We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell on the Common

The Common, Broughton Gifford, Melksham SN12 8LX, England
+44 1225 782309
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Sunday lunch

We went here for a Sunday roast and have rarely been more disappointed in a meal out. The pub is... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
mimilyons
,
Claygate, United Kingdom
via mobile
Great Food Great Service!

Me and my partner went there on Friday evening for dinner and found the food was really nice! We... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Jonathan P
,
Paignton, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 31 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good32%
  • Average6%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“lovely food” (2 reviews)
“my wife and i” (2 reviews)
“country pub” (2 reviews)
LOCATION
The Common, Broughton Gifford, Melksham SN12 8LX, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1225 782309
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lovely food"
in 2 reviews
"my wife and i"
in 2 reviews
"country pub"
in 2 reviews
"menu"
in 5 reviews
"dougie"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We went here for a Sunday roast and have rarely been more disappointed in a meal out. The pub is nice, has a good atmosphere, but the food is terrible. Such a missed opportunity. A beautiful pub in a perfect spot. And they served up...More

Thank mimilyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellManagement2016, General Manager at The Bell on the Common, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi there, we are extremely sorry to hear about your experience. Can you confirm when you were at The Bell on The Common so we can investigate further please? Our Sunday Lunches are served with slow cooked meat from Church Farm, we always serve with...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner went there on Friday evening for dinner and found the food was really nice! We felt the service was really warm and welcoming. We then discovered there was live music and ended up staying the evening have a great time. A...More

2  Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

the landlady was going on about her cakes which dove us made we found then horrible people and didn't leave us alone while we had something to eat, price has gone up by 10% and the food was cold and not cooked really well. lots...More

7  Thank michellewatson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Staying in the area on holiday. Watched rugby here previous weekend after discovering the pub on the Friday we arrived. Came back with family to watch rugby again with family and had lunch first. Lovely food. Dougie couldn't do enough for us. Got very busy...More

1  Thank kikibee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Atmospheric pub, welcoming owners, lovely food. Building feels full of history, and has had recent renovations in the restaurant area. It is not often that I have to duck my head to get through doorways, but here I did. It was early when we arrived,...More

Thank happywife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

I cannot thank Trish and Dougie enough for their thoughtfulness and kindness to me during what was a painful period. The buffet they provided was excellent, the service quiet and efficient and I cannot do more than quote one of many guests: "Thank you for...More

Thank angela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Popped in here one Sunday lunchtime and my wife and I had a very pleasant time sitting in the garden. Staff pleasant and good real ale and cider.

Thank Empcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Lovely home cooked food with pleasant staff. A little on the pricey side but well worth it with the quality that you get. Would advise anyone to give it a try.

Thank gillyell11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a wonderful meal with friends for a 40th birthday celebration, the sea bass and scallop risotto was delicious!!

1  Thank mummytotwolittleboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

This pub has changed hands a few times over the years. The food is a lot better than it's been in the past - but it's still let down by indifferent service. Shame...

1  Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Broughton Gifford Hotels
Shaw Country House Hotel
204 reviews
2.03 km away
The Conigre
60 reviews
3.01 km away
Beechfield House
792 reviews
3.21 km away
Travelodge Melksham
45 reviews
3.67 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Rusty Stag
23 reviews
.60 km away
Il Vello D'Oro the golden fleece Italian Ristaurante
235 reviews
1.69 km away
The White Hart
123 reviews
1.98 km away
The Pear Tree Inn
297 reviews
2.36 km away
Nearby Attractions
The White Hart In Atworth
13 reviews
1.91 km away
The Courts Garden
224 reviews
2.74 km away
Vintage Classics
74 reviews
2.86 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
paulmartin2013
12 August 2015|
Answer
Response from reviewtebel79 |
Please go back and try it again... It's changed management and for the better! Everything is locally sourced and fresh, it's a beautiful pub the landlady and landlord most definitely are very friendly and extremely... More
0
Votes
;