We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

All You Need to Know About the Pool
at Lalibela Game Reserve

Pool & Beach (19)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
US$1 070
View deal
Booking.comUS$1 070
eDreamsUS$1 070
TripadvisorUS$1 070
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Pool review highlights
... it was winter!) so I spent my mid mornings lounging by the pool gazing at the hippo lazing in the waterhole. We were...
... find a space away from other guests. There are two swimming pools at Mark's and the lower one is for over 16s only. It...
... game drives. The highlight was definitely swimming in the pool while elephants drank at the watering hole below us. Bongi...

Reviews that mention pool

Write a review
Nicole Schmidt wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
For our first trip to Lalibela Game Reserve we only had enough time to spend one spontaneous night, but we had an incredible time! It was mid winter so the weather was a bit temperamental, we got caught in the rain on our evening game drive, got soaked (we were provided with cozy ponchos and hot water bottles) and loved every minute of it! The lions were rather close to camp as we could hear them roar from inside our rooms! The following morning we were treated to a lion hunt talk about an experience! In the short time there we were able to witness a very diverse and lush landscape rich in plant and animal life! Our first guide Ticha was very knowledgeable.
I can’t believe this gem is only 90km out of Gqeberha. We couldn’t resist returning to explore your beautiful reserve for a little longer!
When we returned for our second time we were blessed with fantastic weather (especially considering it was winter!) so I spent my mid mornings lounging by the pool gazing at the hippo lazing in the waterhole.
We were fortunate enough to go on a private night drive and happened to come across 2 pairs of brown hynena (they are one of my favorite animals so naturally I was over the moon)
The morning and evening games drives didn’t disappoint either we were lucky enough to catch the mum cheetah and her 2 cubs in 2 hunts as well as a sneaky pair of male lions stalking a family of warthogs. Our guide on our second trip,Ruan, went above and beyond to make this trip for my mum’s birthday memorable. His knowledge about bird life and his passion for his job is what truly stood out! Will highly recommend a trip to Lalibela!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lalibela Game Reserve, Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve
Responded 10 Nov 2021
Dear Nicole Wow! Thank you for your amazing review of Lalibela! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed both your stays with us. We are so glad that you were able to visit us for a second time and stay a bit longer than your first visit. There is just so much to see and experience at Lalibela! It sounds like you were fortunate to see some very special wildlife sightings during your two visits. Brown hyenas are a rare sighting on their own, so to be able to see two pairs must have been incredibly exciting for you. We will pass on your kind words to both Ticha and Ruan. They will be so happy to hear that you enjoyed your game drives with them. We hope to welcome you back to Lalibela soon - We would love to have you stay with us again. Kind regards, The Lalibela Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kajado wrote a review Jun 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa45 contributions19 helpful votes
I spent 3 nights at Mark's Camp in chalet 1 which is very close to the main lodge area but very private. Sadly it didn't have a view.
When I arrived at the main gate of Lalibela someone was waiting to show me the way to Reception where check in was quick and easy. I was then transported to Mark's Camp and my car left under cover near reception.
My room was very comfortable and I was pleased to have a hand held shower head as well as the dreaded rain shower. There was air conditioning and when returning to the room after dinner the staff had switched it on and the room was lovely and warm. Wifi was not available in the room, only in the communal areas.
The food was mostly very good, plentiful and varied. However, I was surprised to see it served buffet style although there were staff actually serving the food. I found most guests queued for food ignoring any distancing but I waited until no one else was being served.
Drinks were not included in my deal but were very reasonably priced.
There were 2 comfortable lounge areas both with roaring fires and it was easy to find a space away from other guests.
There are two swimming pools at Mark's and the lower one is for over 16s only. It overlooks a waterhole but there were no animals to be seen there whilst I lounged by the pool.
I was very lucky to have most of my game drives alone with the ranger. My guide was Ticha and he was an excellent and knowledgable guide. Many thanks to him! The game viewing was good
Mark's Camp is child friendly and I am not! That is the reason for my rating of 4 stars instead of 5. One does not get a choice of camp if on the SA residents special. If any children are booked, Mark's Camp gets filled before allocating guests to Lentaba Camp. Unfortunately for me, a couple with a young baby arrived on my 3rd day and the baby grizzled and cried during lunch. In my opinion, parents should take a crying baby away from a meal table, especially a communal one. Thankfully the baby was not on the game drive.
The final really nice touch was to be presented with a beautiful coffee table book with lovely pictures of the staff, the reserve and the animals. A great souvenir.
I really enjoyed my stay at Lalibela apart from the baby blip and will certainly return if the opportunity presents itself. Hopefully next time will be to a non child friendly camp!!!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lalibela Game Reserve, Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve
Responded 07 Jun 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review Mark's Camp on Lalibela Game Reserve. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for your feedback. We would love to welcome you back for another visit in the near future. Kind regards, The Lalibela Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamaryn Cox wrote a review Nov 2020
6 contributions
+1
We visited Marks Camp at the end of october and once again the experience was amazing. Our guide, Carrie Ann, made the experience so interesting for all of us, from showing us various animal tracks to tasting termites, even stopping to show us an African Land snail ,she kept all of us, and especially our children engaged. We saw the big 4 and enjoyed 4 spectacular game drives.
The highlight was definitely swimming in the pool while elephants drank at the watering hole below us.
Bongi and Wendy kept us entertained and so well looked after in the dining room
And hats off to the chef as the food was amazing
My son is still talking about the kudu steak!
Thank you Lalibela team for a fantastic 2 day stay. We will definitely be back.
Dylan and Tamaryn Cox
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lalibela Game Reserve , Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve
Responded 25 Nov 2020
Dear Cox Family Thank you for your amazing review of Lalibela Game Reserve. We are so happy to hear that your family enjoyed their recent stay at Mark's Camp. It is lovely to hear that the elephants came for a drink while you were at the swimming pool. This is such a special memory. Thank you for your kind words. We will be sure to pass them on to Carrie-Ann, Bongi, Wendy, the chef and the rest of the Mark's Camp team. We look forward to welcoming your family back to Lalibela! Kind regards, The Lalibela Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette P wrote a review Oct 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa41 contributions26 helpful votes
This is my third time at Lalibela Game Reserve. I can only sing high praises for this reserve. From the very helpful admin when making my booking to each staff member I cannot praise them highly enough. The rooms were large and the bed was the most comfortable bed ever. My daughter in law wanted to pack it up and take it home with her (LOL) Rooms were extremely well equipped with a real powerful hairdryer. Much attention to detail. Even a night treat on your bed.

Food was excellent, Pre breakfast, breakfast, lunch, dinner. snacks and drinks on the game dives. So much to eat!!

Two 3 hour Game drives everyday, nice warm blankets for the chilly mornings and evenings. A welcome warm drink on return from your evening game drive.

While it is a small private game reserve it nevertheless has the big five and a nice amount of Game to see. We saw everything even a freshly taken cheetah kill and the new born lion cub were the highlights of our trip.

Our experience of the wonderful game life, birds and nature was magical and memorable. Our Game ranger was such a star, going the extra mile in making sure we saw all we wanted to see and particularly accommodating and making the children's experience fun. They learned so much.

Very experienced and knowledgeable Game rangers. Staff are so friendly and so kind and playful with children. They have programmes for the young ones. Our children (8 and 5) had a most wonderful experience. So much fun.

The setting at Marks Camp is very peaceful, a lovely outside bar, a pool near a water hole and another children's pool by the main dinning area. We were treated with a visit from the buffalos at Mark's Camp water hole.

All in all cannot rate this highly enough from the comfort of the rooms, to the food and especially to the genuinely friendly staff, not one downside. Have been to several Game Reserves in the area, all of which were wonderful but in my experience Lalibela is tops. Lalibela offers Luxury accommodation at affordable prices
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lalibela Game Reserve , Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve
Responded 07 Oct 2020
Dear Annette Thank you for your amazing review of Lalibela Game Reserve! Wow, we are so glad to hear that this was your 3rd stay with us! We are so happy that you got to see the newest edition to the reserve, the lion cub! It is adorable! It is not everyday that you get to see a herd of buffalo having a drink at the waterhole below the swimming pool. We are so glad to hear that your family had a wonderful time. This is what quality family time is all about, making life long memories. We hope that you and the family will be back for another visit. We would love to welcome you back for the 4th time! Kind regards, The Lalibela Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tibby53 wrote a review Sep 2020
Port Elizabeth, South Africa41 contributions37 helpful votes
A wonderful two night stay at Marks Camp! The game drives were great - the cheetah did a little catwalk for us, the lion roared and walked right past us. Also saw various bird species, yellow mongoose, zebra, giraffe - too many to mention. The cutest was the little rhino calf falling asleep after a drink of milk from mom. And then there was the fabulous food! The staff was super friendly and helpful. There are two pools - one overlooking a water hole where we saw a hippo cooling itself down. The lockdown blues were long forgotten by the time we left! We will be back!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lalibela Game Reserve , Guest Services / Front Office at Lalibela Game Reserve
Responded 07 Oct 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review Lalibela Game Reserve! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, post lockdown. We could not think of a better way to get rid of those lockdown blues. We hope you will be back for another visit in the future. Kind regards, The Lalibela Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous
123456