We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Pool
at Dunstone Country House

Pool & Beach (24)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
US$100
View deal
TravelocityUS$100
TripadvisorUS$100
StayForLong
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
View all 8 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Pool review highlights
... dishes. Can recommend for people who look for tranquility. Pool some 300m away at the main guest house, clean, cold drinks...
... a double bed....... This is not luxury! The grass around the pool wasn't even cut....... This does not say welcome does it?...
... the vines with a happy hour every night. A peaceful swimming pool with comfortable loungers and shade. The Stone Kitchen...
Featured pool amenities
Outdoor pool
Pool / Beach Towels

Reviews that mention pool

Write a review
bordeaux wrote a review Jan 2022
Baar, Switzerland22 contributions18 helpful votes
Stayed 3 nights in the vine suite. Private garden, big Weber braai, great service, enjoyed simple cooking with clean dishes. Can recommend for people who look for tranquility. Pool some 300m away at the main guest house, clean, cold drinks in the fridge and very friendly staff. Thanks to Privilege (name?) who warmly welcomed us.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2022
Room Tip: Consult the website or enjoy the professional dialogue with the owner.
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from abigail wallis, Owner at Dunstone Country House
Responded 30 Jan 2022
thank you so much for staying with us and writing your review
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin wrote a review Jan 2022
22 contributions3 helpful votes
We booked our end of the year break in June 2021 already. The accomodation was pricy for our budget but we decided after Covid, we'll support the hospitality industry.
As we arived on the 26th of December, driving into the estate one could already see the neglect. No maintenance at all.
Our cottage was clean but the front door handle came off as we entered. The air conditioning in the main bedroom was not working. This is one of the reasons we booked the Guava cottage...... A/C! Wellington is very hot!
The duvet on the king beds were the size a double bed....... This is not luxury!
The grass around the pool wasn't even cut....... This does not say welcome does it?
During our stay the septic tank was overflowing with flies everywhere! Even at the restaurant the septic tank was overflowing..... So much for health and safety!
We could not use any of the pans supplied in the kitchen...... 10 of them....... I will attach photo's!
The beds were stained and the list will not end.
Needless to say our end of the year break was a nightmare and it was great to return home after 5 nights in this very small, basic cottage with a luxury pricetag.
The captain af this ship has abandoned the ship and it needs somebody to take control again.
We also noticed afterwards that the farm is up for sale....... After complaining we were re - embursed R500 per night but this did not take the disappointment away!
Our advice...... STAY AWAY!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from abigail wallis, Owner at Dunstone Country House
Responded 24 Jan 2022
I can assure you I have not abandoned the ship and I care deeply about my farm and my guests. Your review is cruel and harmful. The farm is not neglected at all. We have a full team of staff but we do not make our staff work over the Christmas weekend - maybe you thought it was neglected because our staff were spending time with their families on the 26th December ?? Sadly in life things on occasion break, they break in hotels, in guest house and in our own homes. The one aircon (there are 3 aircons in the cottage) did breakdown and we were unable to get it fixed during your stay due to the time of the year and the companies being closed. When they reopened they had to order a part. The part we were told would take a day, but then 2 days came and went so instead of waiting for the part which would of been cheap I instead brought a whole new unit at a high cost so that the next guests had aircon. We tried our best to fix the problem during your stay but to no avail and hence we gave you money off your stay. Please note that when the other 2 aircons are on the whole cottages gets cold. The door handle came off and we fixed it straight away. The grass was cut on the 24th Dec, the day before Christmas. We don’t cut our grass extra short otherwise its dies in the hot sunshine. Im sorry it wasn’t cut on the day of your arrival but this was mainly due to the fact that our staff were having Christmas with families and secondly it didn’t need cutting. The duvets are King sized – I can take a photo of the label if you would like – The beds are King sized and so are the duvets. The pans are lifelong stella pans. They last a lifetime but over time the base gets black from good cooking. The inside of the pans are all non stick and are in good condition. The septic tanks were emptied – again we reply on services to empty the tanks and just before Christmas when we were secluded they didn’t come, but they did on the 27th. We advertise a country cottage on the farm, it is not luxurious – we don’t advertise it as such. It is comfortable, well equipped, great for family’s and dogs, in a fantastic setting. I am very sorry you booked somewhere you didn’t like but I gather even if the grass was cut, the aircon had worked and the pans brand new you still would of not like it.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom148 contributions70 helpful votes
We had stayed a couple of year ago and the quality has remained the same. Very friendly staff in a beautiful setting. The rooms are not very large but well appointed with comfortable beds. A very nice communal area looking at the valley and the vines with a happy hour every night. A peaceful swimming pool with comfortable loungers and shade. The Stone Kitchen produces a very good breakfast (and is a pleasant place for dinner a short walk from the main buildings)
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Michael H wrote a review Feb 2020
Portsmouth, United Kingdom11 contributions5 helpful votes
Beautiful place! We stayed in the lavender room, which was delightful. The honesty bar worked well and the staff could not have been nicer! The view and tranquillity at the infinity pool was divine! Excellent wine also! My only small criticism would be that the directions do not actually take you to the dirt road that leads up to Dunstone - our Sat nav didn't recognise any of the road names given and Google maps on my phone stopped at another track earlier on the road, so a signpost as you turn right off hill road (I think!) and at the start of dirt road would have helped immensely! We ended up stopping at the local pub where the owner gave us excellent directions! Lovely place however and well worth the time spent trying to find it!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Maureen wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
Once again I brought out of town guests to experience the warm and gracious hospitality of the Dunstone team. They were awed by the beauty of the Manor house with its spacious bedrooms with a French country feel - casual but elegant and the many out door spaces from front gardens with fountain, to the back views of the mountains, or the pool with all the causal lounging areas- all stunning. The inside living spaces are also generous and well appointed. We spent the afternoon in the pool and enjoyed an afternoon tea with cake just out of the oven. That evening we enjoy their complimentary bottle of Chenin Blanc before dinner. And breakfast at the Stone Kitchen was delicious. All the staff are warm, friendly and professional. I will be back with more friends.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456