Lea House Bed & Breakfast

Lea House Bed & Breakfast

Traveller (37)
The Granary
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 1 B&B in Lea
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Lea House offers the highest standards of accommodation. It is the perfect place to relax, where you're made to feel really welcome. Award-winning breakfasts are a real treat with home-made breads and jams, fresh fruit and squeezed juice, local butcher's sausages and locally smoked fish. The house is a beautifully refurbished,16th century, oak-beamed former coaching inn with log burner fireplace & imaginative decor, adjacent to the Forest of Dean and spectacular Wye Valley. Dogs welcome. Credit cards. Free Wi-Fi throughout.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Canoeing
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Car park
Wifi
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Horseback riding
Canoeing offsite
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Sofa bed
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
431Reviews4Q+A72Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 370
  • 55
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Woodies60 wrote a review May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As the older members of a family and friends group celebrating a significant birthday we were put in this B and B. Definitely not the short straw as Lea House B and B is brilliant. Sophie and Andy are great hosts and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. We stayed in the Hayloft which was roomy and very comfortable. Probably the best shower we have ever had! Loads of teas and coffees to choose from and home cooked biscuits and tiffin which is replenished daily. Two other couples from the group were also staying so the large table at which we all ate breakfast worked really well. The breakfasts were as good as everything else. We just left our order out the night before and it was freshly cooked for your chosen time the next morning. Parking is available on site. May take a bit of manoeuvring but that is not a problem and if she is about Sophie even opens and closes the gate. When leaving the site an underground pad in the drive triggers the traffic lights which is useful as the A40 can be busy. We were not bothered by any road noise during our stay. Would strongly recommend and use again if in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rose-Essex wrote a review Aug 2022
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely room, very spacious with large bed. Lots of little extra touches like tissues, q-tips etc. Large bathroom with powerful electric shower. Bed was comfy, room immaculately clean. Lovely friendly hosts.

Is a very old building so low ceilings in places, huge guest lounge and dining room. Be aware there is one large table so everyone sits together-so of you a 'private' person you might feel a bit intimidated.

Order breakfast night before-extensive menu including fish. Despite no notice hostess was able to meet my gluten free needs. Breakfast was amazing.

Only criticism was weird and lots of extension leads/electric wires and multi plugs to ensure everything worked. Sadly old buildings have a shortage of plugs so this was only way to have bedside lamps, charging points, TV etc have power.

Also parking TIGHT! Ok if you have small car but entrance/exit to road is via traffic lights and tight spaces to enter frontwards and you need to be able to turn car to exit frontwards.

Great recommendation of Penny Farthing Pub
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nigel T wrote a review Oct 2020
Coalville, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A fantastic welcome from the owner Andy, who showed us both around his beautiful house before showing us our room. The room was large with a huge bed which was very comfortable, we also had a very nice ensuite. Breakfast was ordered the night before and was cooked to perfection, the home made bread, jams and granola was amazing. All the cooking was done by Sophie. We will visit again and take our dog to explore the area
Thank you for a wonderful 2 night break
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
220lwhite wrote a review Jul 2021
Loughborough, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a fantastic 2 night stay at this home from home b&b. Great location for visiting the forest of Dean or Ross on Wye. Great hosts who let us have the whole of the house so we watched the England match with the other guests. Amazing breakfast with home made jam's and marmalade. Good vegetarian choice. Had a great weekend . Thank you so much.

100% recommend
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dawn wrote a review Sept 2021
Doncaster, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited Lea house for 2 nights beginning of September. Andy and Sophie perfect hosts with lots of time for their guests . Room was great, shower fantastic, huge bed , lovely old building lots of character. . Breakfast was fantastic (English breakfast and smoked haddock with poached egg) …… we visited the pub next door and had an Indian meal which was beautiful. All the locals made us feel welcome
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
chrissieb94 wrote a review Oct 2021
Dorset, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked to stay for three nights. Andy and Sophie welcomed us and were the perfect hosts! Very beautiful 400 year old house. Our room, The Hayloft, overlooked the garden and drive and was very quiet. It was a huge room, with large, comfortable bed and en-suite shower room. It had tea/ coffee making facilities. Breakfasts were delicious! I loved the fresh fruit/yoghurt/granola; other half enjoyed the full English plate. These were followed by toasted homemade bread, jams and marmalade. Lea is very central for visiting Gloucester, Ross on Wye, Hereford, Tintern Abbey and several Welsh castles. If you like activity breaks, there is much to do in the Wye Valley. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
eandbe wrote a review Sept 2023
sawbridgeworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely few days - Good location.
Sophie and Andy made us feel so welcome in their beautiful home.
Comfortable rooms, tastefully decorated and a great breakfast with excellent choice options.
Highly recommend the homemade shortbread kindly provided in the room with tea & coffee making facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin J wrote a review Feb 2024
Conwy, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Back in Herefordshire after 24 years away & I couldn’t have found a better place to stay. Charming accommodation, great hospitality & wonderful home-cooked food….simply amazing!
Although on a busy road the traffic noise was negligible especially after dark. Excellently placed to explore the delights of the Wye valley & Forest of Dean, I would have no hesitation in recommending Lea House to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ShazzaPenryn wrote a review May 2022
Falmouth, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment I called at 9.00pm to see if they had availability for that night, to the moment I left two days later (yes it was so lovely I stayed a second night), I knew I had made a good decision. What a wonderful reception I received by an amazing gracious couple who run this beautiful bed & breakfast. Rooms are stunning, breakfast was fabulous and as a solo traveller I felt so comfortable. Without hesitation I'd highly recommend this establishment. Thank you for a wonderful stay Andy & Sophie.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joanne T wrote a review Oct 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were booked to stay here and chose it because it claimed to be dog friendly. Once we had booked (non refundable) we had to inform the hotel about the dog. We got an email which told us the dog needed to be put in the car while we had breakfast! How awful! If you're looking for a dog friendly break this is not the place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andy Evans, Owner at Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Responded 25 Oct 2020
This is factually incorrect. Firstly, this person had all charges that were applicable waived. All establishments will have in place rules and regulations. At the time of booking, using an OTA, you did not notify that you were travelling with a dog until after you had booked. If you had contacted Lea House prior to booking, you would have been notified that we are dog friendly, NOT dog exclusive. We offered to you a time when you could have breakfast, when there were no other guests, so you could eat with your dog present. But this was not satisfactory for you. To summarise, we are life long dog owners, and have welcomed many dogs, big and small to Lea House, and will continue to do so. Our previous reviews from dog owners who have stayed with us over the last 5 years, stand testament to respectful dog owners being welcomed. If this person wants to make comment on their experience, make sure you do not let the facts get in the way of the truth.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neville B asked a question Jan 2022
2 contributions
How much is breakfast please
Answer from Andy E
Lea, United Kingdom2 contributions
Breakfast is included when booking direct
susan652014 asked a question Feb 2021
Wales, United Kingdom70 contributions41 helpful votes
Hi do you do “buy a gift vouchers “ please
Answer from Andy E
Hi Sorry for the delay in responding. Yes we do. Regards
foxforever asked a question Jun 2018
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
Do you have pet free rooms?
Answer from Andy E
Lea, United Kingdom2 contributions
Hi Thank you for your enquiry. We are a pet friendly business, and as such no rooms are pet free. All our rooms are cleaned thoroughly, as our reviews will testify. Trust this helps and should you require further assistance, please feel free to contact us. Regards
hollysmum_8 asked a question Jan 2015
West Molesey, United Kingdom177 contributions69 helpful votes
What would the price per night be in January for single occupancy, ground floor room please?
Answer from hollysmum_8
West Molesey, United Kingdom177 contributions69 helpful votes
Hello Sadly I do not have any ground floor rooms. The single prices for all my rooms are clearly shown on the availability and booking section of my website. Sorry I don't have what you are looking for.
Jack P wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find the cinnamon plum jam"
Read full review
sally d wrote a tip Oct 2021
Bridgend, United Kingdom73 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are lovely and quiet and you get everything you could possibly need."
Read full review
Zekiel B wrote a tip Sept 2021
Manchester, United Kingdom3 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You could probably fit 3/4 cars on the drive, however Andy will kindly help you to park"
Read full review
Estelle Z wrote a tip Jul 2021
5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We took a crate for the dog to keep her off furniture"
Read full review
George H wrote a tip Sept 2020
Kent, England71 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Although situated on the main A40 highway we experienced NO traffic noise"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lea area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,208 - R 2,603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHerefordshireRoss-on-WyeLea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LEA HOUSE BED & BREAKFAST - B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (England)