We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

House of Bruar at Blair Atholl

Closed Now: 10:00 - 17:00
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Review Highlights
A true “Harrods in the Highlands” High quality which, of course comes at a price.

These days I only go to the Highlands once a year to stay at Coylumbridge, near Aviemore and the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
K7029ZXbobs
,
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Wow ..it has grown into such a big company.

I was in my early 20s when I first visited; it was only one small shop then, and, yes, offering... read more

Reviewed yesterday
WithKidsInMind
,
Asia
via mobile
Read all 1 047 reviews
164
All photos (164)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good33%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“food hall”(160 reviews)
About
Shopaholics, take note: this shopping complex provides the highest quality Scottish goods at affordable prices.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:00
See all hours
Contact
Blair Atholl PH18.5TW, Scotland
Website
+44 1796 483236
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (1 047)
Filter reviews
1 010 results
Traveller rating
393
334
145
77
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
393
334
145
77
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews food hall shopping experience fish and chip shop soup lobster high end pit stop men and women scottish produce great shopping quality items food shop self service retail therapy venison bruar falls for sale
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1 010 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I was in my early 20s when I first visited; it was only one small shop then, and, yes, offering good quality products at the time and expensive too, so I left cause i didnt have the confident ; wasnt sure. Now, i am in...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank WithKidsInMind
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I have long been a fan of Bruar’s food, but I fear they are now looking to extract more profit for less. I ordered a small fish platter recently and the chef stingily doled out half a side plate full of food. It didn’t even...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank PerthRaw
HouseOfBruar, Manager at House of Bruar at Blair Atholl, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Reviewer Thank you for leaving your review of your recent visit to The House of Bruar. We are so sorry you were disappointed with your meal, I have made the head chef aware of your comments and will follow up with him as soon...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

These days I only go to the Highlands once a year to stay at Coylumbridge, near Aviemore and the House of Bruar is a convenient part way stop from Edinburgh. I initially visited it when it was first set up and it has grown significantly...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank K7029ZXbobs
HouseOfBruar, Manager at House of Bruar at Blair Atholl, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It is lovely to hear when our visitors come back on a regular basis and that you enjoy the many aspects of the business that we have to offer. We look...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped off a few times as its convenient stop coming south on A9. Food is expensive but it's handy for a tea/coffee and toilet stop. The food hall is lovely and full of really nice scottish products although a bit on pricey side. Always been...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Dolina M
HouseOfBruar, Manager at House of Bruar at Blair Atholl, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you have been able to visit us on a number of occasions and we hope that you continue to do so. We hope that when you come...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited today and all had cream of Vegetable soup with a slice of various types of bread for the princely sum of £4.95 each. I complained to the person at the soup area that her soup was cold. I was ignored my son couldn’t...More

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank ronnier54
HouseOfBruar, Manager at House of Bruar at Blair Atholl, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer We apologise for your experience at The House of Bruar. We would like to discuss your comments further so could you please contact customer.liaison@houseofbruar.com. Kind regards. Will Stephenson

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We always stop here when we visit Pitlochry. We love the shops especially & always find something special to remind us of our visit. This time we stocked up on cheese, wine & smoked salmon. Very decadent indeed!More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Konie
HouseOfBruar, Manager at House of Bruar at Blair Atholl, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are most happy to hear that you had such a good time and that you found a few special items to take home. We hope you have a lovely Christmas and we wish you...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was not the first visit not will it be the last. The shopping is fantastic but very pricey! The food is what brings the score down for me. Over priced and a very small array for non meat eaters. I wouldn't say there's much...More

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank supernoodles2018
HouseOfBruar, Manager at House of Bruar at Blair Atholl, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your review; we would be interested to discuss your comments regarding non-meat-eaters, could you please contact customer.liaison@houseofbruar.com Kind Regards, Will Stephenson

Reviewed 9 December 2018 via mobile

If you are in the area or driving between Perth and Inverness this is a must visit. Great shop for local produce, game, venison etc, plus Scottish fish, haggis, whiskies, biscuits etc, then there’s the restaurant with superb fresh food, and large shops selling housewares,...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank P4579FVkeithr
HouseOfBruar, Manager at House of Bruar at Blair Atholl, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2018

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to hear that you had such a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back when you return for your visit. Kind regards, The House of Bruar Team

Reviewed 5 December 2018

We have always enjoyed stopping off at House of Bruar on our way up the A9 and have been coming here to shop for many years, but our last visit was a let-down. We popped in for tea about 4pm on a Sunday 25 November....More

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Bob M
HouseOfBruar, Manager at House of Bruar at Blair Atholl, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2018

Dear Reviewer We are so sorry to hear of your less than acceptable recent experience at The House of Bruar. Could you please contact customerliaison@houseofbruar.com so we can discuss this further. Kind regards Will Stephenson

Reviewed 3 December 2018 via mobile

Lovely place to visit - Nice staff and surroundings - Bring plenty of money as nothing is cheap but all the items for sale are good quality

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank frazerb984
HouseOfBruar, Manager at House of Bruar at Blair Atholl, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2018

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for leaving such a nice review. It's always a pleasure to hear that our customers have enjoyed themselves and we hope that you come back again. Kind regards, The House of Bruar Team

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Atholl Arms Hotel
815 reviews
4.97 km away
Loch Tummel Hotel
665 reviews
8.57 km away
Killiecrankie Hotel
328 reviews
9.63 km away
The Green Park Hotel
589 reviews
13.29 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 5 nearby restaurants
The Loft Restaurant
334 reviews
5.54 km away
The Inn at Loch Tummel Restaurant
187 reviews
5.91 km away
Blair Atholl Watermill
302 reviews
5.07 km away
Food in the Park
190 reviews
5.33 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 8 nearby attractions
Blair Castle and Hercules Gardens
1 592 reviews
4.40 km away
Blair Atholl Watermill
118 reviews
5.04 km away
Atholl Country Life Museum
41 reviews
5.34 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
scttgraham
16 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from DrLepervanche | Reviewed this property |
I only went in the summer. sorry.
0
Votes
Blomk
28 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from grahamrotary | Reviewed this property |
I don't know if it is franchised out, or Bruar managed, but a Bruar Manager has seen fit to defend them on occasions here. I similarly feel it is not up to HoB standard. Agree surly staff, and would add that they refuse a... More
1
Vote
George M
13 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from kat c | Reviewed this property |
I think it is around 10th/11th November
0
Votes