Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge

Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge

Traveller (2762)
Panorama of the Namaste Kaz Room at the Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge
360
Panoramas (7)
la chambre namasté
Room & Suite (774)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 1 boutique hotel in Chamarel
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge is a small "boutique lodge"! Unique and refined in the heart of a splendid tropical garden of twelve hectares, surrounded by the mountains of Chamarel, Lakaz Chamarel is a pearl among the top hotels of the destination which guarantees exclusivity and serenity to nature and green tourism lovers in a warmth and harmonious decor, with a refined local cuisine.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Game room
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Saltwater pool
Plunge pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Bicycle tours
Evening entertainment
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

Piton Canot, Chamarel, Mauritius 90406
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 52 out of 100
52
S. Seewoosagur Ram. Intl Airport
30.4 km
See all flights
1,627Review26Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,370
  • 188
  • 53
  • 15
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rob Taylor wrote a review Mar 2020
Halstead, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent our first 5 nights in Mauritius at Lakaz Chamarel which is set in a peaceful and tranquil location amidst an abundance of native trees and wildlife. Our first two nights were in a Garden Pool Suite which had plentiful living accommodation and its own private pool that wasn't overlooked. For the remainder of our stay we were in a Standard Suite which benefitted from the use of a shared pool, although we were the only people using it at the time! Both suites were immaculately presented and clean with the added bonus of outside showers.

All the staff were very friendly and welcoming and were really keen to share with us their local knowledge to make sure we got the most out of our stay.

The restaurant served some very tasty food with different choices for dinner each day. There was also a lunchtime a la carte menu which offered a nice choice of meals (if you're not too full from the amazing breakfast spread of course!)

A very big thank you to Francois and the whole team for making our stay such an amazing experience. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Excursion41915763280, Manager at Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Dear Rob, Thank you for having trusted us for your holidays in Mauritus and thank you as well for your comlimentary comments here, on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our eco lodge hotel, the team and service which was provided to you and our cuisine. Thank you for your words of recommendations. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a not-too-far future. Very warm regards from Lakaz Chamarel team and myself. François Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
San B wrote a review Dec 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Best spent money for an absolutely dreamy stay with the most delicious food and amazing view from our Piton Canot vantage point. Service was impeccable even though we were probably the only local guests during the first day of our stay. Warm welcome by all staff "au pti soin" for us. Dining experience was amazing and desserts to die for.

The villa itself was beautiful and cozy with everything one would expect to have (mini bar,kettle etc). Loved the outdoor shower but fair warning to close the door as although we seemed isolated, we had a few visitors in the form of paragliders from the nearby top of mountain, and exploring guests who despite the "private" sign ventured up to our lodge. The private pool was a plus although at this altitude the water does not get warm. But it would have been a shame not to enjoy it.

We also had to share our lodge with friendly lizards and quite a few mozzies but the candles and oils did the trick to keep us safe from them. The geckos did not bother us and we understand that some compromise must be made to enjoy the nature around although it might not be everyone'scup of tea. Cleaning service was excellent and all our belongings were left untouched.

Drinks were a bit pricey however, hot freshly made snacks were served when we were at the bar for apero time before dinner and we were even allowed to put on our own music by the friendly bartender and we danced away as much as we wanted although there was no dancefloor per se.

The sauna was free and massages at the little spa hut were affordable and I went back for seconds, it was so relaxing. Big bonus is the size of the place. If you get bored of the pool, or want a break from the bar or just want to walk off all the good food, there are plenty of areas to explore. Do venture around on foot as you'll discover very intelligently thought of relaxing spaces like the one we found with the buddha fountain and a small gym overlooking mountains.And if you don't book the Piton Canot lodge l, you can still enjoy the sunset view from the beach bar.

To sum it up, we are definitely going back and we know we won't be booking anything less than the best lodge at lakaz chamarel which the Piton Canot.

Thanks to all the staff and Francois for everything.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francois Marot, General Manager at Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge
Responded 06 Dec 2020
Dear Mrs Bowers, Thank you very much for having stayed with us and thank you as well for your nice comments here, on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you over again. Very warm regards from Lakaz team and myself. Kind regards, François Lodge Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BenHerts82 wrote a review Dec 2021
St. Albans, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I think Lakaz Chamarel might well be my favourite place I've ever stayed!

If you want to stay somewhere that is stunningly beautiful and incredibly relaxing then LC is the place for you. We were lucky enough to stay in a Garden Pool Suite which, as the name suggests, is a beautiful suite overlooking the gardens with its own private plunge pool.

The suite was huge with an outdoor shower, two sinks and a nice range of toiletries provided. There's a mini-bar and coffee machine (charged for) and bottles of water are provided too (free). The bed was frankly massive and very comfortable, a great night's sleep.

There's no TV in the room but frankly if you've come here to watch TV you're wasting your time! There's no air con either, but a ceiling fan and standing fan provided more than enough cool air for us to sleep well at night. They provide a turn down service where they'll prepare your room for the evening, including setting up the mosquito repelling coils (which was much appreciated!).

At the front of the suite is a terrace with a variety of seating/tables and your own private pool. The view from our terrace and pool was stunning, looking down the hill across the gardens and grounds. It is unbelievably lush and green, I could have stayed in that pool looking at the view for hours on end (in fact, I did).

Elsewhere, take a stroll up the hill to the View Bar which serves cold drinks while you enjoy the view down to the coast. We came up here for the sunset each night and it really is a special way to start your evening.

It's nice to walk around the grounds to enjoy the wildlife and greenery. We saw a variety of birds and even some bats as dusk came in. The grounds are so peaceful and really lack any "human" noise, allowing you to just enjoy the surroundings.

All the food and drink were of a high standard. Breakfast is a self-service buffet which had a good range of items to pick from. Dinner is a three course la carte menu with half-board guests given a couple of dishes to choose from for each course (other dishes can be chosen for a supplement).

The bar area has a variety of seating options, we spent one night sat around a fire pit enjoying a drink and looking at the stars. Perfect.

Every member of staff we met, including the manager and owner, were very friendly and helpful. I honestly can't speak highly enough about the place. When we return to Mauritius we will definitely be staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If you can, get a suite with it's own pool for that extra special stay. We had a Garden Pool...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francois Marot, General Manager at Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge
Responded 10 Dec 2021
Dear Ben, Thank you for having trustred us for your stay at Lakaz Chamarel and thank you as well for having taken your time to write those lovely lines about us, here, on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure hosting and meeting you and we look forward to welcoming you over again, in a not-too-far future. Very warm regards from all of us at Lakaz. François Lodge Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
birgitt_k wrote a review Feb 2020
Salzburg, Austria
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Arriving during heavy raining because of a zyklon passing the island, we happily settled in our seaview suite "piton riviere noire" and enjoyed 4 days feeling like being in a tropical jungle paradise. We took the free bikes to visit the seven coloured earth, the waterfall and even the beach of le Morne- it was a great adventure! In the lodge everything was perfect, the staff made us feel at home all the time, food was great and we had really no problems with moskitos (neither in our suite nor in the dining area). The private pool and the roofed terrace was a real treat, as heavy torrents of rain visited us quite often, but it all added to the special atmosphere. It is a totally different experience than a beach hotel, highly recommanded to see a different side of Mauritius.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Excursion41915763280, Manager at Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge
Responded 07 Feb 2020
Dear Birgitt, Thank you very much for having trusted us for your hoilday in Mauritius and thank you as well for your compliments about our product, services and team, here on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure hosting you and even more of a pleasure to read that you were made to feel at home all the time. And, thank you for you recommenadtions. Very warm regards form Lakaz team and myself. Francois Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
quikride wrote a review Feb 2020
Vancouver, Canada
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an experience you must try. We left Lakaz wanting more, from the private pool to the incredible food and the beautiful surroundings. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed the resort amenities except for a short trip into La Gaulette. Very peaceful and definitely a must if you are after rest and relaxation. The sights, sounds, and smells of nature fill the resort. We were lucky enough to experience an anticyclone during our stay. That is to say, extra wind shaking the trees, and periods of rain. Very peaceful. And plenty of sun. The room was large and the outside shower was a new twist for me. I didnt experience any problems with bugs or mosquitoes, you could see the staff were vigilant. Upon request we were driven to our rooms via electric carts (great for when it was dark).
Francois and his team treated us like the resort was ours and we weren't even in the sea view suites! We will be back and we are telling all our friends and family to spend a few days in this paradise resort.

To recap;
Facilities, staff, food, location - all 5 star

The only small downside we encountered was no air conditioning - I made it work with the fan in the room. (Suggestion : have portable AC units for those who need it).
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Excursion41915763280, Manager at Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Dear Sultana and Kurshid, Thank you for having trusted us for your holiday in Mauritius and thank you as well for your very nice review here on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure hosting and meeting you every day and we hope to have the privilege and pleasure of your visit again, in a not-too-distant future. Very warm regards from Lakaz team and myself. Francois Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pantysgawn wrote a review Oct 2021
Cardiff, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Lakaz is in a beautiful location. The grounds cover many acres of soft rolling hills, planted with mature trees, date palms, and flowering shrubs all very well tended and neat.
Our suite was very well appointed, very clean, large patio area and small infinity pool. It had all the facilities including double sinks, safe, tea and coffee facilities, and fridge.
It was high in the grounds with a stunning sea view, and although about 500m from the main area up a steep hill, an electric buggy was always on hand to transport you through the grounds. The internet connection and internal phone system was excellent.
A nice touch was the Sunset Bar, overlooking the Bay some 800m below. Also the free car service to a nearby beach area.
Staff were polite, friendly, and very attentive.
The dining areas, bars, and rest areas were all of a good standard and kept very neat and tidy, with good levels of service.v

However, the whole experience was completely spoilt by very poor cuisine. Of the 5 evening meals we had, 4 bordered on the inedible. The fifth, a fillet steak, was very good.
Given that the food prices, whether on half board or A la carte, were at major city levels, this standard of cuisine is totally unacceptable. Especially as they produce their own salads and vegetables.

Wild Boar was a tasteless stew, as was Buttered Chicken. Crab with Palm Hearts was reduced to a paste, and the Dorado was turned into a solid block of hard protein!

It wasn’t that the local ingredients were poor, for we had a superb lunch at the nearby Rum Distillery, and at a small local restaurant on the beach.

When we complained, we got polite responses, but I doubt if any attention will be paid to these issues until guests numbers drop as harsh realities of the tourist business post COVID sink in. By this time it could be too late!

It is very sad, as the Hotel is located at the centre of a very ‘happening’ part of the Island, ideally positioned for tourists who want something other than the beach or golf courses. Sadly the Hotel does not really ‘network’ into this local scene and although things are mentioned there is no proactive attitude.

In short, with strong and effective management, a complete overhaul of the cuisine, some updating of the accommodation, and better standards of dress - especially for the ladies - this could be a world class destination.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If the cuisine is not improved, and you enjoy good food, avoid!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francois Marot, General Manager at Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge
Responded 25 Oct 2021
Dear Mrs and Mr Craske, Thank you for having stayed with us at Lakaz Chamarel, where it has been a pleasure hosting and meeting you. Thank you as well for your comments here, on Trip Advisor and your praises about the location, establishment and staff. We are sorry, however, not to have been able to fully satisfy your palate with our multicultural cuisine, which represents the gastrogeography of our island, with this harmonious blend of different cultures and communities and, this same cuisine for which we are generally praised by our guests, and which also tends to be one of our signature items. Please rest assured, though, that your comments have been taken very constructively and will be reviewed accordingly with our ‘Chef de Cuisine’ and his brigade, to reinforce the good and proper cooking process and control. As for the dress code, being an eco-lodge establishment, in a tropical country, we do request a casual-smart dress code from our guests, which is also clearly stipulated in our guest directory, if same can prove very delicate, nevertheless, to impose and manage, always. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you over again in the future and have the opportunity to convince you over again, about the quality of our cuisine. Together with the flexibility which the human-dimension size of our organisation allows, we will propose tailor-made recipes, which will better fit with your palate, as the good steak which I had organised for you, after our talk. Warm regards from us all at Lakaz Chamarel. François Lodge Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
robinjn1 wrote a review Nov 2021
Sherborne, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lakaz Chamarel. A lovely lodge, located in an inland rural position, close to the famous 7 coloured earths at Chamarel. With just 20 accommodation units, this place is small enough for the very experienced and charming manager - Francois, to speak to all the guests at breakfast and make himself available to act on any problems or concerns.
This place is lovely for nature lovers. The weaver birds building their nests in the palm trees outside reception, the toads calling to each other at night time and the wonderful array of birds.
The site is very hilly and although golf buggies are available to transport you, if you have any mobility issues, you might wish to consider carefully if this is the right place for you.
The ‘standard’ villas are all located on the lower part of the complex, higher up are the villas with garden view and pool, and right at the top are the 5 villas with pool and sea view!
The lodge has free cycles available for guest use, a gym and an amazingly located yoga ‘hut’ with views over the surrounding valley. Sadly, for the week duration of our visit, there was no yoga teacher available and this was a big disappointment for my wife.
Being inland and rural, there is a slight issue with mosquitoes. The team came round to the villas every evening and set up some burners to deter them but one still has to be wary if sitting out in the evenings.
Wifi in the villas is good, but none available in dining area / bar
Restaurant choices were moderate. Most guests were on half board, and there were 2 meal choices and sometimes a third when there was a vegetarian option. There was also an à la carte option, and those on half board had a credit towards one of these meals. Breakfasts were good, but if you are used to big hotel breakfasts, choices were a little restricted with sometimes only 4 fruit choices. The meals themselves, were excellent.
Great location for either cycling or taxi to the coloured earths, waterfalls or the local rum distillery.
The staff were all excellent and a credit to the management that had moulded them into such a great team.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and for that reason I’m giving 4.5*, had the Yoga been available, it would certainly have been 5!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francois Marot, General Manager at Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge
Responded 10 Dec 2021
Dear Robin, Thank you for having taken your time for this very nice review of Lakaz Chamarel, on Trip Advisor and thank you as well, for having trusted us for your stay. It was very nice having you amongst us and meeting you. In the name of the organisation, I am very sorry about the yoga class not being available just over the period of your visit, the time it took us to find the respective replacement. Sincere apologies. We look forward to welcoming you over again soon. Very warm regards from all of us at Lakaz. François Lodge Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Howard and Judith wrote a review Nov 2021
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent four nights here and it was very enjoyable. I endorse what has been said about the mosquito-tented bed (very comfortable), the alfresco shower and plenty of storage space. We had spent 10 nights split between two resorts, one of them arguably too luxurious. Lakaz Chamarel is an antidote to the "over-the-top" resort. Its location in 17 acres of greenery is very restful on the eye. There are stunning views to be had from the bar and lookout point at the top of the valley and especially so if you are prepared to climb to the top of the "Piton", which the very fit will do in about half an hour but for which you may want to budget an hour, especially if you want to savour the views from the top.

The birdlife is fascinating. They will even take fruit out of your hand. The frogs provide a very soothing acoustic backdrop. Quite incredible given how small they are. We found the staff very helpful and the bar and dining areas are very relaxing.

There were a few minor niggles but the staff responded very promptly to them, so that it would be churlish to highlight them. This is a very agreeable place to stay and it is telling that a highly successful Mauritian businessman who came to us in the resort said that he had never visited it before, had been unaware of its existence and it reminded him of how Mauritius had been 50 years ago. It is an oasis. This part of the island is well worth a visit because of its lushness, and Lakaz plays an important role in showcasing it.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francois Marot, General Manager at Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge
Responded 19 Nov 2021
Dear Howard, ' Thank you very much for having trusted us at Lakaz Chamarel for part of your stay in Mauritius and thank you as well for taking your time to adress these positive comments, here, on Trip Advisor, about us. It has been a pleasure hosting and meeting you. We look forward to welcoming you over again soon. Very warm regards from all of us at Lakaz. François Lodge Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Otty5 wrote a review Jan 2022
Herts
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Located in the heart of the Black river Gorges nature reserve in the south west of Mauritius and surrounded by breathtaking tropical gardens. Perfect for tranquil relaxation in an ecological oasis.

Our authentically decorated suite had a private pool, spacious verandah overlooking the Indian Ocean and mountains, open air shower, very large floor area with four poster bed, nespresso coffee machine and lovely personal touches such as pure and natural scrub creams and oils to use when showering.

We were welcomed on arrival by the hotel manager and his team of attentive staff bearing iced tea and vegetable samosas before being taken to our lodge (situated at the top of a steep incline) in the golf buggy.

A particular highlight for me was to be woken up with a dawn chorus of exotic birds and wildlife with the birdsong continuing throughout the day as we were at one with nature.

A tropical thunderstorm during the evening brought the much needed water that keeps the stunning gardens so colourful and lush.

Luckily the golf buggy was on hand to take us to the bar and restaurant area below on this occasion. After drinks, we dined from a locally sourced 3 course set menu offering vegetarian, meat and fish options. Food was well received in both presentation and taste and the setting very classy and romantic.

Such a wonderful experience staying in luxury accommodation in the chamarel mountains with superb service, great food and delightful staff.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francois Marot, General Manager at Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge
Responded 06 Jan 2022
Dear Otty, It has been a pleasure having you amongst us and meeting you and an added pleasure to read your very nice comments, here, on Trip Advisor. Thank you for it. We look forward to welcoming you over again soon. Vedry warm regards from all of Lakaz team. François
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Madison Lan wrote a review Feb 2021
Port Louis
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lakaz Chamarel is a gorgeous hotel lodges situated in the mountains of Chamarel. The view is breathtaking and you’re at peace with nature.

We booked a garden suite and got the Trochetia which fit our expectations! It had an open shower, no air conditioning but a ceiling fan and a little standing fan which was more than enough. January being one of the hottest month we though we would die but the climate there was just perfect. Less humid and the lodge was made to release the heat and very opened as well. We had our private pool which we kinda enjoyed and the pool water is salty 😁

They also give you sandals against mosquitoes and some citronella scrub as well as oil which really helped.

As activities you get to walk around in nature and they also have a fabulous view point at the View Bar, biking around Chamarel, chess, reading area, massage, sauna, mini gym, etc

We loved the food there! The menu changed everyday with a choice of two dishes for the starter, main and dessert, they also thought of the vegetarians and have a special menu for them too. The waiters were very kind and friendly, a little thumb up for Vishesh who knowd how to take care of his clients ☺️

Thank you to the staffs who prepared the surprise anniversary dinner, this personal touch is very well appreciated. 🥰

The only thing we didn’t appreciate was the fact that they wouldn’t take out your luggage/bags from and to the car. We also had a cold welcome and wasn’t brief about the resort.

Else Lakaz Chamarel is well recommended ☺️ see you soon.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francois Marot, General Manager at Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge
Responded 03 Feb 2021
Dear Mrs Lan, Thank you for trusting us for your visit at Lakaz Chamarel and thank you as well for your comments here, on Trip Advisor, as much as your recommendation. It has been a pleasure hosting and meeting you. We are sorry to read about your welcome issue and assure you that I am personally looking into this. It is definitely not part of our usual operational and hospitality standards and again, I personally apologise that you had to face this deficiency. We thank you, however, for your constructive comment, which will only but enable us to further fine tune our service quality for the benefit of all our dear guests and look forward to welcoming you again in a not-too-far future and as per our normal standards! Thank you again and very warm regards from Lakaz team and myself. Francois Lodge Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Catwoman2711 asked a question May 2024
Germany461 contributions275 helpful votes
Hello, are there hairdryers in the suites?
Answer from Jasper465
Chester, United Kingdom30 contributions28 helpful votes
There must have been, because I never take one with me
mjmrf29 asked a question Feb 2023
surrey586 contributions115 helpful votes
Hi - do Men need to wear trousers for dinner? thanks
Answer from May K
Scotland9 contributions10 helpful votes
Dress code for dinner is smart but casual. Long trousers were worn in the evening. We were there in September and evenings were cool, so long trousers were better!
Melissa M asked a question Nov 2022
Wirral, United Kingdom22 contributions
Do you see any wildlife in the grounds during your stay?
Mauritius4 helpful votes
Only birds, bats, monkeys sometimes !
fench asked a question Jul 2022
Tehran, Iran82 contributions211 helpful votes
And how is the weather during the August for swimming and beach? is it cold?
Mauritius4 helpful votes
Dear Tahmineh, August is in winter period in Mauritius so it’s definitely cooler than December January or February ! But when it’s sunny, winter is a lovely period! You can swim! And enjoy the beach ! The colours in winter are incredible! And temperatures fantastic! It only depends of rain and sun as everywhere else in the world! And that’s meteorological hazardousness! We hope to welcome you soon at Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge ! Kind regards
Callum wrote a tip Today
21 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just sit back and relax. Enjoy your time here."
Read full review
marky_uk123 wrote a tip May 2024
Amsterdam, The Netherlands22 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book a room with air con if you’re going in the hotter season"
Read full review
Kamal B wrote a tip May 2024
London, United Kingdom11 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Going to the beach is not that great as you cannot make use of any facilities. I played golf at Bel Ombre which was good but expensive. "
Read full review
Nicola B wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is no air conditioning in the rooms so it’s hot at night "
Read full review
danrSuffolk wrote a tip Apr 2024
Meltham, United Kingdom141 contributions111 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book a room with your won pool - it's really worth it"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chamarel area.
PRICE RANGE
R 4,174 - R 7,629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lakaz chamarel hotel chamarel, lakaz hotel chamarel
LOCATION
MauritiusRiviere Noire DistrictChamarel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LAKAZ CHAMAREL EXCLUSIVE LODGE - Boutique Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Mauritius)

Frequently Asked Questions about Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Rhumerie de Chamarel (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Palais de Barbizon, L'Alchimiste, and Les Palmiers Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Lakaz Chamarel Exclusive Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Martello Tower Museum (8.3 km).
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire