We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Road Lodge Carnival City

Save
Share
Carnival City Complex Off N17 Cnr Heidelberg Road, Brakpan 1541 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
View all 9 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (11)
Dining (5)
Room & Suite (3)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Road Lodge Carnival City
Updated 20/06/26 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 in Brakpan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This hotel is situated within the hub of the Carnival City Casino Complex with all amenities such as restaurants, cinemas, shopping and entertainment. Located approximately 20 minutes from Johannesburg Airport and 30 minutes from Johannesburg’s CBD.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
34Reviews2Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 6
  • 8
  • 14
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
LM777 wrote a review Jan 2020
10 contributions3 helpful votes
The room was standard with a few amenities to use, though it smelt of cigarette even though it was a non smoking room. There was no other rooms available to be moved to, so it wasn't such a pleasant night.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
loicbellet wrote a review Dec 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa402 contributions71 helpful votes
Friendly, clean, recently renovated. Walking distance to the Carnival City Casino via the car park. It is an affordable sleepover with all the basics covered. There is no dinner arrangement but with access to the Casino, you are spoilt for choice. They serve a continental breakfast for those who need to have a quick refreshment and go. Do not expect luxury and you won't be disappointed. Expect a basic stay and you'll be impressed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Arrive after 3pm to avoid being asked to wait for your room
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Carnival City
Responded 20 Dec 2019
Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
DeeAar wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
We paid a month in advance for this. The toilet door was broken/stuck, and we were advised by reception to use the toilet at the lobby/foyer because the maintanance people dont work on weekends! The security guard was nowhere to be seen, drunken guests were making noise in the passage throughout the night. Night duty receptionists were just as noisy in the early hours of Sunday morning. If you are looking for a peaceful sleep, please try elsewhere!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from CLHGMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Carnival City
Responded 30 Oct 2019
Thank you for choosing Road Lodge Carnival City and for taking the time to review your stay. We are truly sorry that you had a bad experience. Our general manager has investigated the issues that you raise. The excessive noise level was due to a rowdy group of guests in house that night. We know the importance of a good night’s sleep and sincerely regret that the noise levels were poorly handled by relevant staff on duty, this has been addressed. The maintenance team is looking into the bathroom door not closing properly in your room. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disturbed night. We hope you will choose to stay with us again and experience the wow service delivery that we all strive for.
Read more
Wayne Coetsee wrote a review Aug 2019
Polokwane, South Africa34 contributions43 helpful votes
Don't book at this hotel! Very noisy! People calling for each other down the passages after 10pm! The security claim to not hear anything! Front desk take ages to answer the phone! Location is good for Carnival City but its a terrible hotel to try and sleep at. I was woken up numerous times by shouts outside my room. My advice, stay away!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Carnival City
Responded 20 Aug 2019
Thank you for staying at Road Lodge Carnival City and for taking time to review your experience. We are saddened that your stay was disrupted by rowdy guests and that our reception staff weren’t able to resolve the noise in time to give you a good night’s sleep. We understand that our hotel general manager has been in contact with you to offer his personal apologies. We hope you will choose to stay with us again and enjoy the kind of service excellence which we strive to offer.
Read more
barendh2018 wrote a review Dec 2018
Polokwane, South Africa42 contributions9 helpful votes
Being part of a bigger group, the individual service is not as good at reception as can be but the level of service is not bad. Good quality rooms and clean bedding. High value that you pay for. This ideal for a business sleep-over and very convenient should you visit Carnival City.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Carnival City
Responded 14 Dec 2018
Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Ndavhe wrote a review Sep 2018
Polokwane, South Africa172 contributions10 helpful votes
A perfect hussle-free place to crash for the night after 2 days of cycling from Limpopo to Gauteng. The amenities are standard and service was great, comfortable beds and clean place. Within a walking distance to restaurants and entertainment area inside Carnival City. The reservation just need to up their strength on details of what guests have requested for their stay. We had small issue with claim that we didn't pay for breakfast, yet that information was provided in an email.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Carnival City
Responded 24 Sep 2018
Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
hendrinal wrote a review Jul 2018
Pretoria, South Africa58 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
inclusive see the beautiful fully equipped room where we slept! In the morning we were spoiled with a lovely breakfast before we went out??? will definately gibe them a YES FOR PEOPLE THAT HAVENT GOT A PLACE TO SLEEP WITH BED AND BREAKFAST?? AS YOU CAN SEE ON THE PHOTOS VERY NICE PLACE?? AND NOT EXPENSIVE
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Carnival City
Responded 16 Jul 2018
We are so pleased to read such a review! Thank you for staying with us and commending our staff for their great efforts to give you a comfortable stay, meeting all your requirements and needs. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Lutchmee M wrote a review May 2018
Ladysmith, South Africa1228 contributions135 helpful votes
Good friendly South African hospitality at its best. We had to attend a concert at the Carnival city. Easy walking distance. Breakfast was great. Front staff was supberb. Will definitely be back soon. Keep up the service
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Carnival City
Responded 21 May 2018
Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
Kabzer wrote a review Apr 2018
Kimberley, South Africa17 contributions4 helpful votes
This is just an average hotel without much expectations. Secure a booking here if you don't want to drive back out of town at night when at Carnival City Entertainment world. Staff aren't friendly and are picky on how and who to speak to and give the best service. One thing I like is the follow up on reservation prior to checking in to ensure if you are still travelling and need the booked room. very efficient on there.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Ensure that you are allocated the right room type as specified on the booking more especially...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from The_CLHG_Team, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Carnival City
Responded 08 May 2018
Thank you for staying with us. We’re happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location, however we are not so happy to hear that you received unfriendly service, as we pride ourselves on our friendly service. Thank you for bringing this to our attention so that we can improve this situation. We hope to welcome you again soon as a valued guest.
Read more
Corrie W wrote a review Jan 2017
Zimbabwe19 contributions14 helpful votes
This hotel has small, very basic, but clean and comfortable rooms. If you want a luxury, or even mid-range holiday this is probably not for you. My husband and I just needed a place to stay over night to get rested before resuming travels and we like that this place is very affordable whilst still being clean, safe and with friendly service, it had everything we needed for the purpose of our stay and is 2 minutes walk to the restaurants and take ways situated around the casino. As a bonus there is also free wifi!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: If you are not a smoker be sure to ask for non-smoking as there are smoking rooms
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Carnival City
Responded 02 Feb 2017
Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$45 - US$50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
road lodge carnival city hotel brakpan
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgBrakpan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
92
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Road Lodge Carnival City
Which popular attractions are close to Road Lodge Carnival City?
Nearby attractions include Carnival City & Entertainment World (2.0 km), Bokkie Park (6.6 km), and Tamboville Cemetery (2.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Road Lodge Carnival City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and kids activities.
What food & drink options are available at Road Lodge Carnival City?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Road Lodge Carnival City?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Road Lodge Carnival City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Papachino's Boksburg, The Victorian Secret, and Cafe Bellini.