We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Yaba Chigui Lodge

Save
Share
1.6 km following Papagayo Street 200 km away from San Jose, Ojochal 60501 Costa Rica
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (59)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (12)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Updated 20/10/07 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Yaba Chigui Lodge
Updated 20/10/07 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Ojochal
Yabá Chiguí Lodge is a small lodge with 4 bungalows. The lodge offers personalized service, breakfast included, pool, free WiFi at Satú Ranch and parking. All bungalows have: king bed, ceiling fan, coffee maker & electric kettle, mini-fridge, hair dryer, safety-box and reading lamps. Brunka, Cabécar and Maleku bungalows also have a small sofa, an outdoor deck and an outdoor shower. Teribe bungalow has a additional queen-trundle bed.
Read more

Location

Full view
Contact
1.6 km following Papagayo Street 200 km away from San Jose, Ojochal 60501 Costa Rica
Getting there
Juan Santamaria Intl Airport120 kmSee all flights
Palmur Sur Airport23 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
63Reviews2Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 59
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ValerieChristine95 wrote a review Feb 2021
Wallisellen, Switzerland18 contributions12 helpful votes
We had the luck to stay for 3 days at Yaba Chigui Lodge. First of all Ana & Juan are the best hosts ever. They are such warmhearted people and we wish them all the best for their future. It was such a pleasure to spend time with them in the morning and talk about all different topics. Whatever we wanted to know, they provided us with the best possible information (day trips, Covid-Testcenter for our flight back, restaurants and our upcoming trip to Corcovado) and helped us tremendously. Me and my partner stayed in the Cabécar Bungalow (one of the four bungalows) and it was really nice. The bed was very comfortable with a stunning view into the jungle. It is equipt with two showers (indoor and outdoor) the best was that the bungalow is designed to hear the wildlife during the night and that was magical. In the morning you can enjoy a marvellous breakfast which is prepared freshly from the hosts. Thank you Ana & Juan - we hope to see you again. Best Mehdi and Valérie
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
UC2002 wrote a review Jan 2021
Goettingen, Germany42 contributions4 helpful votes
If you’re looking for a beautiful, peaceful and welcoming haven to kick back and enjoy nature, look no further. This place is incredibly gorgeous, also because of its wonderful and caring hosts. Extraordinarily kids-friendly and filled with knowledge on the environment, the region - and life itself :-) We enjoyed every minute here!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Juan Fernando Cordero, Owner at Yaba Chigui Lodge
Responded 12 Feb 2021
UC2002, thank you for such a lovely review! Hosting your family was a joy for us. Ana & Juan
Read more
Girlfromtx wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
I have so many wonderful things to say about Yaba Chigui. Juan and Ana are fabulous hosts! They even provided me local transportation since I did not have a car. The breakfasts were delicious, the room was amazing and so unique. The property has lush gardens and I truly felt at home here. My only regret is that I didn’t get to stay longer. You will love being here right in the middle of the rainforest. The outdoor private bridge patio was so cool. I got a special surprise as Howler and White Face monkeys visited the property while I was there. Truly an amazing experience and I can’t wait to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Juan Fernando Cordero, Dueño at Yaba Chigui Lodge
Responded 08 Jan 2021
BackPacker646553 thank you for such lovely words. Knowing you felt at home is most valuable for us, as it is the core element of our philosophy as hosts. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Best, Ana & Juan
Read more
Amalia I wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
This small lodge is full of big attributes. It is cozy, warm, comfortable, airy, bright and exciting. On this my second visit to the place the congos (monkeys) and the chicharras kept a symphony of sounds that made you feel in the middle of the jungle. The pool is warm and delicious. Ana and Juan are so willing to make you feel at home and they certainly do! Breakfast includes everything fresh, eggs, fruit, bread and coffee. An unforgettable experience you will want to repeat!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from AnayJuanYCL, Owner at Yaba Chigui Lodge
Responded 30 Mar 2020
AmaliaIbarra, thank you for giving us the honor of hosting you again and for describing your second visit as nicely and vividly. It certainly brings a big smile to our faces. Best, Ana & Juan
Read more
rseg99 wrote a review Feb 2020
56 contributions118 helpful votes
Beware of this hotel. At your own risk. They do not do as they say. They break promises to hold rooms. They are incompetent at every level. Firstly their reservation system doesn't work. Refused both my Visa and MC, but both cards working fine with other merchants. Then they made a reservation for me manually said they would hold for me until 8pm. While I was 5 minutes away at 7:11pm they cancelled. Shame to this hotel. No ethics.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from AnayJuanYCL, Propietario at Yaba Chigui Lodge
Responded 28 Feb 2020
It was very unfortunate we could not meet Mr.rseg99’s needs but his account of facts is incomplete. Even though we have two different secure online payment processing systems (2checkout and Paypal) and we can also be found on Booking and Expedia, in his case he could not complete the payment of his reservation not because of his credit cards but because of a technical problem. Given this, as he recognizes, we made a reservation for him manually. We are also sorry to know Mr. rseg99 considered us to be incompetent at every level, even though we emailed him seven times with general information and extra details regarding his reservation. Furthermore, we attended his request to have an early check-in (9-11 AM) because he insisted, he needed to sleep. We offered to store his luggage and prioritize the cleaning of his room. The room was ready before the regular check-in hour (2 PM), and as promised we immediately phoned him to let him know. Since we did not get an answer, we also emailed him. After not hearing from him almost all day, we tried to reach him at another hotel we understood he had booked in the area. Through them, at almost 5 PM, we were informed Mr. rseg99 would check-in around 6 - 6:30 PM. Since he did not show up, past 6:30 PM, we contacted him again via email to let him know that the latest we could wait was 8 PM. His reply implied pushing once again his check-in to a later time, 9 PM. Last, he mentioned they were a party of three, when the reservation was made for two (in a room that has double occupancy). At this moment, we cancelled the reservation based on our policies and principles. While we appreciate open and direct feedback, and take it very seriously; we do not accept rude and disrespectful treatment towards our employees.
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasOjochal
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Yaba Chigui Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Yaba Chigui Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Playa Ventanas (4.2 km) and Stam Café (1.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Yaba Chigui Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Yaba Chigui Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Yaba Chigui Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Yaba Chigui Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Exotica, Citrus, and Heliconia.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Yaba Chigui Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Yaba Chigui Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Ojochal.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Yaba Chigui Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.