We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Via Emanuele Filiberto No 172/174 Litoranea S.Caterina, 73050 Santa Maria al Bagno, Nardo Italy
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$144
View deal
Hotels.com
US$144
View deal
Trip.com
US$121
View deal
PricelineUS$144
eDreamsUS$144
Destinia.comUS$146
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (427)
Pool & Beach (58)
Room & Suite (46)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Updated 21/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 21/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Santa Maria al Bagno
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Grand Hotel Riviera, historic hotel in Salento, has been returned to its original splendour after a careful and accurate refurbishing, adding to the chain of CDSHotels. The hotel, which is situated along the coast of the Gulf of Gallipoli, offers you a unique stay in the charming and picturesque village of Santa Maria al Bagno. The deep blue of the Ionian Sea, the green of the pine forests and the lush Mediterranean vegetation, the quaint white houses and the nearby beach of fine white sand are the colours, highlighted by the warm sun of Salento which surround the hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Hiking
Snorkelling
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Strollers
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Solarium
Steam room
Baggage storage
Mosquito net
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bidet
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Sofa bed
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
471Reviews35Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 311
  • 90
  • 42
  • 15
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ben B wrote a review Sep 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We were surprised at the luxury and quality of this fantastic hotel. The room (we had a 'superior' room with a sea view) was spacious, tastefully furnished and of a high standard with a very comfortable bed and bathroom. The dining room and dining terrace was well laid out and grand. Dining was a mixture of excellent service and buffet. With the meals came wine and two types of water. 4 course meals were proper Italian cuisine with home made cakes and other delights. The staff always made an extra effort to please and were incredibly friendly. The swimming pool was an oasis of peace where you could hang out in comfort or swim proper laps. Continuing later in the day to the hotels private beach area (a layout of stilted decks on the rocks with a safe gang-way into the sea) provided yet more rest on wonderful deck beds with reading shields. Brand new bikes could be lent - free of charge(!) to cycle via the bike lane, down to the lovely town. Overal, a top location which we enjoyed immensely. The friendliness and good taste of the Italians made this a holiday worth repeating. We would definitely recommend it. Ben & Anna
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Victoria C wrote a review Sep 2021
4 contributions
Perfect place for couples and families, for events also like your dream wedding party or birthsday. The hotel is very clean, staff is very friendly and helpful. Food is amazing, better then in restaurants. Eating on the terrasse with an amazing view of the sunset and live music is fantastic combination. For children they have programs in the kids club, swimming pool too. Front of the hotel I enjoyed the privat beach so much. I defenetly will come back!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Diana D wrote a review Aug 2021
Brindisi, Italy12 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel in nice position on seafront (no beach just rocks with decking this area doesnt belong to hotel) within walking distance of local town. We arrived on a Saturday. Checked in given keys and told where to park our car ( down the road no explanation given on how to get into hotel from car park no help with luggage). Went to our room was okay quite comfortable. Small balcony with side view of sea. Went downstairs to go to decked beach area was told we had to book at 9am the day before. Ridiculous! So we stayed in hotel that day. Food was generally good we did half board. Every time we asked reception for advice she argued with us. We wanted to see the Museum of Accoglienza the receptionist had never heard of it. We asked to go on a boat trip she said she'd let us know. After couple hours I asked again she phoned them then said 'fully booked' . Final straw when we checked out late morning left someone had parked across our car making it impossible to get out. We asked at reception they said' well a guest had arrived late last night and left the keys' So we had to wait 20 minutes in 38 degrees for hotel staff to move the car. Why didnt they move the car in the morning. Receptionist should be sacked. A german couple booked a beach resort nearby for Euros 30 when they got there they were asked 50 and when they complained at reception she said 'you must have misunderstood' !!! She should have phoned the beach and complained not blame the clients.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Emanuele Spennato, Marketing at Grand Hotel Riviera
Responded 27 Aug 2021
Dear Diana, thank you for choosing to spend your vacation at the Grand Hotel Riviera and we are sorry if something during your stay did not go according to your expectations. The Grand Hotel Riviera is one of the structures preferred by our guests because of its strategic location in front of the sea that offers breathtaking views and incredible sunsets. We are glad you appreciated the comfort and cleanliness of the room that hosted you during your stay. Upon arrival of a new guest in the structure all the staff at reception is always ready to welcome him by providing useful information for a pleasant stay and to be able to visit the surrounding places of interest, we are therefore unusual a complaint of this type. The restaurant is always appreciated by the majority of the guests of the Grand Hotel Riviera because every day our chef uses local ingredients, fresh and quality to give unique gastronomic experiences with exquisite flavors. The private rocky beach in front of the hotel, equipped with wooden platforms, umbrellas, sun beds and ladders for swimming, can be booked at the reception while places last. We are sorry for the little misunderstanding regarding parking. We hope you will return to be our guest at the Grand Hotel Riviera so as to re-evaluate positively all the services offered.
Read more
Jan H wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
One word for this hotel: Fantastico!!! Great view direct to the sea! Modern rooms! Great lication! Great swimmingpool(s)! The food is delicous! I would recommend half board than you can choose if you eat lunch or dinner! The service is TOP! Thanks Giovanna & Alberto , sei grande for the hospitality! Great massage from Chiara! Perfect Host of the manager who is very friendly and generous! This was our third time but we certainly come back for more! Jan H from Belgium
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
John H wrote a review Sep 2020
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom41 contributions74 helpful votes
We travelled by air to Brindisi and private coach to the hotel. This was the only tour to Italy this year and we were welcomed enthusiastically by the manager. We were a party of 12 and after temperature testing we were advised our rooms were not quite ready (we arrived early afternoon) and invited to sit in the comfortable lounge area and have welcome drinks. The hotel was fully booked with Italians but never felt crowded and everyone distanced correctly. Some of the rooms were soon ready, unfortunately two couples (inc us) had to wait a long time; which was not good. However the room was very good, adequately large with excellent bed, fittings and a large tiled bathroom. In fact the complete hotel was tiled - an excellent idea as everywhere was kept spotlessly clean. A small balcony was not of much use as there was only room for one chair plus clothes drier - however the drier was handy. Air conditioning was good and welcome in the 31 degrees plus. Large dining rooms and spotless table linen. As a party we were given a special menu which was not adequate as there were no choices within each course (4.) First evening there was fish for 3 of the courses - not good as we had some who did not eat fish. After our tour manager took this up with the manager we were offered the same table d'hote menu as all the other guests, which had multiple choices. This menu was somewhat Italian provincial and although adequate for us we felt that if they wish to encourage British tourists it would need to be a little more international. We had packed lunches included which were quite adequate although repetitive. Our stay was drinks included between 6.00 and 9.00 pm - local brands only but beer and wines were good. However all the staff were wonderful, cheerful and helpful with a reasonable amount of English spoken. The swimming pool was a little way up the steep garden and seemed to have no method of being shady as the umbrellas were not tiltable - a bad mistake. There was no other shade at the pool and the garden was really a terraced slope, shady but no proper seating. More could be done to enhance the garden/pool and its use. Really pleased with the virus precautions. Masks required except in your room and at the dining table. Any buffet (usually breakfast) was served to you from behind clear screens by masked staff and clients were expected to approach it in masks - which everyone did without fail even children. I would recommend this hotel for a holiday - not good if you want a sandy beach but the hotel did have its own equipped area on the rocks opposite on the shore, with some sea swimming available. There was a beach about 400 yds in the village. With a car (we had the coach and local trains) it is possible to visit beautiful historic towns nearby and with the area (Puglia) being right down on the heel of Italy it is very Italian.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: views are not too many, facilities made room position unnecessary
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$109 - US$320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyPugliaProvince of LecceNardoSanta Maria al Bagno
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Hotel Riviera
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Hotel Riviera?
Nearby attractions include Spiaggia Cittadina a Santa Maria al Bagno (0.8 km), Acquario del Salento (0.9 km), and Torre Del Fiume Di Galatena (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Hotel Riviera?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Hotel Riviera?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Hotel Riviera?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Hotel Riviera?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Hotel Riviera?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante Art Nouveau, Ristorante Filieri di Rico e Paolo, and Ristorante Corallo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Hotel Riviera?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Grand Hotel Riviera have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Grand Hotel Riviera offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Grand Hotel Riviera located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Santa Maria al Bagno.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Hotel Riviera?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Grand Hotel Riviera offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.