We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Plot 29, Boekenhoutkloofdrif Leeuwkloof Valley, Cullinan 1002 South Africa
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (20)
Pool & Beach (5)

About

#10 of 29 Specialty lodging in Cullinan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
KwaThabisile Game Lodge is an Old Farm Estate in the heart of Gauteng, Dinokeng 'a place of rivers' and Leeuwkloof Valley. KwaThabisile is surrounded by wildlife roaming in a 400 hectare Game Reserve. Wander over to the pond or laze by the pool and enjoy sunset drinks overlooking the valley. Enjoy the sounds of birds singing, see and hear the night come to life. At KwaThabisile you can experience nature even though you are close to many other enriching activities such as nearby Cullinan and experience 'All of Africa in a day.'
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Room features
Kitchenette
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming

Location

Contact
Plot 29, Boekenhoutkloofdrif Leeuwkloof Valley, Cullinan 1002 South Africa
13Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1
  • 9
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Laurenziz wrote a review Mar 2021
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa24 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Very pleasant and relaxing stay. Alex and Kay were more than accommodating and friendly, even inviting us to visit them for a drink. The lodge is clean, safe and well maintained and great value for money. The chalets are private and offer good views of the bush. Beds are comfortable and offer a great night's rest. Close to Cullinan central and other activities in Dinokeng. The pool area is lovely with sparkling water and fantastic views. Great for sundowners or just to chill by and watch the sun set over the bush. We'll definitely be visiting again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
522annekeb wrote a review Oct 2020
45 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I cannot speak for the other units at Kwathabisile Lodge, but ours (Eland) was in a state of disrepair and neglect as well as poorly equipped. And we definitely did not have the restful experience we were promised or expected. In the living room the couch was falling apart, and curtains were stained and ripped. Carpets were old, falling apart and dirty. The kitchen is poorly equipped missing bare essentials such as braai tongs, or a drying rack for dishes. Plates are chipped, table cloths are stained and covered in cigarette burns, and chairs are in a poor condition. The drying towels provided were stained and old. The cheese grater so rusted we were scared to use. The dining table has a light fitting above it with no bulb. And when we tried to use the lamps that were on the table, just to be able to see what we were eating, they had not fuses to light. The one bedroom is surrounded by exposed cables and protruding nails in the floors which are not safe at all. Especially not for a family of a 2 year old. The main bedroom has no cupboards, expect 2 small bedside tables, to unpack in. The whole unit is covered in spiders, spiderwebs and dust. Throughout the unit paint is pealing of walls. We also stated that we would be 6 guests and only received towels for 4 guests. We requested additional towels which were only provided later in the morning, when we had all finished showering. On our first night, the owners had a loud party only a few metres from our unit. Shouting, playing loud music and swearing until 12:30. And this was followed on the second night with guests on the other side of our unit playing booming music until late. The 'No music tolerance' as stated by the establishment does not seem to be true. The owners dogs (one of which is quite large) was constantly trying to get into our unit and scaring my little girl. The only good thing I can say is that the bedding was clean and comfortable. Based on what we were charged for the weekend, we do not believe that KwaThabisile is good value for money. And the photos online are not a true reflection of the place we stayed at. We will not be back, and we would not recommend this lodge to anyone else.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KwaThabisile GL, Owner at KwaThabisile Game Lodge
Responded 15 Feb 2021
For anyone reading this review, please go to our facebook page as we are rated 4.5 out of 5 stars with over 51 reviews. We have lovely reviews that are more recent. It seems that Tripadvisor is not as popular as others these days. We are overall very pleased with the reviews that we receive and are always a disappointed when we receive such a lengthy bad review as we do believe that 95% of our guests are satisfied with repeat guests over the last 15 years or more. However we are always open for constructive criticism where we can improve. Hi Marijke I understand that you are an interior designer with very modern taste and can appreciate your attention to detail. We understand there is always room for improvement albeit being graded 3 star by the SA Tourism Grading Council. I often hope that our guests may appreciate the value of the antiques in the Eland unit with the Louis XVI desk (subsequently taken out as it is priceless and unappreciated), the antique chinese cupboard, antique chairs from Zaire and door from Cameroon as well as other antiques which are rare. I do understand that it escapes many which is a pity. This unit was repainted, the kitchen and shower was renovated in 2019. There is a damp problem at the foot of the staircase which you highlighted as an overall experience which we are attending to. The curtains had been washed and stored during lockdown (as well as all duvets, pillows, protect mattresses etc), unfortunately I only saw the one curtain by the chinese cuboard was damaged during storage but is fixed. The couch has a cover on it and not sure why it was taken off for the photos. The covers and cushions are cleaned and comfortable but will make a concerted effort for appropriate covers that cannot be taken off. The small carpet on the step was thrown away (our mistake), nothing wrong with the leather carpet in the bedroom and the carpet from Morocco. This unit is often used for group bookings and is more equipped with chaffing dishes, large bowls, big pots etc than any other unit and does surprise me to say that the kitchen is ill-equipped. We did ask you if you needed anything but said that everything was fine (as per your whatsapp message to me during your stay). Had the braai tongs been missing, we would have promptly brought it to you. The light above the dining room table does not have a bulb as it is a fairy light with a switch by the wall. All units are equipped with 2x paraffin lamps and are refilled weekly. The wires running are actually for the DSTV cable that runs to the TV which we hook up upon request as most people use the communal TV room. The other wires have cable ties but will look into covering them with something that blends in better. Please note that we are insured and have assessors that come to inspect to ensure that we are compliant. The one nail protruding was fixed (my apologies). We have a luggage bench for suitcases in each room as well as cuboards on the landing and other rooms also have shelving. It is a pity that these are not shown. Unfortunately there are spiders that make up new webbs however your unit was thoroughly cleaned before your arrival especially with Covid-19 where the units are fully sanitised with air spray and surface spray. You asked for towels at 7:54 and at 8:02 the staff were asked to bring towels to you, I did find a couple from your group looking for towels by the laundry and gave them some at about 8:30 as per our whatsapp. We are strict with NO music policy unless you book the lodge exclusively, I am not aware of shouting and swearing but do not control our guests language. I believe people were relieved to get out of lockdown and got quite excited to be in each others company. If there is noise or music that people slip in that is a bother we would expect our guests to make us aware of this so that we can address the situation promptly. Kuma (our dog) is a big boy and loves people, especially children. Most children and adults adjust to his size as he is a harmless, loving, big teddy bear, we are also a pet friendly lodge. He also tends to go where he is wanted and appreciated. This also applies to our Bibi who is a terrier. Thank you, we do have nice beds with percale linen with feather duvets and pillows as it is important for us that our guests sleep well. We charged you less than R 315.00 per person, per night which we feel is very reasonable for what we offer. Your sisters were delightful and said that they enjoyed themselves. They did mention that you were going straight to Mabula after your visit with us which is a minimum of R 1500.00 - R 2000.00 per person, per night. We do understand that this may be more in-line with your taste and budget. We are terribly sorry for your overall experience and will strive to do better.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NomadsNature wrote a review Feb 2019
Pretoria, South Africa204 contributions192 helpful votes
KwaThabisile Game Lodge From the main city centres, a short trip along the main road and down a dirt road brings you to Kwathabisile, nestled amongst big shady trees and the low rolling hills of Dinokeng. Upon arrival, you are directed to your accommodation unit and eager hands are there to assist with unloading your vehicle. The seven accommodation units are arranged in a semi-circle and interlinked with walkways that criss-cross underneath one of the huge trees. A sparkling pool with relaxing furniture is located close-by. The surrounding gardens are well kept and maintained. The unit we occupied was comfortably furnished with a sufficiently stocked kitchenette, catering for your basic needs. Although the units are located in close proximity to each other, they still provide enough privacy. An ample supply of firewood is supplied at a small charge. Alex and Kai, the hosts, are friendly and engaging and keen to assist with any requests that might arise. Their friendly dogs often come to visit and make sure that everything is still in order! Kwathabisile provides the ideal venue to unwind and de-stress. In addition to this, it also caters for family get-togethers, team-building exercises and small conferences.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Uzzy01 wrote a review Apr 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa30 contributions18 helpful votes
We went to this great little place for my parents 37th anniversary and my mother's birthday. We stayed in the Bush baby house that was really great. Lots of space to move around and great feather down duvets :) Shower door is broken, just to let you know, but was not a major issue. Would also recommend some ice as the ice trays were all empty. Everything was clean and tidy. Prince welcomed us at the gate on arrival and checked on us a couple of times which was really great. Boma is really great, but would really suggest shade netting or an umbrella or something as it is impossible to use that whole area from 10:30 till before sun set, which makes it kind of useless.as you have to sit in front and have no privacy. Pool was very nice and clean. All our requests were met by Alex and her amazing staff, especially the bougainvilla flower heart on the bed. Thank you so much! I personally would book the Anthelope house next time as it has a huge covered stoep and has more privacy.Thanks again for everything, we will definetly be back soon! O and we actually heard a lion in the early hours of the morning...is that possible...wow!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Close to Jhb and Pta and no MTN signal at all!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KwaThabisile2015, Owner at KwaThabisile Game Lodge
Responded 18 Apr 2016
Thank you for the the review and recommendations, it is much appreciated! I'm glad you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves for your parents' anniversary and birthday and the flower hearts! I will definitely forward your appraisal to Prince and the staff, they will be encouraged and always enjoy hearing positive feedback. The lions that you heard roaring are most likely from the Lion Whisperer 'Kevin Richardson'. Next time you stay with us, you can enjoy a day visit with him and his 'cats' that are being cared for … We look forward to hearing from you again. Kind regards Alexandra KwaThabisile Game Lodge
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mmathabo D wrote a review Jun 2015
Johannesburg, South Africa22 contributions8 helpful votes
No manager in sight throughout our stay. Not even a phone call to "welcome" us at least. Only two staff members were available, who were alright. I am just surprised that the two units which we occupied were not serviced. Self catering does require one to wash their own dishes and tidy up, but I did not expect a total neglect of basic service. The place needs a lot of TLC, broken shower doors, patched up ceilings, bed resting on bricks, faulty ceiling fans and stove .... etc, etc! The place looks like it was decent many, many years ago. Would I recommend KwaThabisile - NO!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexandra R, Owner at KwaThabisile Game Lodge
Responded 13 Jun 2015
Dear Mmathabo Thank you for taking the time to review KwaThabisile. I did reply to you via email. In the meantime, I would like to let you know that we have assessed the points that you mentioned. Unfortunately, you were not available when the manager was there and did not want to disturb your privacy. Should there be a problem, he is available at moments notice. We do sincerely apologise that the foot of one of the beds was missing and one of the shower doors was broken, both have been fixed. The fans are in full working order as well as the stoves etc. Both our staff that were on duty have been with us for many years and are mostly praised for their friendliness and willingness. It does happen that guests prefer to wash their own dishes and prefer not to be disturbed. The photos are a true reflection of what we offer, however, I am sorry that KwaThabisile did not meet your expectations. I am grateful sincerely grateful for the points raised as it is important to us to be able to improve where certain things have been overseen or not attended to. Please extent our gratitude to your mom for writing an encouraging review in our guest book. " 07/06/2015 Beautiful stay, friendly staff (Emily and William) Thank you both 60th & 35th Birthday Celebration (mom & daughter) 06/06 Disemelo family - Soweto" I do apologise that you were disappointed but hope that you enjoyed this special occassion as well as the birthday cake we arranged for you and your mom. We do hope that we see you and your family again in the future and wish you the very best. Kind regards Alexandra R
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Murray R wrote a review May 2015
1 contribution
The accommodation really was top class and was in an awesome environment where you can hear lion as well as other animals. Unfortunately the inside of the thatched rooms were a bit dark but other than that it was an awesome 10 day stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KwaThabisile2015, Owner at KwaThabisile Game Lodge
Responded 03 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for the review! We are so glad you guys had such an awesome time and well done to all at the rowers at the National Rowing Competition at Roodeplaat Dam. We appreciate your input and will definitely take your advice. In the meantime have a wonderful year and really look forward to seeing you all again next year!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bean M wrote a review Nov 2013
Hamilton, NZ28 contributions11 helpful votes
A bit nervous when we first arrived - it's out in the middle of nowhere off a dirt road. But this turned out to be a good thing, as it was so secluded and peaceful with no city noises. Quite empty when we arrived, took a bit longer than I would've liked for someone to come and meet us - except the four boisterous dogs, which were running around our vehicles as soon as we got in the gate. This was fine for me because I love dogs and they were all very friendly and docile, but Max in particular is a big fellow, and could easily intimdate people unfamiliar or not partial to dogs - a warning when booking, at least, would be good for people to know. These dgos roam loose around the property, which became a problem when they invited themselves into our units. They've even figured out how to open the closed sliding doors! Also a bit of a pain during outside braais, with four dogs around your feet begging for scraps. Our group rented several of the units - they were all similar, but we did find that many of the lights didn't work. One of the kitchens had absolutely no lights working, and no windows, so was in darkness all the time. The ceiling fan in this kitchen also looked in danger of falling off, didn't want to stand directly under it. Fridges all worked, but a couple of them needed their seals replaced. Freezers kept frozen things frozen, but didn't freeze things from room temperature very well (ie, a tray of ice took a day and a half to freeze totally). Bedrooms were comfortable, clean and tidy. Our mosquito net had several holes in it. None of the doors or windows had screens on them, so it got very hot inside. Bathrooms were clean and tidy, bit of mould on some of the ceilings though. The communal braai area outside was fanastic, with torches and a fire pit. The swimming pool and patio was also a favourite area for a great deal of the day. The staff were all helpful, but at times difficult to find. It's quite a large property though, so that's understandable.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2013
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KwaThabisile2015, Owner at KwaThabisile Game Lodge
Responded 03 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our venue! It is much appreciated and valued …We have definitely taken note and will make improvements where needed. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, especially by the Pool and Boma area. We look forward to hearing from you again when you are next in South Africa!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenny312583 wrote a review Jun 2013
Pretoria, South Africa6 contributions7 helpful votes
Another wonderful break at KwaThabasili. We just love spending time there with the dogs. The sunsets are incredible and the stars at night awesome. If you have bikes take them along otherwise take a walk with the pooches-they love the exercise.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Antelope with its stope overlooking the bush.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KwaThabisile2015, Owner at KwaThabisile Game Lodge
Responded 03 Sep 2015
Dear Jenny We have thoroughly enjoyed having you back with the new addition to your family. I have no doubt that Max and Bibi loved making new friends. Your review is lovely and look forward to seeing you again with your little pooch! In the meantime take care ...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
christopher b wrote a review May 2012
gilwern3 contributions2 helpful votes
We have stayed twice, as we transferred from Durban to Jo'berg when flying long haul; once in June, and once in April. When flying in from Europe where I work, it was so nice to be met at the airport, and to spend a couple of days in peace and quiet, unwinding and relaxing before going off for a hectic trip of reunions and visits. I like the way it is decorated and furnished; the houses have character, and Alex is original in her decor and selection of furniture. The first time we came, it was unfenced and the game wandered across the lawn; since then the fence has gone up and it has lost that feel of being part of the bush. The bush is still there, and the game is still there, and my own interest in botany is content with walking around to explore. The children loved the pool, and the dogs, and the area. We found Alex convivial, helpful and friendly. Next time we return to RSA we will stay again; for the peace and quiet, and handy proximity to Pretoria/Jo'berg/airport. The transfer driver knew exactly where to go, so it was good to be alble to relax about that as well. It was just so nice and peaceful.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2012
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KwaThabisile2015, Owner at KwaThabisile Game Lodge
Responded 03 Sep 2015
Dear Christopher and Nicci Your review was lovely and very much appreciated. I am so glad that you, Nicci and the children enjoyed themselves with many memorable moments! We are so looking forward to see you again in South Africa for another reunion with friends and family. In the meantime take care ...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
davidalan14 wrote a review May 2012
Seaford, United Kingdom118 contributions59 helpful votes
We booked kwa Thabisile having visited Safarinow then directly at kwa Thabisile's website for a group of 7 European friends-English,Italian and German with a couple of SA local guests-after our visit to Zambia,wanting to be somewhere driveable from JNB airport at a late hour and after a sad bereavement which brought us to Africa in the first place.We managed this in a mere 1 1/2 hours on well sign-posted roads and c/o satnav/GPS.We were reassured by the initial security presence as we entered Leeuwkloof Valley in darkness and throughout our entire stay.Charming Maria greeted us and showed us to our delightful comfortable accomodation, Antelope and Bushbaby,each room of a distinctive African style,which have interconnecting dividers-perfect for a group of 7 of all ages and differing needs.We opted for self-catering throughout as the joys of the braai in the evening were the high point of our stay.Not forgetting our drives to charming Cullinan (very good Spar supermarket for essentials and more),Ludwigs Rose Garden and Dinokeng National Park (only 2 of the Big 5 but more planned in the foreseeable future).Whilst at kwa Thabisile from our veranda we watched Water Buffalo,Kudu and Bush Pigs/ Warthogs at close quarters in the nearby grounds on many occassions and saw these at close sight when we did a dawn walk,all the time with Vervet monkeys chattering in the trees.And relaxing by the pool in the late afternoon was just idyllic for us.We hope to return at our earliest opportunity with more than 7 persons next time round.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2011
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: No fitness centre that we were aware of but who needs one in the most beautiful bush country
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KwaThabisile2015, Owner at KwaThabisile Game Lodge
Responded 03 Sep 2015
Dear David and Alan We much appreciate your review and shared experience! We are so glad that all of your overseas guests had such a wonderful time with you at the lodge. Until next time …
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengCullinan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about KwaThabisile Game Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at KwaThabisile Game Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and kids activities.
Is parking available at KwaThabisile Game Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at KwaThabisile Game Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at KwaThabisile Game Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is KwaThabisile Game Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.