Paternoster Coves

Paternoster Coves

6 Koenibos St Bekbaai, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381 South Africa
Magnificent Views of the bay !
Pool & Beach (1)
Bathroom Bokkom
Room & Suite (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#5 of 6 cottages in Paternoster
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value

Paternoster Coves consists of 3 luxury self units,namely Krefie,Bokkoms and Snoek beautifuly decorated.Each unit sleeps 2.The house is situated in a quiet cul-de-sac overlooking the bay with magnificient views and breathtaking sunsets.

TAke meandering walks on quiet sandy beaches 150 m away,visit historical Cape Columbine lighthouse and natures reserve or try Kayaking,snorkeling and horse riding.The not so active can relax by a sandy cove and enjoy idyllic Paternoster !

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Paid wifi
Beach
Adults only
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Kitchenette
Microwave
Minibar
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Luxury

Location

6 Koenibos St Bekbaai, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 54 out of 100
54
Cape Town Intl Airport
144.7 km
See all flights
20Reviews1Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 6
  • 6
  • 1
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
saffa_travel wrote a review Sept 2015
Stellenbosch, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Paternoster is a perennial favourite for its long white beach and peacefulness. Paternoster Coves is a good place to experience it, though I think some of our expectations were not met entirely.

Advantages:
1. Cottages are beautifully decorated and well-equipped for self-catering.
2. The cottages are within walking distance from the beach.
3. The view from the veranda is fantastic: beach, lighthouse.
4. Reuben's restaurant now has a "branch" right next door - do make use of this opportunity, it is lovely for fine dining.

Disadvantages:
1. This property is managed remotely from Johannesburg. I do not think that management goes to the premises regularly. Reception was never once open during our 3 night stay. We received our keys from a representative whom we had to call: he hardly gave us any instructions before quickly leaving, and seemed to be aloof. It was pretty much "figure it out yourselves". Similarly, when departing, it is troublesome to find the responsible person.
2. The "view" that is promised does exist. However, it certainly cannot be viewed from within the cottages, as a (admittedly too hasty) read of the description may lead one to expect. One has to brave the windy weather on the veranda to enjoy the view (which is apparently shared between cottages - or not (who knows, no-one was there to tell us?)). In fact the Bokkom cottage hardly has any windows and is somewhat dark.
3. Given that the cottage does not have a couch to view the TV, the TV set points to the bed. However, the beds are equipped with mosquito nets which obscure even the view of the TV. There were a number of other impracticalities which I did not expect from a 4 star establishment. Most pertinent of these was the "skylight" directly above the bed which had no option of "closing"; additionally some of the blinds do not cover the windows entirely: I think Paternoster is a place to rest, and not a place to be woken by the sunrise :-). Because of a hole in the wall, the shower can lead to some minor flooding.
4. Nice to have WiFi, but it hardly works within the cottage. Perhaps this is a blessing in disguise, as this really is a place to "switch off".

My overall impression is that the owners are not around often enough to get feedback from their customers. With some minor improvements this can be a great place to stay in Paternoster. In the end we enjoyed our stay, despite some of the practical issues.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margaret M wrote a review Mar 2015
Cape Town, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
What an absolute gem. What a cosy and tastefully decorated rooms. The ocean view is stunning. Sunset is absolutely spectacular. The entertainment area is absolutely awesome. Friendly owners. Will defnitely be back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lewarn, Owner at Paternoster Coves
Responded 11 Mar 2015
Thanks for having you Margaret ! We are looking forward to see you soon !Maybe we can enjoy a sun downer together next time!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary Leigh Abramson wrote a review Sept 2016
Cape Town Central, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The word that best describes my stay in Paternoster Coves is CHARM. We felt as though we weren't staying in an establishment but our own little home. You are left to come and go for the duration of your stay. The four poster bed, antique furniture and unique style of the owner make it like no hotel you'll stay at. What a find!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
86freerk wrote a review Mar 2015
Vught, The Netherlands
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Keffie is now build behind a general lounge. You have no privacy anymore and direct see view. The personnel was not capable to run the place. Wifi did'not work. The room was not clean.
It was terrible
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lewarn, Owner at Paternoster Coves
Responded 16 Mar 2015
We are so sorry to hear about this.We thought that we did change Paternoster Coves for the better.Sometimes one just fall in love with a place and the new alterations does not appeal to you.We did contact our ladies working for us and are getting new plans in order.Our sincere apologies for the wifi not working.If we have load shedding the cleaners must reset the wifi which they did not do.Again we are working on changes with the girls down there.Sometimes you think that you can rely on people working for you which in you case ;ooks like they failed us.Wish we can make up for this.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ceuesteves wrote a review Oct 2016
Hout Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I can honestly say it was the worst place we ever stayed in paternoster. Shabby decor and outdated. Dirty, uncomfortable and a very noisy toiled and a dirty sky light above the bed that lets the sun shine on your face early in the morning. No rest whatsoever
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: No tip to share
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Giles A wrote a review Oct 2016
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Wow, possibly the worst place we have ever stayed in......
We visit Paternoster once a month and like to try new places but this past weekend we hit rock bottom.
On our way there we received a text in bad afrikaans asking when would be arriving. Had we not been SA we would have had no idea what it was about.
When we arrived I had to phone this person to come.
The room....musty from not being aired, no light, no view, missing light bulbs and tired decor. The net over the bed was filthy including some dead flies.
The sheets were threadbare.
The wifi was non existent.
I was given keys and told I was in charge of the alarm.... really, I was a guest not the manager.
We were also advised that we could not use the common area as it had been booked!!
AND.....The toilet cistern was damaged and made a screaming noise throughout our stay. On asking the 'manager' about it this morning he advised me that it had been doing that for some time.... HOW can you still charge for a room when there is a fault such as this and to cap it all the manager told us that the owners knew about it.
How this place got a 4 star rating escapes me.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Audrey L wrote a review Apr 2016
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The room booked was for self catering. We were glad it was the case as from the time we found our way to the room...We were disappointed. The stairs were not age friendly....The windows were few and could not open...We felt claustrophobic...wanted to check out immediately. The entire place was even too small for 2 persons. Too much furniture in this small area. Sorry but we will never stay here again and also not recommend it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lewarn, Owner at Paternoster Coves
Responded 25 Apr 2016
Hi Audrey i am sorry that you are feeling this way.Did you ask for a groundfloor unit ?I don not agree with you that the unit is too small for 2 people.Windows can open.We had very good reviews from people that stayed there in Bokkom not long before you.Paternoster Coves were also voted the Best Establishment in Paternoster for Sleeping Out 2015.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CPT_FoodLover wrote a review Mar 2015
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The good: lovely view. nice rustic decor, well equipped, lots of potential.

The bad: we intentionally booked and paid for "Snoek" (also confirmed on invoice paid in advance), but on arrival were told that this room was already occupied. We were then given "Krefie", which we were told was an "upgrade". The room is half the size and has zero privacy, so the owner also gave us the "patat" entertainment room opposite. I was really not satisfied with this.

The wifi did not work at any point. The large TV in the entertainment room is not connected to any signal. The tiny TV in the bedroom worked the first night, but the owner had not paid their dstv bill, so it did not work at all after that.

The shower gel and soap provided smelled rotten when opened. The hot water is a dribble, so taking a shower is pointless and filling the tub takes 45 mins. The bed was not comfy. There were dogs barking outside until the early hours of the morning and the locals like to race their cars at 6am.

There is generally no-one on-site and, although they are friendly, the girls that clean the rooms are really not capable of running the place. For example, other guests were told that the private area we had been given was a "communal area" and used our sunloungers. We complained on our way out, so the girls could let them know that this area was for us only. When we got back, the guests next door had simply taken all of our patio furniture, so we had nothing to sit on outside. Lovely!

The rooms are also so close to one another and so open that you are basically on top of the other guests all the time and can hear all their conversations. The outdoor areas are not even marked out, so anyone can just come and sit right outside your room. This really pi**ed me off.

This place has lots of potential and would make a nice family home, but simply does not work as a holiday let. You seemingly cannot rely on other guests to be decent/honest and there is no enforcement of any kind. In other words, whoever shouts the loudest gets their way. This really spoiled an otherwise nice weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lewarn, Owner at Paternoster Coves
Responded 17 Mar 2015
We are so sorry to hear about this.Janet from our office did phone you on your arrival to find out if you were satisfied and happy with Krefie on which you confirmed on the second phone call(after checking the unit) that you were happy.How can you judge the size of the two units have you been in Snoek ?We immediately phoned our other guests after seeing your complaint and they had wifi all the time why did you not contact us ?The Dstv is definitely paid.If you are a dstv subscriber you will know that at some or other time they mess up.We did pone them but with no response.We did sms you to keep you up to date. We did give you the exlusive use of "Patat" our braai room.The verandah area which accommodates the sun loungers is part of the communal area.There is patio furniture in front of Krefie and Patat . We have a pump on site to help with the water pressure but if Paternoster is full there is nothing that we can do with the water infrastructure. Shower gel and soap -we had no complaints before. Bed-we had no complaints before. Dogs and locals- we dont have control over the locals and their dogs.Please remember that we live in a fishing village. "No-one -on site"- Paternoster Coves is a self catering establishment and in case of any problems we can be contacted at any time of day or night(all details of owners in file in unit or on notice on fridge)We always respond to any problem that may arise during the stay of our guests immediately. We always try our best wherever we can to keep our guests happy and we are really sorry that what ever we did was not good enough for you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JanenArina wrote a review Dec 2014
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I booked the Krefie room for our honeymoon for 3 nights.

Upon calling the guesthouse to confirm that they received our payment, a week before we were meant to depart for Paternoster, they advised that they are in the process of building at the guest house.

We enquired as to the nature of the building, to which they replied that walls are being knocked down from early in the morning for the whole duration of the day. This is the last thing you want to hear on your honeymoon.

We had to promptly look for other accommodation, and had to pay more than our budget allowed.

Unacceptable, considering we booked this place during June already. The least they could have done was notify us of the possibility of building alterations during our stay.

Not recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lewarn, Owner at Paternoster Coves
Responded 10 Mar 2015
We are indeed so sorry about this incident.We,as the owners of Paternoster Coves did send out a cancellation email to all our guests with bookings dated from 1 st September until middle November, on the 18 th July explaining to them that we will be doing alterations to Paternoster Coves.We also offer them an extra night's free accommodation with their next booking, due to the cancellation of their bookings.However our building contractor let us down therefor we had to cancel your booking at such a late stage.We hereby offer you a free 3 night stay in our newly renovated establishment .Please contact our office to make you booking.Looking forward to accommodate you.Regards Paternoster Coves
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charles M wrote a review Jan 2016
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Self catering units which are part of a family home. Our unit had a curtain behind which was a glass partition into family home. Decoration was "quaint" with loads of nicknacks which was overly busy and cluttered and not to our taste.

For some reason there were only 3 chairs round kitchen table. Although unit only for 2 it would be nice to seat 4 with friends from other unit.

Kitchen was well equipped but Wifi erratic. Location was very good with fantastic views to sea but village was a reasonable walk.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anrie L asked a question Nov 2016
CaPe Town9 contributions5 helpful votes
Is there wood available or would we have to bring our own ? Please advise.
Answer from Lewarn
Paternoster, South Africa
Wood is at the shops available
ceuesteves wrote a tip Oct 2016
Hout Bay, Western Cape, South Africa6 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"No tip to share"
Read full review
Suzaan S wrote a tip Jun 2015
Swellendam, South Africa4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Krefie is perfect for a romantic getaway"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Paternoster area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,543 - R 1,906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeSaldanha Bay MunicipalityPaternoster
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PATERNOSTER COVES - Cottage Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Paternoster Coves
Which popular attractions are close to Paternoster Coves?
Nearby attractions include Paternoster Beach (0.8 km), Stone Fish Studio and Gallery (0.7 km), and Jem & Pantoffels (0.8 km).
Which room amenities are available at Paternoster Coves?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and a refrigerator.
What are some restaurants close to Paternoster Coves?
Conveniently located restaurants include Noisy Oyster, Gaaitjie Restaurant, and De See Kat Restaurant.
Is Paternoster Coves located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Paternoster.
All Paternoster HotelsPaternoster Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PaternosterHotels near Paternoster Coves
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire