Carter's Lodge

Carter's Lodge

54 Armstrong Avenue, La-Lucia 4051 South Africa
Traveller (19)
les couleurs.
Dining (9)
Room
Room & Suite (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#4 of 10 B&Bs in La-Lucia
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Conveniently situated in La Lucia in KwaZulu Natal, the 4-star Carter's Lodge offers affordable, but up market and comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation just 800 metres from the beach and minutes away from all the major attractions and amenities of Durban and Umhlanga. When you step out of the car, the quiet surroundings of Carter's Lodge cocoon you into a relaxed, pleasant state, and the hearty welcome from owner Carol Carter and her staff make you feel right at home.All rooms have a private entrance leading from the lush garden and have en-suite bathrooms, air-conditioning, TV with satellite and DVD, personal safe and tea & coffee facilities. There is secure on-site parking and free wifi access.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Bar / lounge
Wine / champagne
Golf course
Horseback riding
Fishing
Car hire
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Zulu

Location

54 Armstrong Avenue, La-Lucia 4051 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 63 out of 100
63
King Shaka Intl Airport
Pietermaritzburg Airport
65.5 km
See all flights
120Reviews0Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 72
  • 44
  • 2
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
anabelavalongo wrote a review Mar 2020
Gauteng, South Africa1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
During the 4 day stay, it was extremely hot and humid, so the air conditioner was a welcome relief after a full day out. The room was spacious and comfortable, with all the relevant essentials needed to spend these few days away from home. Breakfast was delicious and filling, and even served at an earlier time than expected during one of the days that we needed to be at our destination earlier. This is not the first time that I have stayed at Carter's Lodge and it most certainly will not be the last either. Cindy and Team, thank you for making us feel so welcome and comfortable at Carter's
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sabine D wrote a review Jan 2020
Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam13 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 13 nights in Carters Lodge, La Lucia. Especially Cindy looked after us extremely well. Breakfast in the morning was freshly prepared for us, we got everything we wanted. Cindy and Paul are very kind and friendly and we felt more like staying with friends then in a hotel. A highlight was having a braai with other guests, which everyone enjoyed extremely.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: 4 rooms have garden view, one seaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kelanefarrimond wrote a review Jan 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a terrific time, Cindy and Peter were incredibly hospitable and were very eager to please.
We felt like we were at home and would definitely stay with them again.
Breakfast was made just to our liking and loved sitting outside making friends with the other guests and socialising around the braai and pool (which was always clean)
The lighting and sound of running water gave it a wonderful ambiance.
The air conditioner work very well and enjoyed my showers with good water pressure.

I would definitely recommend Carters to my friends and family
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cindy Wasmuth, Owner at Carter's Lodge
Responded 11 Jan 2021
Thank you We loved having you both at Carter's Lodge You made our Christmas special ,it was like having family Best Regards Cindy and Peter
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pioneer45630817730 wrote a review Nov 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great experience, lovely rooms, clean and neat. Breakfast was awesome and the staff is very friendly. Across from a very nice mall, walking distance. Not to far from the beach. Near hospitals. Area is very quite during the evenings.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cindy W, Owner at Carter's Lodge
Responded 09 Nov 2018
Thanks Nadia Hope to see you again :0)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
readyyselon wrote a review Feb 2017
London, United Kingdom43 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good location - convenient for King Shaka airport and Durban - just off M4 highway. Well appointed rooms, good hospitality and good breakfast. Restful little pool and garden, A little morning traffic noise but not enough to be irritating
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LaLuciaGril, Owner at Carter's Lodge
Responded 05 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for your positive comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards Carol
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
932luckym wrote a review Dec 2016
Burgersfort, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Some of the staff members are not welcoming, racists, unfriendly and did not value us. The breakfast is too little or limited, not classy and very poor. The aircön was poor and not gud enough. One of the ladies was so bad, with bad attitude to such an extent that I regretted my stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2016
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LaLuciaGril, Owner at Carter's Lodge
Responded 31 Dec 2016
Thank you for your comments. You did speak to me before you left and mentioned that you felt Meisie had not been respectful to you. I was surprised that you only told me when you were leaving as you had stayed for 7 nights and I was even more surprised that you said it was Meisie, as she has been well liked and looked upon as being a star and an asset to Carter's Lodge. I would hardly call her a racist as she is an African of Zulu origin. I did speak to her after you left, and she said she was unaware that you were unhappy with the way she greeted you. I can only again apologise,this time publicly, if you felt she was unfriendly. Regarding the breakfast, we serve a full buffet, as well as cooked breakfast, and we did replace foods served to you due to the factor that you did not eat pork. I have been to many guesthouses of the same star grading but more expensive than the rates I charge, in Cape Town too, and they do not even offer a selection of cold meats and cheeses, fruit platters and cereals and home-made muffins. Normally you are offered just a ready made, often canned, fruit salad, a choice of only 2 cereals (we offer 5), and perhaps grated cheese, if you are lucky, with your cooked breakfast. Our tableware is good crockery and cutlery and has the little things on the table that are needed. We are not 5-star graded and we do not proclaim to be, and our rates are very reasonable for 4-star grading. Again, in previous reviews you will find that guests often rate our breakfast highly. Our air-conditioners were serviced recently and if you felt there was a problem with the cooling, I wish you had said something, perhaps the setting was wrong? But guests since you that have stayed say that the aircon is working fine. Sorry you regretted your stay with us, and would like to give a word of advice - if you are unhappy with any service, please let the owners know straight away, do not wait till after 7 days of staying before saying something. At least then the issues can be addressed. Kind regards Carol Carter, owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MargaretMoikanyane wrote a review Oct 2016
Pretoria1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my partner had a wonderful vacation! We needed to relax just before the arrival of our baby so we wanted a tranquil place and this was absolutely it! With a peaceful garden and the fresh air of the ocean nearby, I couldn't help but feel like staying there permanently. Breakfast was fantastic with various options to choose from! The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Our 5 star room was refreshed everyday when we came back in the evening. Carol was very friendly and assisted us with getting transport to go around. The mall is literally just outside the gate, which i thought was very convinient. We made new friends with other guests and we're all planning to go back again. Whoever is considering this place will not regret it.

Thank you Carol for making my babymoon as wonderful as it was at your place. I will surely come back when I make my way to KZN again.

Kind regards
Margaret Moikanyane
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tshepor629 wrote a review Oct 2016
Gauteng, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My stay was very refreshing,comfortable beds and beautiful landscape. The lodge has so much tranquillity for a peace of mind. the treatment from the workers was phenomenal. I would definitely make my way back. I liked the fact that the security was very tight.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nadia M wrote a review Sept 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff was so friendly! The breakfast and accommodation is excellent. Our room, looking out onto the garden was so peaceful that on a rainy day we were just too happy to stay in and watch the rain paint the garden green. We had a lovely time and left well rested.

Thank you,

Nadia & Leon
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chantal C wrote a review Jan 2016
Gauteng, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at Carter's Lodge was really amazing. From the service, right down to the rooms itself. Very clean and lovely and close to all major shops. The beds were comfy and we had a good nights rest every night. Breakfast was divine, it can't even be compared. We would really recommend the stay. We will definitely be staying here again. Thank you to Carol and all your staff for the spectacular stay! See you soon.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Sabine D wrote a tip Jan 2020
Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam13 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"4 rooms have garden view, one seaview"
Read full review
snyderscynthia wrote a tip May 2016
Limpopo Province, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Quite, peaceful even although next to La Lucia Mall"
Read full review
goldy61 wrote a tip Apr 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa90 contributions59 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"all rooms face onto the garden and pool."
Read full review
Finn_SA wrote a tip Sept 2015
Johannesburg, South Africa6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are rooms that have a garden view and two others (from what I could see) that have sea views."
Read full review
Mzie P wrote a tip Oct 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa43 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are equally spacious with a great view of the pool and manicured garden. The only choice you have to make is shower or bathtub?!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the La-Lucia area.
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalLa-Lucia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CARTER'S LODGE - B&B Reviews (La-Lucia, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Carter's Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Carter's Lodge?
Nearby attractions include La Lucia Mall (0.2 km) and La Lucia Beach (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Carter's Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Carter's Lodge?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Carter's Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Carter's Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Carter's Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Jack Salmon Fish House, Al Firenze Ristorante and pizzeria, and Mamma Luciana's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Carter's Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Carter's Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Carter's Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Carter's Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of La-Lucia.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Carter's Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Zulu.
Are there any historical sites close to Carter's Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Ramakrishna Centre of South Africa Durban (3.6 km).