We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation

Room/Suite (82)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Room review highlights
avatar-image
... that they reduce the daily rate to R200,00 per day for a room. It was the worst experience of my life and people should be...
avatar-image
... his race and drunk their own drinks on his property. The room size was average however the maintenance of them is...
avatar-image
... as suggested by a handy list of rules provided in each room.Yes, the resort is built on stilts and if you have an room...
Most popular question about the rooms
... I am confused. There is no front door, only a sliding door at the entrance of your room. The TV Remote and Air Con Remote is given to you when you arrive, that is why you...
avatar-image
Answer from Johan v
Dec 2015 |
You are Correct - We Really try our best for every client - most of our clients return and have a fantastic time - unfortunately t...
Read more
Featured room amenities
Safe
Refrigerator in room
Ocean View
Baggage Storage
Electric Kettle
Air conditioning
Cable / Satellite TV
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Family Rooms
See all room amenities (11)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
avatar-image
alsheduplessis wrote a review Jan 2016
Cape Town Central, South Africa51 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
Definitely the worst accommodation in Ponta
Dirty rooms, dirty pool, quality of beds are disgusting and smells, toilet blocked, shower blocked, no electricity, no water, no ventilation in rooms - if you wanted water and electricity you had to ask the owners.
We paid R1250,00 per night. Not worth it at all. This resort can pass off as a backpackers and I would advise that they reduce the daily rate to R200,00 per day for a room. It was the worst experience of my life and people should be warned about this place. It is not worth the money or experience. They have a no refund policy - do not waist your money or spoil your holiday. It is not a resort, it's a backpackers. Not worth it!!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from JohanvJ, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Responded 27 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review - I have recently taken over the Resort and assure you that major changes have been done to It. All rooms bathrooms have been tiled - New 20 year guarantee mattresses have been bought for all the rooms and is fitted. New Management have been employed - New Air-conditioners have been bought and fitted to replace the old ones. Swimming Pool have been built - New parking Area is currently been constructed and Lawn have been order for the Resort and will be delivered within the next 4 Weeks. We assure you that lots of effort went it to Resort and we know that even though the Resort's Accommodation is Basic it offers you now: Non- Self Catering, Air-Conditioned, with Mosquitoes Nets, 60l Fridge, Own Bath Room, 6 Channel Fixed Satellite TV. All Menu's have been redone. Safe and Clean Accommodation right on the Beach with new hands on Management. We will welcome you coming to stay now with us and experience the difference!! RIGHT ON THE BEACH FRONT!! Regards Johan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tenesha2015 wrote a review May 2015
Durban, South Africa1 contribution5 helpful votes
This was my first trip to Ponta. It was a family vacay for 27 people for my dads 60th birthday. Over the phone and via mail Johan promises the world. However when time to deliver his attitude and arogancy is disgusting. We booked 12 rooms and expected to have good service with this money made off us.

We discussed that I could bring alcohol and pay a corkage as we are a big group however the day we arrived he refused and stated was not true. The very next day people arrive of his race and drunk their own drinks on his property.

The room size was average however the maintenance of them is disgusting an unhygienic should he have his hotel on SA he would of been fined. Rooms are not cleaned properly, carpets are not vacuumed, not all rooms have mosquito nets like promised and most of all hot water was a very big issue. One of the rooms had a damp smell but yet not resolved. The hotel is built cheaply and not maintained at all. The water comes out brown from the taps and shower which is due to their poor drainage and structure. Some rooms lights went off through out the night and only came on in the morning. We were told we could hire bath towels, every time we went to get towels they never had towels. Surely if you a hotel with 55 suites there should be enough towels for your guests. Bathrooms have no window or extractor fan which is very unhygienic.

Johan is a very rude man and does not know how to be hospitable. We had my dads birthday party on his premises, the decor was done smart however the food ordered was awful. The queen prawns were super tiny you could barely peel them. We refused to support them and ate most nights at coco Rico which was amazing- their queen prawns was queen prawns. They hosted us well and did not rip us off.
Upon visiting other places and asking about accomodation places we were informed timeously never to book at This place again and that they rip off people and are too greedy. We most definitely won't be going back to Paraiso but will be going to Ponta and staying with the resorts we have received excellent hospitability from.

Johan needs to realize nothing was done for free we paid to stay their and we paid for the food. The hotel is on an excellent piece of land but the arrogance and greed for money is not going to grow your business. It was a great disappointment for the price we paid and what we received, however we have learnt and I recommend Coco Ricco or the beach house chalets on the beach will be a much better option.

Breakfast is included however is done poorly and the wait is for hours. Better of eating elsewhere.

The entire family has a very bad perception of Paraiso and Johan more so due to his attitude, paraiso should not be anyone's option to stay at.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2015Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Sea views but room may smell due to poor cleansiness
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paraiso Do Ouro M, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Responded 08 May 2015
Dear Tenesha. I take great offense to your defamatory and racist remarks. We were fully booked (56 Suites) or the same period and the only complaint we received was from your group. The greatest issue that you/your group had was the fact that you were not allowed to bring your own alcohol. Even though you may purchase bountiful amounts of alcohol in SA, it doesn’t permit you to take it to your local Restaurant and consume it. I would like to remind you that there is no mention of the fact that we provided you with the Venue (free of charge), we kept your personal purchase of prawns in our frigdes (free of charge – though we do charge to clean them – this you were not happy with), I personally set up all your decorations (free of charge) we provided you with 3 bottles of champagne (free of charge), we gave you complimentary gifts (free of charge), we had to do a huge clean-up due to all the party poppers you set off (free of charge). The waitress for the evening received a R30 tip from your group. Our rooms are standard with a double bed as well as a bunk-bed, though we went over and above changing the configuration of the Rooms to better suite your group. We had to recolate guests who complained to us regarding the noise and partying late at night by your group. We do have towels for hire @R150.00 fully refundable deposit, this due to the fact that towels go missing. We have 400 towels in stock. We do inform all our guests that they need to leave their keys at reception so that we can clean your rooms as we don’t keep spare keys – this is for the safety of your belongings. A major clean-up had to be made after your group departed...the damp smell was from someone who had left a sopping wet towel on the carpet and bedding. This to say that in all honesty the major issue was the alcohol as well as the Prawns (that we did not clean them for you free of charge). We will definitely continue to strive to provide a service to our guests and as with your group, we extend our services above and beyond. Warm Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kiranSA wrote a review May 2016
Durban, South Africa38 contributions16 helpful votes
Yes, the hotel does take long for food , but so does the rest of the restaurants in Ponta that being said you can expect a minimum time of 30 mins to 1 hour for your meals to be served anywhere in Ponta. Yes, there are bats flying around the evening but all you need to do is make sure you keep your door closed as suggested by a handy list of rules provided in each room.Yes, the resort is built on stilts and if you have an room on the upper floor ,you can expect some movement from the wind and people walking by .By no means should you let this discourage you from this amazing place, the outstanding location and amazing views from this resort is not to be missed having the beach 20 steps away from your room is ideal for any beach lover .The breakfast was tasty and satisfying i would suggest getting to breakfast early (like as soon as it opens) if you have a full day planned . The rooms were adequate and there was no major issues experienced that being said one must realize for the price this resort is great value for money . The owners of Paraiso Do Ouro were very helpful with our booking and requests , they provided us transport to and from the border at good price . For those in search of pure relaxation i would suggest lounging on the famous bar watching the sunset as you sip on your rum & raspberry(r&r) or if you're a fun seeker this resort is perfect for you with quad biking tours just a few minutes walk away , there is spar onsite and a gift shop as well.The staff were very helpful an accommodating tending to your every need. you can also hire a gazebo if you want some shade from the hot sun while enjoying the picturesque beaches.I would definitely recommend for people on budget but wanting the most value in return.carry bottled water ,sun protection and mosquito repellent .I highly recommend trying the local brands of alcohol and make sure to buy a bottle or two of the famous peri peri sauce . The border was easy to cross and there were no luggage checks. On long weekends arrive early to avoid long ques .
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: April 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: i would suggest getting a room on the top level at either end of each side as this will give you...
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from JohanvJ, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Responded 06 May 2016
Thank you so so much for your kind review - We really try our best for everyone of our Guests - We can not wait to welcome you again to our Resort for another holiday with us - Regards Johan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ashlynn Donnelly wrote a review Jan 2015
Pecatu, Indonesia15 contributions10 helpful votes
This accommodation was the worst I have ever experienced!!! The room is no bigger than a match box. The toilets is disgusting as there is no vent or extractor fan, the showers leak. Upon arrival our transfer service was 1 hour lat so we sat at the border waiting. The room we got had a double bed that was soiled and wet, the double bunk was broken! We booked for Christmas lunch buffet, which was a complete rip off as the food firstly was 2 hours late, portions were rationed and there was no dessert. The owners of the resort are rude and extremely unhelpful, they are unconcerned with unhappy guests and did not even try to convince to stay our full stay.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2014Trip type: Travelled with family
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from JohanvJ, Owner at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Responded 27 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review - I have recently taken over the Resort and assure you that major changes have been done to It. All rooms bathrooms have been tiled - New 20 year guarantee mattresses have been bought for all the rooms and is fitted. New Management have been employed - New Air-conditioners have been bought and fitted to replace the old ones. Swimming Pool have been built - New parking Area is currently been constructed and Lawn have been order for the Resort and will be delivered within the next 4 Weeks. We assure you that lots of effort went it to Resort and we know that even though the Resort's Accommodation is Basic it offers you now: Non- Self Catering, Air-Conditioned, with Mosquitoes Nets, 60l Fridge, Own Bath Room, 6 Channel Fixed Satellite TV. All Menu's have been redone. Safe and Clean Accommodation right on the Beach with new hands on Management. We will welcome you coming to stay now with us and experience the difference!! RIGHT ON THE BEACH FRONT!! Regards Johan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
rwgrobler wrote a review Jan 2018
Gauteng, South Africa1 contribution
This was our first time we have stayed at Paraiso with no major complaints.

The room was great , the bathroom needs a little bit of maintenance but other than that we got what we paid for.

Breakfast was excellent with great service.
Lunch and dinner took a bit longer than expected, but the R&R's we had while waiting made it worth the while.

Friendly and helpful staff especially from the waitresses.

We had a relaxing break.

I would definitely go back .
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from JohanvJ, Manager at Paraiso do Ouro Resort Budget Accommodation
Responded 06 Mar 2018
Thank you guys so much for your review and your support - We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay - your positive comments will motivate our staff even more to do more for people staying with us - We try our best for everyone always - We cant wait to host you guys again with many more of your friends and family!! See Soon !! Regards Johan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456

Questions & answers about the rooms

avatar-image
Answer from Johan v
Dec 2015 |
You are Correct - We Really try our best for every client - most of our clients return and have a fantastic time - unfortunately there is always a few that will never be happy. We are on the Beach and have best staff / facilities and attitudes!! Come and enjoy our hospitality!! Johan
0 votes
PreviousNext
1