We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Big Cave Camp

Room/Suite (30)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Booking.com
US$240
US$225
View Deal
SAVE US$15
Free cancellation until 21/01/23
Hotels.com
US$240
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/01/29
Expedia.com
US$240
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/01/29
eDreamsUS$225
Agoda.comUS$225
CheapTicketsUS$240
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Room review highlights
... property treacherous on wet and slippery rocks. Once in our room we found we had no hot water , our toilet didn't flush , nor...
... Lin and her team, including Thabi and Eugene in the dining room, were first rate; friendly and attentive. Our guides,...
... view over the valley and sunrise from the balcony of our room. Not in the middle of the national park but about 20 km from...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
kim K wrote a review Dec 2019
Ballarat15 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed for two nights in Nov 2018. The view from our villa was breathtaking as was the setting. This is where the positives ended. The location, set in boulders made accessing the property treacherous on wet and slippery rocks. Once in our room we found we had no hot water , our toilet didn't flush , nor was there toilet paper or a kettle. An attempt was made to rectify the issues with the plumbing however they continues through out our stay and we were unable to have a hot shower the whole time. We had friend staying in other villas and they too had issues with hot water. The room was dusty and had a musty smell. The rocks in the outdoor pool were covered in green slime. The power is turned off at 11pm till 4 am each night.
The lady on reception was rude and appeared put upon when issues were politely raised with her. She also vented her anger when we opted to pay via card, bemoaning the difficulty accessing cash on Zimbabwe.
I would definitely not stay here again.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from David W, Owner at Big Cave Camp
Responded 15 Dec 2019
Good day Kim. Thank you for your review and I am really sad that you did not enjoy your stay. Big Cave Camp as per all of our marketing information is a game lodge that is set into its natural environment, and that is what we pride ourselves on. The lodge is barely visible upon arrival. The lodge is built on the rocks and thus yes when it has rained the rocks are probably slightly slippery yet we have NEVER had any incidents of people falling or hurting themselves. Likewise the pool is built into the natural rock, and so does have a different texture to a standard fiber glass pool, however apologies if you did not like it, or found it slimy. Quite honestly I really do not believe that you should have been placed by your tour operator in a bush lodge, you definitely would have been a lot happier in a hotel in the city. In addition our rooms have recently been renovated this year, and everything in the rooms are brand new. The toilets, plumbing, showers, linen, curtains etc. Thus I am afraid that I dispute your claim that the room was dusty and had a musty smell. I have yet to ever have this sort of complaint from any other guests which is easy to see on Tripadvisor. In addition the hot water runs from gas heaters on the outside of the room, and is easily rectified if there is any issue by simply replacing the batteries, which we do if the issue is raised . So again I really find it hard to believe that you had no hot water throughout your stay. In addition the claim that there was no toilet paper again is very difficult to believe, and the reason the toilet did not function correctly for a morning was due to the fact that you managed to break the new mechanism which we subsequently repaired.. We did not have any other complaints from the rest of the group who travelled with you. In addition when you complained that you wanted a room on your own even though you had not paid for a single supplement we gladly accommodated you. Lastly you actually paid using a credit card so am not understanding why Lin my manageress would then raise an issue about this. Ninety percent of our clients pay using credit card, so this is nothing unusual. Thus in conclusion I very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, but definitely dispute that the rest of your group share your point of view. We have had no negative feedback from the tour operator either. Best Regards Dave Waddy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHDownie wrote a review Oct 2019
Glasgow, United Kingdom128 contributions84 helpful votes
We spent a couple of nights at Big Cave - our second trip there after a gap of 20 years - and had a wonderful time.

Lin and her team, including Thabi and Eugene in the dining room, were first rate; friendly and attentive. Our guides, Shepherd and Tawanda, were outstanding and really went out of their way to make our game drives (including a walk with rhinos!) and other visits fun and interesting.

The camp itself is spectacular, perched on top of the rocks and our little cottage was spotless, comfortable and well equipped. The food was delicious and plentiful. And the evening campfire was such a lovely, relaxing experience after a busy day in the bush.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from DavidW12603, Owner at Big Cave Camp
Responded 25 Oct 2019
Hi Guys. Fantastic to have you back after 20 years! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and the guiding as well! Lin and the staff will be very appreciative of your comments. Hopefully it wont be another 20 years before we see you again! Best Regards Dave
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LINDA081 wrote a review Sep 2019
BELGIUM401 contributions65 helpful votes
+1
Location:
Beautiful setting with view over the valley and sunrise from the balcony of our room. Not in the middle of the national park but about 20 km from the main entrance. I would recommend warm clothing because it can get chilly in the open game drive vehicle (even though blankets were provided).

Check in:
The parking lot is down the hill where the lodge is located and they provide a free jeep to bring the clients and luggage up. Check in was very smooth.

Rooms:
Very nice beds and bed linen - no luxury but everything you need

There was no electricity (fire at electricity company) while we were but they managed to prepare nice meals for us. We enjoyed our talks with Sheppard and Lynn very much and like how they take the time to have meals with the guests. They are really nice people and Sheppard was an excellent guide on our trips. On top of this they made a nice program for us so we could enjoy a drive on the property, walk to the top of the boulders in the national park, rhino tracking in the morning, walk to big cave on our own just before lunch, and walk to bush paintings, game drive and sun downer at Cecil Rhodes Grave to end the day. We stayed for 2 nights and arrived late on the first day and left early on the last day.
We would not recommend to pay the supplement for the all inclusive arrangement. The supplement was steep and you hardly have time to have lunch due to the late breakfast, everybody goes to bed early and the bar was rather soulless.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from David W, Owner at Big Cave Camp
Responded 01 Oct 2019
Hi Linda. Thanks very much for the lovely review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Yes the main sub station in Bulawayo had blown up so our mains power was not working, however at least we have the generator as back up! We really hope to see you again soon. Best Regards Dave
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabTheFab wrote a review Jul 2019
Taos, New Mexico16 contributions11 helpful votes
The lodge is very well located being just a short drive from the Matopos National Park. It is very quiet and commands lovely views over the surrounding hills. The lodge is not luxurious but the rooms are very pretty and very comfortable. They have their own patio.The bathroom is rustic but everything works perfectly. Our room included full board: the meals were excellent and the communal table provided entertainment with like-minded travelers. The icing on the cake were the presence of Lynn the manageress (warm and always helpful) and Sheppard, our appropriatedly named guide, who took us to walk with rhinoceroses and showed us some amazing and well hidden stone paintings - always with a smile! I would definitely recommend the lodge
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from David W, Owner at Big Cave Camp
Responded 22 Jul 2019
Thanks so much for the wonderful review, and comments on the staff. Lin, Shepherd and the rest of the team will be thrilled! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Best Regards Dave
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANNE K wrote a review Nov 2018
Toowoomba, Australia457 contributions148 helpful votes
+1
Matobo is a unique part of Africa with the magnificent balancing boulders and the Big Cave Camp set amongst it all, makes for a great experience. From the moment you arrive, Lin, the manager, makes you feel welcome and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are simply decorated with lovely views out to the bush and rocks. The food is lovely and shared with other guests around a large table in the dining room. On completion of the evening meal, the guests retire to the outside boma with fire pit, to chat about the days events and wind down with a glass of wine or drink of your choice. What I loved were the many tours on offer within the park, from the Camp. The guides are very experienced and can take you on walking tours to various outcrops, sundowner tour to Lightning ridge and our great joy at finding a mother rhino with a baby a few weeks old. If you just want to relax, the camp pool is the place to go where you are surrounded by the african bush and feel one with nature. Many thanks Lin and the staff for a fabulous stay and hopefully we will make it back your way again some day.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If walking is difficult ask for a room near reception
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from DavidW12603, Owner at Big Cave Camp
Responded 01 Dec 2018
Hi Anne. Thanks so much for the wonderful review. Lin and the staff will be thrilled that you had a great time. We are currently commencing with renovating our rooms, so you will have to come back again and visit us once that is complete! Best Regards Dave
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous