We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Pool
at Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp

Pool & Beach (19)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Pool review highlights
... yoga sessions with Harrison, took advantage of lazing by the pool and even used the small gym! Luxuries that have been...
... body lotion), a big terrace with a comfy sofa facing a hippo pool, hot shower and bathtub. Families with kids occupied the...
... but I did want to include to make travelers aware. The pools is very nice; the camp also has a gym and spa for your use....
Featured pool amenities
Outdoor pool
Pool / Beach Towels

Reviews that mention pool

Write a review
Emma Eriksson wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
Finch Hattons is fantastic. I think the overwhelming experience is one of being deeply and personally looked after. The team there are quick to understand each persons specific needs and likes and create a personalised experience just for you.

Tsavo itself is all about the nature. You may not see an animal around every corner, but we did see herds of elephants, journeys of girafe, dazzles of zebra (all collective nouns and other amazing nature facts provided by the incomparable Chiti and Christopher our guide and driver) and even had the phenomenal pleasure of seeing a leopard!! My first in 10-15 years. Beyond the animals though you just get to enjoy the fantastic expansive nature that Tsavo has to offer. We became keen birders having been introduced to more than 100 of the parks 400+ bird species and we also learned a huge amount about the flora and fauna and their uses in medicine, dental hygiene and even alcohol brewing.

In addition to the nature, one can not speak of Finch without talking about the food. Breakfast, lunch and dinner (each 3 to 5 course meals) are spectacular. The dining ethos is absolutely farm to table, the food is stunningly presented, delicious and has you dreaming of the next encounter. The same standards can be found in their amazing bush breakfast and sundowners where a full breakfast set up complete with omelettes and waffles (dairy free to suit my dietary restrictions) served on Finches beautiful China, or a full bar ready for any cocktail requests awaited us under the Acacia trees.

Finch can also just be a place to relax... the spa (while not used by our group) had rave reviews from the other camp guests, our team had two phenomenal yoga sessions with Harrison, took advantage of lazing by the pool and even used the small gym! Luxuries that have been difficult to come by during this pandemic. At Finch we never felt Covid concerned, the team have phenomenal protocols in place that make you feel safe and comfortable but never take away from the quality Of the experience.

I unfortunately had a minor medical emergency while at Finch and within minutes they had me on the phone to a doctor, a wheelchair to take me back to the room, and the full staff on standby should I have needed anything. The care and thoughtfulness shown by all staff is something I am truly grateful for and will not forget.

And so I would just like to say thank you to William (the manager), Felix, Julius and the rest of the food and beverage team, Alex and the camp guides, Harrison, and most of all to Chiti and Christopher for making it a stay none of us will forget. Asanteni
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp, Guest Services / Front Office at Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp
Responded 04 Jan 2021
Dear Emily, Wow! Thank you so much for your heartfelt detailed review! What a Happy New Year it is! It was an absolute pleasure having you as our guest! From the entire Finch team, we are thrilled you had the most memorable experience and we cannot wait to have you back with us soon! It’s reviews like this that keep us going and motivated! Warmest Finch regards, The Finch Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NyaHara wrote a review Aug 2020
Nairobi, Kenya367 contributions167 helpful votes
+1
This camp had been on my list for many years, but due to its location and price, I didn't manage to come. Thanks to Covid, the camp now offers a fantastic rate for residents in Kenya, and we took the offer immediately we heard about the camp's re-open.
In short, the place was fully booked and seemed staff were not used to handle many guests though my group was 5 adults in 5 tents. The facility was excellent, a view of Kilimanjaro from the viewing deck and a fireplace called Boma. All the tents were spacious, well equipped (except that my tent didn't have body lotion), a big terrace with a comfy sofa facing a hippo pool, hot shower and bathtub. Families with kids occupied the main pool with kids, but they allowed us to use a spa pool which was quiet and beautiful. The food was not excellent (hamburger for lunch on our arrival was a big minus).
HOWEVER, the service was horrible except a night security Issac and Victor at the Spa area. When we arrived at the camp, there was the owner of the camp, but they didn't come to say hi nor introduced themselves to us. The staff were friendly that for sure, but very slow and forgetful. For example, when sat down for breakfast after a game drive and no other guests were around, what do you expect? I do want to have a quick and smooth service which was missing in this camp. They didn't bring menu until we asked them, no one came to take our order until we ask them, we didn't get what we ordered for a long time, and it took us nearly for 1.5 hours to finish a meal. When we went for a sundowner, the driver took us to a place where we could not see the sun as the sun was behind the hill—no complimentary snack for sundowner and morning game drive. When we set our early morning game drive, if I was at another camp in the same level, I am sure that they would ask us if we need a wakeup call and a security escort as we are not allowed to walk around even within the camp during dark hours. they didn't do anything. One evening I had requested for a security escort to come to my tent at 6:15 am in the next morning to take me to the viewing deck. I followed the staff's advice to have security when I told them that I want to see a sunrise.
Guess what. No one came to pick me in the next morning. We asked for a bill of drinks with a breakdown for each meal after having noticed that we didn't sign on any bill after a few meals. It was already ridiculous at this level of camp. And when a guy brought us a bill, it indicated the total amount only despite our clear request to put a breakdown (this is very important in Kenya to avoid not paying for what you didn't order.). After our last dinner, we again requested the manager Jonathan that they should prepare a comprehensive bill with a breakdown and bring it to us at breakfast time next day as we planned to leave just after the breakfast. Next morning while we were having breakfast, they didn't bring anything. I had to ask again. Then the bill came without details. How come?? each mistake is so small, but when they pile up, it leaves all negative impression to the camp. My list of poor service in this camp goes on. I had too high expectation and got poorly disappointed.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020
Room Tip: we stayed at tent#12-16, the furthest and it was always a long walk but it was only us who came...
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp, Guest Services / Front Office at Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp
Responded 24 Sep 2020
Dear Nyahara Thank you for your valued feedback. We are sorry to hear that you faced some issues during your stay with us at Finch Hattons and we sincerely apologise for this. The Camp had just reopened after four months and whilst the general feedback from guests was very positive, we are the first to acknowledge that we did face some service issues during the dates you stayed with us and for this we extend our heartfelt apologies. Our team strives to go above and beyond for every guest that we have the privilege of hosting and we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We take all feedback very seriously as our priority remains to ensure all our clients receive an outstanding experience during their stay with us. We appreciate your helpful and constructive criticism which we have taken on board, to ensure that we make improvements where we can going forward. Warm regards, The Finch Hattons Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamaG wrote a review Mar 2020
Cary, North Carolina199 contributions82 helpful votes
The service and food at this camp is second to none. The entire staff makes you feel welcome and is accommodating to your every need. Our meals were out of this world, the best we have ever had on any safari.

The accommodations are as stated a luxury tent. The tent is very nice with all the amenities that you could need during a stay on safari. There is a lot of privacy as other tents are far away which is nice. The few drawbacks to the room are that there is no air conditioning, it can be quite noisy at night and the power is turned off for multiple times per day. The days we were there were not overly warm; however, I would imagine there are times that the tent gets quite warm during the day. The tent is made up entirely of screens which is great for airflow; however, it does make it quite noisy at night with the sounds of the animals. A light sleeper may have trouble resting. In addition, the camp is run by generator; therefore, the power is turned off multiple times during the day. This did not impact our stay but I did want to include to make travelers aware.

The pools is very nice; the camp also has a gym and spa for your use.

Our safari guide was wonderful and gave us a great experience. He catered the safari to our likes/dislikes and was very accommodating.

The scenery throughout the park is amazing with tons of lookout points and areas for wonderful pictures. The game viewing is difficult due to the fact that the camp is in a National Park; therefore, must follow the rules of the park. There is no off roading and the animals are quite skittish. There is a lot to see but you must be patient and may only get a quick glimpse of some animals before they scurry away.

Overall a great experience.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp, Owner at Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp
Responded 24 Aug 2020
Dear Dreama, We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Finch Hattons. It is our absolute priority to ensure our guests’ are as comfortable as possible, so it’s lovely to hear such positive feedback. On your next trip, we highly recommend trying out the swahili dinner or the Chyulu Rainforest hike - a favourite among our guests. We are already looking forward to your return and once again thank you so much. Regards, The Finch Hattons Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
africanman_840 wrote a review Feb 2020
Nairobi, Kenya3 853 contributions218 helpful votes
I have been on no less than 24 safaris all over Africa and if I added up all the time spent on safari it would be more than one year. I have to say that Finch Hattons had the best food and service I have ever seen. At every meal, there was a choice of the main course. The desserts were particularly awesome thanks to their pastry chef. It is in fact worth coming here just for the food and service.

I also saw a good deal of wildlife including two leopards. There was plenty of giraffes,buffalo, and various antelope including eland.

I just loved swimming in the pool. My room was beautiful and comfortable. I will return.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp, Guest Services / Front Office at Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp
Responded 23 Sep 2020
Dear Africanman_840, Thank you for sharing an outstanding review on your recent experience at Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp. We appreciate your lovely feedback on the service, comfort of your luxury tented suite, the interactions you had with the team and the wildlife spotting. Thank you for also appreciating the dining experience at camp. Dining is and always has been an integral part of every guest experience. We use only the freshest locally sourced, organic ingredients, many of which are grown within the camp itself and lovingly tended to by our team. Again, thank you for the kind words. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again in the near future at the magical Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CndFamilyInLondon wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom37 contributions22 helpful votes
We wen to 4 luxury safari camps on our trip through Kenya and Tanzania, and this was the best. The staff were the sharpest, friendliest, and best trained. The rooms are amazing, and very private. The food was amazing, the pool area lovely, and the yoga studio and instructor amazing. And all guests greatly enjoyed the after dinner fire pit gathering spot. The guides and vehicles were of top quality, and while this area does not have as much easy to find wildlife as the Masai and Serengeti, we saw a lot, and almost never saw any of the 3 vehicles from the camp, making it feel very exclusive. The surprise breakfast and sundowner away from the hotel were extremely high-end and well served, and even had remote luxury flush lavatories that the ladies in our group appreciated. All this, plus a view of Kilimanjaro. This was the most special safari camp on out trip!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp, Guest Services / Front Office at Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp
Responded 23 Sep 2020
Dear CndFamilyInLondon, Thank you so much for sharing such a lovely review, it means so much to us here at Finch Hattons. The entire team sends their heartfelt thanks for your kind words about them & your stay with us. Tsavo is truly a special place and we are grateful to call it come home so it makes us smile when we receive reviews like yours! The pleasure was all ours, thank you for choosing to visit us and we can not wait to welcome you back again soon! Regards, The Finch Hattons Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous