We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan at Thatcham

Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (7)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
An old style coaching Inn, situated next to Thatcham Rail station and the Kennet & Avon canal. Ideally located for Newbury races as well as travel into Reading, London or to the southwest. The pub has Six bedrooms in converted blacksmith stables, four doubles and two twins rooms all en-suite. The restaurant & bar serves traditional ales as well as food all day.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair Access
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
174Reviews
28Photos
1Q+A
26Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 47
  • 36
  • 19
  • 34
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I just thought I drop a few lines regarding my thoughts on the staff of the Swan. Last night a young woman came into the pub, she spoke little English but it was apparent that she’d missed her train to Southampton (the last train of the night). The bar was closed and it would
Read more
Response from Nigel H, General Manager at The Swan at Thatcham
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you Mike, magic team here, we care about everybody. The young lady got to Southampton ok
Read more
Myself and some friends come down to The Swan for the first time since the new manager has taken over, I must say what a turn around! The staff are friendly, with the young Welsh male and the young Liverpudlian female behind the bar what a double act. Absolutely outstanding
Read more
Response from Nigel H, General Manager at The Swan at Thatcham
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you, for your new custom to us, Yes been hard 6 months, journey not over yet, its been a major team effort. Glad that you like the difference here at the Swan now. See you again soon.
Read more
Been in many times over the Years, including a great relaxing fun Christmas lunch in 2018. I must say that Nigel is the best manager this pub has had for along time and he has always been warm and welcoming to us from the start, and has a good team around him. This to me makes
Read more
Response from Nigel H, General Manager at The Swan at Thatcham
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for kind words. Its very much a team effort here. After 6 months we are getting there.
Read more
AWFUL DONT GO TO THIS PUB!!!!! The landlord is horrible, rude and clearly sexist - kept calling me “lovey” when I called about the parking. The parking has been free for years and is still advertised as free. I saw no signs and was not told by any of the staff - one of which
Read more
Response from Nigel H, General Manager at The Swan at Thatcham
Responded 1 week ago
Hi, the Parking is still free to all are regular customers. Yes you pay at a meter!! Which is redeemed upon a purchase in side, up to £4 which is an 8 hour stay. There are 11 signs in the car park in total.
Read more
The day outside was dark and wet. But the welcome inside was warm. We stopped for lunch which was lovely. There was a choice of smaller or large menus equally as good. The desserts were lovely and if you have a sweet tooth then the Smofle waffles are for you. All reasonable.
Read more
Response from Nigel H, General Manager at The Swan at Thatcham
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your kind words. Our new menu is going down . Hope to see you again.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & Suite
The smallest basin to biggest tap ratio ever!
Room 2 twin
Room 2 twin
Room 2 twin
Photo provided by managementThe Swan at Thatcham
Twin room
PreviousNext
12
Are all the showers very low down or any rooms with normal height showers ?
Hi there, yes our hotel is an old converted barn which is over 200 years old. Hope this didn't put you off your stay with us
1 vote
"nothing to say"
"don't stay here"
"We stayed downstairs - I can imagine the room upstairs would be hot in the summer. We had our windows open all night."
"Don't let them give you room 2! looking at other reviews they seem okay! must have been that room"
"Room 3 is disabled very good but dont have wet room it has loads of handles to help you in and out the bath room 5 has tiny bath"
PreviousNext
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$65 - US$112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandThatcham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing