We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp

Room/Suite (67)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Room review highlights
The accommodations are top notch. We had a two bedroom suite. Beautiful living room, nice deck overlooking a hippo pond....
... the phone to a doctor, a wheelchair to take me back to the room, and the full staff on standby should I have needed...
... I was lucky to propose to my girlfriend at their stargazing room and I think it's one of my favorite places in the world...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
ledlloyd420 wrote a review Feb 2021
Westlake Village, California7 contributions1 helpful vote
The accommodations are top notch. We had a two bedroom suite. Beautiful living room, nice deck overlooking a hippo pond. Food is farm to table with just the right portion size. Great place to stay and enjoy the bush.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp, Guest Services / Front Office at Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp
Responded 24 Feb 2021
Dear @ledlloyd420, Thank you for this great feedback! We are super glad you had a wonderful time, and had unforgettable experiences at Finch. We look forward to hosting you in the near future. Warmest regards, The Finch Hattons Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma Eriksson wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
Finch Hattons is fantastic. I think the overwhelming experience is one of being deeply and personally looked after. The team there are quick to understand each persons specific needs and likes and create a personalised experience just for you.

Tsavo itself is all about the nature. You may not see an animal around every corner, but we did see herds of elephants, journeys of girafe, dazzles of zebra (all collective nouns and other amazing nature facts provided by the incomparable Chiti and Christopher our guide and driver) and even had the phenomenal pleasure of seeing a leopard!! My first in 10-15 years. Beyond the animals though you just get to enjoy the fantastic expansive nature that Tsavo has to offer. We became keen birders having been introduced to more than 100 of the parks 400+ bird species and we also learned a huge amount about the flora and fauna and their uses in medicine, dental hygiene and even alcohol brewing.

In addition to the nature, one can not speak of Finch without talking about the food. Breakfast, lunch and dinner (each 3 to 5 course meals) are spectacular. The dining ethos is absolutely farm to table, the food is stunningly presented, delicious and has you dreaming of the next encounter. The same standards can be found in their amazing bush breakfast and sundowners where a full breakfast set up complete with omelettes and waffles (dairy free to suit my dietary restrictions) served on Finches beautiful China, or a full bar ready for any cocktail requests awaited us under the Acacia trees.

Finch can also just be a place to relax... the spa (while not used by our group) had rave reviews from the other camp guests, our team had two phenomenal yoga sessions with Harrison, took advantage of lazing by the pool and even used the small gym! Luxuries that have been difficult to come by during this pandemic. At Finch we never felt Covid concerned, the team have phenomenal protocols in place that make you feel safe and comfortable but never take away from the quality Of the experience.

I unfortunately had a minor medical emergency while at Finch and within minutes they had me on the phone to a doctor, a wheelchair to take me back to the room, and the full staff on standby should I have needed anything. The care and thoughtfulness shown by all staff is something I am truly grateful for and will not forget.

And so I would just like to say thank you to William (the manager), Felix, Julius and the rest of the food and beverage team, Alex and the camp guides, Harrison, and most of all to Chiti and Christopher for making it a stay none of us will forget. Asanteni
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp, Guest Services / Front Office at Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp
Responded 04 Jan 2021
Dear Emily, Wow! Thank you so much for your heartfelt detailed review! What a Happy New Year it is! It was an absolute pleasure having you as our guest! From the entire Finch team, we are thrilled you had the most memorable experience and we cannot wait to have you back with us soon! It’s reviews like this that keep us going and motivated! Warmest Finch regards, The Finch Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diallo Gatabaki wrote a review Dec 2020
Nairobi, Kenya10 contributions
+1
There aren't enough great things I can say about this place! I was in awe of the quality of service and attention to detail. The food was extraordinary and the staff quickly became friends during our 3 night stay! The rooms was spacious and the outdoor shower simply magical. We were lucky enough to spot a Leopard (which is very rare) during one of our game drives.
I was lucky to propose to my girlfriend at their stargazing room and I think it's one of my favorite places in the world right now! All in all, a fantastic experience that I will look forward to always.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp, Guest Services / Front Office at Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp
Responded 06 Dec 2020
Dear Diallo, Thank you so much for choosing Finch Hattons to share your special moment with us! Our whole team is delighted every detail went according to plan and that you will forever hold the most memorable experiences here! Your excellent review reaffirms the hard work and passion our team puts in every day. Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us. Congratulations once again to you and your Fiancée! We look forward to hosting you again in the near future! Warmest regards, The Finch Hattons Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peopleareveryodd wrote a review Dec 2020
Nairobi, Kenya5 contributions2 helpful votes
Probably my favourite safari experience in Kenya and I've been here for a while. Extraordinary spot, wonderful staff, and Tsavo is always very special. My only request would be to have (solar-powered?) batteries in each suite to power the fans overnight.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp, Guest Services / Front Office at Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp
Responded 02 Dec 2020
Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Tsavo. We are delighted to hear it’s your favourite safari experience as it is ours too! Thank you for the suggestion on solar power in the suites, it is in the discussion. We look forward to hosting you again! Warm regards, The Finch Hattons Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamaG wrote a review Mar 2020
Cary, North Carolina199 contributions82 helpful votes
The service and food at this camp is second to none. The entire staff makes you feel welcome and is accommodating to your every need. Our meals were out of this world, the best we have ever had on any safari.

The accommodations are as stated a luxury tent. The tent is very nice with all the amenities that you could need during a stay on safari. There is a lot of privacy as other tents are far away which is nice. The few drawbacks to the room are that there is no air conditioning, it can be quite noisy at night and the power is turned off for multiple times per day. The days we were there were not overly warm; however, I would imagine there are times that the tent gets quite warm during the day. The tent is made up entirely of screens which is great for airflow; however, it does make it quite noisy at night with the sounds of the animals. A light sleeper may have trouble resting. In addition, the camp is run by generator; therefore, the power is turned off multiple times during the day. This did not impact our stay but I did want to include to make travelers aware.

The pools is very nice; the camp also has a gym and spa for your use.

Our safari guide was wonderful and gave us a great experience. He catered the safari to our likes/dislikes and was very accommodating.

The scenery throughout the park is amazing with tons of lookout points and areas for wonderful pictures. The game viewing is difficult due to the fact that the camp is in a National Park; therefore, must follow the rules of the park. There is no off roading and the animals are quite skittish. There is a lot to see but you must be patient and may only get a quick glimpse of some animals before they scurry away.

Overall a great experience.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp, Owner at Finch Hattons Luxury Tented Camp
Responded 24 Aug 2020
Dear Dreama, We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Finch Hattons. It is our absolute priority to ensure our guests’ are as comfortable as possible, so it’s lovely to hear such positive feedback. On your next trip, we highly recommend trying out the swahili dinner or the Chyulu Rainforest hike - a favourite among our guests. We are already looking forward to your return and once again thank you so much. Regards, The Finch Hattons Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous