We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Capital Pearls

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (179)
Room & Suite (72)
Pool & Beach (16)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 9 hotels in Umhlanga
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Capital Pearls is good for business and leisure situated on top of a luxury private mall with a resort swimming pool, bar, sun deck, jacuzzi, over sixteen restaurants, and a children's play area. The property also provides a variety of meeting and events spaces.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Salon
24-hour security
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Business
295Reviews4Q+A51Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 178
  • 59
  • 20
  • 13
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
msafrica wrote a review 16 Apr
Maryland140 contributions116 helpful votes
I couldn't have asked for a better location. There are many restaurants within a few minutes walk. Just step outside of the door and you have access to everything from coffee shops to high end shopping. I think our favorite meals were at Butcher Boys, Tiger's Milk and Doppio Zero. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant but it looked good. They had 24 hour room service, which is great. There is a really nice mall across the street that has everything from clothing stores, grocery stores, etc. There is an older mall under the hotel. I walked over to The Oyster Box Hotel for a very nice afternoon tea. The hotel lobby is beautiful. I didn't get a seaview but I was offered to upgrade for a discounted price. I kept the city view on a high floor. The room is spacious. The bathroom was a little small but still fine. I wish they provided washclothes. I was able to do laundry. There is a large refrigerator and microwave/convection oven (?) that we couldn't really figure out how to work. Also a cooktop that seemed to have shattered glass. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. We were happy to have a functional television to watch some sports as our last hotel only had Netflix and YouTube options. The beach is just behind the hotel. There are a lot of people walking around. The whale bone pier is also very easy to access. I was honestly surprised at the quality of the hotel based on the price that I paid. I would absolutely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alona wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
The hotel and rooms are stunning, beautiful views, amazing pool. Staff are absolutely amazing. Breakfast great. Hotel restaurant has a huge a variety and the prices are extremely reasonable. Can't wait to go again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandile Ndawonde, Guest Services / Front Office at The Capital Pearls
Responded 07 Mar 2024
Dear Alonacat Thank you for choosing The Capital Pearls. Thank you so much for such great feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. The Capital Pearls - Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lea H wrote a review Feb 2024
Johannesburg, South Africa2 contributions
What an amazing accommodation walking distance to the beach and all shops and restaurants. The 2 bedrooms apartment with balcony and sea view was so beautiful. The staff are amazing. Make you feel like you are family. Treated us as though we were the only people in the hotel. Will go there again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandile Ndawonde, Guest Services / Front Office at The Capital Pearls
Responded 07 Mar 2024
Dear 556leah Thank you for choosing The Capital Pearls. It really is exciting to see that you had such an amazing stay with us. See you very soon! The Capital Pearls - Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lorainebrinkworth wrote a review Feb 2024
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
From moment checking in to checking out received EXCELLENT SERVICE from all the various departments. receptionist Princess +Guest relations manager Justin made our 49th wedding anniversary so SPECIAL +their concern for us senior citizens
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandile Ndawonde, Guest Services / Front Office at The Capital Pearls
Responded 07 Mar 2024
Dear Lorainebrinkworth Thank you for choosing The Capital Pearls. Thank you for choosing The Capital Pearls. It really is exciting to see such great feedback and special mentions to our fellow team members. I am so glad that you had such an amazing stay with us! We hope to see you again very soon :) Thank you The Capital Pearls - Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
leishchiba wrote a review Jan 2024
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
Great and friendly service, access directly into the mall for medical and food supplies and a great gym (free) very safe and accessed with access cards only, very clean and beautiful hotel, a lovely stay overall
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandile Ndawonde, Guest Services / Front Office at The Capital Pearls
Responded 10 Jan 2024
Dear Leishchiba Thank you for choosing The Capital Pearls. Thank you so much for such an amazing review and a perfect score! It really excites me to see that we exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again very soon. The Capital Pearls - Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
felixdinho43 wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Short of words to be exact lol! The food was excellent and service was top notch! I enjoyed my stay, went to the mall downstairs and you can get everything you want around you, which made my stay more enjoyable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandile Ndawonde, Guest Services / Front Office at The Capital Pearls
Responded 10 Jan 2024
Dear Felixinho43 Thank you for choosing The Capital Pearls. Thank you so much for such an amazing feedback regarding your most recent stay with us! We hope to make your next stay as magnificent as your most recent one! The Capital Pearls - Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Donnae M wrote a review Dec 2023
Durban, South Africa15 contributions2 helpful votes
The staff at this hotel are exceptional in everyday. We were so impressed from booking in right through to checking out. They accommodated us perfectly and I would not have changed anything. Our holiday was made better by the service, facilities, staff, food, value for money and location. We had one of our most relaxing holidays.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandile Ndawonde, Guest Services / Front Office at The Capital Pearls
Responded 10 Jan 2024
Dear Donnaem290 Thank you for choosing The Capital Pearls. Thank you so much for such an amazing and refreshing feedback regarding your most recent stay with us! It really is exciting to see that not only did we meet but we exceeded your expectations :) We hope to see you again very soon! Thank you The Capital Pearls - Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Zama Mseleku wrote a review Dec 2023
Durban, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
Wow wow wow, I cannot explain the 5star service. Big up to the GM, Mr Logan Naidoo. He made our stay in room 606 memorable 😊🙏🏽. Big up to Chef Khanyo with excellent service. Hotel is very clean and close to ALL amenities with great views. Booking was initially for 1night and we couldn't resist to extend our stay. Will definitely come back. All the staff was friendly and always willing to assist.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandile Ndawonde, Guest Services / Front Office at The Capital Pearls
Responded 10 Jan 2024
Dear Trail35773299127 Thank you for choosing The Capital Pearls. It really excites me so much to see such great reviews from our lovely guests :), this shows that not only did we meet your expectations but we exceeded! Thank you so much for the special mentions of our amazing General Manager, Mr Logan Naidoo and our most friendly Chef Khanyo! I will surely share the feedback with them :) We hope to see you again very soon! Thank you The Capital Pearls - Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
350admin wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
I have had the worst stay in this place. No service, the worst of foods even if you ask the staff to bring a spoon they will show a deaf ear and a blind turn, we have traveled 650km just too experience this poor service its not value for money...I will set this on every social media platform and this hotel I will rate a zero and never recommend to any of my family and friends
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandile Ndawonde, Guest Services / Front Office at The Capital Pearls
Responded 10 Jan 2024
Dear350admin Thank you for choosing The Capital Pearls. We value each and every guests feedback regarding their experience at our establishment as it enables us to improve in order for our guests to be satisfied during their visit, it saddens me to see that we did not met your expectations this time around. I have communicated the concerns with the relevant departments for corrective action. We hope to see you again in future so that we can have an opportunity to mend what we could not deliver. Thank you The Capital Pearls - Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
consultwithleah wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
I'm a regular visitor of the Capital chain hotels but I'm starting to think they're taking a step back rather than improving the experience. Based on my last visit, the pros: 1. I needed ice and they brought it really quickly 2. The porter was super friendly welcoming us 3. The welcome drinks tasted great 4. Super clean apartment and comfy linen and after shower gown 5. The staff are friendly The cons: 1. We had to wait outside downstairs for 15 minutes because the guy couldn't find our reservation. After he checked his list like 5 times and called someone i showed him our reservation confirmation again and he finally said OK. Not good at all!!! 2. The system didn't work so check in took like another 15 minutes. 3. I had to ask room service for ice because the only ice available was outside of the ice tray, all over the back of the freezer (unhygienic) 4. The Netflix didn't work and the wifi signal was touch and go 5. I called for a porter on our departure and he didn't show up, we had to carry loads of bags ourselves
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sandile Ndawonde, Guest Services / Front Office at The Capital Pearls
Responded 10 Jan 2024
Dear Consultantwithleah Thank you for choosing The Capital Pearls. Thank you so much for your valued feedback regarding your stay with us. We always strive to impress and to deliver exceptional service to our guests, but this time around we did not. All the areas of concern mentioned on the above have been communicated to the relevant departments for corrective action. We hope to see you again in the future! Thank you The Capital Pearls - Guest Relations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Umhlanga area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,731 - R 3,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalUmhlanga
NUMBER OF ROOMS
140
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CAPITAL PEARLS - Now R 1 769 (Was R̶ ̶3̶ ̶5̶3̶9̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Umhlanga, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Capital Pearls
Which popular attractions are close to The Capital Pearls?
Nearby attractions include Mindgame Escape (0.4 km), Umhlanga Main Beach (0.4 km), and Whalebone Pier (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Capital Pearls?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Capital Pearls?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Capital Pearls?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Capital Pearls?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Capital Pearls?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grimaldi's @ The Pearls, The Grill Room at The Oyster Box Hotel, and The Ocean Terrace.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Capital Pearls?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Capital Pearls have airport transportation?
Yes, The Capital Pearls offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Capital Pearls located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.08 km away from the centre of Umhlanga.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Capital Pearls?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Capital Pearls offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.