Chobe River Camp

Chobe River Camp

Chobe River Camp (Gondwana) in Namibia
Traveller (303)
Room & Suite (87)
Dining (26)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 6 campsites in Katima Mulilo
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Gaze over the flood plains and enjoy luxurious solitude on the banks of the Chobe River. Assuring extraordinary experiences, we offer 20 luxury tented chalets. The lodge was inspired by the natural beauty of the landscape and all chalets have been constructed using indigenous Mopane timber and canvas. This offers not only a stunning sight, but an environmentally conscious design. Expect a unique and wondrous experience when visiting the Camp. This region is Namibia’s very own version of the Serengeti and offers a rare experience. With a bit of luck you can see large herds of elephants, buffalo and antelope. Activities may be seasonal, but will always amaze and intrigue our guests. Chobe River Camp is a wildlife and birder’s dream and is the ideal place to break away, just across the river from the world renowned Chobe Nature Reserve, home to one of the largest concentrations of elephant on the African continent. The Camp is also the ideal place for day trips to Victoria Falls, located only 150km away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Laundry service
Ironing service
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Room features
Housekeeping
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Katima Mulilo 9000 Namibia
Getting there
Mpacha Airport
65.5 km
See all flights
Kasane Airport
45.5 km
See all flights
271Reviews5Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 115
  • 96
  • 41
  • 9
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ernst38 wrote a review Oct 2020
Windhoek, Namibia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the "cheaper" Lodges of the Gondwana Collection. Nice tented rooms on stilts. We did a very good game driver (especially for bird-lovers) along the Chobe (too shallow for a boat ride). Were able to rent two canoes (for free!) for an hour to do a little drive on the Chobe. Food was good, staff very friendly. There is absolutely no reason to stay on the much more expensive Botswana side!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp
Responded 16 Nov 2020
Thank you for the great feedback Ernst38. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we hope you give us another chance to offer you the five star service that you always deserve. Warm regards Koney
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Magdalena N wrote a review Jan 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was absolutely breathtaking, I am definitely going back. We had some much fun. Loved canoeing experience. The many bird species in the river, the flood was delicious. The staff are extremely friendly. Kudos to the manager.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp
Responded 02 Feb 2021
Reading this kind of review is very rewarding! Thank you for sharing it with us maggynangolo. We appreciate your compliments to the staff and we are incredibly proud that you will be returning again. Keep well and happy adventures ahead! Kind regards Koney
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ingolf T wrote a review May 2021
Windhoek, Namibia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My second visit to Chobe River Camp and first to the new camp site. What a pleasure!! Vast improvement - your own ablution , shaded kitchen area with stoop, lawn to pitch up your tent.
Staff at the Camp very friendly and helpful, good food.
I can only recommend to visit Chobe especially when the river has water. Seldom seen so much wildlife during a boat trip.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp
Responded 13 Jun 2021
Thank you for the feedback ingolft! we hope that your second visit won't be your last! Kind regards Geena Visagie
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ritaSouthAfrica wrote a review May 2021
south africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This amazing lodge is absolutely stunning with all tents overlooking the Chobe River. Far from the busy Kasane area , you can enjoy exlusive boat trips along the Chobe NP with no other boats anywhere.
If you visit in April-August, the water is high, after the flood from Angola and just such a pleasure.
The staff were magnificent and the new pool right on the water's edge just super. Free WIFI available at the main area too !
Highly recommended !! Will not miss staying here. There are 4 new campsites adjacent to the lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp
Responded 13 Jun 2021
Thank you for the review ritaSouthAfrica! We are glad you had a great time and hope to see you in the future! Kind regards Geena
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CharmsK2020 wrote a review Mar 2020
Windhoek, Namibia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I spend 3 nights at Chobe River Camp and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The facilities were clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was very well prepared & delicious. We enjoyed the boat cruise and the awe-striking view from our beautiful tented chalet. We also enjoyed the vast variety of animals we got to see roaming just across the river.

We plan to return to the lodge with our kids.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GondwanaCollection, Community Coordinator at Chobe River Camp
Responded 31 Mar 2020
Dear CharmsK2020, This review made our day! Thank you so much for taking your time to review our services on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was an excellent one. Please know that we are definitely looking forward to serving you and your kids in the future! Best regards Koney
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erwin wrote a review Dec 2020
Antwerp, Belgium
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed one night here in another lodge from the Gondwana collection.
Warm welcome, nice tented chalets (only 20) good sleep comfort and nice views from the terrace. Nice food . Professional staff.
We pre-booked as well a sunset boat cruise on the Chobe river but due to the low water level this trip was cancelled and replaced by a game drive. Encounter a lot of game and quite some different species of birds. Nice trip

Location: 4 km from Ngoma border post
S17 48 21.69 E25 08 48.68
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp
Responded 02 Feb 2021
Dear 208erwinh, Thank you so much for taking time to leave us this amazing review. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your time with us. Please come back again when you get the chance! Warm regards Koney
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NA N wrote a review Sept 2021
Windhoek, Namibia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff were very friendly and helpful with our arrival as well as during our stay. We were camping but did eat dinner one night at the restaurant. I personally think the dinner was average compare to the price. We loved the little houses for the campers with the toilet shower and kitchen.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp
Responded 05 Sept 2021
Thank you so much for the review Zonet R! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and hope to welcome you back soon. Warm regards Geena
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
b0skraai wrote a review May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Campsite no 4 was a lovely camp . We wish we could see more of the river and may be they cancut the grass a bit then one can see the river. Our geyser did not work but the staff was quick to solve the problem and gave us a chalet to shower in. The staff is very friendly and helpful they washed the dishes and our braai grid. We enjoyed the stay
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp
Responded 26 May 2021
Thank you for rating your stay with us b0skraai. We are glad you had a great time and happy to know that the staff were able to cater to your needs as per usual. Please come back again when you get the chance! Kind regards Koney
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lgaranflo wrote a review May 2021
Johns Island, South Carolina
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our recent stay at Chobe River Camp was fantastic! We love the adventurous location on the river & the tents were elegantly decorated. Simple, functional & comfortable.
All the staff were friendly, greeting us each time, professional & well trained. Beauty at front desk was an angel to straighten out our booking. I was responsible for the error but she acted quickly & got it sorted.
The guides for river trips were excellent as well. They were so interesting & have so much knowledge about the animals. Our stay of 3 nights was too short. But we'll be back! Great lodge!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bernd Grahl, Owner at Chobe River Camp
Responded 26 May 2021
Thank you for the 5-star feedback lgaranflo. It is awesome to hear that you will be returning again! Warm regards Koney
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Danny V wrote a review Feb 2020
Utrecht, The Netherlands
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Adventure to reach this place, but with a proper 4x4 it is no problem at all. Tents well equipped with electrical appliances. Friendly staff, clean place and people who are willing to do everything to make it a unforgettable experience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GondwanaCollection, Community Coordinator at Chobe River Camp
Responded 31 Mar 2020
Dear 31dannyv, Thank you very much for taking your time to review your stay with us. We really enjoyed taking care of you, and we cannot wait to host you again! Kind regards Koney
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from GondwanaCollection
Windhoek, Namibia16 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi, Thank you all very much for your contributions. Sure, you have to call the camp for directions and to pick you up. Chobe River Camp has a restaurant and does not have braai facilities. Kindly visit our website to check the phone number for the camp, It is unfortunate that TripAdvisor does not allow us to share contact information. Best wishes with your journey, Kind regards, Koney
Pieties asked a question Oct 2016
Is their aircon in rooms
Answer from J9lee
Minneapolis, Minnesota63 contributions12 helpful votes
No, there isn't.
Answer from Charmaine B
Katima Mulilo, Namibia
Hi there, the road from Camp Chobe to Vic Falls is 150 km, from the Botswana border post you drive 72 km, on the "corridor road" that is free of charge. from Kasane it is 5 km to Zimbabwe border. From Zim border to Victoria Falls is 60 km. Timing wise, It all depends on how busy the borders are, it can take 15 min, or 45 min. The corridor road speed limit is 80km ph and you may see allot of animals, this might also effect the timing. The average is around 2 hours, without hassels.
Answer from Liebwindhoek
Windhoek
Hello, sorry I am only answering now, no the tents do not have a power point, but you can charge all in the office in the main area.
The Sculllery B wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rather stay on the Botswana side of the river. Better animal sightings"
Read full review
234beatrice wrote a tip Sept 2022
George, South Africa151 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are wanting a place to just relax and not do much, it's worth a visit"
Read full review
Avon Reyneke wrote a tip Apr 2022
Pretoria, South Africa12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms have a good view"
Read full review
Michael F wrote a tip May 2021
Windhoek, Namibia272 contributions131 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"the camp sites are great"
Read full review
peter hatch wrote a tip Jun 2020
33 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms have a wonderful river view."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Katima Mulilo area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,672 - R 1,888 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NamibiaCaprivi RegionKatima Mulilo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHOBE RIVER CAMP - Campground Reviews & Price Comparison (Katima Mulilo, Namibia)

Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire