Deo Volente Country House

Deo Volente Country House

Plot number 7 Kwaggasvlakte, Thabazimbi 380 South Africa
Traveller (20)
What a magical place. A home away from home. Clean, comfortable and the staff and owners are sup
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#2 of 3 guest houses in Thabazimbi
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Adult pool
Breakfast available
Kids stay free
Books, DVDs, music for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
24-hour security
Secured parking
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
BBQ facilities
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms

Location

Plot number 7 Kwaggasvlakte, Thabazimbi 380 South Africa
16Reviews0Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 6
  • 8
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jan B wrote a review May 2024
Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Deo Volente before, but this time we even had a better experience. Our adult daughter came with us, had he own room, and had to do a lot of work for UNI. All over the Establishment there are small seating areas, and it was very quiet during the day. We had bought some lunch in town, and could easily lay the table outside on the veranda, and enjoy the meal. Dinner in the evening was served in the dining room. A lot of afford was taken to prepare the meal.
As we have a light breakfast, we requested only fruit.
We loved the two cats that are at the Guest House, and as it is so dry, we welcomed the green oases with all the ponds on the property.
Rooms were clean, fresh milk in the fridge, and rusks for your first morning coffee on your veranda.
The host came later as we requested an early check in.
Should we be back in Thabazimbi we would book with Annelie again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Deo Volente Country Estate, Owner at Deo Volente Country House
Responded 16 May 2024
Thank you for your review. I am sure the cats enjoyed your company just as much! We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trudi wrote a review Mar 2020
Centurion, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
What a lovely and tranquil establishment to just take a break from the hustle and bustle of every day life! We always stay at Deo Volente when visiting THABAZIMBI. Always had a pleasant experience. Rooms are lovely and clean and Annelize and her husband are extremely accommodating and wonderful hosts!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hendrik B wrote a review May 2024
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a very good experience staying at the lodge , i stayed there for 9 months and also in all the rooms , friendly staff , awesome food every day and also the lunchpacks were very good , very good for a relaxing stay and also near to so outdoor activities
I would recomend Deo Volente to any person that wants to relax and have a worry free stay
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Deo Volente Country Estate, Owner at Deo Volente Country House
Responded 16 May 2024
Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure hearing back from our guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martha T wrote a review Apr 2024
Johannesburg, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stay at the guesthouse for 3 nights and 2 days while on a business trip. The area is exterior is beautiful. I stayed in room 3. It has a double bed, single chair, a desk to work and ottoman, in addition there is a TV that i did not really use and Wi-Fi is available. There are ingredients to make tea/coffee as well as a mini bar fridge with no water. There bathroom has a large vanity, bath and shower. The shower head is rather small and does not allow for a great shower. Also the soap amenities are not really clear to read as they are dusty and the label is smudged.
When I arrived, I expected warm welcome from the owner, which is normally the case with these guesthouses, however the intercom at the entrance did not seem to work and had to call the owner who redirected me to a different entrance. Then I was met by someone who seemed like the resident caretaker who briefly showed me to my room and its amenities. The room (and bathroom) was rather dusty with a lot of cracks in the wall. The bedding did not seem white by a dated yellowing colour. The house as a whole needs some renovation and the cleaning of the furniture in the house could use cleaning.
The package included breakfast, however it really was a miss. The teabags were in dusty boxes and some were expired. In addition, the juice tasted fermented. The chefs opted to make panini's. After the first bite, I realized the quality of the food was far from appetizing. I opted to eat out for the duration of my stay.
On the second day, I arrived back from work in the late afternoon to find no water in my room, i was told there was plumbing work ongoing and it would be back. I left for dinner and when I cam back before midnight, there was still no water. I escalated this issue to the owner. When I woke up on to shower at about 7am, there was still no water. I spoke to the ladies who cooked and there was water for half my shower. There guests complained about not have any hot water. There only feedback I received from the owner was a text message appologising and ask me if the water was back. At this time I had already checked out.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Deo Volente Country Estate, Owner at Deo Volente Country House
Responded 16 May 2024
Thank you for your review. We strive to meet our guests' needs and will certainly look into the concerns you have mentioned.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Otilia M wrote a review Aug 2019
Bethlehem, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Should you have the opportunity to stay here, do choose the dinner included option. The three courses are better than most restaurant food, it's like home cooking with extra flair. Rooms are always clean and Wi-Fi is ample enough to accommodate all the guests.
Great place!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
_jvdgalien wrote a review Dec 2018
Breda, The Netherlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A very nice guesthouse a bit colonial style with very friendly owners and helpfull staff.

A wonderfull breakfast is served; different every morning.

Relax near the swimmingpool in a very beatiful garden. The owner serves also a braai. Very good.

They also have game (Nyala; Springbok, Fowls ) on the Geisthouse.

Lovely place, just near Marakula NP.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sylvia B wrote a review Jan 2018
Johannesburg, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at Deo Volente Country House before, and I have to say
the owner, Annelie goes out of her way to make it as comfortable as possible for her guests.
We only requested rusks for breakfast, the most delicious home made rusks we put out for us, a platter of fruit and yoghurt.
Thank you for accomedating us on the 31 December 2017
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sylvia B wrote a review Aug 2017
Johannesburg, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for one night, in room Nr 4. The guest house has a lovely feel to it, nice lounge where we had a drink later the evening.
Rooms are well appointed.
Will book into this Guest House again, when we stay over in Thabazimbi.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Otilia M wrote a review Oct 2016
Bethlehem, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Like an Eden.
Food splendid 3 course, room BIG and comfortable, a very luxurious feel.
The garden and all the animals make for a very special atmosphere add to that a cool drink on the veranda, while enjoying the late afternoon cool and setting sun symphony.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Busy_Bee_0804 wrote a review Sept 2015
Polokwane, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed in several guest houses in Thabazimbi over the years and Deo Volente has been the best experience so far. Beautiful decorated rooms with a/con, on suite bathroom and quality linen. Lovely breakfast and friendly service. Only a few km's from centre town. Will be our choice again for accommodation should we ever need to stay in that area again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Trudi wrote a tip May 2015
Centurion, South Africa453 contributions62 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are sharing a room, make sure to book a room with a private bathroom."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Thabazimbi area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,179 - R 1,288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceWaterbergThabazimbi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DEO VOLENTE COUNTRY HOUSE - Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Thabazimbi, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Deo Volente Country House
What are some of the property amenities at Deo Volente Country House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, laundry service, and an adult pool.
Which room amenities are available at Deo Volente Country House?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Deo Volente Country House?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Deo Volente Country House?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Deo Volente Country House?
Yes, guests have access to an adult pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Deo Volente Country House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Deo Volente Country House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire