We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gordons Bay Guesthouse

Save
Share
Traveller (23)
Pool & Beach (10)
Room & Suite (4)
Overview
Gordons Bay Road 37 Boundary Road, Gordon's Bay 7140 South Africa See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Bar/Lounge
3 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
60
27
11
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
60
27
11
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseown private balconyminute walkcape townthree nightshostsguesthouserefrigeratorbaygordon
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 101 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

I stayed for 1 night in the economy room due to work being done on my property locally. It was a delight and like a 1 night vacation for me. The room was spacious and tastefully furnished, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was an absolute...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rctcCalgary
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Very friendly ‘ but dogs jumping on me’ not my idea of checking in - there were coffee’ hot chocolate’ rusks etc’ but kettle not working.. not that i care about tv ‘ but at least have options for channels’ didn’t seem to receive wifi...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lsteen558658
Response from Jochen1956, Manager at Gordons Bay GuesthouseResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear L. Steenkamp, thank you very much for your short comment about your short staying with us! Sorry about the inconvenience you received at our guesthouse. But sorry about the dogs around, but on your check in we asked you about your handling of our...More

Reviewed 4 March 2018

I was so disappointed. Booked a luxury room with balcony and sea view and didn’t get any of it. We were put in a room that was dark, had no balcony and a view over the estate. The room had two entrances one of which...More

Thank _philip_carter
Response from Jochen1956, Manager at Gordons Bay GuesthouseResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Philip Carter, thank you very much for your comment, that you were at least happy with our most loved even awarded breakfast services. Here we are coming back to your room you booked in yourself. ...and again this is one of our most loved,...More

Reviewed 4 February 2018

This guesthouse is not up to standards. The kitches was horrible and the receipsionist had a child on her back. The rooms was not as adertised. Light Lamps hanging from the wall, sheets is washed out. This guest house must be reviewed on their Star...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 585ramons
Response from Jochen1956, Manager at Gordons Bay GuesthouseResponded 15 April 2018

Dear Ramon Strydom, thank you very much for your great and effectual report about your "not staying with us", at least for 1 night. After you check in you checked out within 5 minutes again without taking any other view or even would have get...More

Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

The dogs are beautiful and the breakfast with classic German "Semmeln", cheese and ham is good. Extras like eggs were no problem and delicious. The owner is very helpful and knows a lot about the region.

Thank DanielD11297
View more reviews
About
Description
Situated on a beautiful Helderberg mountain slope with magnificent sea views over "False Bay" towards Table Mountain and Cape of Good Hope. All 9 en-suite rooms are air-conditioned with own private entrances and ...More decking/balcony areas. The guesthouse is set within beautiful sub-tropical gardens with heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi and Braai-Lapa entertainment/bbq area, only +- 600 meters down mountainside to the beachfront with all its amenities. Monika & Jochen, Hosts & Managers are on hand living even next door to welcome their guests, could even organize tours & transfers throughout the area and to & from Capetown Intern. Airport, only about 1/2hrs drive or Cape Town City Centre(+-55km) and are passionate about best hospitality services, can give friendly advice's what to do, where to go, which restaurant & bar facilities around are best, as needed.The ideal location for a superb vacation. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
9
Price range
US$41 - US$73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
9
Price range
US$41 - US$73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Photos
Traveller (23)
Pool & Beach (10)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (2)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Krystal Beach Hotel
244 reviews
1.69 km away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
117 reviews
1.90 km away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
249 reviews
3.07 km away
Somerset Lodge
21 reviews
7.02 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 29 restaurants in Gordon's Bay
Old Cape Cafe
163 reviews
2.67 km away
Ooskus Visserye
79 reviews
2.80 km away
Antonios Pizza Place
89 reviews
1.63 km away
Ocean Basket Strand
153 reviews
1.95 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 17 attractions in Gordon's Bay
Mukda Thai Spa
50 reviews
2.45 km away
Strand Beach
139 reviews
4.82 km away
Rentabicycle
25 reviews
2.97 km away
Son Surf School Strand
59 reviews
4.93 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
peterlynne2015
26 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Jochen H | Property representative |
Well, depending as you walk down can be shorter , about +-550 meters. As you drive a little bit further due to roads and parking procedures!, Yours, in passion for best hospitality services and value for money, Monika... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Don’t have high expectations. Rooms look good on the website but you may not get what you booked."
Read review
"If you want a view, try upstairs rooms."
Read review
"spacey rooms"
Read review
"there are new rooms with private balcony with amazing ocean & mountain views"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing