We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smugglers Cottage

Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (3)
Overview
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed
Pool
Restaurant
3 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
36
18
5
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
36
18
5
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade bread sloping floors full english breakfast on arrival breakfast was excellent twin room long weekend warm welcome victoria roger character century hosts quarterdeck boiler wedding
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017

I make a point of using smaller businesses where possible but in this case it was a bad idea. I was charged for breakfast but couldn't have it before 7.30am - the time I needed to leave. The answer I got was "Well nobody would...More

3  Thank Wendy G
Response from smugglerscottage, Owner at Smugglers CottageResponded 11 November 2017

Dear Wendy G Thank you for your review the contents of which I have taken on board. Before I begin my reply I feel that I should share with you a snippet that I learnt at a very young age which is, if you are...More

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Just awful, Victoria was welcoming but sadly she was confused with our booking, name and most of the visit. We were given a small double after being offered a twin room not the large double ensuite I had booked months earlier. I did say this...More

1  Thank Bee240662
Response from Victoria G, Owner at Smugglers CottageResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Bee 240662 Thank you for your review. I am sorry it has taken me so long to reply but I have been unwell, which started the day you arrived. Being the owner with no staff we do not have the luxury of telephoning in...More

Reviewed 16 August 2017

A quaint cottage bursting with antiques and character! We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting family. We were warmly welcomed and charmed with interesting conversation whenever moving around the cottage. It was cosy and clean with all that we needed. Breakfasts were delicious!

Thank lucyspawforth
Response from Victoria G, Owner at Smugglers CottageResponded 18 August 2017

Dear lucyspawforth Thank you for your very kind review and we do hope thyat you will come back again. With kind regards Victoria

Reviewed 24 July 2017

Our 3 nights reservation was made through Booking.com and I had absolutely no problem with that. Confirmation from the owners by email was received within a couple of hours. We had the last room available. The Cottage is dog friendly and you can walk the...More

Thank Invesure
Response from Victoria G, Owner at Smugglers CottageResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Mr & Mrs G Wow, what can I say but thank you very much for your very kind review. It makes everything so much more satisfying for us when guests enjoy their stay at Smugglers. Please come back again very soon. With kind regards...More

Reviewed 12 July 2017

We arrived at Smugglers Cottage quite late in the afternoon after calling ahead to make sure late-ish check-in was ok. After arriving, we were quite literally looked up and down and told that there was no reservation for us. Even though the owner had accepted...More

2  Thank Will J
Response from Victoria G, Owner at Smugglers CottageResponded 14 July 2017

Dear Will I am sorry that we let you down so badly. I knew that we would be unable to find you alternative accommodation locally as everyone had been ringing around to each other all day. I did tell you of the only B &...More

View more reviews
About
Description
The original part of Smugglers Cottage was built in 1540 and was two workman's cottages. These were knocked into one and the back part built on in the early 1900's. Many of the beams are from the timbers More of a Spanish Galleon wrecked at St Albans Head. On curving beams of the drawing room door, the ship's plumb line has been used and, because of the salt absorbed from the sea all those many years ago, the wood is now as hard as ebony. When built, Smugglers Cottage was one of only five cottages on the heath and woodland and consequently was probably used as a natural way station for smugglers making their way inland from Poole Harbour. Here in the comfortable, well concealed building they would sort and share, quarrel and fight, drink and laugh without detection. Now Smugglers Cottage has been a Bed & Breakfast of sorts since the 1930's. The cottage is furnished with many antique pieces which Roger & I have collected over the past 40 years. We hope you will enjoy eating off our Victorian mahogany dining table. The beds are modern and we hope that you will get a very good nights sleep before joining the other guests for our locally sourced and freshly cooked to order breakfast. We have car parking at the rear of the property and during the summer we invite you to sit in the back garden before going out for your evenings entertainment. We do not have a bar but are happy to provide glasses, etc, should you wish to bring in your own alcoholic beverages. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
5
Price range
US$65 - US$74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Ferndown
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
5
Price range
US$65 - US$74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Ferndown
Photos
Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (3)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Premier Inn Bournemouth/Ferndown Hotel
551 reviews
.37 km away
Travelodge Ringwood
295 reviews
.38 km away
St. Leonards Hotel
819 reviews
3.48 km away
Les Bouviers Rooms
177 reviews
6.49 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 57 nearby restaurants
Karsberg's Fish & Chips ltd
293 reviews
.22 km away
Cinnamon
318 reviews
1.18 km away
Golden Horse
114 reviews
1.09 km away
Chianti Pizzeria
217 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 8 nearby attractions
Eastmoors Riding School & Livery
25 reviews
2.15 km away
Woodside Pottery
6 reviews
2.55 km away
Longham Lakes
62 reviews
3.30 km away
Parley Manor
53 reviews
4.28 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
_kikih4
13 April 2017|
Answer
Response from smugglerscottage | Property representative |
Dear _kikih4 Thank you for your query. We usually do have wifi but this weekend we are having problems which should be sorted within the next few days, With kind regards Victoria Garlick
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The rooms we were offered were all terrible we didn't see the large double we booked as we were told it..."
Bee240662
16 Oct 2017
Read review
"All rooms are good rooms."
petermartin2017
21 May 2017
Read review
"If you're ok with spiral stairs - go for the QM room."
oldwalkerSoutheast
24 Aug 2016
Read review
"Go if you are happy to have somewhere individual and quirky not a standardised hotel room"
Michele22London
19 Aug 2016
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing