We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: | Corner of R304 and R101, Koelenhof, Stellenbosch 7605, South Africa
Phone Number:
+27 21 865 2002
Website
Today
08:30 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 08:30 - 17:00
Sat 08:30 - 15:00
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 91 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 62
    Excellent
  • 10
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Bubbles and nougat

Another attraction that normally requires a booking, but we did not realise this so just rocked up for the Bubbles and nougat tasting. Thankfully the staff accommodated us and we... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
madfamily
,
perth
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 75: English reviews
perth
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Another attraction that normally requires a booking, but we did not realise this so just rocked up for the Bubbles and nougat tasting. Thankfully the staff accommodated us and we sat down in the lovely outdoor seating area for our tasting. Jean-Jacque was knowledgable and engaging as he took us through the 4 MCC (sparkling wines) and nougats. We loved... More 

Helpful?
Thank madfamily
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2017

My husband and I have been visiting wine farms in the area but never Villiera, and what a pleasant surprise. Driving up to the estate we both knew it was going to be awesome! We had a fantastic Game Drive, Simon was so well informed and professional at all times. Being that close to the animals was such a treat.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aehrintyler13
Cathy B, Owner at Villiera Wines, responded to this review

Thank you so much. Makes it all worthwhile. We look forward to welcoming you back.. along with your great photography skills. More 

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Great ambiance and 'crazy water' at the treefull area. Knowledgeable staff and great cheese offering. Top!

Helpful?
Thank TheLoveLeopard
Cathy B, Owner at Villiera Wines, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback. Hope you found your Elixir. Sounds like you need to be at our next branding session. I am not sure what 'crazy water' is but it all sounds good. More 

Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2017

My experience at Villiera was excellent! I went specifically to taste the MCC's and was not at all disappointed. In fact I bought some MCC to go. Our tasting guide was fun and knowledgeable and took plenty of time to detail the large handful of MCC's I tried. She even taught me some Afrikaans. Baie dankie! If you like MCC's... More 

Helpful?
Thank mckimw
Cathy B, Owner at Villiera Wines, responded to this review

Thank you so much. Very good to hear and appreciated. We do have a Tripadvisor Certificate of excellence, and as you can see, we mostly get great feedback. When it doesn't happen we need to accept that and do our best to correct it. More 

1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Disappointing Saturday experience. MCC was flat. We were told no new bottles allowed to be opened so late. But WHAT!! New bottles opened for other customers. Ag nee Villeria.

Helpful?
Thank susansR677MA
Cathy B, Owner at Villiera Wines, responded to this review

The is really terrible to hear. We put a lot of effort into training our staff to give the best customer service. Saturdays are a challenge because it is just that much busier but never an excuse. We do get in extra students for a Saturday but always have a permanent person on duty who should have sorted this out.... More 

Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We loved this place so much we went 2x in 3 days. The most eco-friendly vineyard in South Africa. We booked a game drive in advance via email, you can also call. There are 2 time slots each day. We took the 2pm time slot. The game drive lasted 2 hours and time went by fast. Saw giraffes, zebras springbok,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anthea M
Cathy B, Owner at Villiera Wines, responded to this review

Our first review from your special part of the world - I think. Thank you very much for visiting us, twice! And for taking the time to write such a great review. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Our game drive was led by Guillame, a most interesting and engaging young man who certainly knew his stuff. His delivery was informative and enjoyable to all the different age groups - from ourselves as seniors and two little girls of very young age. The two hours passed very quickly and we certainly felt that we had learned a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank grtuk
Cathy B, Owner at Villiera Wines, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review. Much appreciated. In case you were not told, we makes a special Sauvignon Blanc blend for M&S under the Crows Fountain label. It may bring back some special holiday memories... More 

Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We visited Villiera Wines on a beautiful Saturday morning and what an absolute treat it turned out to be. We were served by the friendly and knowledgeable Shaheeb and treated like royalty. Wines are lovely and the staff too. Great atmosphere an friendly staff, highly recommended. Thank you for a great visit!

Helpful?
Thank Bernice W
Cathy B, Owner at Villiera Wines, responded to this review

Our pleasure indeed. very good to hear and your compliments will be passed on to Shaheed. Good for the guys and girls doing the service to be recognized, so thanks for taking the trouble. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We visited Villiera back at the end of November whilst on holiday, and was the first time I'd seen my best friend in 4 years, as I live in the UK. I'd had a stressful morning as my partner had injured himself and we'd spent the morning at the medi-centre. So by the time we got to the vinyard, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sas1701
Cathy B, Owner at Villiera Wines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for such a great review and we are very pleased to hear we eased your stressful start to the day. The person serving you was probably Inge and the very famous cat's name is Megaflash. More 

1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2016

I visited with family and friends and absolutely loved it. We had a very enjoyable experience and learnt so much on the game drive. The staff were friendly, the establishment is well run and the prices are just right. I can't wait to visit again! Definitely worth it!

Helpful?
Thank Sabrina P
Cathy B, Owner at Villiera Wines, responded to this review

It is most definitely a time for family and friends and we are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable visit to Villiera. It's what we strive for but always good to hear the feedback. Thanks. More 

Travellers who viewed Villiera Wines also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Villiera Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Villiera Wines and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Villiera Wines staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?