We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Pool
at Moon Palace Jamaica

Pool & Beach (639)
23 people are viewing this hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Expedia.com
US$437
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/03/10
Booking.com
US$444
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/03/09
StayForLong
US$444
US$424
View Deal
SAVE US$20
Hotels.comUS$437
eDreamsUS$444
ZenHotels.comUS$433
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Pool review highlights
... excellent throughout - whether it was room service, pool service, or any of the restaurants. The following employees...
... shout out to some that went further than expected: Kieron (pool and beach area)---we found him our 3rd day and he looked for...
... lacks charisma and imagination. The ladies who serve by the pool all wonderful forgive me cannot remember names. The staff...
Most popular question about the pool
Asking recent guests, did you have to wear masks all around the resort? Especially by the pool and beach areas?!
Answer from nakita j
Jan 2021 |
... at all times not when you are eating and not in the swimming pool or in the water at the beach but at the pool side if you...
Read more

Reviews that mention pool

Write a review
NickNewton36 wrote a review Feb 2021
Somerset, Wisconsin174 contributions55 helpful votes
+1
It was our first time to Moon Palace Jamaica, and we were not disappointed. The dedication to ensuring every guest happiness and safety was displayed in every action and protocol. We will definitely come back - the staff made our stay so enjoyable we cannot wait to return. The food quality was consistently excellent throughout - whether it was room service, pool service, or any of the restaurants.

The following employees distinguished themselves so much they deserve special mention:

Sylvia with Bell Service
Debra with Guest Service
Najir - service at Pier 8
Rowan - VIP Beach Cabana butler
Chef Vivek and Veronica at MOMO - we ate there 4 times!
Scotisha and Yanisa at Snack Bar - every evening happy hour before dinner!

The complimentary COVID test for return to US was quick, efficient and painless. Loved the catamaran sunset cruise as well!

Kudos to the entire staff at MPJ - you made a lasting impression on us. Ya Mon!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MPJ Manager, General Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica
Responded 1 week ago
Dear NickNewton36, Fantastic! The main aim of our team was to provide you with total comfort and satisfaction, simultaneously generate for you unforgettable memories. In light of this, we are extremely grateful to learn that our mission was accomplished. Our collaborators who have been highlighted will be thrilled to know that their execution made a remarkable impression on your enjoyment and will be congratulated. We thank you for selecting The Palace Life for this unforgettable holiday; it will certainly be our pleasure to host your return. Kind regards, Erol Lingo General Manager Moon Palace Jamaica
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBJamaica2021 wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
The resort was so nice, relaxing and plenty to do for all. We stayed 7 days and enjoyed all the restaurants, room service (nice variety menu) and an amazing coffee/dessert shop.

All staff was great, but a shout out to some that went further than expected:

Kieron (pool and beach area)---we found him our 3rd day and he looked for us and made sure we had everything we needed/wanted. He even inisisted on getting us things that we would not have expected any waitstaff to get such as towels and offerred to get my daughter cake that was not on the menu because she mentioned it.

Devion (pizza/paninis area)-the last day, towards the end of the day, he was so nice, helpful, went above and beyond to make sure we were happy .

Setirah, Shellian, Jermaine and Shawna-Lee in the kid playroom were always so welcoming and good with the kiddos. They were always doing something with the kids and you could tell really enjoyed their job. The kids always wanted to go visit them.

We did dolphin cove on Friday at 10:15 a.m. (Feb 19) and the lady who did the orientation was awesome and the person who worked with us (the group of 2 vs. group of 7) was so great. Such a great excursion for all ages. (sorry, didn't get the names--please pass to those staff).

We were in Tower 2 on 9th floor and the view was awesome! We could see dolphin cove, the beach, many of the pools...nothing like sitting on the balcony with such great views and it was nice and quiet in the morning.

Because of covid, there were some limiations but nothig that I'd say was a disappointment.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helpful
Share
Response from MPJ Manager, General Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica
Responded 1 week ago
Dear MBJamaica2021, Thank you for making our paradise your home away from home. It fills us with joy to learn of your thorough enjoyment and while we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your utmost satisfaction. Your Palace experience is of utmost importance to us, as such, we will applaud each team member who heightened your excitement and affirmed your delight. We will be honored to welcome you to another Palace adventure. Kind regards, Erol Lingo General Manager Moon Palace Jamaica
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliyahu6 wrote a review Jan 2021
Margate, United Kingdom16 contributions15 helpful votes
Very overrated and boring hotel. Weak entertainment nothing really to do. Daniel (female on guest relations) very awful to deal with and had part in ruining our time there. Raodian amazing friendly helpful kind and nice as well as the staff in his section of work. The animation team are non existent. The personal trainer in the gym lacks charisma and imagination. The ladies who serve by the pool all wonderful forgive me cannot remember names. The staff who deal with water sports literally do. Nothing but sit there and are not very friendly. Food is great but if you wanna put on weight then by all means go ahead. I personally would not recommend this hotel if you are looking for some fun vibes and great entertainment. To eat everyday then yes ok but the food in the 24 hour cafe is stale the chocolate truffles are stale the sandwich is stale and for the price per night this is not acceptable. Restaurant service very poor and food not great. The lifeguard with the dreadlocks female not friendly. We had a real bad time there overall and the rooms are small.
I’ve stayed in majority of the hotels in Jamaica and this one is very much overpriced for what it has to offer!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MPJ Manager, General Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica
Responded 16 Jan 2021
Dear Aliyahu6, Our team is thankful to have been chosen for this vacation and appreciate that you have taken the time to share your feedback. Whilst we are glad to know that you were pleased with our wait-staff and meal service, we do regret knowing that other aspects of our service did not meet your expectation. We take note of shared opinions and are hopeful that should our resort be reconsidered for a future visit, we will be able to surpass your every expectation. Kind regards, Erol Lingo General Manager Moon Palace Jamaica
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon J wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had another excellent week at Moon Palace highlighted by the incredible staff that we encountered. The physical facilities are nice and have been adapted for COVID safety in all areas with sanitizing of hands, phones, temperature checks and shoe cleansing on arrival. The staff have maintained their high level of training and we observed excellent hand cleansing and safe practices by the wait and bar staff, also cleaning pens and counter tops by the guest services and front desk staff.
Although the service throughout the hotel was excellent there are always a few standouts that go above and beyond that deserve to be recognized:
Our concierge's Veronica and Ronick were simply the best. In the Pier 8 restaurant, Yanique and Najir were outstanding in making our dining experiences perfect.
Our Sommelier Leon enhanced our dining experiences with accurately pairing wine selections for our dinners. In Buccaneers reef the buffet food was fresh and watched over carefully by the staff. The plates were maintained behind the counter and foods were served by the staff only. Dane and Roadain were our stand out servers.
Nickeisha was an amazing pool concierge who went above and beyond to meet our needs. We can't wait to get back on the beach with her again.
Dwayne was our outstanding staff at MoMo. No trip to Moon Palace is complete without a trip to the spa. Their front desk staff was incredible. Our outstanding therapists were Shawna and Jay. We look forward to their excellent massages on our return trip.
Our servers and bartenders in the lobby and piano bar are simply the best: Sabrina, Tamara, Odain and Jerome....when we see them we know we are home.
We look forward to our return trip this month. We chose Moon Palace because of the safety measures instituted by Jamaica, the hotel and the transportation company that they utilize (JTL). The service and food are incredible. The friendly and attentive staff keep us coming back year after year. To all the managers behind the scenes that maintain the quality of each department, we thank you.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Junior suite is our favorite. They have nice balconies and good views
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MPJ Manager, General Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica
Responded 11 Jan 2021
Dear Jon J, We are appreciative of the fact that our resort was selected for this holiday and are elated that we have made the start of your year a safe and vibrant one. Our management team recognize with much gratitude your acknowledgement of our continued efforts to deliver optimal guest satisfaction amidst this pandemic and take into account the efforts of our collaborators whom you have further highlighted. You may rest assured that your compliments will be communicated throughout our family. It is always a pleasure to have you with us and to be entrusted with your confidence. We extend sincere wishes to you and yours for the New Year and are looking forward to your soon return. Kind regards, Erol Lingo General Manager Moon Palace Jamaica
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tagreen60 wrote a review Jan 2021
Castle Rock, Colorado7 contributions8 helpful votes
My wife and I went to Moon Palace Jamaica once Jamaica and US resumed travel at the end of August. We were almost hung up by the changes in the entry requirements, but we got there and found a nice oasis of relaxation. There were a couple really bright spots and a couple downers, but the downers were primarily related to traveling during the pandemic and being restricted to the hotel, so that is understandable.

Getting to Jamaica was an adventure. We were fine to travel and the about a week out from our travel, the rules changed and we had to get tests and approval from Jamaica to travel. We were able to get our tests in time and got authorization from Jamaica to enter while waiting at Newark for the flight to Jamaica. Like others who have commented, we found we needed to call the Jamaican health ministry several times to try to get approval the night before our flight. If you haven't heard from Jamaica Health after 2 days, start calling the public numbers - even calling and getting no answer seems to get a response.

The resort was almost the Palace experience we were use to in Mexico and there were some key people that really helped make it great. However, there were more "no - we can't do that" at our 10 days in Jamaica then we heard at our 6 years in Mexico travel. The pool team wasn't very fun and they seemed more concerned about getting a work out in than entertaining guests. However, the resort had maybe 10-15% occupancy when we travelled, so all of that has to be in perspective.

Other than some of the staff not truly feeling like Palace, the GM from Moon Palace Cancun made us a deal we couldn't pass up and upgraded our membership on site. That led us to the VIP section of the beach (although the beach was empty so you really had most of it to yourself). The resort is on a beautiful cove and so the beach and water is really calm and perfect for relaxing in the sun and cooling off in the water. And we cooled off a lot as it was blazing hot (hotter than same temps in Mexico). We enjoyed the activities that were running, but missed being able to go off resort, except for two special trips by ourselves that the resort arranged for us. Our biggest disappointment was that the buffets were shut down (I know - who would think that would be the concern), but otherwise, we were satisfied.

A couple things that stood out.

1) first and foremost - I had jerk chicken EVERY DAY! I didn't get the names of everyone at the Jerk Chicken shack, but if you don't get Jerk Chicken every day, you are missing out. It was simply amazing and the best part of the resort!!!! Hands down!

2) Our beach servers were amazing and one server really nailed the Palace experience. I can't say enough about Rowan who waited on us nearly every day and not only brought us drinks and jerk chicken, but talked with us, told us about Jamaica, and explained the elections going on while we were at the resort. He was the best service we had while we were there. Helping Rowan was Caeda and Scotisha, that were also great service and we enjoyed talking with them since the beach was so empty.

3) The restaurants were limited so we went to the Gondola three times while there, including our last night for an anniversary dinner. Can't say enough about Delroy our waiter that also knew how to accommodate every special request and was able to chat with us and introduce us to the others that were helping out. We love that part about Palace. And a big shout out to Chef Oral, who made a special dinner for our anniversary and made special dishes that weren't on the menu, just to help us celebrate! It was amazing.

We also went to Momo several times - but only did Hibachi once. Chef Ibris at the hibachi was great and did a service just for us. However, the real gem was probably the second best server we had at the resort and that was Oneish at the regular Momo dinner side. He was also so accommodating and made every attempt to make sure we had an amazing experience with him. He is very Palace!

We ate at the main restaurant for breakfast and lunch a couple times as it was easy - the food off the menu was limited and was mostly just okay, but we found a couple people that helped make it the best possible. As noted, we actually missed the buffet. Big shoutout to Rodian, who was the 3rd best server there - he was amazing and helped us and everyone around when not all the staff was being attentive. Also, can't say enough about Dalton and Jahvon who were there and would help make me an Arnold Palmer and find some avocados for my wife.

3) We enjoyed a couple activities at the resort. There were two tours that the resort offered where my wife and I essentially got private tours. We were able to go to Dunns River Falls and Konoko Falls. We had so much fun on both of the excursions and actually enjoyed that part of having so few people at the resort. We had private guides for both trips that made it amazing for us and took pictures.

We enjoyed the beach activities and used the paddleboards in the second lagoon area although wished we could have gone around to the other beach area to make the time longer and more eventful.

Best part of the activities was the WaveRider and learning to surf on it for the first time. Even learned how to jump in from the top on my feet. I got to give a huge shout out to Devar and Diego for their patience and willingness to let me try new things and play on the boards for hours.

The other activity we really enjoyed was the sunset cruise. I would highly recommend it and had a ton of fun; the crew even helped us relax and gave us time to get in the water and that was a blast. I recommend Captain Anthony, Sheldon and Christovan on our evening cruise.

3) Spa - so, with restrictions on getting out, we utilized the spa alot. I mean, every day a lot. it was good and while the staff wasn't quite as friendly as the spa staff in Mexico resorts, it was still amazing. There were a couple staff that stood out as well - Shari was simply the best masseuse. Closely behind, Simone and Rannella were awesome as well.

Overall, not sure what all we expected traveling during pandemic. We felt safe at the resort and enjoyed the couple opportunities to get off property. I did run off resort up in the hills, which was the most unexpected part of the resort - seeing the beautiful beach running up into tree lined hills. Loved running up to what I was told was Keith Richards mansion and then up to a small town in the pouring rain.

I am not sure this trip really tells all about the resort given the limitations with the pandemic, but it was an amazing trip and overall, we enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020
Room Tip: We enjoyed the towers closest to the private lagoon - the views were amazing.
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MPJ Manager, General Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica
Responded 08 Jan 2021
Dear tagreen60, Season greetings to you and yours. We are very happy to learn that your overall experience was enjoyed and appreciate that you have taken the time to share your detailed review. As our esteemed member, it is important for us to know that top-tier service is delivered to you consistently and that unforgettable memories are created. As such, we will remain mindful of the pros and cons that you have listed as we continue to maximize our guests' experience whilst being in compliance with the relevant guidelines. We sincerely thank you for your persistence to visit our island at that period in time and are hopeful that our team, especially those whom you have mentioned, will have the pleasure of serving you to a more exhilarating Jamaican experience in the future. Kind regards, Erol Lingo General Manager Moon Palace Jamaica
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Previous

Questions & answers about the pool

Answer from nakita j
Jan 2021 |
Sure you have to wear mask at all times not when you are eating and not in the swimming pool or in the water at the beach but at the pool side if you are just relaxing on a chair and you are social distancing you can choose to keep your mask on or off but if you are walking around a mask is a must
0 votes
Show all answers
Answer from MPJ_Manager
Dec 2020 |
Hello Samar: Thank you for reaching out to us. Aside from the mentioned activities, we have Kayaking, paddleboard and sailboat available for our young guests' entertainment. Nightly entertainment is also offered to the entire family whilst personalized entertainment is provided based on by our Entertainment Team. Our Palace Resort App, which is freely downloaded on any app store, may be used to view our daily activities schedule. Kind regards, Manager Moon Palace Jamaica
0 votes
Show all answers
Answer from MPJ_Manager
Nov 2020 |
Hello 673leanne: Thank you for sharing your question. As a family resort, all pools are open for the use of all guests. Our Snack Bar Pool is however, utilized mainly by families including children as it is closer to the Waterpark. All indoor bars and Club Noir are opened to adults only. Kindest regards, Manager Moon Palace Jamaica
0 votes
Show all answers
Answer from MPJ_Manager
Sep 2020 |
Hello Mairelys G: Thank you for reaching out to us. Yes, vegan options are provided on our menus. All pools are opened for the use of our guests and entertainment activities provided. Our Wired Lounge and Playroom are also open for guest entertainment. Kind regards.
1 vote
Show all answers
Russ G asked a question Jul 2020
Kidderminster, United Kingdom66 contributions125 helpful votes
Is there an adults only area or pool at the resort?
Answer from Katina Markvicka
Aug 2020 |
There is more than enough pool space. The pools are attached but separated by bridges and other items. There is a pool area that is most visited by children as it has items that are geared towards them. No need to think that children will interrupt you. As far as adults only areas... not that I recall.
0 votes
PreviousNext
12345613