We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor - St. Joseph

Room/Suite (28)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Booking.com
US$78
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/03/06
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$78
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/03/05
FindHotel
US$104
US$70
View Deal
SAVE US$34
Hotels.comUS$70
Expedia.comUS$70
ZenHotels.comUS$104
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... the hell out of there that next morning. DO NOT PURCHASE A ROOM FROM THIS PLACE! I have no clue what the laundry room or...
... stayed here extended stay and I really enjoyed. Nice clean room with wonderful staff to help any way they can. Red roof inn...
... so Jennifer radioed housekeeping and they had a few to my room in about two minutes. I also wanted to give a special...
Most popular question about the rooms
I would like to reserve a room for 1 night on 8/13, but the price shows $273!!!!! Your website show normal prices range from $61 - $165. Why is the price so high on 8/13??
Answer from CaseyStrawmier
Aug 2016 |
... Kevin, Its a very high peak weekend in the St. Joe's and Benton Harbor area. That is the rate if the room is still available.
Read more

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
huntermarken wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Honestly it was the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed at, and I’m not exaggerating when I say that. Don’t let the pictures fool you like they did to me. The rooms smell like straight up smoke to the point where you can hardly breathe and they were not clean whatsoever. The floors had a ton of dirt, sand, rocks and bugs all over them. Along with clothing tags and straps. The carpet was also very full of who knows what. The trashes still had some things in them as well. All of the towels were stained with orange and black stains, and there was no shampoo offered. The shower was one of the most disgusting things I’ve ever seen, there was tons of hair piled up in all of the corners of the tub, tons of pubic hair all over the place and the drain had no stopper so it was all covered over by blackened who knows what. And the shower isn’t even a shower. It’s something you would find in a 30 year old camper if not older. The inside of the refrigerator was cover in old food that had been spilt but never gotten cleaned up. And the pillow cases were stained as well as the sheets on the bed. I complained about being itchy to my boyfriend but we didn’t think anything of it until I got home and realized I had been bitten all over by something. Unfortunately I did not take any pictures because I was more worried about getting the hell out of there that next morning. DO NOT PURCHASE A ROOM FROM THIS PLACE! I have no clue what the laundry room or any of that looks like either but by the looks of the room I was in, I’m guessing horrible as well!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor - St. Joseph
Responded 10 Sep 2019
Hello Huntermarken, I am sorry your stay was not as comfortable as it should of been. When you checked in at 5pm I wish it was brought to our attention so we could of made your stay better. I didn't think there was any issues because you asked for a late check out and left at 1pm. Again I would never want any of our guest to have a bad experience and I wish we could of had the opportunity to make this better for you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeyB wrote a review Aug 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I had stayed here extended stay and I really enjoyed. Nice clean room with wonderful staff to help any way they can. Red roof inn is very reasonable and great location everything you need or want with in walking distance. I will come back and I highly recommend!!!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor - St. Joseph
Responded 21 Aug 2019
Thank you for your review. I am happy you enjoyed your time at our hotel. Hope to see you soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave A wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Ok, so this is going to be a little long but I want to be honest and objective.

Me & my family recently stayed at the Red Roof Inn and enjoyed a long weekend in beautiful southwestern Michigan. The Red Roof Inn is a budget / economy hotel. As such, I expected the accommodations to be a little more sparse than they were. Having read a few other reviews before we stayed here I wanted to kind of reiterate that point though. This isn’t a Marriott or the Hilton. As long as you have reasonable expectations, I think that you will find this hotel is a really good deal for the money.

There are a couple of cheaper options in the area but none that I could recommend in good conscience.

The building’s exterior could use some love in various places. It’s a little dated and the trim and paint needs to be touched up as noted by others.
The interior of the rooms has been updated though. They have cold a/c, a flatscreen tv and a refrigerator and microwave (which is pretty good for this price point). There are a few blemishes here and there such as a small spot touch up of off-white eggshell paint over a flat white and the like (nothing I would consider a deal breaker). The beds were comfortable and the linens were newer. The building lights on the exterior are all lit brightly with (It appears either cfl or led bulbs, I would guess 100 watt equivalent maybe?!). None are out. I was very happy with the property maintaining a well lit parking lot, we felt safer for it. The exterior door locks have been changed to key card entry. You can kind of tell where the old ones were and you have to put the do not disturb sign in the door number sign on the door instead (this is a pretty trivial detail as far as I’m concerned but I like to be thorough). There are also a couple of locks inside of the door, one being a deadbolt. The fire alarm was lit and tested normally. No plumbing or electrical appears to be exposed and / or malfunctioning.

I read in a previous review that someone experienced standing water in the shower. I wanted to note that the showers here are side drain rather than front drain. Therefore the shower curtains sent for the update are probably an inch or two too long to accommodate this type of tub and tend to bunch up under one side of the drain. Lift the curtain, no more water obstruction. This is really a design or update-to-design flaw but I could see how some may find it to be a minor annoyance.

The one part of the experience that was five stars all the way? The amazing staff. I was fortunate to meet Casey, the manager, while I was staying. I found her to be friendly and professional. Roni at the front desk was another bright point as well as Jennifer at the front desk the next morning. We needed more towels and they had just run out, so Jennifer radioed housekeeping and they had a few to my room in about two minutes. I also wanted to give a special “shout out” to Mickey (Laundry?). She was really helpful and polite and helped me find some items I was looking for.

I gave this hotel three stars out of five because of the fit and finish in places and i’m not a fan of the bathroom design / layout but it’s a solid hotel with updated rooms and a great staff for a really competitive price.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor - St. Joseph
Responded 08 Aug 2019
Hello. Thank you so much for the review. You had great observations of our hotel and that was wonderful. I am happy you and your family had a nice stay. We would love for you to return to see us on your next trip to Benton Harbor.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianna H wrote a review Aug 2019
South Haven, Michigan50 contributions14 helpful votes
This might be the smallest room I've ever stayed in (room 211). Not the cleanest I've ever been in. Certainly NOT like the picture. No hair dryer. Outlet by the sink does not work. Hole in the wall that hasn't been repaired. All for $155/night. Too much to pay. But the office staff is nice
And it's right off I 94 if you're looking for a place to sleep and get right back on the road. You get a free bottle of water, too 😄
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor - St. Joseph
Responded 05 Aug 2019
Hello Not the best place, I am sorry for any inconveniences this has caused you on your stay with us. I have addressed the issues with my staff and those issues will be taken care of immediately. Thank you for your review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M wrote a review Jul 2019
2 contributions
Dirty floors, dirty mattress, friendly staff that couldn’t do anything. Room wreaked of cigarette smoke. Spent an hour in the room wouldn’t stay the night, can’t get a dime back. The pictures of clean updated rooms are lies. Pictures with broken locks mold and filth are reality.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor - St. Joseph
Responded 31 Jul 2019
Hello Just don't, I watched the camera when you checked in at 3pm and noticed you didn't leave for 7 hours. You utilized everything in the room. At 5pm when you called Guest relations they offered to contact us and you refused and stayed another 5 hours in the room. We are always willing to accommodate our guest. I wish we would of had that opportunity with you. Yes we were full but if you would of said something to the front desk when you checked in we could of switched you. If not we would have came to your room and cleaned up what was wrong and we have smoke spray that would of eliminated the smell. We try to control people who smoke in our rooms but besides putting them on the do not rent list or charging them a fine we do the best we can with the smoke. I don't want you to feel like we don't care but there were other options if it was just brought to our attention and not having to read it in a complaint.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous

Questions & answers about the rooms

Answer from CaseyStrawmier
Aug 2016 |
Hello Kevin, Its a very high peak weekend in the St. Joe's and Benton Harbor area. That is the rate if the room is still available.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1