Westville Bed & Breakfast

8A Haven Road, Westville, Durban 3630 South Africa
Breakfast table (order the omelette!)
Traveller (15)
Our bathroom
Room & Suite (91)
Breakfast table (order the omelette!)
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

R 1 540
Go to your Happy Price
R 1 540
No fees just great deals
R 1 540
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 11 guest houses in Westville
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Westville B&B is an owner-run, five-star Bed & Breakfast in the leafy suburb of Westville, Durban. There are a total of 6 B&B rooms, some with kitchenettes for Self-Catering purposes. Just 14kms to the beach and 38kms to the Airport, it is conveniently located for the Leisure and Business Traveller. Free uncapped fibre WIFI, Laundry service, Dinners available by prior arrangement on week days, a reliable shuttle and tour service provider, and scrumptious breakfasts, make Westville B&B a great accommodation choice. Children of all ages are welcome. Each room is named after an artist and prints of their work are portrayed in that room. Beautiful sub-tropical gardens with sparkling pools, allow you to unwind after your busy day. Each room is equipped with a mini bar. Walking distance to two small Shopping Malls, grocery stores, restaurants, takeaways, and a Virgin Active Gym. Come and enjoy our award-winning Hospitality! Emma & Nic Jacobs (Owners)
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

8A Haven Road, Westville, Durban 3630 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Grade: 51 out of 100
51
King Shaka Intl Airport
Pietermaritzburg Airport
53.9 km
See all flights
414Reviews3Q+A33Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 345
  • 57
  • 9
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
nuraanm2020 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Westville B&B was amazing! The staff was really kind and makes you feel comfortable to the best of their ability. The place is neat and rooms are very tidy. The only thing was that the pool wasn't as clean.The stocked fridge was really convenient, but a bit overpriced. I really appreciated the provision of an iron and a decent hair-dryer. Also, this is the ONLY place I've ever stayed at that thought out the provision of toiletries (a razor, cotton buds, plasters, etc was provided in addition to the usual shower gel, hand lotion and soap).
All in all, I had a wonderful stay and would definitely recommend this B&B.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NicandEmmaJacobs, Owner at Westville Bed & Breakfast
Responded 06 Feb 2020
Thank you for your recommendation Nuraan. We do our best to make sure that our guests are comfortable, and we know that it is not easy to be away from home and in a strange place. We enjoyed your group and look forward to welcoming you back again. Emma, Nic and Tania.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
S5513UObradf wrote a review Nov 2020
Vereeniging, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my colleague recently travelled to Westville KZN for a business trip and decided to stay in Westville as opposed to Amazimtoti for a change of scenery. Westville Bed & Breakfast is the establishment that we opted for as they were located in an ideal location for our work at SAPREF as well as other afterwork activities, pubs, restaurants, shopping etc. The rooms were clean and spacious, the WIFI was fast and the service was top notch . We would definitly stay there again and would highly recommend them to anyone hoping to travel to Westville and the surrounding areas.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma Jacobs, Owner at Westville Bed & Breakfast
Responded 20 Nov 2020
You guys are the best! We so appreciate you taking the time to review us, and yes, very easy access to the N3 and N2 means a quick commute to even Amanzimtoti, Hillcrest or Umhlanga. Wishing you all the best and hope to see you both again real soon! Emma & Nic
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chrisM9112GZ wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Top service and amazing rooms , the food is to die for the best hotel i have stayed at so far and we travel allot due to the nature of our business and have to do most of our correspondence for hotels .
The free un capped wifi is extremely fast with zero lag time when phoning it comes to emails or other social media platforms. The fact that it is also home to an art gallery really has a top class effect on the senses of witch is a real treat and a relaxed environment.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma Jacobs, Owner at Westville Bed & Breakfast
Responded 12 Oct 2020
Thank you so much Chris and Stiaan! We so enjoyed having you stay with us while on business in Pinetown and we appreciate your support. Thank you for your kind words and art appreciation. Till next time! Emma & Nic.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
radcoc153518 wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our visit was limited to a one night stay, but we were impressed, this venue is well worth the ratings and accolades that it receives. Emma is an extremely pleasant and helpful host. Beautiful garden and pool area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma Jacobs, Owner at Westville Bed & Breakfast
Responded 24 May 2021
Thank you so much for your kind words. We love what we do and are excited to met our new guests, even if for just one night. We trust this will be the first of many visits! All the best, Emma an Nic.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dreamer51162430920 wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a lovely, quiet, neat and peaceful spot. Room lovely and spacious, it has everything that you need, close to all amenities and would recommend it to anyone travelling from afar that needs a place to stay with little inconvenience. Super hosts, a shout out to Nic & Emma!
The breakfasts were awesome! Will definitely go back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma Jacobs, Owner at Westville Bed & Breakfast
Responded 14 Dec 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Westville B&B. We love what we do, so it is very cool for us when our guests appreciate the effort. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! All the best for the festive season. Emma and Nic
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
robertjooste wrote a review Oct 2020
Durban, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The premises were beautiful the room was lovely a fresh and clean. The host was very accommodating, went the extra mile to accommodate our needs from a early check-in to a early breakfast. A great place to stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma Jacobs, Owner at Westville Bed & Breakfast
Responded 03 Nov 2020
Thank you Robert. I know how busy you and your family must have been unpacking and getting settled into your new home, so thank you for taking the time to review us. All the best and welcome to Westville!! Emma & Nic.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
henniepre2rius wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The service is always friendly and professional. Rooms are of a high quality and well equipped. I can recommend Westville Bed & Breakfast for anyone looking for peaceful and comfortable business trip in Durban
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma Jacobs, Owner at Westville Bed & Breakfast
Responded 20 Nov 2021
Dear Hennie Just a pleasure to host you - thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MaiaMKalan wrote a review Dec 2023
Pretoria, South Africa28 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked business
accommodation with Westville B&B but unfortunately due to changes within our schedule we could not come anymore. We tried to move it out but both times they were unavailable. We then requested them to give us a longer time period to make use of the credit as we are not from the area & do not regularly visit. However they refused & remained stuck on a one month grace period. These decisions lay with the owner who was uninterested in being accommodating.
Further to that this accommodation has no solar or power back up so expect to sit with load shedding issues when you visit.
While I value & understand cancellation policies the establishment can be a bit more accommodating & understanding.
If you are looking for accommodation in the area I recommend 29 on St James.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: I strongly suggest you book elsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nic Jacobs, Owner at Westville Bed & Breakfast
Responded 24 Dec 2023
Dear Maja Thanks for the feedback, you cancelled within our cancellation period, and eventhough we did not fill the room at such short notice, we agreed to your request to keep the booking for January. On the 22nd you tried to book three rooms on the busiest night of the year - 31st December, naturally we were full and could not accommodate. We gave the extension as were requested, whild we lost money and sat with empty rooms. I believe we were very accommodating.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
xpandajhb1 wrote a review Dec 2021
Kempton Park, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness and comfort was top class.
Perfect location to access surrounding areas
Received a warm friendly welcoming
Tranquil and very private.
Definitely value for money
Would without a doubt highly recommended
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Emma Jacobs, Owner at Westville Bed & Breakfast
Responded 10 Dec 2021
Dear Gillian Thanks for the positive feedback. We really enjoyed having you here and hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fadzai M wrote a review Jan 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Received a warm welcome and loved our triple room - accommodating 2 adults and 2 kids aged 1 and 5. Rooms were clean and spacious. The bathroom got a little mouldy though despite us keeping the windows open and the cleaning lady kind of overlooked the moulds otherwise the rest was perfect.
Great scenary away from the noise of the city.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NicandEmmaJacobs, Owner at Westville Bed & Breakfast
Responded 05 Jan 2020
Thank you Fadzia and family. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It has been particularly hot and humid with quite a bit of rain over our December peak season. Our maintenance team is working on all rooms. We hope to see you all again soon! Kind regards Emma & Nic.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from NicandEmmaJacobs
Durban, South Africa32 contributions10 helpful votes
I do apologise for taking so long to reply to you. I was not aware of this functionality on TripAdvisor. In answer to your questions: We provide tea/coffee and fruit juice, along with an individual fruit platter, assorted yoghurts and muffins. Our hot breakfast consists of bacon, sausage, tomato, mushroom and eggs to order, etc. Yes of course, we have a fantastic tour operator with whom we can put you in touch. She also does all our shuttle services so she can do al your transport while in Durban and staying at our Bed & Breakfast. Kind regards Emma & Nic Jacobs Owners
MaiaMKalan wrote a tip Dec 2023
Pretoria, South Africa28 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"I strongly suggest you book elsewhere"
Read full review
goingnowhereslowly wrote a tip Oct 2019
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa32 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for assistance with your luggage if you have the Mc Nally flat as it is outside and upstairs."
Read full review
Thurairajah Rajakanthan wrote a tip Mar 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We enjoyed the room Vettriano as it had a microwave. All rooms are well appointed!"
Read full review
Michael F wrote a tip Nov 2018
Bangkok, Thailand86 contributions84 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay inside the house. Don’t accept an outside room"
Read full review
Carla K wrote a tip Mar 2018
Ottawa, Canada3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"the 2 bedroom apartment was great, its the only one on the second floor of the B&B and has great views."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Westville area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,246 - R 1,572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalDurbanWestville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WESTVILLE BED & BREAKFAST - Now R 1 207 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶5̶4̶7̶) - UPDATED 2024 Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Westville Bed & Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Westville Bed & Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Westville Junction (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Westville Bed & Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Westville Bed & Breakfast?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Westville Bed & Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Westville Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Westville Bed & Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fat Fish, The Talkhouse Cafe, and RocoMamas.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Westville Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Westville Bed & Breakfast located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Westville.
Does Westville Bed & Breakfast offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Westville Bed & Breakfast?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Are there any historical sites close to Westville Bed & Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Old Fort (11.0 km) and The Ramakrishna Centre of South Africa Durban (14.5 km).
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire