Beside Still Waters Boutique Hotel

Beside Still Waters Boutique Hotel

Traveller (5)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 6 guest houses in La-Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Beside Still Waters Boutique Hotel is set on an acre of beautiful botanic gardens in La Lucia, Durban North, and is conveniently situated close to all major tourist attractions. It’s a home away from home where you can unwind in peace and quiet while taking pleasure in the warm and friendly atmosphere. We host a wide range of events at our stunning venue such as: Baby Showers, High Tea Luncheons, Weddings, Team Building, Corporate Functions, Birthdays & Special Occasions. You can enjoy a variety of bird life while walking along shaded pathways beside our unique fishponds. It is the perfect place to enjoy a cup of coffee and a good book as you take in the scenic beauty, which makes Beside Still Waters Hotel such an exquisite place.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Meeting rooms
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range

Location

30 Braemar Avenue, La-Lucia 4051 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 53 out of 100
53
King Shaka Intl Airport
17.3 km
See all flights
Pietermaritzburg Airport
65.5 km
See all flights
106Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 72
  • 24
  • 4
  • 1
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Phaphedi B wrote a review Jan 2022
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a great experience at the hotel for the 3 night stay in January 2022. The hospitality was great. The rooms are neat. A great place for a family vacation. I would like to suggest that the hotel introduce a buffet type of service especially for breakfast. If one is staying for more days you end up eating one menu more often.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kbenni795613 wrote a review Apr 2024
Cape Town, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The best thing about the place was the restaurant which has a lovely setting. Very few rooms have a good view - most look onto the parking lot which make it impossible to change without closing curtains. Bathroom had piles of dead insects and opening the window was not an option due to the smell from outside. The bed was very comfortable but there were fleas on the bed cover (from the friendly cat?). Once I removed the bed cover I stopped getting bitten. I did like the provision of a fridge and microwave in the room. I may go back on my next trip but would probably look at alternatives first.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
542karen wrote a review Mar 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Whilst we only spent one night at the B&B, the whole experience was friendly and efficient. Lovely room, comfortable bed and lovey ambiance.
We booked in outside of the allotted time but were welcomed and assisted without any problems
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nhlela179756 wrote a review Mar 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The room had no window and I had light coming through the top of the curtains for the 2 nights I spent there. I left after 2 nights because I was not getting any sleep and booked myself in a real hotel. Being the stupid black woman the madam took the opportunity to educate me about security when I complained about the light that was shining into my room. I try find quiet places to rest but really I should have just gone to a hotel from the start. The places trying to call themselves hotels know nothing about sleep hygiene.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from M V, Owner at Beside Still Waters Boutique Hotel
Responded 26 Mar 2021
Thank you for your review. Upon arrival you were offered a choice of rooms, this was your chosen room. The hotel Staff on duty, Management and Sphephile kindly explained to you that the lights were on a Day/night switch - (you cannot just switch off one light) the lighting all over the outside staircases will all go out). Yes! these lights are there for security and so that people may navigate the hotel and stairs. Unfortunately all aircons come with these lights and this cannot be disabled. Your previous review on booking.com stipulated that we have very comfortable beds and its a quite area. Therefore we take only into account that you were unhappy about the security lights.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dmandi108207 wrote a review Oct 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
All staff were very unprofessional and lack customer services,
I was charge more than it was on the advert. The staff were rude and dint have breakfast that i pay for.

Everything is very bad and the owner came and greet me wearing old dirty gun.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mraven338045 wrote a review Feb 2023
Mbombela, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Units are supposed to be self catering - on arrival they had to scrounge around to arrange a kettle for each room booked. My room did not even have a microwave and there is no way this can be called a self-catering unit unless I never learnt how to cook food in a bar fridge. Rooms were dirty - especially the floors had old dirt marks which should've been cleaned months ago. The first morning, the rooms were not serviced. Considering all of the above, it can surely not be called a 4 start facility??
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from M V, Owner at Beside Still Waters Boutique Hotel
Responded 04 Mar 2023
There is no place that states we are self catering and we do not advertise that we are self catering. so we are "NOT SUPPOSE" to forfill the statement that you have made. we simply provide a kitchenette in each room as an added bonus but do not advertise cooking facilities as we have a full fledged restaurant and coffee shop on site. We are not even sure that you stayed at our hotel since your review does not have a name. Should you have stayed kindly make contact with us soonest to state you stayed and when and someone will make contact with you then
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Moeketsi S wrote a review Nov 2021
Maseru, Lesotho
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed from Friday to Monday and throughout our stay, none of the linens were changed, ever!
The breakfast was unremarkable. They served us some kind of a juice concentrate which was heavily diluted and tasted really bad.
Especially on our final day the kid’s breakfast was half the regular portions they were previously served. There was a mattress in two of the rooms which was supposedly a twin bed but wasn’t.

The pool was dirty. There was only one iron in one room. The ironing boards are dirty and need to have their cloth coverings replaced. They stained my clothes.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Expect mediocrity.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from M V, Owner at Beside Still Waters Boutique Hotel
Responded 04 Nov 2021
Dear Moeketsi. we see that you gave our hotel an aweful review. clearly you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. (however not once did u complain when at the hotel) firstly in most hotels you do not get linen changed within such a small amount of days. if you were staying one more night it would have been changed as that is the policy. as for the pool, we cannot help leaves falling in the pool as it is a tropical environment. regarding your food. the kids got kids portions on their meals. and it was consistent throughout so we disagree here. The bed set up is explained on booking.com as you were aware before booking the hotel? so why complain now? irons are on request, this could have been asked for! however let me remind you of the good things since clearly you were not grateful for. your original booking was for 2 quad rooms and 1 double. and on arrival you had 3 quad rooms . an upgrade free of charge. lets not forget to mention the booking stated kids aged 1 3 4 6 9. which one child was actually an adult and the other kids where not 1 or 3 or 4 years old ( therefore the price you paid for your booking was actually wrong too as you paid for younger kids and 5 of them when in actual fact it was 4 and an adult. the hotel staff should have approached you and charged you more on check in. and to add our white towels were taken off the property and too the beach which is against hotel policy. but we felt it was better to rather just let it slide and overlook as some things were better unsaid. which clearly wasnt the case in your review. in future you should approach staff while on your vacation so that if a problem is in fact an actual problem it can be rectified. instead of allowing it to brew inside if you and leave in a bad note. the same review is on booking.com and it seems on your reply there you were quite lost for a response!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PGTrips1 wrote a review Oct 2022
Chichester, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Honestly what an amazing friendly place. I was running Comrades and solo travelling. I arrived and was greeted by Marianne and her team. My room was clean, yes functional but really comfy. Tired from my flight, I did the man thing and through my luggage on the floor and headed out to a nearby restaurant. I came back two hours later and my mess had been tidied!!

The food is fantastic, breakfast to die for and great choice. Add to that they have there very own gourmet coffee truck on site and coffee bar which they were renovating. I am not a coffee conoisseur but appreciate a decent coffee produced by friendly wonderful people.

This is a family business so do not a corporate experience, but if you want a wonderful experience with a team who cannot do enough for you then this place is fantastic.

I don't know SA well but the area felt very safe and there were nice restaurants nearby and everything was in easy striking distance.

There wasn't an evening meal option every day but I did find my self to a BBQ night which was fantastic.

I would highly recommend a stay here.

Graham
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mmudau260891 wrote a review Dec 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
For a moment, I thought I was day dreaming. The garden is so beautiful and peaceful. Breakfast time was our favorite time because of the beautiful view of the property from the garden.
Beside still waters boutique hotel will always be our home away from home.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Connie wrote a review May 2021
Durban, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Saying thank you would be an understatement, l would like to extend my gratitude towards Candice and her team for the great hospitality, love and care that we received at the Beside Still waters Boutique hotel for my sister's graduation ceremony. The ambience, magnificent views and above all the hospitality was just so amazing. Beside Still waters boutique hotel is the place to be.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
JB031 wrote a tip Aug 2022
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The ribs and the burger. Top class.."
Read full review
Moeketsi S wrote a tip Nov 2021
Maseru, Lesotho61 contributions24 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Expect mediocrity."
Read full review
Marchiano M wrote a tip Mar 2017
Durban, South Africa2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is just amazing at Beside Still Waters"
Read full review
Sivuyile T wrote a tip Jun 2016
Cape Town, South Africa2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"quite neighbourhood, swimming pool and many more facilities.."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the La-Lucia area.
PRICE RANGE
R 865 - R 1,279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Beside Still Waters Guest House
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalLa-Lucia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BESIDE STILL WATERS BOUTIQUE HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (La-Lucia, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Beside Still Waters Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Beside Still Waters Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include La Lucia Mall (0.6 km) and La Lucia Beach (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Beside Still Waters Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Beside Still Waters Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Beside Still Waters Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Beside Still Waters Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Beside Still Waters Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jack Salmon Fish House, Al Firenze Ristorante and pizzeria, and Mamma Luciana's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Beside Still Waters Boutique Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Beside Still Waters Boutique Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of La-Lucia.
Are any cleaning services offered at Beside Still Waters Boutique Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Beside Still Waters Boutique Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Beside Still Waters Boutique Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Ramakrishna Centre of South Africa Durban (3.6 km).