We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
42 Sonkwas Road Bekbaai, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (56)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (7)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 22/05/16 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 22/05/16 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#11 of 23 in Paternoster
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Nestled on the banks of the Atlantic Ocean, Gonana Guesthouse is located on the Bekbaai beach alongside a greenbelt, boasting unrestricted views of the ocean, Columbine Nature Reserve’s coastline and the Cape Columbine Lighthouse. Gonana Guest House is Paternoster’s first sustainable and environmentally conscious guest house. Paternoster is one of the oldest fisherman’s villages and is well known for its warm, generous and hospitable people, pristine beaches and West Coast charm. The guest house offers eight luxurious rooms of which seven has their own private terrace or balcony, with breath-taking sea views, mountain view and garden view. It is virtually off the grid and completely environmentally ethical. All water is recycled, all power is solar generated, plastic usage is minimal and chemicals are taboo, gardens are indigenous and water wise, and décor is all-natural and sourced locally. Their ethos is: ‘Buy local, think global’ Gonana’s eight (8) en-suite rooms are all a study in calm. The neutral palette encourages you to exhale, relax and reconnect with the natural world. Polished cement floors keep suites cool in the hot summers; extra-length, raw wooden beds and headboards lend an earthy feel, as do finely sanded log nightstands. White walls and uncluttered floors give a sense of space, while white percale linen and handwoven cotton towels add finesse. Bathrooms have unique appointments such as hand-crafted metal pipe towel rails and shelf supports, as well as polished wooden whale tail hooks. White subway tiles in the showers give a contemporary touch. Seven (7) of the guest suites have private terrace/balconies, three of which lead directly to the beach, while upstairs the family suite with private terrace can accommodate a small family wanting to stay together. The dining and lounge area is also upstairs and furnished with a solid wooden table and bench seating – strewn with soft Swedish sheepskins - for guests to comfortably enjoy breakfast with a full sea view. Adjacent, the lounge area with skylights is furnished with a collection of classic leather couches complemented by woven leather chairs. Here, you are encouraged to curl up with a book or a cup of coffee/tea and simply exhale. The wide balcony, edged with ample seating and plenty of soft comfy cushions, offers all-day outdoor theatre and sunset views over the Atlantic Ocean. It’s just breathtaking. In the downstairs courtyard, a deep, saltwater, solar heated pool is another relaxation hub where you can nap in the sun on a thick pool mattress – or choose shade surrounded by indigenous gardens. Professional massages are offered in-house, with prior arrangement. There is wifi throughout as well as great coffee table books and board games for entertainment. With prior arrangement, dogs are welcome in certain rooms at Gonana. Since the name Gonana is derived from the Zulu word ‘embrace’, it’s fitting that all who enjoy and appreciate nature and are environmentally conscious are welcomed with open arms at Gonana Guest House. For them, it will absolutely be home from home. Your enjoyment and well being is of utmost importance to the Gonana family. They wish your visit to be special, and will do their utmost best to ensure that you leave with great memories and wonderful experiences
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Beach
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Secured parking
Wifi
Saltwater pool
Bar / lounge
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Horseback riding
Bicycle tours
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Walking tours
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Neck massage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Clothes rack
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Xhosa
45Reviews0Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mayne wrote a review 04 May
3 contributions
This is the most amazing, peaceful place we had the pleasure of visiting this year. Such friendly staff, good food and beautiful scenery and decor. We can recommend to anyone. And they are solar driven, so no loadshedding woes!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Gonana Guesthouse, Guest Services / Front Office at Gonana Guesthouse
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review with the rest of the world. We really appreciate it. Knowing that you are happy and satisfied with your experience staying at Gonana Guesthouse makes us very happy. We look forward to welcoming you back. All of the best…from the Gonana Family
Read more
87sybils wrote a review Feb 2022
Montagu33 contributions1 helpful vote
I made a booking and 4 some reason got the weekend dates wrong. Luckily I message when we were non our way that we'd be late. To my utter shock I was told the booking was for the Mon. There was no way we could return my hubbies rushed from firefighting to come. I was told all rooms were booked. Then only the most expensive was available, which unwashed grateful for. However we been many times. Evennin tough COVID times we visited 2x. Why charge that ridiculous amount per night? Could we not have gotten a discount for the honest mistake? If unhad gotten the online reservation last promised, I would have seen the dates!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Gonana Guesthouse, Guest Services / Front Office at Gonana Guesthouse
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Sybil Thanks very much for your feedback and for always choosing Gonana Guesthouse for your stay in Paternoster. We were fully booked in all our other rooms for those two nights and only had the Studio available due to another guest cancelling the previous day. The Studio is like an apartment with small kitchenette, lounge seating area and balcony, hence the price is more expensive than the other rooms. We are sorry that you feel we were unfair in our rate offering for that room. Your reservation confirmation was sent when you made the booking so we are unsure where the confusion came in. We would love to offer you a complimentary stay at one of our newest selfcatering cottages, so you are able to experience that side of our accommodation portfolio as well. Looking forward to welcoming you again. Best Regards The Gonana Family
Read more
helliedoc wrote a review Jan 2022
antrim240 contributions49 helpful votes
Lovely house at the edge of this pleasant resort. Loved the sea sound when sleeping and room was cleaned daily. Great place to meet other travellers in the upstairs common room overlooking the sea. Felt safe in the area of the house. Could walk into the village but preferred hiking over the rocks to the left into the nature reserve. Would return
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Gonana Guesthouse, Guest Services / Front Office at Gonana Guesthouse
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. Make us really happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay, we take pride in ensuring that our guests are comfortable and well looked after. Hope to have you stay with us again very soon. Best Regards from the Gonana Family
Read more
Lies H wrote a review Jan 2022
Almelo, The Netherlands12 contributions4 helpful votes
De seafacing room which we were in the first night, is very nice. But they ask for the Queen room the same rate. This is not fair. The bed is narrow , the room smaller and there is no view. The price must be much lower for this room. Location is very nice
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Gonana Guesthouse, Guest Services / Front Office at Gonana Guesthouse
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Lies, Thanks very much for your feedback. We are very sad to hear that you were unhappy with our Queen room. We feel that all our rooms are spacious and are special in their own way. This is the first time we have a complaint about Room 4, as it still has partial sea view from the outside terrace, which other rooms besides the Sea facing rooms do not have. We will gladly offer you a free night in one of our new cottages so you can experience that part of our accommodation portfolio as well. Looking forward to your next visit so we can remedy your experience. Best Regards The Gonana Family
Read more
Maseeha Essack wrote a review Jan 2022
Cape Town Central, South Africa1 contribution
Amazing experience. Friendly staff and great hospitality, really took our needs into consideration. Pet friendly, which is something we cannot go without. Extremely clean and neat. Great presentation and comfortability. Exceptional sea view, close to all top rate attractions, easy access to Paternoster Village
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Gonana Guesthouse, Guest Services / Front Office at Gonana Guesthouse
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. Knowing that you are happy and satisfied with your experience staying at Gonana Cottage makes us very happy. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards from the Gonana Family
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$50 - US$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeSaldanha Bay MunicipalityPaternoster
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gonana Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to Gonana Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include Paternoster Beach (1.1 km), Stone Fish Studio and Gallery (1.0 km), and Jem & Pantoffels (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gonana Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Gonana Guesthouse?
Top room amenities include a desk, extra long beds, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Gonana Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Gonana Guesthouse?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gonana Guesthouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Noisy Oyster, Gaaitjie Restaurant, and Wolfgat.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gonana Guesthouse?
Yes, guests have access to a saltwater pool during their stay.
Is Gonana Guesthouse located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Paternoster.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gonana Guesthouse?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.