Coco Rico Resort

Coco Rico Resort

Room 1, Downstairs
Traveller (136)
Room & Suite (38)
Our favourite spot
Pool & Beach (20)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 2 apartments in Ponta do Ouro
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms

Location

Ponta Beach Drive, Ponta do Ouro Mozambique
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 67 out of 100
67
Maputo Intl Airport
107.6 km
See all flights
225Reviews15Q+A40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 130
  • 78
  • 12
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jeanne wrote a review Mar 2020
Ballito, South Africa
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just come back from a long weekend at Coco Rico Resort with overseas friends. We were pleasantly surprised at how equipped these units are! The units are spacious, clean and the kitchen is very well equipped. Mozzie nets in all bedrooms as well as airconditioning in all bedrooms and lounge.

Wifi is provided although signal is not great in the units but perfect closer to the reception area.

Outside area was comfortable with big bench and brilliant Stainless Steel braai that was fetched daily and cleaned. We were also provided with bath towels, bath mat and even liquid soap in the showers.

No seaviews from the ground floor of the unit but we did have views from the upstairs balcony.

Pool area welcoming with sparkling nice size pool! I can’t fault this resort at all! It is well run, staff helpful and friendly! We had a fantastic time!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Narina Brecher, Owner at Coco Rico Resort
Responded 05 Mar 2020
Thank you jeanneassidy Reviews like yours is inspiring and motivating us to keep up the standard and insure our guests of good service and a good time. Hope to see you back soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin H wrote a review Jan 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The accommodation we stayed in were three rooms in a house with a fully equipped kitchen and three separate bathrooms. Access to the beach is about 200 meters. There is a pool on site as well. The restaurant is great, deck overlooking the pool. Food is good too, and reasonable value.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Narina B, Owner at Coco Rico Resort
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Obrigado Martin Thank you for sharing your experience at Coco Rico. Glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to host you again in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JodiedeKlerk wrote a review Apr 2023
Hillcrest, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A fabulous resort! This was our first time visiting Ponta do Ouro. Coco Rico is well positioned. We were able to walk everywhere including to the main swimming beach (the water is warm and the beach is pristine). The staff at Coco Rico were friendly and provided a fabulous service. The food was delicious, our room was cleaned daily and our car was even washed when we arrived. Thank you Coco Rico! We will be back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MrtnVgt wrote a review Feb 2020
Voorburg, The Netherlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The website may not be working 100% and the booking process may seem a bit different but this place is definitely worth trying. Probably the best in Ponta, which still is a bit off the beaten track. That might change soon now the tar roads to the boarder, Maputo and Bohane are completed.
We staid in cottages 17 and 18, closest to the pool. Music from the adjacent and very nice Shipwreck bar and restaurant can be loud there but if you ask to turn it down they will do that.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LalettaMM wrote a review Sept 2020
Tofinho, Mozambique
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We already knew the accommodation and facility from previous visits to Ponta and thought, we'd give this one a try since last time we had bad experience in a nearby accommodation. At arrival, we were greeted by Rita at the reception. Wonderful lady and very welcoming and friendly. We were guided to our room, which was big and spacious but it was also just the two of us. We were having a look around to find out if it would be suitable for our own guests in future. Anyway, the house is equipped but basic, with a living room/ kitchen area to prepare meals and several bedrooms and bathrooms is seems to be a good option for big group of friends and family. You pay 2000 deposit with no breakfast. The facility is not very welcoming and warm and you are just left for yourself to figure it out. There is a pool area as well as a restaurant which we did not use, just out of a comfort thing... staff seemed friendly but not warm hearted as you would expect.. One very negative first impression was that at our arrival the owner and his wife walked into the lobby, not even acknowledging arriving guests and being very rude to reception.. The bed was comfortable and spacious. Enough space to spread your things. Bathroom was also nice and big with enough space. Shower had good water temperature as well as pressure. All in all good, I think with our own touch it could be a possible accommodation for our guests.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Narina Brecher, Owner at Coco Rico Resort
Responded 01 Sept 2020
Thank you Lachin for your thorough respond. We take note of every remark and be sure that it will be followed up. Most of our staff is still not working because of Covid 19. I am very sure you will have a total other experience once we are in full operation again. Hope to see you back soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kutloanoleshomo wrote a review Sept 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall we had a good stay. We had more room than we needed which turned out to be a bonus because it rained heavily Saturday afternoon right until Sunday, so we had to stay in most of the time. The self catering option was good because the restaurant was closed on Sunday.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
diannepieterse1 wrote a review Jan 2023
Richards Bay, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
You couldn't ask for better accommodation and location in Ponta do Ouro. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The pao (bread) from the onsite bakery is the best - it was often finished even before we got back to our house!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kevincookson wrote a review Dec 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been going to Coco Rico for many years and their service and standards keep improving. Ponta is becoming expensive but the Coco Rico Take Away is exceptional value for money, great food at Great prices. They have just installed WiFi as well, although its a little slow.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Narina Brecher, Owner at Coco Rico Resort
Responded 16 Feb 2024
Thank you for this positive review, Kevin. We are trying to keep our Takeaway prices as low as possible to give our guests a easy affordable on sight service. We are working on the WiFi and I am sure it will be faster with your next visit. Mozambique has its challenges.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
588nasreenr wrote a review Jan 2024
Johannesburg, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It was our first trip to Mozambique and Coco Rico was recommended by a contributor on Social Media. I was skeptical about booking anywhere and took a while to commit. However, I am so happy I did commit to Coco Rico because it's an exceptional property. Clean and the unit was very spacious. Walking distance from the restaurants and facilities. My kids loved the pool the freedom to move around and felt very safe. The staff were very welcoming, friendly, and absolutely helpful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Narina Brecher, Owner at Coco Rico Resort
Responded 16 Feb 2024
Great to hear about your experience at Coco Rico. We glad to hear that you felt safe and welcome. Thank you also to the contributor on Social Media for recommending us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
conzeliak wrote a review May 2024
Hillcrest, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dana from reservations was on top of her game. Rita from reception and the people who were on duty with her when we arrived gave us a warm reception (friendly and welcoming). Our unit was clean and comfortable. Ground / maintenance staff were also very helpful and availed themselves to offer assistance. We enjoyed our stay
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Narina B
1 contribution
All the roads are done. You will be able to get to Coco Rico with a sedan.
Bucket-Listers2 asked a question Jun 2018
Boston, Massachusetts2,386 contributions84 helpful votes
Hi Is it now possible with the new road to drive to your resort from S.A. in a sedan car? Thanks
Answer from dcrayston
50 contributions6 helpful votes
When I was last there No, u still need an SUV
Sarita R asked a question Nov 2016
Germiston21 contributions
Ww want to visit you in 7 to 14 May? 3 aly
Answer from CraigH607
Jozini, South Africa
Good day Sarita R Please contact our reservations department on +27344131418 We look forward to welcoming you to Coco Rico Resort
Gords Reid wrote a tip Jan 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool is festive in the afternoons when people retreat to the resort so if you want a quiet time don't book around the pool"
Read full review
Benjamim A wrote a tip Dec 2019
Maputo, Mozambique3 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"very well organized with mosquito net."
Read full review
Angela B wrote a tip May 2019
Boane, Mozambique4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Mosquito nets in all the rooms"
Read full review
Allison wrote a tip Apr 2019
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wi fi best closer to reception, no sea views though from the back"
Read full review
Wendy L wrote a tip Apr 2019
Copenhagen, Denmark83 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to get accommodation with a sea view if possible."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ponta do Ouro area.
LOCATION
MozambiqueMaputo ProvincePonta do Ouro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COCO RICO RESORT - Apartment Reviews (Ponta do Ouro, Mozambique)

Frequently Asked Questions about Coco Rico Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Coco Rico Resort?
Nearby attractions include Fernando's Bar (0.3 km), Ponta Douro Beach (0.2 km), and Busiswa Boutique (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Coco Rico Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Coco Rico Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Coco Rico Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Coco Rico Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Coco Rico Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Love Cafe and Deli, Pontas Restaurant, and The Melting Pot.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Coco Rico Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Coco Rico Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Ponta do Ouro.
Does Coco Rico Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Ponta do Ouro HotelsPonta do Ouro Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Ponta do OuroHotels near Coco Rico Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire