Pumula Surf Camp

Pumula Surf Camp

11th Avenue Pumula, Umzumbe, Hibberdene 4235 South Africa
Wave Check
Traveller (43)
Our local surfers
Pool & Beach (19)
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 1 special inn in Umzumbe
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Pumula Surf Camp is the only local owned and run Surf house in the area, a short 300m walk to the stunning Pumula beach, (no roads to cross), an uncrowded beautiful piece of paradise. The Surf House accommodation is in a quant, cozy traditional fishermans cottage, converted in 2013 to a lovely, cool Surf House. The house sleeps 8 to 10 people, is surrounded by natural bush & forest and still just a short walk to the beach. The house has stunning views, a large garden with abundant birdlife, a forest yoga deck and lots of chill zone's. Surfing lessons / guiding sessions are done by professional surf instructors. Justin Maisch is a South African Pro Surfer, who has won numerous medals for surfing. The Surf house is run by Justin and his wife Hayley. This place is incredibly special, a hidden gem for sure. Surf lessons / guiding are done according to your level. Breakfasts and dinners can be booked and they are worth it. Breakfast is sometimes served on the beach, before or after surf sessions. Meals are delicious home cooked meals and all diets are catered for. A typical day consists of Surf sessions, breakfast on the beach, forest walks, yoga sessions, beach fires or chill time at the surf house around the fire. The mangrove forest at the end of the property is truly magical, forest yoga sessions can be booked in advance. Book your stay at this wonderful place and enjoy the pure joy of this family and their incredible surf house. You will most certainly become one of the family.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Breakfast available
Shuttle bus service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Great View
77Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 71
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Johann wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Best holiday ever, i loved staying at the backpakkers that is a bit like a geusthouse. The host family are amazing friedly people, Hayley made great food and Justin took us surfing everyday. I met amazing international people from Germany, Sweden, Swiserland and Denmark. Wat a great time and superb hospitality from them. They even took amazing pictures of me surfing, that is is going the extra mile and excelent. Thanks for an awesome holiday guys. Loved every moment -Johann
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hayleymaisch, Owner at Pumula Surf Camp
Responded 18 Jan 2020
Hi Johann, thanks so much for your lovely review. We are so happy that you had such an awesome surfing holiday. We loved having you here at our Surf Camp, and we hope to see you back here sometime. Well done on your surfing, so glad you liked your photo's. See you soon The Pumula Surf Camp Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Suzette B wrote a review Sept 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a wonderful place to unwind, relax and recharge the soul. Fantastic yoga sessions on the beautiful yoga deck and in the magical mangrove forest. The "surf style" breakfast on the beach is out of this world and the pizzas were done to perfection. So amazing to see a little family working together so well, to make sure each and every guest's needs are met.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pumula Surf Camp Surf House and Surf School, Owner at Pumula Surf Camp
Responded 28 Sept 2021
Thank you so much Suzette for your lovely review. We really appreciate it. We loved having you and can't wait to have you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Unai A wrote a review Jul 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent 5 days in Pumula, it was a relaxing time, spent in the middle of nature, beach, with a very kind and generous family, plus the dogs and cats! The surfing experience was very good and helped me to take my surfing to the next level. Travelling solo, it is easily reachable by the shuttles (Margate or Southern), well connected to Durban. If you like being in nature, looking at the stars, at amazing sunsets, and sharing your space and time with others (pets included), this is the place to be. I look forward to coming back,
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pumula Surf Camp Surf House and Surf School, Owner at Pumula Surf Camp
Responded 14 Sept 2022
A lovely review thanks so much Unai We so enjoyed meeting you and having you stay with us. It was great getting to know u. Hopefully we will meet again in the future
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aleta L wrote a review Nov 2022
Harare, Zimbabwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My sister and I had a wonderful stay at the surf camp and felt very well looked after by the whole family crew (kids & animals included). Our room was comfy and meals were wholesome and delicious.
I was even lucky enough to get personalized surf guidance from pro, and I learned a ton. Overall a great experience, wish we could have stayed longer!
P.S. session photos from Haley was an amazing bonus 🤩
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Very cozy homestay experience, best if you love nature, animals, and down-to-earth humans.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pumula Surf Camp Surf House and Surf School, Owner at Pumula Surf Camp
Responded 09 Nov 2022
Ah thanks so much Aleta, so glad u ladies enjoyed your stay. We so loved meeting you and having you become a part of our family. Hope the rest of your trip in SA was lovely, and we hope to see you sometime again. Hugs from all of us
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fabianbag123 wrote a review Mar 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely shocking service. Pumula offers surfing lessons which we booked for and wanted to carry on weekly for a month. They devastated my 16 yo after a couple of lessons by just not re-booking us! Every single time I followed up with Hayley, she said she had "forgotten"! To date we received no follow up booking or photo's that were promised to us. Maybe they felt my son wasn't worth it because he has a tight muscle condition? Maybe they are against 'special needs' people? Maybe it was after I told Hayley that I would EFT and not pay cash anymore? Lord alone knows because their communication is basically terrible! They are even more expensive than others. I would absolutely never recommend them to anyone. Definitely go to Durban main for lessons. They are cheaper, don't discriminate and follow through!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pumula Surf Camp Surf House and Surf School, Owner at Pumula Surf Camp
Responded 16 Mar 2022
Thanks for your review. As per our numerous whatsapp messages yesterday, and messages on all other platforms, there is no way that we have issues with special needs, I have no idea how you could even accuse us of that. During the lessons, you and your son were treated very well, so I am not sure why you would say that. As for the eft payment, we never have an issue with that, most of our very happy clients pay via eft. We have been running our surf lessons successfully for the past 15 years with all 5 star reviews and happy customers. Yes it took me awhile to send u the pics, but this is a free service that we don't normally offer to all our clients (as I'm no always available to take the pictures) so, it's an added bonus if our clients get pics and all of them have been happy to receive them at a later date. As for not getting more lessons, we believe in safety first and the ocean has been way to rough due to cyclones affecting us. I did check on Google as u reviews us there as well, and every review you have given has been a negative one. So, thanks again and we hope that u find success with your other lessons in the city Oh, and yes we may be a bit more expensive then the city but we are in a small town with less clients, and we are in fact cheaper then other surf schools here. And we definitely did not descriminate you or your son in anyway at all.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Isa Arzeno wrote a review May 2021
Istanbul, Türkiye
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful family environment, warm people and pets, stunning gardens and green dune sunset views. Delicious simple food to recharge energies after amazing waves with fun and precise surf coaching. Easy going space to find ones way to a relaxing day. Will be back soon :).
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pumula Surf Camp Surf House and Surf School, Owner at Pumula Surf Camp
Responded 19 May 2021
Thanks so much for this lovely review Isabel, it was so awesome meeting you and we hope to see you again soon 😊🏄‍♀️
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nadenka wrote a review Apr 2022
Oslo, Norway
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The fact that I was supposed to stay 3 days and ended up staying 3 and half weeks says a lot. I felt like a part of family there. They showed me surf spots, every time I needed something, they were super helpful and I just enjoyed spending time with the people there. They make amazing food and can take you on trips. I don t need surf lessons, but they still gave me best advises on surfing. My friend took surfing lessons and was 100% content. I even got some surfing photos from them even though it s not part of a deal. If you like local laid back places, look no further.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pumula Surf Camp Surf House and Surf School, Owner at Pumula Surf Camp
Responded 14 Sept 2022
We miss you Nadia. Thanks for the most amazing review. Hopefully you will be back so we can catch up
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erwan F wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice stay with welcoming hosts who are willing to help you get the most of your time.
The camp is located closed to a beach. Dinner and breakfast are good with a lot of choices.
For surfing lessons, Justin is patient and very attentive to your specific needs. I will try to twist faster.
Thank you Hailey and Justin.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hayley Maisch, Owner at Pumula Surf Camp
Responded 05 Jun 2020
Thank you so much for your amazing review. We loved having you stay with us. So glad you enjoyed all the food and that you had success in your surf lessons. Lets hope we get to see you back here sometime.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Iggy Pena wrote a review Sept 2021
Durban, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went as a family, and we like to surf, to chill, to do yoga an be with nice people. We found it! was an amazing experience, love the food (and the fact that we didn't have to cook!) braais, pizzas and breakfast at the beach after surf. what else can you want?

House is basic but clean and cosy. This is not a place for someone that likes all neat, order and extreme quiet. This is to be with dogs, cats, and chilled people that likes to socialise, play music, etc. If you want to be alone you can, but rooms are basic. No private toilets available.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pumula Surf Camp Surf House and Surf School, Owner at Pumula Surf Camp
Responded 28 Sept 2021
Thanks so much Iggy, it was so lovely to meet you and your lovely family. Thanks for the review we really appreciate it. And we hope to see u again soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louise wrote a review Jul 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hayley and Justin did everything they could to make me feel at home and part of the family. Justin is a super patient surf coach and Hayley made some incredible vegan meals which we shared all together. You won't regret coming to stay in this magical place where whale sightings and monkeys are the norm. Will definitely be back !
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pumula Surf Camp Surf House and Surf School, Owner at Pumula Surf Camp
Responded 14 Sept 2022
Such a beautiful review. Thank you. We loved having you and can't wait to catch up again when you come back
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Aleta L wrote a tip Nov 2022
Harare, Zimbabwe8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very cozy homestay experience, best if you love nature, animals, and down-to-earth humans."
Read full review
Floortje S wrote a tip Feb 2019
Amsterdam, The Netherlands2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Private rooms and dorm (max. 4) available. Lots of storage space."
Read full review
Tom A wrote a tip Aug 2016
Pretoria, South Africa19 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You must like dogs"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Umzumbe area.
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalHibberdeneUmzumbe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PUMULA SURF CAMP - Specialty Inn Reviews (Umzumbe, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Pumula Surf Camp
Which popular attractions are close to Pumula Surf Camp?
Nearby attractions include Jolly Roger Fun Park (7.0 km), Southport Beach (5.6 km), and Sea Park Beach (7.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pumula Surf Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Pumula Surf Camp?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Pumula Surf Camp?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pumula Surf Camp?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Jolly Roger Fun Pub and Grub, Pitstop KZN, and Orca Bar & Restaurant.
Does Pumula Surf Camp have airport transportation?
Yes, Pumula Surf Camp offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Things to DoFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire