We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Tenbosch Road Farm Whisky, Komatipoort 1340 South Africa
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (401)
Room & Suite (115)
Dining (23)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 18 Specialty lodging in Komatipoort
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Ngwenya Lodge is situated on the southern tip of the world-renowned Kruger National Park. This means that visitors don’t even have to leave the resort to see a huge variety of game species – including the famous Big Five. The river view chalets overlook a scenic floodplain, which allows for magnificent views of the area where the big cats often hunt. Our Dam and Bush view chalets are set back on the property and also have beautiful views, as they overlook tranquil dams or bush areas. Game viewing hides make game viewing on the riverfront accessible to all – so no one misses out on spotting any of their favorite wild animals. Holiday in the luxury you’re used to… The units have fully equipped kitchens with a stove, fridge, freezer and a microwave. Each unit has a television and an undercover veranda with patio table, chairs and a braai, for unforgettable get-togethers with family and friends. Ngwenya’s on-site facilities include a pub, a beauty salon with a wide range of treatments, a curio shop, a small convenience shop, 6 outdoor swimming pools, 18 hole Mini Golf course, 2 tennis courts, trampolines, jungle gyms, a games room with pool tables, table tennis, Playstations with Xbox Kinnect, a kiddies room with various board games, puzzles, and kids movies.We can’t wait for you to visit us.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Game room
Mini golf
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Spa
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Tennis court
Table tennis
Kids' outdoor play equipment
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
Languages Spoken
Afrikaans
1246Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 881
  • 304
  • 41
  • 10
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
spank2017 wrote a review 21 Jun
6 contributions
Ngwenya continues to maintain the highest of standards in every respect to enable holiday makers enjoy every minute of their stay. For us our 2 weeks spent at Ngwenya every June remains the highlight of our year.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
976tanya wrote a review 21 Jun
1 contribution
The resort is very lay-back relaxing, with delicious food enjoyed at the restaurant we really enjoyed our stay at this resort. At the restaurant, there was a full view of the Kruger National Park Crocodile River where wild animals could be spotted. The friendliness of the staff and reception area was of excellence service.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Maggie v wrote a review 20 Jun
Midrand, South Africa4 contributions
We have a river view chalet and the view is amazing. Love our yearly visit and will change it for nothing. Great place to have a peaceful holiday and recharge the senses. Short trip to Komatipoort to restock and easy driving to the closest entrance to the Kruger Park
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
kenpatrick60 wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Excellent experience once again for the umpteenth time but first in own unit. Game viewed from river frontage unit not as plentiful as previous years but still rewarding. Will return again in 2023 for another stay..
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
psychologist2022 wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Every last detail at Ngwenya Lodge receives attention. The facilities and maintenance are immaculate. But it is the staff that sets this resort at a cut above the rest. You will have to travel far to find warmer, more friendly and accommodating staff members. They truly made our wedding anniversary weekend special. We have visited many times before in the past and shall certainly come back to visit again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Resort Spokesperson Wild Side Creative, Other at Ngwenya Lodge
Responded 16 May 2022
Hi there. Wow - thank you for the stellar review! We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed a wonderful anniversary stay with us. Our Team remains dedicated to providing the best possible holiday experience for all our guests and it is lovely to know that they are delivering on those intentions. We look forward to creating more holiday memories with you in the future! Kind Regards - The Ngwenya Lodge Team
Read more
Dawid T wrote a review May 2022
Pretoria, South Africa4 contributions
Everyyear for ± 25 years it is our highpoint holiday week! It was absolutely wonder full to see how Ngwenya Lodge was upgraded through all these years to one off the best lodges! We on the Crocodile river in a 8bed which is very good maintained.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Resort Spokesperson Wild Side Creative, Other at Ngwenya Lodge
Responded 13 May 2022
Hi 492dawidt. Thank you for choosing Ngwenya Lodge as your preferred holiday destination. We're elated to know that you have enjoyed so many wonderful holidays with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home-away-from-home soon. Kind Regards - The Ngwenya Lodge Team
Read more
grobbelaarjan5005 wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
It was good the resort is clean and well maintained. the staff at reception, in the rooms at the restaurant and the shop were very helpful and friendly. I only had a problem where I saw one of the workers trample on something and then He kicked it like a ball, when I got to the thing it was a bat. I think that was very unprofessional and ride to the animal. My biggest complain is the braai which does not have a roof. in summer the sun burns you and this time a had to stand in the rain and braai, which was not very pleasand.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Resort Spokesperson Wild Side Creative, Other at Ngwenya Lodge
Responded 03 May 2022
Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your compliments regarding our well-maintained facilities and onsite Team. Kindly note that Management has informed that they have been in touch directly to address your concerns regarding the bat and it was confirmed that the incident that took place was not at the hands of an Ngwenya employee. Our mission is to preserve the natural environment and our Team is very proud of our ongoing project to provide bat hotels for this specific species. Nevertheless, we appreciate this, and the other feedback, to consider additional ways in which we can protect the species in the region and further provide suitable facilities to our guests. We hope to see you again. Kind Regards - The Ngwenya Lodge Team
Read more
newitchell wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
REALLY nice week away at Ngwenya. Great accommodation, great views and lots of amenities to keep the whole family busy. Good service, friendly staff and clean facilities. A definite place to go if you want the experience of a holiday resort wrapped in a beautiful bushveld setting close to nature. Would love to return!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Resort Spokesperson Wild Side Creative, Other at Ngwenya Lodge
Responded 03 May 2022
Hi newitchell. Thank you for the lovely review! It warms our hearts to know that you had such a fantastic stay; making use of the facilities to keep the family entertained, engaging with our dedicated Team and relaxing in a neat Chalet. We appreciate all of your compliments and hope to be able to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards - The Ngwenya Lodge Team
Read more
World traveller wrote a review Apr 2022
8 contributions6 helpful votes
The location is great, we were lucky enough to have a view of the river and shortly after we arrived the kids were excited to see game on the other side of the river. (Note this didn't happen every day.) The units were well equipped and clean. Just a warning that there is no wifi in the units, and also, surprisingly, there are no back up generators, so on the far too frequent occasions when ESKOM loadsheds, there is only a small emergency lamp in the unit and furthermore no water pressure.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Try and get river view.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Resort Spokesperson Wild Side Creative, Other at Ngwenya Lodge
Responded 03 May 2022
Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're pleased to know that you and your family had a lovely time. Kindly note that, due to some technical difficulties, the backup generator was inoperative for some time while load-shedding occurred. Our Maintenance Team was able to correct the issue the following morning. Our project to get fibre installed across the Resort is ongoing and we look forward to providing guests with wi-fi facilities in their Chalets, in the near future. Nevertheless, we appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon! Kind Regards - The Ngwenya Lodge Team
Read more
Thys B wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Have to say I am NOT a big fan of timeshare resorts as a rule. But Ngwenya is an exception. Our unit (nr 4) is however very private, right on the river with wonderful sightings daily; if you're a first-time visitor do ask for a river unit if possible (there are hides to spend time at if you dont have river views, and the restaurant patio has excellent views as well). Prior to our time at Ngwenya we did spend a few days at a private lodge in the Park and of course that comes with different pampering and luxuries, at a price. Checking into Ngwenya, for the 2nd time with some dear friends from abroad (those who travel often and in the front of the plane!) Ngwenya was a continuity of comfort and with all of us being foodies, self-catering is often preferred and a wonderful activity in its own right. This is probably my 12th annual visit. Our UK friends are already planning their visit for next year. What more can I say? Except that sharing this impossibly beautiful treasure of the Kruger Park with folks from overseas remains an immense pleasure, and Ngwenya never disappoints. BTW, the resort is a short drive from the Crocodile Bridge Park entrance.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Resort Spokesperson Wild Side Creative, Other at Ngwenya Lodge
Responded 03 May 2022
Hi Thys. Wow - thank you for the lovely feedback! It is wonderful to know that Ngwenya Lodge is your preferred holiday destination and we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed many holidays with us. Thank you for the lovely compliments and feedback regarding the location and facilities of our Resort. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back for another fantastic stay! Kind Regards - The Ngwenya Lodge Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$454 - US$1 562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaKomatipoort
NUMBER OF ROOMS
194
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ngwenya Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Ngwenya Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Ntandanyathi Bird & Game Hide (4.0 km) and Lionspruit Game Reserve (6.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ngwenya Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Ngwenya Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Ngwenya Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Ngwenya Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ngwenya Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Tin Shack Marloth Park, La Fera Restaurant, and Buckler's Africa Lodge By Bon Hotels.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ngwenya Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ngwenya Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Ngwenya Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.