We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Isalo Rock Lodge

Route Nationale 7 Lot II ZIE B.P. 04 Sandstone Mountains, Isalo 313 Madagascar
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (635)
Room & Suite (211)
Dining (56)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Isalo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Isalo Rock Lodge is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Isalo, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer air conditioning and a minibar, and you can stay connected during your stay as Isalo Rock Lodge offers guests free wifi.

The hotel features room service and a concierge. Plus, Isalo Rock Lodge offers a pool and breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

If you’re looking for something to do, Isalo Window is a nice way to spend some time.

Enjoy your stay in Isalo!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Billiards
Walking tours
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Parking
Internet
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Spa
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Shared lounge / TV area
Umbrella
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Bath / shower
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian
682Reviews7Q+A67Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 549
  • 111
  • 17
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Julie H wrote a review Feb 2024
6 contributions
+1
Dont miss it.......its impossible to explain how cool this place is. The lodge is nestled in a formidable rockscape in a very inobtrusive way and the landscape/light changes all the time and makes it look completely different - sunrise, sunset, sunshine, thunderstorm - you can sit and enjoy the silence interrupted only by the birds, or when it rains the thunder and lightening provides a spectacular & deafening display. There is an airport close to the Lodge, so for a memorable experience you can fly in for your stay at the lodge. On arrival, we received a very warm welcome, smiles all around and a cool drink from the reception staff, which was a very nice touch - the staff speak multiple languages. The rooms are large, luxurious in design and furnishings, very comfortable beds, plenty of hot water, spotless, there is a huge deep bath, excellent aircon, mosquito nets, and all amenities in the room. Each room has a private balcony, with daybeds for relaxing and drinking the unbeatable panoramic view - on my last day I enjoyed a coffee on the balcony in the morning, watching a chameleon on a small bush. The lounge/bar has its own balcony and at sunset you can have a drink and look out over the national park plains in front of you, or walk up to the rock lookout on the property and be served drinks up there, its truly memorable. The restaurant served excellent food at all meals. The staff in all departments were professional, attentive, polite and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The pool was very welcome, after a hot day out. We had a full day hiking in the nearby Isalao National Park with a really super local guide (whose brother works in the bar!). It was such a beautiful day, with spectacular rockscapes and full of amazing creatures, from locusts with bright red wings, stick insects, frogs, lizards, scorpions, lots of birds, cicadas, chamelons, to unique flora and a large natural rock pool that we had all to ourselves and swam in, the water was cool and clear. Dont even think of staying elswhere, you wont ever want to leave...............
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mark_Brooklyn wrote a review Dec 2023
Brooklyn, New York21 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Magnificent scenery and the lodge didn’t destroy the view. Decent restaurant. Very helpful staff. There are many day trips and hikes to be taken from here. Please use a guide as you’ll miss bits of nature and misinterpret some of the customs.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RB Severino, Directeur général at Isalo Rock Lodge
Responded 18 Jan 2024
Dear Mark Brooklyn, Thank you for sharing your good experience at IRL, You're welcome for your next visit southern Madagascar, enjoying again our nice view and the restaurant with its helpful staff. Of course, you can also make a short to our new natural swimming pool. Kind Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sealrocker wrote a review Nov 2023
Portland, Oregon914 contributions137 helpful votes
+1
What an amazing hotel resort! This is one of the swankiest places we’ve ever stayed. Staff were very attentive and friendly. The restaurant has a great menu. We spent most of our time by the swimming pool. There’s even a swim up bar. Very nice Totally recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Visit the neighboring museum for insights into the area culture, history and geology
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RB Severino, Directeur général at Isalo Rock Lodge
Responded 10 Dec 2023
Thank you for sharing your own experience during your stay at Isalo Rock Lodge. Our attentive and friendly staff are glad to welcome you again next time. Best Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
robyn r wrote a review Nov 2023
Melbourne, Australia280 contributions138 helpful votes
A great lodge. Set amongst spectacular landscape, this isolated luxury lodge provides a great haven and rooms with spectacular views. Staff were helpful and the food very good. They cook their own bread. An excellent location from which to explore the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RB Severino, Directeur général at Isalo Rock Lodge
Responded 16 Nov 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your nice comment about the rooms, the food, in particular for our home made bread. Hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Trisha S wrote a review Oct 2023
4 contributions2 helpful votes
The lodge was beautiful, the staff was very courteous and helpful, and views were awesome! There was some confusion about the type of room we were booked for through our tour company, but all was worked out to our satisfaction and the staff was accommodating! Additionally, I had an accident and injured my fingers. The manager, Severon, was very quick to effective and efficient first aid with all of the needed supplies. Thank you, Dr. Severon!!! It was a wonderful experience and I would not hesitate to go there again!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: If you prefer air conditioning, I recommend getting a premier room for which the electricity runs...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RB Severino, Directeur général at Isalo Rock Lodge
Responded 14 Oct 2023
Dear Trisha, Thank you for sharing your experience at Isalo Rock Lodge, I am happy that my intervention action related to the hospitality mission was appreciated. Your positive return remain a precious reward that help us to be always stronger and motivated. It was a great pleasure for hosting you and have met you kindly. I want to say again wishes you the best and SEE YOU NEXT TIME Kind Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steve K wrote a review Sept 2023
Boston, Massachusetts974 contributions263 helpful votes
+1
This is a beautiful hotel situated in a great location, with picturesque views of the surrounding landscape. All the rooms have great views of the rock formations to the east, providing excellent sunset photo ops via sliding glass walls. The rooms are very spacious, and the bath area is impressive- a nice rain forest shower head (plus handheld spray), complement a very big, concrete soaking tub. The architecture for the lodge is modern, with lots of exposed concrete, accented with wood touches. The rooms have A/C, and it was able to maintain a comfortable temp even during the hottest part of the day. At night the temp drops, so the supplied duvet is appropriate. There is adequate storage for large suitcases, and suitable clothes hanging area, plus open shelves and a small safe. The room has a mini fridge is stocked with soda, water and beer, for a fee. I used it to hold a few bottles of soda we had acquired earlier. Breakfast was limited but good- breads (including Danish or pain au chocolate), a small bowl of fresh fruit, a choice of two fruit juices, yogurt, and, if desired eggs (scrambled, omelet, etc.) Unfortunately, lunch and dinner were disappointing. On our first day my wife’s chicken brochette pieces were dramatically undercooked, so they had to be sent back, Even the kitchen’s second try was disappointing. My dinner main course was described as a pasta carbonara, but instead of bacon the kitchen substituted ham cubes, and there was almost no sauce. Because of these and related food service issues, our guide changed our plan from full board to half board (room and breakfast only) and enjoyed lunch at two nearby French hotels with associated restaurants for the remaining 4 days.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Superior rooms have the best views and the shortest walk to the restaurant and main lobby
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RB Severino, Directeur général at Isalo Rock Lodge
Responded 14 Oct 2023
Dear Steav, Thank you for taking time to post your nice comments about our great location, exceptionnal view and our modern concrete superiour room. We are sorry that the lunch and dinner on your first day did not respond to your expectations. Your remark is very important for us and we take into consideration. A change for improvement have been taken the day after but unfortunately you did not have time to taste it. Hope to welcome again at our Resort and for sure you will appreciate our full dishes. Kind Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Daryl N wrote a review May 2023
7 contributions3 helpful votes
WOW! That is a word to describe this magnificent resort! In the middle of nowhere you drive down this dirt road to a gorgeous oasis in southern Madagascar. This resort is absolutely gorgeous. The views are strikingly beautiful from a room that has everything you could as for. Outdoor deck with views, huge bathtub, very comfortable bed, and as clean as you could hope for. There is a beautiful infinity pool making our morning trek in the nearby National Park even that much more refreshing. The lodge’s design is top rate. The natural beauty with fantastic staff, excellent restaurant with delicious food make this I place to put on your bucket list.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you are looking for a beautiful place to stay in Madagascar, this is it!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RB Severino, Directeur général at Isalo Rock Lodge
Responded 21 May 2023
Dear Darylnan, Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our magnificient resort as well for the room with its gorgeous views, clean huge bathtub and the restaurant with the variety dilicious foods menus everyday. Hope to welcome you again next time, Kind Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GlobeTrotting308616 wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
A very luxurious spacious room with beautiful views of the rugged rocky landscape. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated, the bathroom was spectacular. A very comfortable outdoor open sitting deck. Their food was excellent and helpful staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RB Severino, Directeur général at Isalo Rock Lodge
Responded 11 May 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice comments. It is a pleasure to whole team to hear that you liked the food and our spacious decorated room and its spectacular bath. Hope to welcome again next time, Kind Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Joel v wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
At first: Dont pay them before you are there. They Scam. I paid my trip infront of the stay with the correct amount and exchange Rate. After that they complained that i sent 20% to less Money and wanted more Money. They said it would be the exchange Rate of the Bank. For shure 20% would be the exchange Rate. Thats a Joke. Second: After five times asking about a transfer from Toliara they could deliver something. No other Hotel in Madagascar had so long.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Giorgio Giachetti, Proprietario at Isalo Rock Lodge
Responded 27 Apr 2023
Dear Sir I am very sorry for the happening. But you have booked on the basis of a non refundable rate to be paid in advance. Unfortunately you had to cancel both the hotel and the taxi from the airport on last minute and nothing we could do to help your unlucky event. Booking.com itself is strict upon the international rules. As in other occasions with few days of notice we helped the Clients. Sorry for the difference on exchange rate; for this I blamed my reservation team since could have been solved at your arrival. But for the rest, including the fee for the driver of the taxi that somehow we have to compensate, i do not think we merit your comment. Nevertheless should you decide to come another time you will have a voucher which we can calculate on what is left. Best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
curiousbooks wrote a review Feb 2023
Hubbardston, Massachusetts15 contributions32 helpful votes
We were here as part of a pre-booked tour, so we did not make the choice of this accommodation. The location is very scenic and peaceful. The room was attractive and generally well-kept. But the first night we discovered quite late that the bed-sheets were dirty. Also the areas around the sink drains were rather grungy (but not as negative a problem as the dirty sheets). We were too tired to deal with it that night, arranged things so we could sleep on what we hoped were clean sections. We spoke to a receptionist the next day. The sheets got changed, but the sink drains still could have used attention. This is a country lacking much of what we consider basic in the west, so it's possible there is not access to certain types of cleansers that could have taken care of the grime. The food here didn't appeal to me, but my husband thought it was okay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from RB Severino, Directeur général at Isalo Rock Lodge
Responded 27 Apr 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your personnal experience about your stay at Isalo Rock Lodge. We are happy to hear that you appreciated our scenic and peaceful location and room. concerning your bedsheets, we are sorry that your stay was affected by this rare specific negative point. Your remark has been taken seriously and the convient improving mesure has been taken into consideration. Thank you again for coming and hope to see you again next time. Kind Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Isalo area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,987 - R 2,675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MadagascarToliara ProvinceIsalo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ISALO ROCK LODGE - Now R 2 198 (Was R̶ ̶3̶ ̶1̶1̶5̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Madagascar) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Isalo Rock Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Isalo Rock Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Black pool (6.5 km), Blue pool (6.5 km), and Isalo Window (5.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Isalo Rock Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Isalo Rock Lodge?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Isalo Rock Lodge?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Isalo Rock Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Isalo Rock Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Isalo Rock Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Isalo Rock Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.
Does Isalo Rock Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Isalo Rock Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.