We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Pool
at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki

Pool & Beach (449)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Pool review highlights
... are the modern Mailani tower rooms overlooking the adult pool and jacuzzi. If that’s not enough, try the best beach bar in...
... she left. Very weird for a "luxury" hotel. At the Sheraton pool (next door and available to Royal Hawaiian guests), we...
... Of course, since it was raining, we didn't make use of the pool or beach areas ... however, they look as pleasant as always....
Most popular question about the pool
... I'm torn between these 3 properties. This will be me and one or two friends adults trip for us. We'd like to be able to have quick beach access and a nice pool. Thanks!
Answer from tolo565
Jun 2020 |
I'd definitely go for the Royal Hawaiian, if nothing more than it's historical significance. And it's right on the best beach. Geo...
Read more

Reviews that mention pool

Write a review
Lili B wrote a review Jul 2020
San Jose, California143 contributions40 helpful votes
This is actually an amendment to my original review of the Royal Hawaiian Resort In Waikiki, Hawaii. Making annual treks to Waikiki, we’ve stayed in several top rated places (4 start and above) along the beach. Last September was our first splurge to go “Royal”. We’ve stayed on either side of the Royal but last year, caved to temptation.
How can you not be tempted to try the Royal Hawaiian? Take a walk thru and check out it’s legendary history and pink stucco exterior, tile floors, lush tropical grounds, well appointed interior decor, eclectic boutiques and prime location on Waikiki beach. They offer historical and modern accommodations and our favorite are the modern Mailani tower rooms overlooking the adult pool and jacuzzi. If that’s not enough, try the best beach bar in Waikiki - their famous Mai Tai Bar and Grill or a foodies delight - Azure Restaurant.
Enough right? Not quite! LOL
Trying to make our trip plans to return there again during these trying times of travel restrictions and fears of Covid 19 has not been easy. However, one employee in particular has been our savior this year and deserves recognition as to one of the many reasons the Royal is worth every penny. I’m speaking of Rachel Lindsay, Director of rooms at the Royal Hawaiian.
Rachel notified us of the closures back in March, when our reservations had to be canceled due to the pandemic. She offered any help she could provide.
Boy did she help, through great communication. Over 15 emails later, 3 changes she made to our dates and a dozen or more questions she answered - all whilst the resort is officially closed, she helped us get our favorite resort lined up for our visit when they reopen.
We’re thrilled that the Royal has employees like Rachel which makes us feel the world revolves around our happiness. A trip to the Royal is truly a guilty pleasure, one that’s not easily afforded, but I’m here to tell you it is worth it. The daily resort fee covers many perks, the grounds and furnishings are historical, sophisticated and give you that true Island relaxed vibe. The food and drinks are top quality and a lot made from fresh local ingredients. My observation is the guests seem well behaved and are mostly adult, and those few with kids in tow have them under control. The staff are super friendly, personable, caring and best of all, Rachel works there!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded 07 Jul 2020
Aloha Lili B, Thank you for choosing The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki. We are thrilled to read about your fantastic stay and how much you enjoyed our timeless property on the island of Oahu. With our exquisite accommodations in our landmark Historic Wing, magnificent Mailani Tower, and world-class dining, we want every guest to experience the allure of Hawaii's inimitable spirit and rich culture. It is a joy to know all that we offer made for a memorable stay! We will also share your kind words with Rachel and thank her personally for providing exceptional service, down to the smallest detail. We are grateful for your kind recommendation, and we look forward to accommodating you again whenever you return to Honolulu. Mahalo, Ayaka H. The Royal Hawaiian, Guest Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LRkina wrote a review Mar 2020
Menlo Park, California6 contributions3 helpful votes
Lovely old hotel. Service was hit or miss. The housekeeper kept showing up in our room, while we were in the room, and then would kind of hang out as if she was waiting for a tip? I did tip the first day but then her room cleaning was just pretty average so I didn't tip again. But she came by nearly everyday. The day we were leaving she showed up as we were packing and kind of hung around inside the room with us. I didn't know how to ask her to leave and it was getting so awkward but eventually I had to go to the bathroom and shut the door so then she left. Very weird for a "luxury" hotel.
At the Sheraton pool (next door and available to Royal Hawaiian guests), we rented one of the cabanas for $260 a day. No one came to take away dirty dishes and service items the whole day. So basically we sat surrounded by empty trays, glasses, etc and it was windy so napkins started flying around and it was just a mess! One of the cabana reps eventually told us that they come by to clean up only at the end of the day! So basically you just sit there surrounded by your trash! We stayed at the Ritz Carlton residences last month. Had none of these types of experiences there.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from TeamMarriott, Guest Experience Team at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded 04 Mar 2020
Aloha Irkina, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. Our goal is to provide welcoming accommodations with attention to craft and detail, and we are disappointed that we fell short during your visit. We are surprised to hear about your experience with our housekeeping team and would like to encourage you in the future to please reach out to the front desk should you experience this again. We have taken the liberty of sharing these concerns with our housekeeping team to ensure this is not repeated and we apologize for the inconvenience and lasting impression it left you with. We appreciate you sharing your feedback regarding your cabana experience and we understand how this could be frustrating. We will be passing this along to the appropriate individuals for their evaluation. While we understand we did not exceed your expectations on this visit Irkina, it is our hope you will visit again and allow us the opportunity to provide you with the exceptional stay you deserve. Mahalo, Ayaka H. The Royal Hawaiian, Guest Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boeing767 wrote a review Mar 2020
Ewa Beach, Hawaii586 contributions451 helpful votes
For me, there is a lot of nostalgia here, I've been coming to the Royal since 1977. I can remember when Ernest Nishizaki and Tom Bell were the managers. And while the customer experience was phenomenal this weekend, some of the "charm" has been taken away by the current arrangement.
The check in lobby where the gift shop once was seems a little TOO informal for a hotel of this stature. There SHOULD be some protocol and white glove treatment here. Gone are the pink sheets, pink towels and pink telephones. I miss those, they were part of the character. (Honestly, I didn't check to see if the Bather's Elevator is still there). On the subject of elevators, the lifts in the historic building are pretty scuffed and beat up and in need of some attention by the cleaners and maintenance.
We felt that the "resort fee" was unnecessary. People will pay whatever the room rate is at the RHH ... so why not rise above the rest and incorporate the fee into the rate, and eliminate the appearance of nickel-and-diming? Parking was steep, but actually not out of line. We had an amusing experience with parking due to our new but basic car with no clicker. Not annoyed at all ... just amused.
So, all of that aside ... we were flooded with nostalgia when we checked in, and everyone ... to a person ... was friendly, welcoming and full of aloha.
It rained for our entire one-night staycation, so we REALLY appreciated the extra space afforded to us (as Bonvoy Gold members) with the junior suite upgrade, and we were impressed by the efficiency of room service (breakfast) both in timely delivery and equally quick pickup of the table. We enjoyed the banana bread (coupon at check-in), but MISS the delivery of that bread to the room, as in years past.
Of course, since it was raining, we didn't make use of the pool or beach areas ... however, they look as pleasant as always.
We weren't offered late checkout, but to be fair ... we didn't ask either.
So, while old timers like us will notice the small cuts, they didn't detract from the larger experience. The only thing that really got under my skin was the resort fee. You will not regret spending more to stay here.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: Best rooms would be the ocean view rooms in the HISTORIC building. New(er) building more generic.
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded 03 Mar 2020
Aloha Boeing767, Thank you very much for being a valued Marriott Bonvoy Gold Elite member and for your continued support of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki. We are delighted that you are a regular guest and appreciate you taking the time to share your perspective with other travelers. It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed our exquisite accommodations and room service. We are also very proud of our associates as they strive to go above and beyond for each of our guests, and we thank you for recognizing their efforts. We value every bit of your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back every time you are in the area. Mahalo, Ayaka H. The Royal Hawaiian, Guest Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2Travel310 wrote a review Mar 2020
Los Angeles, California16 contributions4 helpful votes
The hotel itself fantastic. Great location with a secluded feel, which is hard to find in Honolulu. The service however, very very poor. When we arrived, there was no valet for our car or bellman for our bags. After waiting about 10 min, someone came by, but only to say wait a little longer. I finally went to front desk to check in. They gave us our room keys and said the car would be taken care of and our bags brought up. There was not formal greeting or lei, and we were just handed room keys.

After going to the room and waiting 10-15 min, I went down to check where our bags were. Our car was still running at the front, and our bags still on the ground. I gave the keys to the front and carried our bags up.

The next morning, when attempting to head out, our car was not to be found. Since our car was handled by the front desk, a proper ticket was not created. So we waited quite some time, while our car was searched for. Eventually it was found, but not after much of our afternoon was wasted.

The service was poor at breakfast, as both of our orders were brought out incorrectly, and a glass was dropped shattering on our table. We were given a slight discount, which was nice, but most of our concern was about waiting.. spending too much time spent waiting for our orders, waiting for things to be cleaned, etc.

The bar is cool, I would go for mai tai’s over pina coladas. The pina coladas seemed like they were made earlier and had been sitting in the blender. It was basically coconut and rum flavored soup.

The overall value and experience of Azure is lacking. While having a wonderful view, the service was poor, and it’s not exactly romantic. It is the same location as the breakfast buffet and is next to the pool.

Very disappointing stay.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from TeamMarriott, Guest Experience Team at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded 03 Mar 2020
Aloha SouthBayJay, Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers. We were delighted to read you found our hotel and location to be fantastic, however, we regret that we were lacking in some areas during your visit. Please accept our sincere apologies for the frustrations you encountered with the valet, not only during your check-in experience but also when you were checking out. We certainly understand how that could put a damper on your impression of our hotel and we regret the inconvenience this caused. This is not typical of our hotel and we have shared this with our team to ensure we are correcting and reducing these wait times moving forward. While we understand we did not exceed your expectations, we hope you will visit again in the future so we may restore your confidence in our hotel. Mahalo, Ayaka H. The Royal Hawaiian, Guest Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeChick wrote a review Feb 2020
NJ1 305 contributions776 helpful votes
+1
Booked a Historic Garden Junior Suite with two double beds. The front desk attendant Michael accommodated my request at check in which was a breeze. The room was very spacious with two bathrooms and three closets. Bed was very comfy and loved the toiletries. Housekeeping was amazing. They would ask to make up your room when they saw you exit in the am and unlimited FREE bottled water. Tons of towels never a shortage. Wifi worked great. Enjoyed the MaiTai Bar and chilling at the pool. Grounds are very clean and service was amazing everywhere. We were even provided a late check out and hospitality room. The flower leis and beads by valet were so beautiful we wore them at a wedding. When I come back this is the only place I would stay. Simply pure elegance.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Aloha Guest, Thank you for staying at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki. We are thrilled to read about your fantastic stay and how much you enjoyed our timeless property on the island of Oahu. We are especially happy knowing how much liked your guestroom and that you slept well on our comfortable beds. Our team does a wonderful job maintaining our accommodations and we are very happy everything was to your liking. Since 1927, we have strived to deliver an excellent experience to every guest through our decor and hospitality. We will surely share your praises with Michael and the entire team. Thank you also for letting us know about your wonderful experience at the Mai Tai Bar. We appreciate your review and look forward to having you as our guest again. Mahalo, Ayaka H. The Royal Hawaiian, Guest Experience Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous

Questions & answers about the pool

Answer from tolo565
Jun 2020 |
I'd definitely go for the Royal Hawaiian, if nothing more than it's historical significance. And it's right on the best beach. George Harrison liked it.
1 vote
Show all answers
Answer from Terrie L
Oct 2019 |
I was just there in August and they still did not give you a wristband. I really think they should because if you get down there after 10 AM it’s hard to find a lounge chair. They are good about allowing only two hours if they don’t see that you use them they take your things to a storage place. The pool is super tiny so I don’t really think too many people crash it. The beach is great.
1 vote
Show all answers
Answer from Charles K
Jul 2019 |
There are several ramps inside the hotel which would provide access to the bar and the pool. Once outside the rear gate , you are on the beach, and , of course there would be problems. There are a few stairs in the "old" section which could present problems. Once outside in the bar area, there are paved surfaces inside the rear gate. Can't remember if it's paved all the way over to the pool. Hope this helps- ALOHA.
1 vote
Show all answers
Answer from Sarah F
Apr 2019 |
Agree with these other helpful tips. The Royal’s small pool makes it a lovely, safe, quiet swimming spot for toddlers. If you want some more high energy swimming action, guests can use the Sheraton Waikiki’s kid’s pool which has slides. Plus, as others have said - you are right on the doorstep to the best bit of the beach. We travelled with 2, 4, 5 and 8 year olds who loved the wide open spaces of the lawned areas around the hotel to play in. The staff at the pool (Kiki and Sharon) are so warm and welcoming to the kids. They will loan you beach toys and bring around treats for the little ones. The Easter Bunny hopped by poolside with chocolates last week for our crew. The Keiki (Kids) menu will be helpful too. Have a great trip!
1 vote
Show all answers
Answer from HULA2613
Feb 2018 |
yes
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123