George, South Africa151 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are wanting a place to just relax and not do much, it's worth a visit"
Read full review
Avon Reyneke wrote a tip Apr 2022
Pretoria, South Africa12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms have a good view"
Read full review
Michael F wrote a tip May 2021
Windhoek, Namibia272 contributions131 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"the camp sites are great"
Read full review
peter hatch wrote a tip Jun 2020
33 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms have a wonderful river view."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Katima Mulilo area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,672 - R 1,888 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NamibiaCaprivi RegionKatima Mulilo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHOBE RIVER CAMP - Campground Reviews & Price Comparison (Katima Mulilo, Namibia)

Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire