Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation

Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation

Stand 384, Beach Road, Ponta do Ouro 1600 Mozambique
Tables put out in front of barbeque area
Traveller (142)
Room & Suite (86)
Beach Restaurant
Pool & Beach (40)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#1 of 1 resort in Ponta do Ouro
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
The resort offers 56 rooms with en suite bathrooms (shower, basin and toilet) sleeping two, with the option of either a double or 2 single beds subject to availability. Each suite is equipped with a ceiling fan and air-conditioner. Coffee facilities are provided for as well as a television and DVD player for guests to watch their DVDs. Every suite opens onto a balcony with a sea view.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free wifi in the business centre
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Children's playground
Paid private parking nearby
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Diving
Game room
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Canoeing offsite
Darts
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Kids pool
Conference facilities
Spa
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Neck massage
Pedicure
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Portuguese, Zulu

Location

Stand 384, Beach Road, Ponta do Ouro 1600 Mozambique
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 66 out of 100
66
Maputo Intl Airport
107.5 km
See all flights
192Reviews3Q+A52Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 68
  • 44
  • 16
  • 18
  • 46
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
adin j wrote a review Jun 2019
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Room negatives:
-curtain hook was broken but we made a plan to close the curtain by folding it on the rail.
-reception did not give the aircon remote had to go back to ask for one.
-shower door took some effort to open an close, the wheels were broken off the rail.
-tap was leaking had to turn it tight to stop the dripping.
-the mattress plastic cover was not removed so u slept with plastic under ur sheets
-our bottom neighbors were loud an they were many ,we made louder sounds than them to get them to quiet down.
-our room was on the second floor on the corner by the restaurant, the loud music travels into the room if there is a party and the kids were switching on the jumping castle at 7am an u could hear the loud motor in the room
-We requested an extra blanket twice as it can be cold in June at night, this was never provided, we settled for using the single blankets on the bunk beds.
Room positives:
-We were right opposite the restaurant on the corner, we basically had the perfect balcony view to the ocean.
-the balcony made good pics at sunset.
-we could catch the restaurant wifi from the room.
-the shower pressure is lovely
-you can change the shower head settings
-the aircon does really help during the day
Food negatives:
-We ordered the full chicken it was lovely, the next day we ordered the same an got boiled chicken that was put on the grill after, the whole presentation an taste of the chicken was different, that was disappointing that the food is not always the same in certain cases.
Food positives:
-French breakfast is a winner.
-The peri peri they serve is very tasty.
-The breakfast bake beans is lovely, wish they gave more though.

Would I stay there again, probably not but you are right on the beach, the view is lovely. I'm sure you get better value by staying in the houses if u a big group or can afford it. I enjoyed my stay the place served its purpose to fill my stomach an allow rest at night. Ponta is a beautiful place an u should spend more of ur time enjoying the beach and activities and use the resort only for sleeping.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zack S wrote a review Jan 2018
South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First night we were booked on the bottom floor which during a storm completely flooded,water were physically running down the walls and falling from the ceiling directly unto the bed... Complaining to the owner/manager,his reply:he can't help it if somebody drunk on the top floor forgets to close the shower!! No true excuse or sorry just a propesterous excuse to blame some-one else!
Our booking now meant moving to top floor.there are no windows in the rooms. The tv didnt work and we had to make coffee etc on the floor. So requesting to repair the tv and extend the kettle so it can be on the table nobody showed up... we phoned after 7 hours and johan's reply...you have to be patient...
The washing was a day late and then they closed at 6 and told us to collect at the bar...off-course going there twice until 9pm nobody knew about the clothing...
Nobody told us you have to give your keys in to reception otherwise nobody cleans your room(only realised this on the 3rd day after complaining again)...
Absolutely terrible parking
Looks nothing like on the website,place needs serious attention especially the wood...
We looked for other accommodation and all the places told us paraiso have a terrible record...even the locals didnt reccommend it...
If only we knew before paying thousands for the worst experience of my life...
Wouldv rather driven another 1000km straight back home if they refunded me...
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JohanvJ, Manager at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Responded 15 Jan 2018
I see that Barbara and Nikita really gave you a very low low comment on your place. We did not eat out at your Restaurant in the evenings as we ourselves experienced the kitchen being very slow and taking lots of time already at the breakfast, but that did not put us off from your Resort; so there is a few things you can work on, but hey people are people and if I want to look for a mistake; I am going to find one! We had a lovely stay, the kids enjoyed themselves as well. I can recommend that you have maybe some Resort activity during the festive season at the pool. Like playing games and keeping the kids a bit occupied during this time. Thank you for your time and making our holiday a favorable one! Wishing you a great year! Please keep me updated and posted on any specials you are running etc. All the best! Natashia Theron
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tessadobell wrote a review May 2017
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel had nothing to offer other than it's location. Right on the beach with magnificent views. The rickety wooden building appears to be be in imminent danger of collapsing. Not to mention that work was was being done on the ground floor for the entire 7 days we were there. The rooms are decidedly shabby, with a 3/4 sheet(with holes), on a double bed mattress, on a queen size base. The bathroom is ancient, the toilet is brown, and dribbled water into the toilet bowl 24/7.Toilet paper had to be asked for, and it was was the worst toilet paper I have ever come across! They advertise WiFi in the bar. This is a joke. The "Router" was a cell phone. Endless trouble ensued in trying to connect, with connections lasting only a few minutes. Breakfast was included. Greasy, and tasteless. We ate our meals at Kya Kweru, next door. ( This is where you should stay). At Paraiso do Ouro, the waiters tried, the restaurant did not know how to make milkshakes, and Management was rarely spotted. Now go and check out Kya Kweru. Oh, and Paraiso insists on a 100% Pre-Payment, with a No Refund Policy.....
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
7onwest wrote a review Jan 2017
Postmasburg, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
So this is a lovely setting and the rooms are fine for budget accommodation, I really can't fault the facility for a budget place and you could literally not ask for a better location, it's on the beach.
That's where the compliments end, we had a light issue, which we did report, nothing was written down, so obviously there is no record of the report, we were just told ok. It was extremely busy so when our light was still making crazy noises and had sporadic periods of illuminating our room we were just like you know what leave it. My big issue here is the booking process......and this is a veeeeery long sad story that i don't want to bore anybody with. Just know if you make the fatal mistake of falsely expecting communication from these people please don't. Please know if you book more than one room, and the one room cancels their entire stay, do not expect to be able to use that room that was paid in full and the original booking was in your name. Do not expect to be informed that room has been cancelled, if you manage to get new people to go with you, they will not be able to use that room, even though it was paid in full. Do not expect any kind of refund even though border transfers were paid twice and the room was sold twice. You forfeit the room in its entirety. Then when you confront management about this, they will pretend to be confused. I will not be recommending this particular establishment and won't stay there ever again. Over worked staff were nice though
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacky L wrote a review Jan 2016
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We actually went for our wedding Anniversary in January 2015, but trip advisor doesn't give me the option to choose Jan. 2015.

This was the BEST Weekend away ever also my firt time. We had an awesome time and experienced the best service from Paraiso. The location is spectacular and the resort itself as well. I have made a promise that me and my family will forever go to Paraiso should we decide on a beach holiday.

We are currently planning to go to Paraiso in December for Christmas and New Year!! I cant wait!! Thank you to Dianne and Johan for making my first trip a memorable one!! See you soon.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JohanvJ, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Responded 06 May 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review - We really try our best for every Guest and can not wait to host you again for a holiday with us - Regards Johan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Savannacross wrote a review Dec 2015
Sandton, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After reading all the Negative Comments, I was concerned to stay at Paraiso do Ouro Resort. Johan, the owner, assured me that I should not cancel my Holiday due to other peoples opinions. Well, I agree and I can assure you that my experience was one I will never forget. The Location is the best in Ponta...the Resort is right on the Beach. Our Room was on the top floor with a 180 degree sea-view. The Building is constructed of wood and blends in with the theme of the Resort. Our room was clean, neat, basic, but more than I expected from reading some of the comments. We had a Double Bed & Bunk Bed (They put up new mosquito nets), the bathroom (shower, toilet, basin) was fully operational and I could not find fault. In fact the Bathroom floor was newly tiled. There was no Toilet Roll holder, but the Resort does supply toilet paper which was on top of the toilet. Air conditioner worked perfectly, Ceiling fan, 3 DSTV channels (but we weren't there to watch TV),. Cupboards to pack your clothes....honestly we just needed a place to sleep and keep our baggage & we were more than happy with what we paid for. Highlight of our Holiday was to see the huge swimming Pool which we were not aware of - with a sea-view. Enjoy & R&R in the Pool while looking at the sea - that was the Best. The food, once again, I cant find fault. the meals are sufficient to fill a grown man and the taste is out of this world. The staff are the friendliest people I have met in a long time. They are always smiling and accommodating. We left them a huge tip. We went swimming with the Dolphins which Gloria (Receptionist) booked for us, and we were blown away at the experience. Johan, the owner. was fully accommodating, friendly& took the time to meet us & get to know us. The only negative comment that I can state concerning our Holiday, is that we had to leave, we really would have wanted to stay longer. From now on, I will make up my own mind and be very reluctant to believe the negativity as this would have prevented us from booking in the first place. Viva Paraiso!!!! I'm waiting for your next special. Gareth, Tayden & I cannot thank-you enough for the outstanding holiday experience your Resort provided for us.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JohanvJ, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Responded 06 May 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review - We really try our best for every Guest and can not wait to host you again for a holiday with us - Regards Johan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nataliedirksenpadron wrote a review Nov 2015
Durban, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The resorts location was the highlight of our stay. Beds were uncomfortable. Bathroom are horrible not even toilet roll holders and the door didn't close. We had three and none of the bathroom door s closed. TVs didn't work! Units were not cleaned properly. Breakfast eew. The staff on the whole were friendly and gracious. Ponta do Ouro was a great destination. Pity about our accommodation l.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JohanvJ, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Responded 27 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review - I have recently taken over the Resort and assure you that major changes have been done to It. All rooms bathrooms have been tiled - New 20 year guarantee mattresses have been bought for all the rooms and is fitted. New Management have been employed - New Air-conditioners have been bought and fitted to replace the old ones. Swimming Pool have been built - New parking Area is currently been constructed and Lawn have been order for the Resort and will be delivered within the next 4 Weeks. We assure you that lots of effort went it to Resort and we know that even though the Resort's Accommodation is Basic it offers you now: Non- Self Catering, Air-Conditioned, with Mosquitoes Nets, 60l Fridge, Own Bath Room, 6 Channel Fixed Satellite TV. All Menu's have been redone. Safe and Clean Accommodation right on the Beach with new hands on Management. We will welcome you coming to stay now with us and experience the difference!! RIGHT ON THE BEACH FRONT!! Regards Johan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kim2407 wrote a review Nov 2015
Johannesburg, South Africa
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We lasted two nights and booked out! R11800 down the tubes. We ended up booking in next door at Coco Rico and cannot compare the two (and cheaper..... Go figure). Sad that one has no recourse against the owners! Backpackers doesn't even describe this place. A pool and water slides advertised for children...... We had an empty pool and renovations taking place with one having to climb over rubble to get to the restaurant. Disappointed and disgusted to say the least. Rooms are awful! Staff not even concerned that we booked out earlier..... No questions asked!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JohanvJ, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Responded 06 May 2016
Thank you for your review - I have recently taken over the Resort and assure you that major changes have been done to It. All rooms bathrooms have been tiled - New 20 year guarantee mattresses have been bought for all the rooms and is fitted. New Management have been employed - New Air-conditioners have been bought and fitted to replace the old ones. Swimming Pool have been built - New parking Area is currently been constructed and Lawn have been order for the Resort and will be delivered within the next 4 Weeks. We assure you that lots of effort went it to Resort and we know that even though the Resort's Accommodation is Basic it offers you now: Non- Self Catering, Air-Conditioned, with Mosquitoes Nets, 60l Fridge, Own Bath Room, 6 Channel Fixed Satellite TV. All Menu's have been redone. Safe and Clean Accommodation right on the Beach with new hands on Management. We will welcome you coming to stay now with us and experience the difference!! RIGHT ON THE BEACH FRONT!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chantellie E wrote a review May 2015
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent service, Beautiful place and perfect for honeymoon's and vacations. Food is very good and there's wifi as well. They arrange special dinners for a romantic evening for you and your patner with nice food candles and flowers.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JohanvJ, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Responded 06 May 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review - We really try our best for every Guest and can not wait to host you again for a holiday with us - Regards Johan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vascocelos virg... h wrote a review May 2015
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great, i joined a very excellent weekend,that i never had before, thanks in special the restaurant staff for having looked after me very well, and i hope to see you soon, also thanks for the management of paraiso do Ouro resort for the excellent service i had in general
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JohanvJ, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Responded 06 May 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review - We really try our best for every Guest and can not wait to host you again for a holiday with us - Regards Johan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Johan v
You are Correct - We Really try our best for every client - most of our clients return and have a fantastic time - unfortunately there is always a few that will never be happy. We are on the Beach and have best staff / facilities and attitudes!! Come and enjoy our hospitality!! Johan
Answer from Johan v
We can wait to host you again at Paraiso do Ouro - Thank you for all the kind comments - we always try pour best for your Clients
Answer from Johan v
Dear Annemare Thank you for your message - I assure you that we have3 addressed the short comings - to get also a better reflection please see our facebook reviews - The Meal Prices you can also get when you email us directly - I assure you try our best for all people - We are committed to our Resort and our Guests - also know that you can always please all people and that we have a 4.5 out 5 this 90% satisfactory rating by our client on facebook that is more reflective - you will have a lovely time and we will assist you with your birthday celebrations here at Paraiso do Ouro!! Thank You so much Johan
Charise C wrote a tip Dec 2023
Cape Town, South Africa219 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you dont have heavy luggage you can walk from the taxi ( mini van) stand to the resort. "
Read full review
Sandi C wrote a tip Jan 2023
Vryheid, South Africa2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"As advertised, the kitchen is equipped with the basics. If cooking is your thing take along some additional cooking utensils. "
Read full review
TonyKins1963 wrote a tip Jan 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The electricity supply in the region was a little erratic once or twice, so remember to pack a small torch."
Read full review
Michael B wrote a tip Nov 2019
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't go there"
Read full review
MosselbaaiMarelize wrote a tip Apr 2019
Mossel Bay, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask photos about accommodation or any facility as the website is of no help"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ponta do Ouro area.
PRICE RANGE
R 793 - R 1,009 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MozambiqueMaputo ProvincePonta do Ouro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PARAISO DO OURO RESORT BUDGET ACCOMMODATION - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (Ponta do Ouro, Mozambique) - Tripadvisor

All Ponta do Ouro HotelsPonta do Ouro Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Ponta do OuroHotels near Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire