We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bush Babies Monkey Sanctuary

Features Animals
R104, Hartbeespoort 0216, South Africa
+27 12 258 9904
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
the monkeys were great fun

this place was recomended by a friend and did not dissapoint we had a good time and the monkeys... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
59paul1
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
Fun and well run

I love wildlife and go on many safaris but I am normally loathe to visit any sort of animal... read more

Reviewed 29 October 2017
Barr_jm
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 278 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Monkey Sanctuary is one of several sanctuaries in a group of sanctuaries, including the elephant sanctuary that provides for orphaned and abused animals. Situated west of Hartbeesport Dam alongside the Elephant sanctuary it provides an environment where monkeys (primates) can be given their freedom in a natural environment. The sanctuary situated in one of the many Kloofs (Gorges) of the Magaliesberg mountain range provides the perfect environment for Monkeys from around the world.
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good23%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
R104, Hartbeespoort 0216, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 12 258 9904

Similar Things to Do in Hartbeespoort

Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this place was recomended by a friend and did not dissapoint we had a good time and the monkeys were great fun just empty your pockets first we went during the week and there was only 4 of us on the walk round which meant...More

Thank 59paul1
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Bush Babies Monkey Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward guiding you through our Sanctuary again. Regards

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

I love wildlife and go on many safaris but I am normally loathe to visit any sort of animal attraction. If I do visit one it has to be because they are rescuing vulnerable animals from living a life they shouldn’t (I.e. like these monkeys...More

Thank Barr_jm
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Bush Babies Monkey Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review on us. We appreciate your valued feedback and are pleased to hear that you had a amazing experience at our Sanctuary. Regards

Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

What an awesome experience to get close to the monkeys. Yes the monkeys do try steal but everyone is warned about this before you go in. Our guide was friendly, knowledgeable and not robotic. Beautiful walk as well. Will visit again.

Thank Louwrens P
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Bush Babies Monkey Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. We are pleased to hear that you had a amazing tour. Looking forward guiding you through our Sanctuary again soon. Regards

Reviewed 18 October 2017

Visited this place whilst staying with friends in Harties as they had recommended it & i can see why. My favourite bit was the monkey interaction, which none of the tourists seemed to do, so it was just me & my husband. Our guide was...More

Thank KookCreative
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Bush Babies Monkey Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. We truly appreciate your honest feedback and are pleased to hear that you had a awesome experience with us. Hope to see you again soon Regards

Reviewed 28 September 2017

We had an awesome day out with the 1st Honeydew Cub Group. The tour guide was professional and knowledgeable. He answered the thousands of questions that the cubs had and was so accommodating. Definitely recommend it to others!

Thank candice1232017
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Bush Babies Monkey Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback and glad to hear that you had a great experience with us. Thank you for the kind words. Regards Bush Babies Monkey Santuary

Reviewed 22 September 2017

We went there completely randomly because the cable car was closed for the day and we didn't want to go back to Johannesburg yet. Best choice ever! We enjoyed the close interaction with the monkeys, got our heads checked by some monkeys, and gave some...More

Thank dipaCT
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Bush Babies Monkey Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback and glad to hear that you had a great experience with us. Thank you for the kind words and please spread the word that monkeys DO NOT...More

Reviewed 18 September 2017

Upon arrival Sune could not assist us immediately. Koos offered to assist us and he was very helpful and friendly. A beautiful, neat venue for any event.

Thank F6074BQinfo
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Bush Babies Monkey Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope that we will see you in the near future. Regards

Reviewed 12 September 2017

this is a walking experience through a reserve of free roaming monkeys. Most of the monkeys you see are south American in origin and some come from Madagaskar. You can't see any African species and no bush baby. It is a sanctuary for released monkeys...More

Thank peripatus333
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We were thrilled to visit Bush Babies (as well as the nearby elephant sanctuary) on our first day in South Africa. It was "immediate African gratification" to see both types of animals so soon! The monkeys were very cute and there were a few possibilities...More

Thank Lovewineandfood
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Bush Babies Monkey Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. We are pleased to hear that your first day in South-Africa was a memorable one. We hope its the memory that you will remember forever. Regards

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Worth the entrance fee to have a very close encounter with the monkeys. Charlie was knowledgeable and made our tour that much better. Definitely a must-do if you're in and around Joburg.

Thank I5175ATkimj
Sanctuary_Management, Manager at Bush Babies Monkey Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to write this review about us. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. Regards

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Silver Orange Bistro
429 reviews
3.05 km away
Siesta Tapas & Bistro
155 reviews
6.67 km away
Squires on the Dam
158 reviews
5.67 km away
Vovo Telo Hartbeespoort
52 reviews
6.96 km away
Nearby Attractions
No1 Waterfront
5 reviews
6.26 km away
Elephant Sanctuary Hartbeesport Dam
293 reviews
.14 km away
Hartbeespoort Dam
158 reviews
4.65 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Julandi v
10 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sanctuary_Management | Property representative |
Good day. We are child friendly and kids really enjoy the tour. Adults R295pp Children (4-14) R175 Under 4 free.
0
Votes
Nicolettevr
7 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sanctuary_Management | Property representative |
Hi there, Our rates for an one hour guided tour is R275 per adult and R175 per child(4-14 years). No booking required. Tours every hour on the hour.
0
Votes
Beth S
2 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Sanctuary_Management | Property representative |
Good morning Beth. The wooden walkways are all elevated and we have pieces where you walk on a rocky area. Unfortunately not wheelchair friendly.
1
Vote