We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Scourie IV27 4TE Scotland
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
FindHotel
CheapTickets
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (13)
Room & Suite (8)

About

#2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Scourie
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Scourie Lodge overlooks Scourie Bay on the North West coast of Scotland. We are ideally placed for the enjoyment of the dramatic scenery, hill walking and other outdoor activities. With our mature mixed woodland to the north, and south-facing house and walled garden, we offer a peaceful and spacious environment for a relaxing 'time out of time'. We are open all year, and look forward to welcoming you. Shared twin/double en-suite room £120 per night Single en-suite room £90 per night. We offer traditional and vegetarian Scottish breakfasts.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
55Reviews0Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 46
  • 8
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Mo wrote a review 21 Jul
Rosyth, United Kingdom2 contributions
+1
This is a marvellous B&B if you're looking for comfort, peace & tranquility. Angus & Elizabeth are very welcoming hosts. The room was very comfortable & the house has a wonderful walled garden to relax in. We had a lovely couple of days unwinding & relaxing.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The local hotel was closed when we were there and the nearest open hotel was 15 miles away. ...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Peter Woods wrote a review 10 Jul
United Kingdom2 contributions
The setting for this B&B is great. Breakfast is very limited with either corn flakes, muesli or porridge to start followed by poached eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms and venison sausages. This is fine for a short stay but three days was a bit much when the 'standard' in Scotland is so high. Perhaps just a take on the hosts 'beliefs' but perhaps worth a consideration when advertising. Then again from their perspective perhaps not. That was the only negative and the accommodation was super for us and would certainly recommend with the waiver above!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
JDR080 wrote a review 02 Jul
Forres, United Kingdom4 contributions10 helpful votes
So glad we stayed 2 nights at Scourie Lodge. It looked beautiful in the photos and it didn't disappoint. The Lodge was originally built as a hunting lodge for the Duke of Sutherland, and I got a kick out of knowing that Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother had stayed here, in the same place as I was staying! I love that kind of history. But the really special thing, and which makes this stand out from other B and B's, is the wonderful walled garden, lovingly tended by Angus, and full of a mix of ancient trees and plants from New Zealand, as well as cottage garden favourites. It all creates a truly magical place - sheltered, welcoming, heavenly if you like gardens or plants. Plus they have an ancient woodland behind, which has its own wild magic when you walk through it. All this combined with a very comfortable bed, excellent breakfasts (that home-made spelt bread is truly delicious), and Angus and Elizabeth's attention to detail, emphasis on being as eco-friendly and sustainable as possible, and their very warm welcome, makes this a very special place indeed. We will be back, I'm sure, only this time for longer!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
DerekParsons wrote a review May 2021
Oswestry, United Kingdom496 contributions211 helpful votes
The setting for this B&B is great. Unfortunately it is a bit dated in it’s decor, e.g. peach coloured bathroom suite. The duvet was synthetic and not very warm. Even with an extra blanket we were still cold. There was only an electric shower in the bathroom which was not too good. Breakfast is very limited with either corn flakes, muesli or porridge to start followed by poached eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms and venison sausages. We paid £150 per night for our room, however, based upon other hotels and B&B’ s we have stayed in £110 would be a fairer price.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Angus Marland, Owner at Scourie Lodge
Responded 25 May 2021
We are sorry that you did not feel your stay with us was satisfactory. The Lodge was built in the 1830’s, and the decor dates from the late 1970’s when it was renovated to a very high standard. We have chosen to keep many of the features, including the peach-coloured bathroom, and will look at replacing the over-the-bath shower. You told us you were cold on your first night with us and we discussed this over breakfast. You said that it was fine with the extra blanket in the room, so we took no further action. However, we appreciate your feedback and will ensure that there are additional blankets or duvets in our rooms for cold nights. We regret that during these covid times our breakfasts are more limited than usual. We focus our cooked breakfasts on healthy, local and ethical products, and also offer fresh fruit and organic yoghurts as well as porridge, muesli, cornflakes and, of course, toast. With regards to the price, we believe our B&B charge of £125 per night for two people sharing is fair, given the costs of running and maintaining an old Highland lodge. Reservations made through a booking channel attract their administration fee of £25 per night.
Read more
dermotmaxwell wrote a review Oct 2019
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed here as a welcome break from backpacking. Oh what a contrast, this was luxury... The house is beautiful, the rooms large and very clean,comfy and nice to be in.Angus and Elizabeth were warm and friendly hosts, nothing was too much trouble. Their walled garden has to be seen to be believed, absolutely lovely, such a surprise so far north. Really enjoyed our too short stay, there's plenty to see locally so make it at least a two night stay to make the most of a wonderful B&B
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$169 - US$182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsCaithness and SutherlandScourie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Scourie Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Scourie Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Handa Island Wildlife Reserve (3.4 km) and Scourie Bay (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Scourie Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Scourie Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Scourie Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Scourie Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Whale Tale, The Shorehouse, and The Anchorage cafe bar.
Is Scourie Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Scourie.