We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Pool
at Big Cave Camp

Pool & Beach (6)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
US$240
US$225
View Deal
SAVE US$15
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$240
US$225
View Deal
SAVE US$15
Free cancellation until 21/01/23
Expedia.comUS$240
eDreamsUS$225
Agoda.comUS$225
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Pool review highlights
... was dusty and had a musty smell. The rocks in the outdoor pool were covered in green slime. The power is turned off at 11pm...
... Also the bikes we were hoping to use weren't available. The pool was nice but could be much nicer if there were towels and...
... time at Big Cave Camp. One afternoon we just relaxed by the pool and enjoyed the silence. The most rewarding moments were...
Featured pool amenities

Reviews that mention pool

Write a review
kim K wrote a review Dec 2019
Ballarat15 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed for two nights in Nov 2018. The view from our villa was breathtaking as was the setting. This is where the positives ended. The location, set in boulders made accessing the property treacherous on wet and slippery rocks. Once in our room we found we had no hot water , our toilet didn't flush , nor was there toilet paper or a kettle. An attempt was made to rectify the issues with the plumbing however they continues through out our stay and we were unable to have a hot shower the whole time. We had friend staying in other villas and they too had issues with hot water. The room was dusty and had a musty smell. The rocks in the outdoor pool were covered in green slime. The power is turned off at 11pm till 4 am each night.
The lady on reception was rude and appeared put upon when issues were politely raised with her. She also vented her anger when we opted to pay via card, bemoaning the difficulty accessing cash on Zimbabwe.
I would definitely not stay here again.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from David W, Owner at Big Cave Camp
Responded 15 Dec 2019
Good day Kim. Thank you for your review and I am really sad that you did not enjoy your stay. Big Cave Camp as per all of our marketing information is a game lodge that is set into its natural environment, and that is what we pride ourselves on. The lodge is barely visible upon arrival. The lodge is built on the rocks and thus yes when it has rained the rocks are probably slightly slippery yet we have NEVER had any incidents of people falling or hurting themselves. Likewise the pool is built into the natural rock, and so does have a different texture to a standard fiber glass pool, however apologies if you did not like it, or found it slimy. Quite honestly I really do not believe that you should have been placed by your tour operator in a bush lodge, you definitely would have been a lot happier in a hotel in the city. In addition our rooms have recently been renovated this year, and everything in the rooms are brand new. The toilets, plumbing, showers, linen, curtains etc. Thus I am afraid that I dispute your claim that the room was dusty and had a musty smell. I have yet to ever have this sort of complaint from any other guests which is easy to see on Tripadvisor. In addition the hot water runs from gas heaters on the outside of the room, and is easily rectified if there is any issue by simply replacing the batteries, which we do if the issue is raised . So again I really find it hard to believe that you had no hot water throughout your stay. In addition the claim that there was no toilet paper again is very difficult to believe, and the reason the toilet did not function correctly for a morning was due to the fact that you managed to break the new mechanism which we subsequently repaired.. We did not have any other complaints from the rest of the group who travelled with you. In addition when you complained that you wanted a room on your own even though you had not paid for a single supplement we gladly accommodated you. Lastly you actually paid using a credit card so am not understanding why Lin my manageress would then raise an issue about this. Ninety percent of our clients pay using credit card, so this is nothing unusual. Thus in conclusion I very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, but definitely dispute that the rest of your group share your point of view. We have had no negative feedback from the tour operator either. Best Regards Dave Waddy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Local wrote a review Nov 2019
London, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
Beautiful accommodation made in the rocks. A really individual place and a very friendly manager and helpful staff. Really enjoyed our stay there but it was very expensive. Decided not to do the tours as just couldn't afford them, and a shame nothing was offered as a substitute. Also the bikes we were hoping to use weren't available. The pool was nice but could be much nicer if there were towels and better sunbeds etc. The food was good, but early start for breakfast especially as it was just us there. A lovely place and it has even more potential than what it has got at the moment, but i dont think it was good value for money.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019
Room Tip: The rooms to the top of the hill seem to have more privacy
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from David W, Owner at Big Cave Camp
Responded 14 Nov 2019
Hi Sally. Thanks for the review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately the National Park fees and vehicle licensing fees cost us a lot of money each year, so we have to charge a reasonable amount for activities, and US 60.00 per person excluding Park fees is average for our area. Sincere apologies on the bikes, as it is a quiet time of the year they are all being serviced currently. Likewise the sunbeds we already have the fabric to recover the cushions, however are still waiting for the high density foam to come up from South Africa. So apologies on that one as well. Sad you did not find us good value for money, we are still one of the best priced products in the Matobo Hills :) . Best Regards Dave
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lars H wrote a review Jun 2019
Stockholm, Sweden43 contributions9 helpful votes
Big Cave Camp is down to earth and very enjoyable we think. Manager Lin Goodwin and her staff are very kind and warmhearted, the food is good, the wine excellent, the rooms comfortable, simply decorated and with lovely views out to the bush and rocks. Bathrooms are fresh-looking, modern and seems to be newly renovated. We particularly enjoyed sitting around a campfire in a cave-style boma before and after dinner chatting to the staff. We had a wonderful restful time at Big Cave Camp. One afternoon we just relaxed by the pool and enjoyed the silence. The most rewarding moments were some amazingly beautiful walks on cliffs and ridges covered with gorgeous green and yellow colours; sometimes we almost felt we were on another planet. And we didn’t meet any other single person during these walks. Especially beautiful was the area around the Bambata Cave (with rock paintings as well). Our guide on these walks was Shepherd, a very nice guy together with whom we had great moments.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from David W, Owner at Big Cave Camp
Responded 17 Jun 2019
Hi Lars. Thanks so much for the lovely review, and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, the staff and the area. We have just renovated all the rooms so good to know that you enjoyed what we have done. We are trying very hard to improve and renovate without taking from the simplicity of the lodge, which we feel is what is important in such a beautiful landscape. Hoping that you will visit us again soon! Best Regards Dave
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy wrote a review Apr 2019
New York City, New York80 contributions29 helpful votes
Stayed a night with an overlanding tour group. The camp should be called "Big Rocks" instead, as there are huge boulders and flat rocks all over the property, definitely a surreal/unique landscape. Brown (the campsite manager) received our group with exceptional warmth and hospitality. Be sure to hike to the "Big Cave" (about 20-30 minutes one way), or take a dip in the pool (small, but carved into the rockside, very cool). The location makes it great for stargazing at night. I'd definitely like to try the cottages when I return to Zim in a few years.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from David W, Owner at Big Cave Camp
Responded 23 Apr 2019
Hi there. Thanks so much for taking time out to review the lodge and campsite. Really glad that you enjoyed the landscape and area! Best Regards Dave
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNE K wrote a review Nov 2018
Toowoomba, Australia457 contributions148 helpful votes
+1
Matobo is a unique part of Africa with the magnificent balancing boulders and the Big Cave Camp set amongst it all, makes for a great experience. From the moment you arrive, Lin, the manager, makes you feel welcome and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are simply decorated with lovely views out to the bush and rocks. The food is lovely and shared with other guests around a large table in the dining room. On completion of the evening meal, the guests retire to the outside boma with fire pit, to chat about the days events and wind down with a glass of wine or drink of your choice. What I loved were the many tours on offer within the park, from the Camp. The guides are very experienced and can take you on walking tours to various outcrops, sundowner tour to Lightning ridge and our great joy at finding a mother rhino with a baby a few weeks old. If you just want to relax, the camp pool is the place to go where you are surrounded by the african bush and feel one with nature. Many thanks Lin and the staff for a fabulous stay and hopefully we will make it back your way again some day.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If walking is difficult ask for a room near reception
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from DavidW12603, Owner at Big Cave Camp
Responded 01 Dec 2018
Hi Anne. Thanks so much for the wonderful review. Lin and the staff will be thrilled that you had a great time. We are currently commencing with renovating our rooms, so you will have to come back again and visit us once that is complete! Best Regards Dave
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous