We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam

Features Animals
Save
Share
Book In Advance
294
All photos (294)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good24%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
About
The Elephant Sanctuary has African elephants and offers an interactive elephant experience, elephant back riding and overnight accommodation. We offer hands-on educational elephant interactions. This provides our guests with a far more intimate...more
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
R104 Old Rusternburg Road, Madibeng 0216, South Africa
Website
+27 12 258 9904
Call
Ways to Experience Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam
from US$189,10
More Info
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
197
74
19
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
197
74
19
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elephant sanctuary an amazing experience gentle giants these magnificent creatures different parts love elephants two hours guide sam african elephants worthwhile experience enjoy the experience extra cost worth every cent kiss trunk handlers touching
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

Walking with, touching and feeding goes along with this experience. Families and tour groups love this. If you can't make it to a game farm, go to the sanctuary. An hour from Johannesburg with plenty restaurants and activities to fill the day, this is a...More

Thank Denzil S
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Good day. Thank you for the time you took to write this review about us. We are pleased to hear that you had a memorable time with us and that you enjoyed the whole area. We look forward seeing you again. Regards

Reviewed 6 days ago

I have been to the Elephant Sanctuary several times and it is always enjoyable. The handlers and trainers do their best to help you have a good experience. They will take pictures for you and try to make them ones you will enjoy. It is...More

Thank Kerry J
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Good day. Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time you took to write this and are pleased to hear that our staff always keeps our guests in such good hands. We look forward to your next visit. Regards

Reviewed 1 week ago

The place is well run, the staff are good and the handlers are knowledgeable. It is a delight to get so close to the elephants. The elephants all appear to be well looked after and content. Worth a visit and priced very reasonably.

Thank Tom B
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good day. Thank you for the time you took to write this review about us. We are pleased to hear to you enjoyed the time with our Elephants. Regards

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time I've enjoyed this truly wonderful experience and the 8th time I've sent my overseas visitors for the experience. Not once have I, or any of my overseas family been disappointed. Its a truly magical experience to be close to these...More

Thank karenoos
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good day. Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your feedback and look forward welcoming you back yet again. Regards

Reviewed 1 week ago

Good experience feeding and interacting with well cared for Elephants a bonus was watching the monkeys before hand.

Thank David A
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. We are pleased to hear that you had a memorable time here with us. Regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great time at the Sanctuary, the staff is very friendly and helpfull. We enjoyed every minute we spent with the elephants. Had plenty of time to take pictures and videos and have a good time. Our 3 year old could not stop...More

Thank dbeerp
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. Your concern is noted. Regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While I typically don't care for seeing wildlife in anything but the wild, these amazing creatures were a once in a lifetime experience in getting so close to them! The staff is highly educated and very helpful! y husband and I learned a lot and...More

Thank Christine S
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. We are pleased to hear that you had a 'once in a lifetime experience" here with us. Regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I visited the Elephant Sanctuary in September 2018. We had a really enjoyable experience. The guides are friendly, professional and knowledgeable and the elephants are healthy and well looked after - it was great to see. We not only learned a lot...More

Thank GrundlinghL
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good day. Thank you for your great review!! WE are so pleased to hear that you had a humbling experience here with us! Regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From start to finish the time spent with these beautiful animals and the keepers who look after them was amazing. We were very lucky to be the only three people on our particular tour so I suppose we had their undivided attention. Charles, who guided...More

Thank Carol D
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good day. This review has just made our day! Thank you for the kind words and the time you took to write this review about us. We are very pleased that you had an amazing time here at the Sanctuary. Regards

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My wife and I had a great day here with these gentle giants you get to feed them and then get a chance to get up close and touch them and walk with them hand in trunk.If you want you can also get to ride...More

Thank Mark C
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. We are pleased to hear that you and your wife had a amazing time here with us. Thank you for the kind words, Regards

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
Kassaboera Lodge
111 reviews
7.17 km away
Cradle Health Spa
32 reviews
7.56 km away
Alpha Conference Centre
5 reviews
15.23 km away
The Venue Country Hotel
25 reviews
15.45 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 73 nearby restaurants
Silver Orange Bistro
476 reviews
2.91 km away
Siesta Tapas & Bistro
178 reviews
6.55 km away
Squires on the Dam
191 reviews
5.53 km away
Vovo Telo
87 reviews
6.82 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 41 nearby attractions
Bush Babies Monkey Sanctuary
305 reviews
.14 km away
No1 Waterfront
5 reviews
6.12 km away
Hartbeespoort Dam - Snake and Animal Park
154 reviews
5.55 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
KaylinD15
15 April 2018|
Answer
Response from Sanctuary_Management | Property representative |
Good day. Our rates is R775 per adult for a one and a half hour interaction program where you get the opportunity to touch, feed, walk trunk in hand and learn about the anatomy of our African Elephants. Our tours are only... More
0
Votes
Michelle W
9 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sanctuary_Management | Property representative |
Good day. Please send me a mail to management @ monkeysanctuary coza so i can gather all the information required to assist.
0
Votes
gilawaichman
12 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Sanctuary_Management | Property representative |
Good day. TripAdvisor doesn't allow us to put email address or website URL. You can find our email address on our website.
0
Votes