We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Thakadu River Camp

Room/Suite (53)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Room review highlights
avatar-image
... our first game drive, which was really a shame. However the room, the environment and the overall experience are fantastic....
avatar-image
... size bed, a great bathroom and even tea and biscuits in the room. of course, beign in the middle of the nature and in a tent...
avatar-image
... he turned to me and said that there is a problem with our room and we got worried. Tsolo told us that we left the water...
Most popular question about the rooms
Are the game drives extra or included in the room rate?
avatar-image
Answer from Kim_RSA
Feb 2020 |
game drive included on the room rate

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
avatar-image
Tessav888 wrote a review Jan 2017
Antwerp, Belgium2 contributions
The service at the arrival was very poor. we had to fight to get our first game drive, which was really a shame. However the room, the environment and the overall experience are fantastic. There are no words for that. Amazingly beautiful!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The bed was amazing! My compliments!
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp
Responded 17 Jan 2017
Dear tessav486 We realise that you were upset when you arrive to hear that the game drive vehicle have already departed. Unfortunately you did not made it in time for the game drive, your family were not our only guests on the vehicle and we can not expect guests to wait for arriving guests that were not able to arrive before the advertised game drive time.We are glad to see that you did enjoyed the rest of your stay and Safari experience at Thakadu river Camp and we hope to receive you back as returning guests.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gipsy1984 wrote a review Oct 2014
Milan, Italy85 contributions77 helpful votes
madikwe is a great game reserve but very expensive and this lodge is one the cheapest solution, it is a tented camp but you'll find that tents are tents only in theory. there is everything you need, a huge king size bed, a great bathroom and even tea and biscuits in the room. of course, beign in the middle of the nature and in a tent means that there might be some ants around, but near the safe you'll find sprays to face the invasion :-). it is important to bring a middle season pijama with long sleeves, the difference of temperature between day and night is incredible.
the game drives are great, the one in th morning starts at 5.30, teh one in the afternoon at 16.00, and be prepared because they'll drive very very very near the animals. also, in the lodge you'll wat really really much, little breakfast before going out, little breakfast during the morning drive, great breakfast when at 9.00 after the drive, then lunch, then tea at 15.30, tea during the evening drive and dinner...
also, pay attention to the monkeys that might will enter in the tent if you leave the balcony door open.
it is a great place and a great experience!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp
Responded 31 Oct 2014
Dear Phibi Milano Thank you kindly for posting your comments. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed Madikwe Game Reserve and your stay with us. We hope to host you again as one of our returning guest At Thakadu River Camp.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Josh C wrote a review Aug 2013
Pretoria, South Africa23 contributions10 helpful votes
My girlfriend and I booked at Thakadu Tent Camp lodge for our second time and it was even more magically than the first time. The staff and management are awesome and they know the WOW!!! factor and live by it. Thakadu's service and staff are better than quiet a few 5 Star Hotels I have been too. The food is beyond words and the fresh taste is evident all the time.

We booked 2 nights and on our second night return from our game drive with Tsolo, he turned to me and said that there is a problem with our room and we got worried. Tsolo told us that we left the water running in the Tent room which flooding everything. We were trying to think which one of us left something running in the room but could not remember. When we arrived at the Lodge, Tsolo said that we should go check the room before coming down for dinner.

We were super worried but when I walked in and looked around the bedroom, only find that the floors are dry. I then went into the bathroom and found the suprise which was a tub filled with bubble bath, candles and flowers all over and next to the tub was an expensive bottle of Graham Beck Champaign with 2 glasses... my girlfriend and I was lost for words and she thought it was me that arranged this surprise.

The staff told us that it was from all of them and management to say thank you for coming back to spend our holiday with them...

All the staff at Thakadu made us feel like family and they chatted with us as friends and not just a number in the bush. We have seen the Big 5 and more with Patience & Tsolo who are the best Guides I have ever met in my life to date. Keep up the good work and we will always visit Thakadu River Camp.

THANK YOU for the best experience ever ....

Josh & Katie
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2013Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: All the rooms are great and some rooms might be further to walk to but good exercise :-)
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
danielvO6524IJ wrote a review Feb 2016
London, United Kingdom3 contributions
The staff was very friendly, but without any doubt the total experience lacked a professional edge. We were not given any information on the park (size, camps, what to expect to see) or on additional activities(such as in room massages) or possible walking safari's EST. Additionally our game ranger missed various sightings where we had to stop and show him. I go to the bush often and I feel the experience had the potential to be amazing, but because of a lack of training and staff efficiency I would have to say 3 star rather than 4 or 5 star experience, this would not be because of a lack of friendliness, but more a lack of training and attention to finer details. I would not feel comfortable to recommend the camp to seasoned safari goers
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp
Responded 06 Feb 2016
Dear danielvO65241J Thank you for your review. Please except my apologies for us not totally meeting your safari expectations. We strive to give our guests an unforgettable Safari experience, more than their expectations. We appreciate your comments and will work on mentioned suggestions.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Phillip M wrote a review Sept 2016
Randpark Ridge, South Africa72 contributions58 helpful votes
My wife and I spent 6 nights at Thakadu River Camp for a short holiday and really enjoyed our experience.

Thakadu River Camp is situated in the Eastern part of the Madikwe reserve and is roughly a 3 hour drive from Johannesburg. The last 20-30km is best undertaken in a small or large SUV as normal cars might struggle to traverse the gravel road and dirt track leading up to the lodge.

On arrival, we were greeted by the friendly staff and taken through to the lounge where we were served a delicious welcome cocktail. In fact, we enjoyed the cocktail so much, that we actually ordered it from the bar a few times.

We were escorted to our room, a luxury tented bungalow and on initial impression found the room layout to be very spacious and comfortable. Each tent has a massive bed covered by a mosquito net, although the reserve is in a malaria free area. The bathroom facilities are basic, however will cater for your needs. The tent also has a balcony overlooking the river and often one can spot various bush-buck, elephants and monkeys around. On the last mention, best keep your doors closed as the monkeys are known to come into the tents and ransack the rooms looking for food.

The main lodge has a comfortable lounge area with a small library where one can sit and relax. The dining facility where meals are served is comfortable and airy with drop down sides should the weather change. On certain evenings, we enjoyed a bush-fire-side dinner served in the boma. These evening we enjoyed the most as we sat outside under the stars enjoying our dinner by the fire. What more could you want from an African dining experience. Chef Travis was excellent and very friendly coming around and personally explaining the menu to each table. We found him to be a delight and he would even go as far as taking special requests from us for dessert. The quality of the food was excellent, although as a minor criticism, the breakfast buffet needs some imagination as it was the same throughout our stay. Guests staying for shorter periods probably wouldn’t mind...

There are two daily game drives taking place in the mornings from 6am to 9am and then an afternoon drive from around 3:30pm to around 7pm. Our allocated Game Ranger for the week was Patience and she was EXCELLENT! If you are going to the camp, I strongly recommend that you request her as your ranger. We spotted the entire Big 5 during our stay... in fact in one day! Patience was always friendly and her knowledge of the park is impressive. A highlight of each drive was when we got to get off the vehicles for our sunrise coffee of sunset drinks break.

So... what criticism do I have of our stay?

- The service in the restaurant can be a bit slow and we often had to request that our drinks be refilled. Some of the staff could be better trained, but then I do appreciate the fact that they do come from the local villages and training would be an ongoing process.

- The rooms do need a bit a basic maintenance. Small things like tap covers being lose, lights not working or door lathes that don’t operate properly need attention. I was also surprised at the state of some of our bath-towels. The lodge would be well advised to start replacing some of these towels as they aren’t complementary to the experience.

Would I recommend Thakadu? Yes.... Absolutely! You will have a great time and experience the bush like you haven’t before. Small niggles but aside, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for Patience as your Game Ranger! Get a room close to the lodge as the rooms can be quite a...
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hanlie L, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp
Responded 11 Sept 2016
Dear Phillip M We are trilled to see that you enjoyed your stay at Thakadu River Camp. Thank you for your detailed review, much appreciated. We take note of all your comments and suggestions. We hope to welcome you back as returning guests to Thakadu River Camp.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456

Questions & answers about the rooms

avatar-image
Laura B asked a question Aug 2018
24 contributions
Are the game drives extra or included in the room rate?
avatar-image
Answer from Kim_RSA
Feb 2020 |
game drive included on the room rate
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1