We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at The Winston Hotel

Room/Suite (56)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Travelocity
Booking.com
Priceline
US$238
US$159
View deal
SAVE US$79
Free cancellation until 21/06/25
Reserve now, pay at stay
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Trip.comUS$238
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... credit card. Booked in for 5 nights. No hot water in the room on the first 2 mornings. Had to change rooms to get hot...
I had a great time staying at this hotel, the room was beautiful and clean! The staff were very helpful and really made every...
... stay and the staff were really friendly and attentive. The room was spacious, bright and clean. The pool is great and the...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
James B wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
Booking process was difficult and frustrating. Quote was incorrect (quoted prices had changed). Hotel could not process payment on a South African credit card. Booked in for 5 nights. No hot water in the room on the first 2 mornings. Had to change rooms to get hot water.
Welcome dinner promised on night of arrival never happened. When questioned about it, was met with indifference by the staff.
Airport transfer agreed advertised and quoted at R180 suddenly ramped up to R250 without any warning. Again, when queried, met with indifference by staff.
General lack of professionalism.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2021
Room Tip: Go Elsewhere.
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at The Winston Hotel
Responded 29 Mar 2021
Dear James Brent and Helena Pinto, Our management team has contacted you directly, as after your departure, certain items were found to be missing and needed to be charged for or returned. After our communication with you, kindly requesting the return or payment of missing items, the above review was written by yourselves. In response to the claims above, and having provided proof to you on all accounts mentioned, we of course accept South African credit cards, as a South African establishment. At no point where you offered a welcome dinner, as this is not something that we offer. Furthermore, nowhere where you quoted R180 or R250 for an airport transfer, as neither are feasible prices. This review is intended to harm our reputation and is completely fabricated and based on lies.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia Edmonton wrote a review Dec 2020
Namibia1 contribution
I had a great time staying at this hotel, the room was beautiful and clean! The staff were very helpful and really made every effort to ensure I had a comfortable stay. I highly recommend this beautiful boutique hotel and will definitely be back on my next trip to South Africa.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Rob Jenkins wrote a review Nov 2020
Namibia1 contribution
I had a wonderful stay and the staff were really friendly and attentive. The room was spacious, bright and clean. The pool is great and the garden is beautifully well kept. The central location makes it really easy to get around the city . I will definitely be back
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at The Winston Hotel
Responded 16 Dec 2020
Dear RobJenkins34, On behalf of the staff and management of The Winston Hotel, I would like to thank you for your kind review and for staying with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, The Winston Hotel Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliceleRoux wrote a review Nov 2020
Oudtshoorn, South Africa28 contributions7 helpful votes
I travelled for business. The wifi is almost non functional.

There is an alarm on the faulty solar panel system that beeps every 20 seconds.

Drunken, very loud guests in the bar were allowed to drink and party until 03.00 after which the poor security guard tried to guide them to their rooms.

My room was not cleaned and there is no soap - rest of the amenities are almost empty in the bottles which are not sealed.

I would never recommend this hotel and will never stay there again.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, Owner at The Winston Hotel
Responded 16 Dec 2020
Dear AliceleRoux, Whilst we greatly value and welcome our guests feedback, and feel it gives us a chance to listen and improve, it is also well known that Tripadvisor is at times used as a tool by guests for financial gain and unjustified compensation. Our management team have been in touch with you and have tried to resolve these matters with you. Unfortunately you have denied their response and gesture of goodwill, as you say it does not cover your travel expenses of over R5000. We do not feel it is just nor our hotels responsibility to compensate your travel and flight expenses. We have investigated your concerns in detail and would like to address the following; There is no faulty solar panel, nor does it have an alarm. This has been checked and verified by our management team. Our bar closes at 11pm, we do not serve alcohol after this time so guests would not be allowed to drink and party in the bar until 03:00. Our housekeeping team attempted to clean your room on multiple occasions and you requested that they leave, as you were working in your room. Your soap was replenished and all of our amenities are replenished and replaced with new toiletries when finished as well as after each stay. Our guests well-being is of utmost importance to us and our team do their absolute best to accommodate our guests needs, if at any point you had any complaints or requests, I have no doubt that our team would have addressed your concerns and assisted you at all times during your stay. Regards, The Winston Hotel Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W wrote a review Feb 2020
Oxford, United Kingdom14 contributions29 helpful votes
Just left the Winston hotel after staying for four nights
This hotel is just brilliant the staff make it they are so friendly David the driver gives you the history of Johannesburg well he’s driving you about pail the barman is a treasure the housemaids are incredible the front of house cheerful the restaurant staff so happy and helpful
The bedrooms are large, super clean , bright, the Retford is good recommend the breakfast
Hotel is perfect for business trips and holiday vacations
So pleased we stayed her it made our Johannesburgh trip
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from WinstonHotelJHB, Guest Relations Manager at The Winston Hotel
Responded 29 Jun 2020
Dear Robertw6636, On behalf of The Winston Hotel, I would like to thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. Our team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience! We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, The Team - Winston Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous
123456