We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Karoo Lodge

Room/Suite (14)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$62
Agoda.comUS$62
eDreamsUS$62
TripadvisorUS$62
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... appeared and said she was sorry to be 'chasing' us but the room had to be cleaned before 12. Was this comment necessary to...
... breakfast was excellent and we were made to feel very special. The room was huge and bed very comfortable. Highly recommended.
... back from the main road so all is peaceful and quiet. Our room was spacious and comfortable and had everything one needed....
Featured room amenities
Internet
Wifi
Flatscreen TV
Non-smoking rooms

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Imelita V wrote a review Jan 2020
5 contributions
After a night at Karoo Lodge we were carrying out our luggage just after 10. The hostess appeared and said she was sorry to be 'chasing' us but the room had to be cleaned before 12. Was this comment necessary to a paying customer who was clearly leaving? In the rush to get out of their way, I forgot my orthopaedic pillow. Did the host bother to phone me and say my pillow was there? No, he didn't. Visitors never rush off, there is a morning market and lots to see, so it was very likely we'd still be in town... but no, no phone call. When we arrived home and my husband called the host and asked if they'd drop it off at Pep Stores (down the road) if we paid over the Pep to Pep courier service, his reply was that he would do it if he was paid for the 'trouble' of doing so as well. The Swartberg Hotel owner subsequently agreed to do us this favour!
The room was okay, spacious and clean, but the stones in the shower are certainly unhygienic.
The grounds are very dry because of the drought, and unfortunately no attempt has been made to create a water-wise garden
The breakfast was of good quality.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Hi Unfriendly ? No !!. Your husband seeked to have long conversations , laughs and joke telling with both owners and did not take offense to the company kept It is rational to accept that to courier or mail forgotten items that other than the cost thereof, additional cost become involved, such as purchasing packaging material, time factor and fuel. The fact that you made use of the swimming pool long after departure time (10.00) and that we were running to full capacity and had great need to service the suite which you had occupied, does not require to blame us for you forgetting some of your baggage. We distinctly recall that you were being hurried by your partner and not by us FYI Karoo Lodge is inspected on a regular basis in compliance with heath regulations. The comment offered do not apply
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim C wrote a review Oct 2019
Jerusalem, Israel63 contributions16 helpful votes
Just what I was looking for. Traditional Afrikaans hospitality. Not expensive either. The grounds here are a little oasis in a water stressed area. The breakfast was excellent and we were made to feel very special. The room was huge and bed very comfortable. Highly recommended.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Hi, Sorry!. a Bit late in reply but necerless, thank you for your positive review
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenXXXXX wrote a review Sep 2019
Port Elizabeth, South Africa803 contributions139 helpful votes
Set well back from the main road so all is peaceful and quiet. Our room was spacious and comfortable and had everything one needed. Bed was comfortable and had a great nights sleep. Enjoyed an excellent breakfast the next morning. Beautiful grounds and well maintained despite the drought. All in all a great stay and have no problem in recommending Karoo Lodge should you be staying over in Prince Albert.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge
Responded 30 Sep 2019
Hi Stephen, Thank you so much for this great review. Lovely to know that all of our efforts to make a stay exceptional is awarded Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seventeengrand@yahoo.com wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution
This B&B with suites and dinner also possible, is a hidden gem in Prince Albert.
Great rooms, superb and comfortable bed....very rare... pleasant and hospitable hosts and very good value too. We will go back again... :-)
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge
Responded 16 Jun 2019
Thank you You have said it all and it counts!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cruiser386726 wrote a review Feb 2019
1 contribution
Definitely not 'luxurious' as advertised, just adequate. Clean room. Pool was dirty and is not fenced. There is no security. Anyone can drive or walk onto the property from the main street. Breakfast was good. Would not go back there.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Karoolodge, Owner at Karoo Lodge
Responded 07 Mar 2019
Hi Cruiser Sometimes a person go through life not noticing the surrounds. Our Swimming Pool is fed by crystal a clear underground water supply, water quality monitored by an automatic PH regulator. Automatic, time regulated, pool cleaner in operation Karoo Lodge is a place for adults. We do not accept children as guests and assume that adults know how to care for themselves, therefore we do not find any reason why we should fence the pool. All of our suites , entry doors and windows, are fitted with burglar bars and Trellidor security. Suites are guarded by electronic monitoring device. All of the above and in particular the latter; a bit of an over kill in this general safe destination Prince Albert
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous