We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis

Imaplila Island Namibia, Impalila Island 9000 Namibia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (526)
Room & Suite (98)
Pool & Beach (60)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 3 lodges in Impalila Island
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled on the secluded Impalila Island in Namibia, Ichingo Chobe River Lodge is surrounded by breathtaking scenery, abundant wildlife, birdlife and direct access to the Chobe River. Quieter, more secluded and personalised the lodge is ideal for families, couples or groups who wish to enjoy the very best of an African river safari and fishing experience. The accommodation consists of eight large air-conditioned Meru safari tents with en suite bathrooms and private balconies. The main lodge buildings include a relaxing lounge area, a welcoming bar, outdoor pool with a viewing deck with loungers overlooking the river, and a separate open-air dining room for all meals. Unwind and enjoy the sights, sounds and fun activities of a true river safari experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Public wifi
Pool with view
Free breakfast
Boating
Fishing
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free shuttle or taxi services
Pool / beach towels
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Mosquito net
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Seating area
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
426Reviews5Q+A57Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 299
  • 104
  • 12
  • 9
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Explorer25450400028 wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
My family and I spent three adventorous days at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge and made memories that will last a lifetime! We were touched by how kind the staff were to our children, aged 7 and 12. Nothing was too much trouble for Cassius, our host and Robert, our personal guide. The food was abundant and delicious, the tents were well-equipped and there were lots of activities to choose from. My youngest son caught two tiger fish, thanks to Robert who expertly guided us to the best fishing spots. My eldest child enjoyed visiting the local village, learning about the islanders culture and visiting an ancient Boabab tree. They especially loved watching a Hammerkop bird make it’s nest from the deck of our tent. My wife and I enjoyed spending time with our children, whilst being surrounded by breathtaking scenery on the Chobe river. We combined our stay with a few nights on a Chobe Princess houseboat. It is a holiday we will never forget and can highly recommend for families.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cheree Thomson, Marketing at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis
Responded 18 Feb 2024
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are glad to hear that you and your family had such an unforgettable experience at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge. It sounds like your family truly made the most of every moment, from fishing for tiger fish to immersing yourselves in the local culture and wildlife, and it was our pleasure to be a part of your unforgettable holiday, and we're honoured that you highly recommend Ichingo Chobe River Lodge for families. We can't wait to welcome you all back for more adventures in the future! Warm regards, The Ichingo Chobe Lodge by Mantis Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Roving14070907727 wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
It is a nice place, but old, bad maintained. The furnitures are also old, no decoration Bath room are not better at our football club. So what to say, the people and food is nice. Even the location. But the company is selling this as a lodge for a very high price, but it is just an old tent camp… a bit better than my officer tent at the army. The money is really not worth it! Even the mini pool was as dirty as the river…
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t go, it is not the money worth
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cheree Thomson, Marketing at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis
Responded 11 Feb 2024
Dear Michael, Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and take your comments seriously. We are actively working to address these issues that you have raised, and enhance the overall ambiance and comfort of our lodge. On a positive note, we are delighted that you found our staff to be friendly and enjoyed the quality of our food. We also appreciate your recognition of our beautiful location. Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with a more enjoyable stay. Kind regards, The Ichingo Chobe River Lodge team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tania L wrote a review Jan 2024
Sarnia, Canada89 contributions40 helpful votes
Located on Impalila Island, it is a short boat ride from Immigration. Away from busy Chobe channel, it feels intimate and secluded. Main lodge houses lounge area overlooking the river as well as bar and dining area. Very bright and welcoming. WiFi is available in this area. Accommodation is in simple tents with attached bathrooms. Also has a front deck. Most of our time was spent fishing or in the main lodge. Meals were fantastic. Chefs Edgar and Elliot produced meal after amazing meal. Gluten free options were delicious! We had a great stay at this lodge, even though it was off-season fishing, we caught large tiger fish and nembwe. Felix, our guide, was lovely and knew all the good fishing spots. Game viewing from the water was first rate. Great staff. Will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cheree Thomson, Marketing at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis
Responded 11 Feb 2024
Dear Tania, Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at our lodge! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our accommodations and amenities to your liking. We're also glad to hear that you had a memorable fishing experience with Felix, and that you were able to catch some impressive Tiger fish and Nembwe! Our staff will truly appreciate your kind words and we will be sure to pass along your compliments to them. We can't wait to welcome you back for another unforgettable stay! Warm regards, The Ichingo Chobe River Lodge team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CindsJane wrote a review Jul 2023
Port Shepstone, South Africa27 contributions4 helpful votes
Loved our time at this lodge. Beautiful simple setting, comfortable accommodation, delicious food and the staff were just amazing! Kennedy was awesome, made our stay there! All the staff were great, with our fishing trips being the highlight! Thank you for a great few days!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cheree Thomson, Marketing at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis
Responded 23 Oct 2023
Dear CindsJane, We're glad to hear that you loved your time at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge. Thank you for your kind words, and for a wonderful 5-star review. We look forward to welcoming you back for more great days in the future. Kind regards, The Zambezi Queen Collection Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mark K wrote a review Mar 2023
San Francisco, California102 contributions48 helpful votes
From the boat ride with Patrick to the lodge, to Kennedy’s greeting us with his huge smile and laughter at the dock, we had an amazing time! The river safaris were off the charts, the food was great (they also accommodated my gluten free diet easily and without a blink. I even caught a tiger fish!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Powell, General Manager at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis
Responded 21 Apr 2023
Dear Mark, Well done on catching a Tiger Fish! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We're delighted to hear you had an amazing time at our lodge. We will share your feedback with Kennedy and the rest of the team - I'm sure they will be thrilled to hear they added to your experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Best regards, The Zambezi Queen Collection Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stuart Y wrote a review Sept 2022
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom3 contributions
Kennedy runs a slick and professional experience. Out of the ordinary with tented rooms, Ichingo is an experience you should not miss. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and well maintained. The chefs serve food that would not be out of place in a top London restaurant. Game viewing is by boat, and the banks of the Chobe River are teeming with game. We went fishing for Tiger fish each morning and caught every time. The guides are knowledgeable and skilled. Would definitely return
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Powell, General Manager at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis
Responded 14 Sept 2022
Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed the food and the activities on offer at the lodge. We will be sure to pass on your feedback to Kennedy and the rest of the staff - I'm sure they will be thrilled to hear they added to your experience. Hope to welcome you back soon! The Ichingo Chobe River Lodge Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
2IAD wrote a review Aug 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia20 contributions9 helpful votes
Seamless transfers from/to Vic Falls. Great river safari with Obert upon arrival. Attentive hospitality from the entire team. Special shout out to Kennedy who excels at his job and told us stories from his youth. Lynne did a great job with the booking. Thanks for a wonderful experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Powell, General Manager at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We're delighted to hear you had a wonderful time at our lodge. We will share your feedback with Kennedy and the rest of the team - I'm sure they will be thrilled to hear they added to your experience. Best regards, The Zambezi Queen Collection Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Matthew K wrote a review Mar 2022
Durban, South Africa76 contributions24 helpful votes
The lodge was good, but we had booked to leave Durban on a Monday. Just before 6 AM, shortly before we had to leave for the airport my wife received an email (not even a phone call) to say the flight was cancelled. We could easily have missed the email, & gone to the airport, & flown to Johannesburg to find our flight to Kasane was cancelled, & then found ourselves stuck in Johannesburg with nowhere to stay. We were advised by the consultant with whom we booked, Lynne van Wyk that we could travel the next day, & we would be refunded for the day that we had missed. What she did not tell us is that something like 4 of the preceding 5 Monday flights had been cancelled. If she had told us this, we would have left on a different day of the week. We have now been back over 6 weeks & still no refund. My wife & I, as well as the friends with whom we travelled have all contacted Lynne van Wyk who told us the refunds had been deposited into our accounts, but when we checked, there had been no refund. As much as the trip was good, it was not cheap, & it has been spoiled by this experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not book on a Monday, do not book through Lynne van Wyk, & make sure you are insured...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Powell, General Manager at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis
Responded 24 Mar 2022
Dear Matthew, Thank you for the feedback. We're pleased to hear that your trip was enjoyable. In so far as the flight cancellation is concerned, unfortunately our property has no control over an airline's flight schedules, and the airline should have contacted you to notify you of the change. In so far as the refund is concerned, our flexible cancellation terms do not cover losses incurred due to unforeseen cancellations that result in your trip being cut short. This is however covered by travel insurance which we strongly recommend guests purchase prior to travel. If you would like to submit a claim for travel insurance, we’ll gladly assist with any documentation you may require. Best regards, Kate Powell
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Theresa Griffiths wrote a review Dec 2021
Sandton, South Africa12 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
What an excellent experience for a group of girls looking for rest and relaxation and a place to celebrate a special birthday. Nestled on the banks of the beautiful Chobe river, stunning Ichingo Lodge is a place that’s good for the soul. With the rushing water making their way to the rapids, you are lulled to delicious, blessed sleep only to be woken by the sound of birdsong. A sunset cruise tops off the feeling of really being in Africa. Food in abundance for every taste with the dedicated team on hand to make your stay extra special. You need to go their for a once in a lifetime experience. Bucket list … tick.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Powell, General Manager at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis
Responded 18 Jan 2022
Dear Theresa, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay with us. We're delighted to hear you had an enjoyable holiday and were able to celebrate a special birthday in a beautiful setting. We hope to welcome you back to our beautiful part of the world in the not too distant future. Best regards, The Zambezi Queen Collection Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Joshua Rodda wrote a review Oct 2021
5 contributions
+1
We had the most amazing experience spending time at the lodge! The hospitality and kindness shown by everyone that worked there to make our stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible was incredible! Not to mention the fishing was incredible. Mark managed to catch this 9.7 kg monster!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kate Powell, Marketing at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis
Responded 10 Nov 2021
Dear Josh, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge. We're delighted to hear you had an amazing time, and that the staff treated you well. We hope to welcome you back to our beautiful part of Africa in the near future. Best, The Ichingo Chobe River Lodge Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Impalila Island area.
PRICE RANGE
R 15,500 - R 16,403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NamibiaCaprivi RegionImpalila Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ICHINGO CHOBE RIVER LODGE BY MANTIS - Reviews & Price Comparison (Impalila Island, Namibia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis
Which popular attractions are close to Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis?
Nearby attractions include Savute Reserve (7.6 km), CARACAL Biodiversity Center (4.5 km), and Boab Prison Tree (4.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pizza Plus Coffee & Curry, The Old House, and Chobe Safari Lodge Restaurant menu.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis?
Yes, guests have access to a pool with a view during their stay.
Does Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis have airport transportation?
Yes, Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Does Ichingo Chobe River Lodge by Mantis have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.